Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pregnant Womans Moan Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

@ Adrienne, I know the feeling I'm like an 80 year old woman when I try to stand up straight it takes a good 2 minutes to go from sitting to standing fully straight!

I was in with the consultant last week and she said the baby was engaged, though from what I've read I'm supposed to be able to breath easier as baby not squashing my lungs and things should feel lighter, not feeling either though (yet)!

@ fi1979 - I'm so glad I'm not alone I keep doing the doziest of things like putting the remote control in the dishwasher, forgetting to ring people :o

@ Hacked - I'm glad you got sorted with the buggy and fair play to them for throwing in the freebies, just a shame they sold your original one especially after you called them so many times to let them know you were coming in and plus the fact you had it fully paid! don't understand how/why they still managed to sell it!

So happy I'm finally home! I'm looking so forward to my own bed, not having to fill the toilet cistern with buckets of rain water and joy of all joys a lovely hot shower with my own shower & shower gel - bliss!!! :D:D:D

Just finished washing all the baby clothes I bought, just trying to summon the energy to iron them now, might take a while :o

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

AGH!!!!!!!!!!

Mothercare saga part 3:

Woke up bright and early, did not take a shower. According to Sod's law delivery men arrive during showers.

10.30 am I start wondering about what happens if man doesnt come.

2.00 I am starting to get worried.

3.00 I call Manager at mothercare. She is not in today...very convenient. I am irritated. I ask to speak to someone in charge. Said someone in charge is shocked to hear that they sold a fully paid for buggy in such a fashion. Promises to ring head office straight away and call me back.

4.20 Still no call from mothercare. I make a call, get a girl at the till ask to speak to her manager saying I called an hour and a half ago and was promised a call back. Was told her manager was on her break. I got pissed off and told her to get her manager to call me as soon as her break is over.

25 minutes later...no call. Call back, Get the same girl. Start getting really angry telling her that this is mothercares fault to begin with and that I am seriously pissed I am being jerked around over something that was their fault to begin with...rarara....girl says all shecan do is pass the message on again.

5.15 Manager finally calls back. She says she called head office a number of times and could not get through to anyone. Long story short...I am not getting the pram, and mothercare has waisted a full day of mine, one I had to reschedule to be around for the damn collection.
    I was very angry. I started ranting and telling her exactly what I thought of the situation. She was actually very nice, was agreeing with me, and told me to keep on ranting away. (clearly trained to deal with hevily pregnant women!!) She actually completely agreed with me, said she was shocked herself and that there was no excuse for their service. I also had had a right to worry, as buggy is no longer being carried. Woman told me she would be the sole person dealing with the case from now on so that I had a contact to work with. She also told me i would definately get the same buggy I ordered and that they will order it in from the states if they have to. I demanded a refund...she said she would sort me out.

Seriously pissed off, but this lady was actually very nice and knew what she was talking about, so hopefully she will sort it and I will be treated fairly.

So upset right now, this shouldn't be so difficult!!!!!!!! :mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Swizzles

Oh my god!!!Hacked im actually seriously pissed for you:mad::mad: ..If i were in your shoes id check up citizens information ..See if theres something on that about selling sold products.Surely there has to be some law on it ..Im not saying take um to court but yano throw in the line ..Ill see what the small claims court has to say about this ..:D Or maybe start a lil easier and pick the local radio station :D

haha thanks swizzles. Well, selling a product that ahas already been sold is very much illegal. So they know I have them over a barrel, and woman I dealt with today seemed very embarassed. I'm basically in a position to ask for whatever I want. So I'm just demanding that they get me the exact same model I paid for....whatever that takes (they have agreed) and said I want a discount. (To which she has said "we'll sort you out") I don't know what that means....but I do know I'm entitled to one, and I WILL be getting it. Besides selling my buggy, they scewed me over again today....doesn't leave them in a good position as the last remaining buggy in this model that was promised to me is now MIA and they have to order one from somewhere else. I'm quite a shrewd business woman lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Swizzles

Haha good on ya hun ..Dont give um an inch :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ebmma

If someone else tells me 'it's your first, you are definitely going to be late' i'll throw smth at them. Yeah. Everyone is late with their 1st. Except all those people who are not late...or early. grr

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭elsy

Ebmma don't mind them i went a week early on my first. i think if someone goes over on there 1st they just presume everyone will and thats definitly not the case!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Well on average first pregnancies are 40+5 weeks so in general they are longer but that's not to say that everyone's is.

