Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best dog breed for our young children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

gypsygirl wrote: »
    Absolute beauties, Hollie looks like she'll be a monster :D, and I love the Shepherd, is that Roxy? all of them are gorgeous, fair play to ya, lucky dogs to have you as their owner, they all look really healthy and well cared for.

yup Roxy is the Shep - Mom

if you think Hollie is big you want to see the boys! Bully (my keeper) is half the size of his mom at 13 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

Paul91 wrote: »
    yup Roxy is the Shep - Mom

if you think Hollie is big you want to see the boys! Bully (my keeper) is half the size of his mom at 13 weeks

Brilliant, I love big dogs, usually more gentle than little ones, Lol. My 3 are all huge and the most gentle pack ever, I'm quite short and when I walk down the street with a German Shepherd and a Rottie in one hand and a Doberman in the other, I get some looks :D but they all walk nicely for me, however they drag my Hubby down the road and he's a big fceker, but they're all sweet gentle mutts. Post some photos of Bully, I'd love to see him.

i'll have to find my wide angle lense :D 13 weeks - 38lbs

here's mom and pups 36 hours after delivery

i'll have to find my wide angle lense :D 13 weeks - 38lbs

:D, Sounds like a real monster. Find that lens.
    My girl Molly towers over all the other dogs we meet, people who don't know her cross the street when they see her, but she's one of the most gentle dogs I've ever known, the local kids come for a walk with me and hold her leash and she never pulls them. Gentle giant.

:D, Sounds like a real monster. Find that lens.
    My girl Molly towers over all the other dogs we meet, people who don't know her cross the street when they see her, but she's one of the most gentle dogs I've ever known, the local kids come for a walk with me and hold her leash and she never pulls them. Gentle giant.

hey - i've shown you mine - you going to show yours? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

We've had 2 Shetland Sheepdogs and a Chihuahua while me and my sisters were growing up, all more likely to lick you to death than bite you. Sadly had to have our last Shelty put down just over a year ago. Still miss her. When my father returned home from the vets its the only time I've ever seen him cry.

here's mom and pups 36 hours after delivery

Wow, she's a stunner, I love her eyes, she looks really intelligent too, how old is she??

we think 4 - 41/2 but was taken out of the CSPCA with no vaccinations, chipping, neutering (in fact she was carrying pups), matt's in her hair and 20lbs underweight, teeth were in a state (some broken) and we found a scar on her head (she had two cists removed, one from her head, when it was shaved we saw the scar)

but she love strokes and being brushed, no word of a lie she will sit there for an hour while you stroke her head, and if you stop she will nudge your arm or put her paw on your lap to say "come on, more strokes!" :D

hey - i've shown you mine - you going to show yours? :D

069.JPG

072.JPG

This is my girl Molly, She's still amazingly fast and agile for a 12 yr old, hope she'll teach the rottie pup to be as good a dog as she is, :D

we think 4 - 41/2 but was taken out of the CSPCA with no vaccinations, chipping, neutering (in fact she was carrying pups), matt's in her hair and 20lbs underweight, teeth were in a state (some broken) and we found a scar on her head (she had two cists removed, one from her head, when it was shaved we saw the scar)

but she love strokes and being brushed, no word of a lie she will sit there for an hour while you stroke her head, and if you stop she will nudge your arm or put her paw on your lap to say "come on, more strokes!" :D

Bless, the rescues are the best aren't they. Molly was Two when we rescued her ten yrs ago, and she's one of the best. My other two, Nige and Ella were got as eight week old pups and both are spoiled brats, Lol.

069.JPG

072.JPG

This is my girl Molly, She's still amazingly fast and agile for a 12 yr old, hope she'll teach the rottie pup to be as good a dog as she is, :D

she's a beautiful coat - especially for 12 - what you feed her on?

Molly and Nige are both on a low (18%) protien diet of Febo because they're less active, and Ella (7 months) is on a 23% protien diet of Febo and fresh mince and gravy mix. Molly and Ella both have nice coats because they swim and play in water all the time, I walk them with a friend and his dog Champ (the black lab in the photo) the three of them splash in the water for about an hour and then my two wreck my car on the drive home :D I've got to get a dog trailer to save my poor ol car, :D

• Registered Users Posts: 34 pauly-chops

It really doesnt matter what breed you get it all boils down to you and what kind of a trainer you are. our neighbour has the most vicious, nasty collie ive ever seen. it hates kids, dogs, people, cars, bike, everything. we on the other hand, have a one year old rottweiler. she is adorable and all the kids here love her. shes very playful and loves other dogs and even cats. we got her professionally trained. We were very responsible. we got a rottie because they are the most intelligent breed, even more so than german shepards. Her bad points can be thats she is very greedy around food and can be strong headed but if you get good trainning yourself about your breed you will know what to expect and be prepared.

