Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Your own finest moment in a game?

• 22-12-2009 2:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

I presume everyone here has played soccer at some time in their life so just wondering what everyones stand out moment was?

A reaction save in a big final? Calmly finishing a one on one in the cup final?

Do tell......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Scoring my first header! Nothing game but I was afraid to head the ball at one stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

My own was a double save!

Tapped the first one on to the crossbar, ball came back out and just dived and flicked it away just as another player was about to strike it. Like Howard did for united against Bolton a few years back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Scored a brace in a Connacht schools semi before (U16). An achievement because it was only the second game I'd ever played as a striker.

And, like everyone else I'm sure, I have a few good memories from the playground and training pitch when I've scored a few sexy goals and made a few mouths drop :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Well we were 2 points down in the last minute of the last game of the season and facing relegation to division 5 of the county league.
    The ball was hit high in towards the square.....
    Im in the wrong place I think.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

Pulled off the Edmundo turn below in five-a-side and finished into the bottom corner, never happier!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuiOPuNe0N0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Scored a free kick from inside my own half last season. Keeper was a bit ropey so a few of our lads said to shoot. I told our strikers what I was doing and to follow it up but no need as it went straight in. Just hit it perfect.

Bagging 9 goals out of my teams 11 in a 5-a-side semi final recently was pretty sweet seeing as I'm a centre half when playing outdoor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Scoring 6 goals in a 7 0 win against Lourdes Celtic when I was 12 and getting 42 goals that season.

Injury ruined my career soon after, though I did manage to break my leg playing with my mate's 6 year old brother WATCHING a game a few years later.
    Snapped my femur in two and the match was abandoned so that I could get ambulanced !!! Shamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Good idea for a thread.
    My own is waking up one Saturday morning for a match realising I had left my boots in school the day before after playing a school match, rang the manager straight away and explained to him the story, but I said I would go along to the match to watch anyway. So there I was sitting out in a field in the middle of nowhere watching my team get outperformed and our promotion chances dented, trailing 2-0 at HT. But at half time my manager turns to me and says, "hold on, what size foot are you?", when I responded with 11 he slaps himself on the head and runs to his car and gives me his own pair of boots which were size 11. So at half time on come myself and another lad just back from injury. Match finished 5-2 to us, set up 3 goals myself and the other sub scoring twice. :cool:

Really could have just said came on at half time to turn 0-2 into 5-2, but the story makes it sound cooler :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Used to play upfront but as I got a bit older and fatter, I ended up in goals. One game an allmercyful fight broke out at the opposite end so I took off looking to see if I could lamp some fella......by the time I got to the fight I was wrecked...barely could breath and I didn't have to energy to hit anyone. But sur enough someone else had me earmarked for a punch...bang.....I hit the floor. Spent the rest of the game feeling sorry for meself and nursing a nice shiner.

When I played up front I got 4 goals in one game and we won 4-3 with a last minute header too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Scoring from the wing, in similar vain to Djibril Cisse's against Pompey a few years back. Except I meant it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I tend to remember the misses more than the ones that went in. Remember hitting the post of a left foot volley from way out in a 6 aside tournament i the last minute. We lost the game 2-1 thanks to a penalty that wasn't. neer forget it.

I remember some sweet passes and thumping tackles more so than goals too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I was a shíte player, and "played" for a team my Dad managed. He never gave me a game, the bastard.

Apart from at the beginning of one season, when he had run out of options for me, and decided to stick me up front. I was doing well, but just couldn't score.

Until one game. We went two up in the first half, but then got pegged back to 2-2.

Then I found myself with the ball at the edge of the box, looked up and saw the net. BLAM! Shot.

Back. Of. The. Net.

It was my first and only ever goal in competitive football. I turned and ran towards my Dad, the whole team jumped on me. I won us the game.

I was dropped two games later, but we won a "double" that season. League and League Cup.

Does time as a manager count?

Because everytime Boardeaux start a match and the lads shout "C'mon Boards, stuck in from the start" or during a game when one of the players gives a "C'mon Boardeaux" roar, that's pretty special too. Knowing I helped found and grow that team into what is now. Competing for medals every season we play.

That makes me extremely proud.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Have a couple of good memories. As a keeper, saving 2 in a shootout. As a centre half, lobbing the keeper from my own half. As a striker, scoring a perfect hattrick (left foot, right foot, header).

I've played almost everywhere on the pitch over the years.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Getting all three assists in a 3-0 win as a goalkeeper. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Surprising amount of former keepers in this thread.