I think people just say things for the sake of having something to say, they don't think that you're hearing the same things from everyone!

Spent too long standing up yesterday, my feet we're like these little sausagy things! Eep! After a foot massage and a good night's sleep I'm happy to report that they look human again.

ebmma wrote: »
    If someone else tells me 'it's your first, you are definitely going to be late' i'll throw smth at them. Yeah. Everyone is late with their 1st. Except all those people who are not late...or early. grr

I had a gas one, a (pregnant) girl told me last week that 'most first pregnancies go early' - that's a new one to me!

I LOVE the amount of pregnancy experts that come out of the woodwork once they realise you're pregnant :rolleyes:

Oh god I know, its mad isn't it? This morning I went to visit my old church, hadn't seen them all since before christmas and everyone kept telling me how huge my bump is. Thanks.

I'm 33 weeks now, and at the stage where being around large groups of people put me in a foul mood. I'm so sick of talking about the baby, and people asking the SAME questions ALL the time EVERYTIME they see me. Especially when are you due!

Awaiting call from mothercare tomorrow regarding the mysterious case of the missing buggies. Please God, we'll have it sorted,

Water has also managed to seep in under my back door and saturate the bedroom carpet. The door to my ensuite is now warped and wont close, so all the heat is escaping. And I'm having to move the cot out of the bedroom even though there is no where to put it in the other room because I Dont want it or the mattress to be ruined. More fun dealings with landlord tomorrow...hurray!

Hope the water shortage hasn't left any of you lovely ladies too stuck!

hacked wrote: »
    ...and at the stage where being around large groups of people put me in a foul mood. I'm so sick of talking about the baby, and people asking the SAME questions ALL the time EVERYTIME they see me. Especially when are you due!

I seen great maternity tee shirts on a website that I was tempted to get before, it had a logo on it something like...

I'm due xx/xx/xx
    Its a girl/boy/not finding out the sex
    I'm fine thanks!

or something to that effect, answers all those monotonous questions in one go!

I had it at a family party before Xmas and I was ltierally like a broken record repeating the same things over and again!!!

Fingers crossed all will go well for you tomorrow with mothercare.
    Is there anywhere else locally you could get it if they keep messing you around? Or anywhere you could order online from that would deliver it out?
    At this stage you must be sick of the aggro and definitely entitled to your money back

Cap...thats a brilliant idea!! I'll be going in to the hospital on tuesday, and there's a place in Stephen's Green Shopping Centre in Dublin City that make tshirts. So tempted to go in and get one made. Shall I pick one of for you too?? Send me the details! :D

Thanks! Well, at this point it's better to just stick with mothercare. I got a great deal with them, and at this rate and I'll be getting an even better deal even if it's been frustrating. The woman in charge of "my case" will be calling me tomorrow, so I guess I'll just have to wait to see what she has to say tomorrow!

How are you feeling these days? You're next in line, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

How are you feeling these days? You're next in line, right?

I reckon that honour goes to Das Kitty and she will lynch any one of us that goes before her! Haha just kidding! I think it's...

Das Kitty
    Caprilicious
    Meeee :D
    hacked

stupid me!! I know we discussed this a few weeks ago and I got it confused as well!

Actually I read something yesterday that would indicate there is one person before me...but my head is so full of crap I can't seem to remember anything anymore!! It's so pathetic.

Aw cool we have our line up!
    Though I thought I was nearly skipping the queue Saturday night I'd to go into hospital with period like pains/cramps that I had for a few hours.

