Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cockroach - Reduce rent ?!

Options
  • 22-12-2009 12:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi, I've moved into an apartment in August 09.
    The rent is 775 EUR per month and I share with 1 person. (I'm a student so dont have a huge budget.)

Shortly after we moved in, we discovered there were several cockroaches or rather a number of small woodlice, crawling insects etc in the kitchen area. They only come out at night time/when it's dark.
    We told our landlord straight away and he was very helpful, trying to get rid of them. He closed any possible gap but they are still there. He seems to understand we're bothered but for example never contacted an exterminator...

Now I heard, that you could get a rent reduction if you have a permanent problem like that. In genereal, I dont really want to move out of the apartment because it's well-located and also quite cheap but the cockroaches do annoy us.

Do you think there is a chance we can get a rent reduction if we talk to our landlord??

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

You need to tell your landlord asap that he has to contract a pest control contractor to remove the cockroaches. Ideally the managing agents would do this on his behalf as they most likely have a pest control contract for bin areas etc.

This is a public health issue

Cockroaches can potentially infest the whole building if they aren't exterminated quickly. It takes about three or four visits to fully exterminate them as they lay eggs all over the place.