Saved 3 pens and scored one (Ricardo/Butt :cool:) in a League Cup final shootout. Got mobbed, it was the best. Kept a clean sheet in normall time too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A younger one, when i was 12/13 playing in a mini world cup in the final. The team we played against had beaten us 8-0 with a full 6 a side team. Only 3 of my team came to the game. So 2 outfield players and a GK.

Managed to prevent them scoring, went to extra time. Got the ball keeper came out knocked it through his legs, but a last ditch tackle stopped me from scoring.
    A couple of mins later similar thing knocked it through the keepers legs and straight in, hundreds of people around the pitch did a Ryan Giggs Vs Arsenal celebration

got mobbed, never mind football probably one of my top memories. My gf is always critical of my competitive streak, I use this as a good example of what happens if you choose not to give up and fight for something you want.

also making RB for Bordeaux comes a close second :)

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Getting all three assists in a 3-0 win as a goalkeeper. :)

Hoofball? Route One? :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Des wrote: »
    Does time as a manager count?

Because everytime Boardeaux start a match and the lads shout "C'mon Boards, stuck in from the start" or during a game when one of the players gives a "C'mon Boardeaux" roar, that's pretty special too. Knowing I helped found and grow that team into what is now. Competing for medals every season we play.

That makes me extremely proud.

Someone get the tissues out :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Hoofball? Route One? :p
    I prefer to call it pin point sweeping passes to the strikers... :p

Someone get the tissues out :D

Xmas Brandies, sorry :D

By the way? A bleedin hat-trick in twenty minutes?

Er...you've never done that for me. Subs bench in future for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

I once scored the winner in the Connaught Cup Final from a free kick - crossbar, post and in!

What made it sweeter was that I'd just gave away a penalty at the other end minutes earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Scoring a screamer from about 25yards out for Pats against Shels at underage(they then ran up and got a peno and won 2-1 :( ), and scoring a brace against the then underage Irish keeper against Belvadere.

Xmas Brandies, sorry :D

By the way? A bleedin hat-trick in twenty minutes?

Er...you've never done that for me. Subs bench in future for you!

It was a case of proving somone wrong a man on a mission i was, then i got a PT job so my 11 a side grass ball went out the window for many moons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

5 a side and scoring my first goal in 26 years LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Back heel nuts on my opposing number as a left back, felt bad straight after though, he got terrible stick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

First season playing for my local senior team and finishing the season top scorer with 13 goals in 18 was pretty cool feeling.

Scoring my first hat trick for my club this season was cool.

But as someone said I tend to remember the misses and bad games more than the good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Before I got moved to goals in under 8s, the under 8s played the under 9s and I was only 6 so was too young to play in any competitive games so I got to play this one. Got the ball at the edge of the box and did a kind of sliding kick thing and it flew into the top corner. I ran away with my arms in the air like Alan Shearer. We lost that game 7-1 (they were a year older than us) but I'll always remember that moment. Until I quit at Under 16s or something, I only let in 1 penalty in a game. I had a way of saving them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Not the finest, but one that sticks out.
    scored a free kick from the half way line when i was about 12 and the ref claimed he didn't see it. Retook the kick and made a balls of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

U16s... 13 years ago at this stage :eek:

Scored 2 penalties and direct from a corner... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Well my own was just last year in an astroturf soccer league, I was playing up front on my own, i'm not the tall target man for that role but i could do the job.

We were playing in St Columcilles i think it's called, anyways one ball comes up to me after a clearance from the oppositions corner, i had my back to the opponents goal and was standing on the half way line, halfway between the centre circle and the left hand touch line.

There was a big guy marking me and i wasn't having much luck with winning headers, i decided to hold him off and let this one bounce, as it bounced i turned him and the ball came nicely onto my thigh. I didn't look to see if the keeper was off his line, i just decided to control it with my thigh and smack it towards goal.

The keeper was off his line and it went over him and straight into the goal, easily my finest moment in football

My biggest regret was playing under 10's, we had beaten Malahide 4-2 away with me scoring a hat-trcik, the return game we were drawing 2-2, i had a brace, i ran onto a ball, rounded the keeper and shot towards goal. Delighted i was going to get my hat-trick against them again, only for a teamate to run in and tap it in as it was approaching the line :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

3-1 down at half-time and playing rubbish, the manager made a few changes and few harsh words, i was brought on, scored three and made two assist as well winnning 6-3 at full-time and it was my first game for my new team, happy days :)

Also in my old job we played the management and we won 5-2, that was great because we were 2-1 down at half-time and it was a BIG game as you can imagine. Always nice beating the management that day.