I'm finding a little bit confusing because they didn't actually say that baby might come early, but they did get me to come in 2 nights in a row for steroid injections to develop baby's lungs just in case she does come early.
    So I'm on high alert now :rolleyes: just in case!!
    This little lady is so active I hadn't realised how much until in the hospital they but a monitor on me and I'd to click a little thingy every time she kicked.
    She clocked up 120 + kicks in just under 40 minutes, no wonder I'm so tired lately!!

Anyone else got some seriously hyperactive babs in there? :D

Hacked any luck with your ongoing mothercare saga? fingers crossed they got you sorted today!

My little man is non stop action Capri. Even if I can't feel it when I put my hand there he's always doing something or other. His new creepy as feck trick is practising his breathing. You can see him breathing away inside.

Been starving the last couple of days, nyom. LOL

Das Kitty wrote: »
    His new creepy as feck trick is practising his breathing. You can see him breathing away inside.

Omg seriously :eek: that's amazing!

My little one specialises in kicking the living daylights out of me, though I did see her hiccupping last week which was cute as her daddy had a dose of them at the same time, so they were nearly synchronised :D

cap -- yeah it seems like they do the steroid injections a lot! I got those too. I'm starting to wonder if I will go early actually. Contractions are going on all the time. All saturday...was in such a fouler! Baby dropped twice on saturday but wriggled her way back up.

GP said she was head down but not engaged yesterday. Today she dropped properly and I had some contractions...jst braxton hicks, but they were bad and worse than i've had before...which were intense enough! She tried to wriggle out, but kept getting pushed back down. So I understand, im also on alert!

Mothercare..oh lord. Long story short. They lied...again. I spent another full day calling an dcalling and getting avoided all day. Manager came on and said that it wasn't their fault, the courier lostthe buggy and that they would find it and deliver it. She didn't understand why I was so angry. Got a call from the warehouse today. they found the buggy. It;s being home delivered tomorrow...time unknown as of now. I called manager at mothercare, asked her about the discussed partial refund. She thought I didn't want the buggy! I explained I was owed compensation and had been promised to be "sorted out". She tried to get out of it. Said was there anything else i needed for the baby, she could post something to me. No...I said I would come in myself. So I'm going in to pick out something decently priced I could use, and am hoping to get buggy tomorrow. Although I am completely unimpressed about having to waist another day of life!

Thanks for the info on the jab Hacked I feel a bit better knowing that you can still be getting the contractions but not necessarily mean you're going to pop baby out any time soon!

I'm only about 80% organised so far so would really love if babs would hang on in there another fortnight at least to give me a chance to get the house tidy & get finished up in work!

I can't believe Mothercare still messed your order even more.
    Might be no harm try to get something in writing from them to the effect that they're going to do something for you just in case they 'forget' that bit after.
    Fingers crossed you will finally receive it tomorrow!

I'm going to have a good old moan about the Coombe Womens Hospital... kinda need some of your advice on what to do also ladies!

Was supposed to attend the hospital on the 30/12 but because of the bad weather and ice I couldn't get over. I rang the hospital and explained this to them and they rang me back with an appointment for the week after, the 6th of January. This was the day the busses were cancelled so I couldn't get over then either, I tried to ring them to make alternative arrangements but couldn't get through to the appointments department that day.

I have been trying ever since to get in contact with them and they are just not answering their phones. I keep getting put through, listen to all the phone numbers to ring for the different regions, the music for holding comes on and after three minutes automatically cuts me off. I have tried emailing their "Urgent Appointments" section and I have sent them a snail mail letter (on the 3rd Jan) and have not heard ANYTHING from them. I have even rang the main hospital and tried to get through to appointments from there but nothing.

My GP doesn't offer combined care, also he's a bit useless anyways (insisted I wasn't pregnant on Addison when I had already taken 9 HPT's and his tests were coming out negative), but I rang his receptionist today and asked would he be able to write to the hospital for me or try and get in touch with them and she told me as it's not combined care that it's my responsibility to contact the hospital and that if I was that worried I should just present myself at the emergency room in the hospital!