The most important thing for a puppy is to get it to experience everything at a really young age. we took ours to a farm to see ducks, geese, horses, cows, pigs etc once or twice a week. we also took her to cafes and just let her sit and watch the world. Its vital that you get good trainning. Then you will be prepared for every situation.

Check wikipedia about a breed ur intersted in. I know alot of parents wounldnt even joke about getting a rottie but they are excellent with kids and families. they are a well rounded dog. the best thing about them is they train really easily, they are eagar to learn more and they dont bark very often. depeche (our rottie) almost never barks.

good luck with your choice.

we got a rottie because they are the most intelligent breed, even more so than german shepards.

QUOTE]

Gotta disagree with you there Pauly, I've had Shepherds & Rotties all my life, both breeds are a big favourite of mine, but the Shepherds are way smarter than the Rotties IMO, Rotts are fantastic family pets, fiercely loyal and protective but certainly not the most intelligent. My 7 month old Rottie Ella is smart enough but Molly my Shepherd is only short of cooking dinner, Waaaayyyy smarter. I agree with ya about the collies though, a lot of them can be snappy if not excercised and socialised properly, they're a highly intelligent dog and need to be worked and stimulated regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

totally agree, hands off any attack dog breeds like pitbulls and others!!!

Clue me in, whats an attack breed?.

OP, choose wisely because your going to have the dog for the next ten or fifteen years - more if your lucky.

Personally I'd recommend a Staffordshire Bull Terrier, but the downside to owning a staffie is the reputation the media have given them. You'll meet up with a lot of ignorance of them on the street, a lot of people think they're Pitbull's - esp. a big muscular male dog, and will become instant experts on the law and breed of dog.

Pitbulls are fantastic dogs too, in fact I'd safely say that over 90% of dog owner's couldn't tell the breed apart from the Staffie, but will profess to their expertise on the breed all the same.

Finally one very important point, I'd never, ever trust any dog regardless of breed or temperament left alone and unsupervised with any child, its an absolutel NO, NO.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

Hmmm...they must have meant one of these

Dog%20-%20Cartoon%2019.jpg
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Angry Troll

i meant any fighting dog breed specifically bred for use in dog fights back then...pit bulls etc...and generally any breed normally used for "aggression-related" purposes really...in police, military and whatnot...they don't prefer particular breeds for that without a reason...any breed that has ever had raw aggression against men/other animals specifically bred into it basically...

i meant any fighting dog breed specifically bred for use in dog fights back then...pit bulls etc
    Pit bull is a term commonly used to describe several breeds of dog in the Molosser family. Many breed-specific laws use the term "pit bull" to refer to the modern American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, and Staffordshire Bull Terrier, and dogs with significant mixes of these breeds; however, a few jurisdictions also classify the modern American Bulldog and Bull Terrier as a "pit bull-type dog". The term can also refer to dogs that were known as "bull terriers" prior to the development of the modern Bull Terrier in the early 20th century.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pit_bull_terriers

The American Pit Bull Terrier is the product of interbreeding between terriers and a now-extinct breed of bulldogs to produce a dog that combined the gameness of the terrier with the strength and athleticism of the bulldog. These dogs were initially bred in England, Ireland, and Scotland, and arrived in the United States with immigrants from these countries. In the United States, these dogs were used as catch dogs for semi-wild cattle and hogs, to hunt, to drive livestock, and as family companions;[

OK so it goes on to say
    however, some were selectively bred for their fighting prowess,[5] and starting in the early 20th century, they began to replace the bull terrier as the "dog of choice" for dog fighting in the United States.[6]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

i meant any fighting dog breed specifically bred for use in dog fights back then...pit bulls etc...and generally any breed normally used for "aggression-related" purposes really...in police, military and whatnot...they don't prefer particular breeds for that without a reason...any breed that has ever had raw aggression against men/other animals specifically bred into it basically...

You think that police dogs are used only because they're aggressive and not because they're a highly intelligent dog which is easily trained for its role?.

"Pitbulls etc", your still not making any sense. Honestly would you recognize a Pitbull, I only ask because over the year's I've found when people say "Pitbulls etc" they're only covering their ignorance of a breed because they usually can not point and say "THATS a Pitbull, and that one there is a Staffordshire".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Had 2 labs and a GSD, honestly for a child the GSD was by far the best dog, the 2 labs were going around hyper all the time.

isn't it the case that aggression to humans was "bred out" of fighting dogs, as they generally lived in the homes - with the children - of those who used them for fighting?

thanks so much for illuminating me on the often misunderstood subject of pit bulls...think the "pit" refers to the dog fighting pit anyway, at least originally as far as i know...wouldn't leave my toddler alone with one for a second...there are just too many known incidents of bull terriers etc. tearing children apart...not very many of those reports include labrador/golden retrievers...
    having said that, let me add that i am sure there are nice and peaceful pit bulls out there...but when breeds are discussed and not some guy’s “ripper” or “killer” or whatever the average pit bull holders would name their dogs, i think it is pretty safe to say they do not necessarily make the perfect family dogs for young children, just as far as breeds per se are concerned…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

thanks so much for illuminating me on the often misunderstood subject of pit bulls...think the "pit" refers to the dog fighting pit anyway, at least originally as far as i know...wouldn't leave my toddler alone with one for a second...there are just too many known incidents of bull terriers etc. tearing children apart...not very many of those reports include labrador/golden retrievers...
    That's because "fighting dogs" aren't called that for the craic. They are tough animals - muscular, strong, brave and very resilient. Which makes them popular with people who still like to get involved in the subhuman practice of dogfighting.