Those two stand out for me, more so the second one against the mangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

25-a-side schoolyard box soccer (No keeper, tiny goals ) played with a tennis ball :D Hit a unstoppable 25 yard volley on the turn , SWEETEST STRIKE EVER .

never repeated :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Scored a hat-trick against Liverpool in an FA cup Final.
    Some dream that, right up there with the one with Sharon Stone.
    Played a Mullingar Cup game once, only 7 players showed due to harvesting went 3-0 up thanks to our almost professional centre forward who got sent off after the break. Went 4-3 down before I beat 4 players and curled one into the top corner for the equaliser but we still lost on penalties.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I was playing up front and it was nearing the end of a game, was really quite frustrated as had seen very little of the ball all game, decided in my head that the next time I got the ball I was going to have a pop, picked up just inside my own half, turned around, nobody closed me down carried it just into there half and had a pop, right in over the keeper delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I wasn't a great player at all but had a feeling for the goal.

Come to think of it, i did score a few memorable ones (memorable for me)

End of "career"; Match starts and scored straight from the kick off. Not a lucky long ball and the keeper going down on his arse but more a shot like Maynor Figueroa a few weeks ago.
    Start of career: 7 or 8 years old, playing right back i get the ball from the goal keeper and run past everybody i meet and score from the 16 yard.
    Must have passed 6 or 7 opponents, not exactly on skill but by just being at the ball a split second faster and managing to tap it away from their feet.
    It was from one end of the pitch to the other. And in those days we played full size pitches
    I should have quit playing at that moment :)

In between: numerous chips over the goalkeeper. Always felt great when they went in.

After not playing for the last 8 years i recently started playing on astro turf. Fantastic way to find out that you are old. :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Winning the top scorer at lunchtime soccer in school with 104 goals :p

Never really good enough to play until I was about 17. I practiced lots and I think I was given a chance with my local B team because of my work ethic more than my actual ability! Worked very hard on my game until I was starting every game.

Played with that local team until 20s, scoring my first hatrick in a 4-0 win and going on a 8 goal in 4-game streak. New manager was a twat though. Scored a hatrick but dropped in favour of his drinking buddy. Came off bench next game and scored 2 in the 8 minutes. Again dropped for drinking buddy who turned up drunk. Left pretty much after that.

Played with UL-B team, made some great friends and played with them for 3 years until I was 29. Won cup final and scored my fair share despite playing left wing and being right footed.

Played a friendly vs a full strength Cork City team. Marked by an monster of a man. Got hammered but super experience.

I'm 32 now and play competative Astro League. I really don't have the time to train in the ****e 2 nights a week and go away on the Sunday, but part of me wants to restart next season for some low league team.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Remembers playing U12's (over 20yrs ago at this stage), I tried my best but i was rubbish, I used to play left full and acquired the nickname chopper for my tendency to give away needless penalties lol.

Anyway this one game I was ushered forward for a corner kick, it was foreign territory for me to be across enemy lines (the half way line) and I remember standing on the edge of the box when the ref has a quick whisper in my ear "theres nobody on the back post son, id try my luck there if i was you".As luck would have it the ball sailed right onto my noggin and Into the back of the net for my first and only career goal lol.A treasured memory for a waster of a footballer lol

alanceltic wrote: »
    Remembers playing U12's (over 20yrs ago at this stage), I tried my best but i was rubbish, I used to play left full and acquired the nickname chopper for my tendency to give away needless penalties lol.

Anyway this one game I was ushered forward for a corner kick, it was foreign territory for me to be across enemy lines (the half way line) and I remember standing on the edge of the box when the ref has a quick whisper in my ear "theres nobody on the back post son, id try my luck there if i was you".As luck would have it the ball sailed right onto my noggin and Into the back of the net for my first and only career goal lol.A treasured memory for a waster of a footballer lol

Brilliant story mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

alanceltic wrote: »

I hope you reported that referee. The cheat :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

As a keeper letting in 8 goals in a season at under 12's in a 30 something game season including one goal which the ref asked me to let in because we where beating the opposition 7-0 and they where devestated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Being a Defender we don't get as many glory moments, but enjoy ruining them moments for attackers , had two that come to mind the first being 1-0 up with about 5 to go and a free kick outside the box, ball laid off hit sweetly by the lad on the other team got over two of our lads and I just managed to deflect it ever so slightly with a header to take it off course, was one of those oh dear moments were it could have went in as an og, but thankfully took it just accross the top of the bar.