I haven't been seen since October... maybe I should just go over but as it's not an emergency I'd feel a bit silly sitting there with the poor mothers who have problems...

Blah, I hate the Coombe :(

All I can say isthey have lost my custom!! I won't be returning after i get my free stuff! :P

Yeah, apparently they give out the injections a lot as a precaution. They told me when I was in over christmas that I was no going into labour right then, but that I could do in the following days/weeks so just in case they gaveme steroid injections to imporve babies chances of being healthy. I guess i t's more of a better safe than sorry scenario as I know Holles Street for one don't stop early labours.
    I was told if i went in again with more false labour they might give me another course or so.

Still, if you are having a lot of symptoms, it doesnt hurt to familiarise yourself with the difference between Braxton hicks and real labour!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Good jaysus the misery! I'm 8+4 today and its grim, grim grim. I haven't been back to work since Christmas as I'm too busy hovering over the toilet getting sick or just retching with nothing coming up. I'm constantly hungry but don't really feel like eating but if I allow myself to get hungry I start to feel really sick.

I can barely handle feeding my son his food and keep having to stop to get sick. OH bought me a horrible meal from M & S's Fuller Longer range and now everytime I see the ad on the tv with a picture of the meal I have to rush to the sink to be sick! He thinks its hilarious that a picture is making me puke.

I have to sit down in the shower as I am so nauseous and I can't handle the dog's breath. Also, because I am so inactive I keep waking up throughout the night and it takes me ages to get back to sleep.

Misery!!!

Vel wrote: »
    Good jaysus the misery! I'm 8+4 today and its grim, grim grim. I haven't been back to work since Christmas as I'm too busy hovering over the toilet getting sick or just retching with nothing coming up. I'm constantly hungry but don't really feel like eating but if I allow myself to get hungry I start to feel really sick.

I can barely handle feeding my son his food and keep having to stop to get sick. OH bought me a horrible meal from M & S's Fuller Longer range and now everytime I see the ad on the tv with a picture of the meal I have to rush to the sink to be sick! He thinks its hilarious that a picture is making me puke.

I have to sit down in the shower as I am so nauseous and I can't handle the dog's breath. Also, because I am so inactive I keep waking up throughout the night and it takes me ages to get back to sleep.

Misery!!!

Morning sickness was by a million miles the worst part of pregnancy for me and I wasn't even that bad. The only positive being it makes it harder to worry.

Adrienne, I'd just rock up to the hospital on the clinic day and ask to be seen telling them no one was picking up the phone. You should be seeing someone every 2 weeks at least at this stage. Also, change your GP, sounds like a thundering gob****e. Mine's the pits too and am changing as soon as mister arrives.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭TargetWidow

Hello Ladies - back again.....

Had a lovely family w/e in Dublin and really enjoyed the break. My husband's medical tests went well and we got good news. My daughterfed the duckies to her heart's content and we strolled around soaking up the lovely atmosphere and it made me want to move back.Didn't bother with the zoo this time and I'm glad of it. Spent the money in Butlers handmade choccy shop over the 2 days instead and got loads of lovely stuff for My daughter's new room as well. Still waiting for the cotbed to arrive from Limerick though :( It's only been 9 days though, and I feel guilty for giving out considering what poor hacked has been through with MC.

Not much to moan about for me really. Super itchy on the belly so I am slathering on the fenjal in the shower and every other substance I can find after the shower and it deffo does help. Must start the search for staff to replace me for my maternity leave soon. Only have 1 person who could fit the bill and really hoping she is interested in coming back into the sector as she has been out for a few years having her own babas, but another person was talking to her lately and she seemed interested in getting back in the game so cross fingers toes eyes and legs for me girls tomorrow cos I've got her mobile and Im gonna give it a go. The job I do requires enormously prohibitive amounts of training (I spent 6 mths and €4,000 training someone to cover my 10 day honeymoon and they buggered off and decided to become a lifeguard when I got back!), and these days requires QFA quals too, and if I'm gonna hand my business over to someone for 6 months they are gonna need some experience and plenty of courage! The last person I had do my last maternity leave loved it so much she applied for the tender for her own business in a nearby village and won the contract so she's not available now either (but I am happy for her as she was brilliant and deserved a bit of job stability). This woman I am asking tomorrow has all of this. I feel nervous about asking and it's not like me to be this way. Part of me wants to stick my head in the sand and put it off but another part of me thinks she'll get snapped up by someone else and then I will be in big trouble.So tomorrow is D-Day for me. I want to post this so that I will make myself do it. Hopefully I will be back in tomorrow night with great news.:D