If you were looking to train a boxer from birth would you choose the child of a 6', 250lbs russian bodybuilder or the child of a 5'5", 150lb Asian man? Neither is naturally aggressive, but clearly one is more suited for physical conflict than the other.

However, that doesn't mean that "pit" breeds are any more aggressive than any other breed. Aggressiveness is trained into a dog, just like it's trained into a human. This is why you see reports of american pitbulls mauling children - because that animal has been specifically trained to be aggressive.

No dog just "snaps" and poses a danger to its owner or anyone else. The dog has to have been trained into aggressiveness. Exactly like humans, you can't "breed" aggressiveness into any animal, it's an attribute acquired through social interaction.

You wouldn't leave any dog alone with a child who was unable to handle the animal. Aside from an attack (any dog sufficiently scared or agitated will lash out), the animal could knock the child (or a piece of furniture) over or could otherwise inadvertantly cause injury to the child.

FWIW, staffies, who are a "pit" breed, aren't used as guard or police dogs because they are naturally social animals who are more likely to lick an intruder to death than bite them.

isn't it the case that aggression to humans was "bred out" of fighting dogs, as they generally lived in the homes - with the children - of those who used them for fighting?

think many "lived" in boxes and kennels...

ye - that may be the case in modern times, i'm talking when the breeds where first bred

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pit_bull

as for hearing more about the attacks by "pit-bull" - that's because
    Temperament is not the issue, nor is it even relevant. What is relevant is actuarial risk. If almost any other dog has a bad moment, someone may get bitten, but will not be maimed for life or killed, and the actuarial risk is accordingly reasonable. If a pit bull terrier…has a bad moment, often someone is maimed or killed--and that has now created off-the-chart actuarial risk, for which the dogs as well as their victims are paying the price.
    basically if a lab turns and bites you, it may not even break the skin, if a pit-bull turns and bites you - it's stitching time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

as for hearing more about the attacks by "pit-bull" - that's because basically if a lab turns and bites you, it may not even break the skin, if a pit-bull turns and bites you - it's stitching time
    And before it's brought up, there's no such thing as "lock jaw" in any dog unless they contract tetanus :D

It's simply the strength of the jaws which has led some people to believe that because they personally were unable to open the dog's jaws (even with a lever), there must be a locking mechanism in place.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pit_bull
    Any dog's jaws can be locked in a closed position by surgically-correctable jaw abnormalities,[28] but there is no evidence for the existence of a physiological "locking mechanism" in the teeth or jaw structure of normal pit bull-type dogs[29] so this is not a factor in the number of fatalities attributed to them; however, pit bull-type dogs often exhibit "bite, hold, and shake" behavior and refuse to release when biting,[30][13] so some pit bull rescue organizations and advocacy groups recommend owners of pit bull-type dogs carry a "break stick" to lever their dog's jaws open if it bites a person or animal.[11][31]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

as for hearing more about the attacks by "pit-bull" - that's because basically if a lab turns and bites you, it may not even break the skin, if a pit-bull turns and bites you - it's stitching time

Oh paleeeze ...any large, big jawed dog can shred you into little pieces, once its mind is set on it ...and that includes Labs, Goldens and Berners et al.

You hear more about pitbulls because they've got the reputation. Half the dog bite incidents acccredited to them were usually carried out by another breed anyway ...but as the dog did bite, it must have been a pitbull (or a Rottie ...or a Dobie). And then there is the point that the owners who want their dog to bite usually go for a pitti or similar ...because a Bichon Frisee simply don't cut it on the intimidation front.

peasant wrote: »
    Oh paleeeze ...any large, big jawed dog can shred you into little pieces, once its mind is set on it ...and that includes Labs, Goldens and Berners et al.

You hear more about pitbulls because they've got the reputation. Half the dog bite incidents acccredited to them were usually carried out by another breed anyway ...but as the dog did bite, it must have been a pitbull (or a Rottie ...or a Dobie). And then there is the point that the owners who want their dog to bite usually go for a pitti or similar ...because a Bichon Frisee simply don't cut it on the intimidation front.

hey - don't shoot the messenger, just posting the relevant info from the Clifton report (2008) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pit_bull and trying to clarify it's meaning