Second was playing against a side who had a lad playing up front for them who was knocking in goals left right and centre all season, was told to man mark him for the game and I didn;t give him an inch, lad was frustrated out of his mind trying to get away from me...then when he finally thought he got his goal which he lobbed over our keeper and bouncing into the net I turn up again and clear it off the line on the volley...remember him just standing there shouting "MOTHERF****", we shook hands later lol

Ah, after reading the actual topic, I'll give my favourite memory.

We played in a cup final against a team that were nailed on to beat us. My family and my girlfriend turned up to watch which was really nice. It was a gorgeous summers day and there was a good crowd at it. As a team we never worked so hard during a game. I already had a goal disallowed for offside and I had set up the second.

But my favourite memory was when when there was about 8 minutes to go. I was exhausted, absolutely shattered on the left wing as I was tracking their winger all game. I received the ball just inside their half on the left and noticed a little space. I got around 2 tackles and notice that the keeper was about 6 yards off his line. The ball took a bobble and on it's way down I hit it with the outside of my right boot with as much venom as I could muster.

Time literally stood still as the ball curled in the air and I knew it was sailing for the right hand corner over the keepers head. I remember the gasps of anticipation from our bench, the supporters of both teams and my team mates. The urges for the ball to go in. Right on the line, the keeper made an absolutely miraculous save. What I'll never forget was the applause from everyone in attandance and the look of pride on my familys face.

We lifted the cup that day and I remember a good friend telling me I deserved the goal for my performance. That was my last game for UL and as a group of friends, we all went our separate ways.

Just thinking about it makes me want to get palying junior soccer again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Scored a decent volley in Terryland Park at U-14's. T'was a cup Final and it was a nice deft volley over the keeper's head. It was a good cross and I struck the ball from 2 yards inside the box on the left, kinda swivled and caught the ball perfectly and it just dipped until it was under the crossbar (keeper was at most 5"1).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Robbed the ball off the opposition near their own goal (like what Murphy did to Scholes at the weekend), and ran around the last defender. One-on-one with the keeper, I slotted it through his legs from two feet and into the net.

My finest goal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

My happiest footballing moments were playing it at school.

Showing up a League of Ireland player at training a number of times at training brought me great satisfaction also.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Johner wrote: »
    Scoring a screamer from about 25yards out for Pats against Shels at underage(they then ran up and got a peno and won 2-1 :( ), and scoring a brace against the then underage Irish keeper against Belvadere.

Oh also scoring in Richmond Park against East Counties, low left footed shot into the bottom corner from the edge of the box, that's up there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Down to ten men in a Superleague cup game. 1 nil down.

Midway through the second half our left back gets raped and is going through on goal from an angle but I just get back and dive at our near post with an outstretched leg as he shoots.

82nd minute (ish) I join in midfield to receive a pass from one of our better passers, I try to return it but it deflects to one of our strikers just outside the box who absolutely belts it into the corner.

Last minute, I go up for a corner, it is cleared, but I stay up and the ball is knocked out wide again and this time I head it home. 2-1

Some team from Gonzaga - green jersies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,950 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

This is a bit long winded but anyways...

When I was 11, I played with the lads soccer team (first ever registered female of the club!), I only got to play in a match twice as I was too small to make any impact but always dreamed of scoring for them. Never happened. Gave it up as I couldn't play with the lads. When I was 16, I joined a ladies club, found my comfort zone in either centre mid or out on the left wing. Came close to scoring a rake of times but never happened, I got pretty frustrated. That team fell apart as we couldn't keep the numbers.

This year, I spent about 2 months badgering people in my local soccer team and eventually I got it all together. We had 22 girls, on average, turning up for training and matches. After four training sessions, we had our first match and I got the captains role. On our fourth match, I was playing out on the right wing. We hadn't won a match yet. We got a free kick outside the box, I dropped back behind the defender so when our free taker was running up to take it, I was running directly along the line and when she kicked it, I had some momentum and shot off. Crossed in front of the defender and goalie, took it on my left knee and turned for a sweet half volley on my weaker left foot into the bottom right corner ! Beautiful! We managed to hang on til the final whistle and recorded our first win! I never felt so elated, I have only waited 9 bleedin' years to get that goal!

I am the first registered lady, first ladies captain and the only lady to score in our first victory! An achievement I like to brag about... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Lobbing the keeper in the mid-lands final for my school from about 25 yards. Been injured since so I don't have anything better to report than that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

kicking lumps out of Rooney for 90 minutes straight and thus being the reason he didnt get near our goal during that match. Although that is def a more retrospective finest moment cos we didnt know who the feck Rooney was at the time just that he was the top scorer in the Tournament we were in.