Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

biamping with old amp query

• 21-12-2009 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭

Hi,
    I recently got some speakers to power an old amp I have lying around :

Monitor audio B2 speakers each with 4 inputs.
    Sony ta-f420 amp with 8 outputs in total for two speakers.

I'm a newbie to biamping and haven't seen speakers with 4 inputs before.I'm wondering if I can biamp these speakers with this old amp. Are the outputs suitable? Any ideas on how to wire them?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭viperirl

Unless you can modify the internal crossover circuitry inside the speaker you will not be able to properly biamp. And then you would need a external active crossover unit. I think the 2 sets of outputs on your amp are there to drive two different sets of speakers. (I havent looked at the amp specs so this is an educated guess and from what I've seen before)
    The 4 inputs on your speaker allow you to 'biwire'. Sorry I dont have much time to explain but if you google it you'll get a good explaination. Let us know if you have any questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

Thanks. I'll google bi-wire as all I want is sound from both speakers, nothing fancy!