Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

James' Gate Burns?

• 21-12-2009 2:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Just got a call apparently James' Gate Guiness factory is on fire and there are 9 units of the fire brigade there. Anyone hear anything about this? I dont drink the stuff but still.... i like the add

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Moved to Dublin Forum

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Dublin fire service is dealing with a major fire at the Guinness plant in the city centre.

Around nine units are at the scene at Victoria Quay.

Motorists are being advised to avoid the area.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/fire-hits-guinness-plant-439137.html#ixzz0aKQnaCJu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's been contained according to RTE.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Lots of smoke from it still. I can see it from my office.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Yeah hearing same from a friend of mine whos in the area, lots of smoke and fire brigade is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

My Goodness! My Guinness!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

It doesn't seemed to be contained, the smoke is still billowing from it.

Ye think if I go down there and breath the fumes I can get hammered for free?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭Polar101

Grimes wrote: »
    Just got a call apparently James' Gate Guiness factory is on fire and there are 9 units of the fire brigade there.

Send in ALL UNITS! This is a national emergency.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Must have been some explosion, never seen anything like it! Some amount of smoke coming out from it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

• Registered Users Posts: 8,022 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

A load more fire engines just went flying up the quays, might be worse than first reported. The smoke is still unreal and I'm down by Tara st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Smells like burnt plastic down here.

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

saw 1 fire engine & the Chemical Incident Unit truck flying out of Donnybrook Fire Station around 1245, presumably heading there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hugoline

Still quite a bit of smoke (and the very odd flame) at 14:45

9bir2x.jpg

Garda chopper overhead for nearly 30 minutes now probaly checking for additional heat source...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

let it burn and lets hope it spreads :D

flying fire engines? jets or propellers?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

The luas to Tallaght isn't operating past Smithfield at the moment.

presumably, this fire and the bomb scare at st. jamies hopstiple has the drivers a nervous wreck. either that or they've just spotted a great opportunity to have a doss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

let it burn and lets hope it spreads :D

flying fire engines? jets or propellers?
    presumably, this fire and the bomb scare at st. jamies hopstiple has the drivers a nervous wreck. either that or they've just spotted a great opportunity to have a doss.

I think you think your funny, your not.

Now cop on & give it over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

rte wrote:
    Diageo says production is continuing elsewhere on the site.

That-Is-Excellent-MrBurns.jpg

I think you think your funny, your not.

do you really think you know what i think? have some kind of special gift??
    no, i'm just bored. :P
    this is where i come when i'm bored. sorry :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Bazzy

really home of the black stuff... hope no one was seriously injured and there'll be no drout on the porter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

do you really think you know what i think? have some kind of special gift??
    no, i'm just bored. :P
    this is where i come when i'm bored. sorry :o

Well if your still bored and sorry take a trip over to the Emergency Services forum and express your wishes for a quick recovery to the two fire fighters injured at todays fire, there's a thread running it on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I had to leave my apartment for a few hours because the place was filling up with smoke, just back now and relaxing with a can of guinness :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Bazzy wrote: »
    really home of the black stuff... hope no one was seriously injured and there'll be no drout on the porter

RTÉ news reported earlier that two firemen were taken to hospital...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Hope the two chaps involved make a good recovery.

Wonder what happened at James' though? It was in the newer storehouses, yeah?

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Wonder what happened at James' though? It was in the newer storehouses, yeah?

Thought it was being claimed that they were unused storehouses? It was reported that the roof on it was a least partially felt, which to me says they aren't that new..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Wonder what happened at James' though?
    There was repair work going on on the roof which was felt, tar and a flame was being used by the worker and it went a miss.