Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OLLY MURS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

tankbarry wrote: »
    was he any good.........

Unless he improved significantly from one week ago, I seriously doubt it!

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

Ah he was fairly good now, lots of kids in here at the time so he got great cheers. He performed 4 songs then went away, then came back and went around to every pod signing autographs and posing for pictures, fair play to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

€10k well spent.

[edit]
    Here's the video of the shambles of a man:
    http://www.facebook.com/#/video/video.php?v=225872324617&ref=nf
    [/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I thought he was decent. Came across as a decent guy. I was off in the background somewhere avoiding the screaming girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

AdMMM wrote: »
    €10k well spent.

[edit]
    [/edit]

Shambles of a man? Bit harsh there Adam, no? He seems to be doing just fine for himself.
    Fair play to him I say he's having a go,why shouldn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

And nobody threw/fired anything?Im now even more disappointed.:(
    For shamw AOL staff.For shame :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭tiny-tyno

Olly was just Brillant, he came around to everyone and we all got our pics taken with him and autographes, really nice guy,

Olly Murs in Work 019.JPG

Olly Murs in Work 038.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

€10k well spent.

[edit]
    [/edit]

10k? are you serious? and they couldn't even give out any feckin christmas gifts to the staff this year.

tiny-tyno wrote: »
    Olly was just Brillant, he came around to everyone and we all got our pics taken with him and autographes, really nice guy,

Olly Murs in Work 019.JPG

Olly Murs in Work 038.JPG
    He really looks like a spanner.Sings about the same too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

10k? are you serious? and they couldn't even give out any feckin christmas gifts to the staff this year.

Don't go believing everything you read on boards. TalkTalk were the main sponsor for Xfactor and a contestant went to every TalkTalk callcentre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

He really looks like a spanner.

I really have to agree on this. He looks like a member of a certain other community that tends to pop up as a topic on these here forums. :P

deisedevil wrote: »
    Don't go believing everything you read on boards. TalkTalk were the main sponsor for Xfactor and a contestant went to every TalkTalk callcentre.
    And you think they went for free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

At which point did non paedophile's start fastening the top button of their shirts?

Mr Murs is just another one of these desperate to be famous types and I often cringe when I see people going wild for someone that's been famous for five minutes.

In saying that, he has some talent and good luck to him trying to earn as much money in his 5 minutes...although i wonder how much of that 10k he'll get. More than he won on deal or no deal i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

And you think they went for free?

Contractually obliged I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I really have to agree on this. He looks like a member of a certain other community that tends to pop up as a topic on these here forums. :P

Does he like dags?

And, Jesus, just seeing inside AOL again is giving me the heebiejeebies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

dont usually way in on anything like this, but hey horses for courses, I was out there yesterday, and well olly did put on a good show, everybody went away happy from guests to staff and tbh i was very impressed that he went to every pod in the building and signed autographs and posed for pictures, where the x factor tour manager could have just said yeah 4 songs no more and then buggered off

And he was a genuinely nice chap when you met him, and I get people either loving or hating x factor, but thats just varying opinions and musical tastes, and i applaud olly for giving it a go and fair play to him if he makes it, I for one wont be knocking him

Shin

shinzon wrote: »
    he went to every pod in the building and signed autographs and posed for pictures, where the x factor tour manager could have just said yeah 4 songs no more and then buggered off

This. It could have been a case of wham bam thank you mam. He did seem like a sound enough lad though.

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭Bluezar

Typical Waterford begrudgery to anyone doing well...
    I thought he was great on the X Factor and was very unlucky not to win it.

Bluezar wrote: »

Eh?

I think you will find it is not just Waterford people that are begrudging him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Typical Waterford begrudgery to anyone doing well

Typical Waterford person complaining about other peoples 'begrudgery.'
    This is nothing to do whatsoever with Waterford people TBH it's peoples general dislike toward this whole x-factor phenomenon. They don't give a damn about the music they're only in it for the fame, sure he said it himself one night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

for the fame, sure he said it himself one night.

yeah but if were honest given half the chance wouldnt any of us be in it for fame and money, and your kidding yourself if you say no

Shin

Shambles of a man? Bit harsh there Adam, no? He seems to be doing just fine for himself.
    Fair play to him I say he's having a go,why shouldn't he?
    I actually take that back. It's more of a shambolic situation that's been created where such hype surrounds a runner up in a televised talent show. Admittedly, fair play to him for capitalising on it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Well I'm not too sure about that because music means intensely different things to different people. Some are deeply touched by music and can be helped through very difficult times etc by reflecting on the lyrics of a song or just getting lost in the music. To others music is nothing more than a backing track for putting on make-up or to dance to in a club and nothing more.

The X-factor draws out the shallow commercialism of what a lot of pop music generally tends to be. It offers people overnight fame considered by not only the merit of their 'talent' but also how they look, their mass appeal etc. It tends to trivialise music just for the appeal of money and fame, which a lot of people have a big problem with. A lot of genuine musical artists have had to struggle for years to refine their art and can be ushered into acceptance based mostly on their talent/ability to connect to people meaningfully.

The X factor strips all of this away and lends people overnight success just by showing up to an audition and singing a few songs over the space of a few weeks. This is why a lot of people butt heads over this subject because it can be difficult for both sides of the camp to empathise with each others opinions.
    In the words of one of my favourite bands.

"Music created from devotion, not ambition, not for fame."

That's my 2 cents on it anyway. Sorry for the rant but I tend to feel quite passionate about this kind of thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 squiggy133

he may have been a runner up but so were JLS and look at them now- I saw the show he was fantastic- like a professional! lovely guy to chat to too..

squiggy133 wrote: »
    he may have been a runner up but so were JLS and look at them now- I saw the show he was fantastic- like a professional! lovely guy to chat to too..
    JL who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Bluezar wrote: »
    I thought he was great on the X Factor and was very unlucky not to win it.

Jesus, I'm not begrudging the lad anything and I don't think others were either. I thought he seemed like a decent sort on the show butI just think it's sad that people can get so hyped up about a lad who, a couple of months ago, could've been working alongside you in AOL.

I wouldn't really be the kind of person to get very worked up about meeting genuinely famous people but at least that I can understand. But this? No.

Anyway, I hope the lad does well for himself and makes as much money as he can because I'd say he'll only have a short space of time to do it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I dont like the music on xfactor but I do watch it to be honest. I just get some laugh off Simon. Was hoping Stacey would win this year because she is mad.
    Fair play to Olly for doing what he is doing. Hopefully he makes a few million for himself. That was well sound of him to go around to everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 browners

After he played inside in the Talk Talk Call Centre he played privately for a group of Autistic children from Waterford in a room provided by the call centre and posed for photographs with all of them...really nice guy and photos of this will be in this weeks local papers in Waterford...got lots of shots of him with the kids but ca'nt post till the papers are published on Tuesday and Wednesday....some people like X-Factor, others do'nt but is'nt it the same with all forms of music...he will go on to make millions and I would'nt think he is too worried if anyone recognises his name in 50 years or not...for now he is doing his thing and fair play to him...the local branch for Autistic children WASSA (Waterford Autism Social & Sports Action) really enjoyed him anyhow....well done to all concerned for organising the event.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭bellz_x

Okay, Didn't know where else to post this. This is more than likely the total wrong place..
    But,
    Olly is back in Ireland since this evening. Anybody got any idea why and what he is doing here??

Ireland is a pretty big place when pondering the reasons for the whereabouts of a single person.