Adrienne a previous poster gave good advice- get over to the hospital yourself. My GP is rubbish too even though he does shared care I end up having to watch every little thing cos he forgets. Eg. Was telling consultant on monday week about the severe exhaustion and kinda saying I suppose I just have to grin and bear it and she asked me if I was taking any supplements. I said no and asked why. She said that I had 35 yrs to build up iron stores before My daughter was born and only 2 yrs before this one was conceived. Unless I was taking something to supplement it it would be natural for my iron and therefore energy levels to be low and that this was far more common with second pregnancies than first and how come my GP hadn't told me this at the first visit! Eejit! I got myself some Pregnacare (as per her recommendation - she says I don't need anything stronger) and hey presto I do feel considerably perkier this week. I will be asking the GP about this when I see him again. I won't be holding my breath for a sensible reply!

I had a false labour with My daughterlast time. About 8 hours of it and then it just stopped. (on the sat and I went into full labour on the mon and she was born tues). What IS the difference between braxton hicks and real labour? It felt exactly the same when I went into early labour. How do you know it is just braxton hicks?

Got through to the Coombe today after waiting half hour on the phone (rang from a landline this time!) and gave them my hospital number explained the situation and the lady on the phone says "oh but there is no other appointment on the system for you" yeah, duh that's cos I missed the last two through no fault of my own. Have an appointment for next Wednesday at 10am. Thank God!

Fingers crossed for you TargetWidow, hope she takes your offer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Please do not use text speak it is forbidden site wide and includes DD DS OH and LO.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Please do not use text speak it is forbidden site wide and includes DD DS OH and LO.

Maybe I'm stupid, but I don't even know what DD or DS are supposed to stand for!!

Ugh I'm so pissed off!!! I'm sick of everything i own dissappearing. I put it down and then it's gone. It makes me want to farking scream.

Maybe I'm stupid, but I don't even know what DD or DS are supposed to stand for!!

Ugh I'm so pissed off!!! I'm sick of everything i own dissappearing. I put it down and then it's gone. It makes me want to farking scream.

Darling Daughter/Darling Son :p

Check your sisters drawers ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭TargetWidow

Right then. Did it! Wohoo. Feel so liberated. I telephoned the woman and she said she would be interested but only in part-time as she has two small children herself. Now I need to figure out what next. OR rather who else. My husband is sitting his QFA tomorrow and when he passes (we are thinking positively!) he will be technically qualified but would need some training on the practical end. At least I know he wont sod off and decide to become a lifeguard and I don't have to pay him for the time he spends at work while training:D

About the text-speak thing, humble apologies. I think it was on rollercoaster or some other parenting board when I was a newbie that I spotted those and thought them a suitable idea for protecting the identity of a child/husband, but since it is forbidden here I will not use it. I simply did not realise, for that I must apologize profusely.

Husband is sitting his QFA tommorrow and we have quite a lot riding on it. His boss in his current job is a right pain right now buggering off to spain for weeks on end and leaving no one in charge and just giving dogs abuse to everyone on the phone. He sacked a guy today because the guy suggested that he wasn't being paid the JLC rates for the job. The threat of sacking is hanging over everyone's head. My suggestion is that the boss is lazy, absent and negligent and hubby should start his own company and steal all his contracts.;) Much stress today.:rolleyes:

Thought I felt little bubbles in my belly tonight... 16 weeks, I wonder is that too soon?:confused:

Right then. Did it! Wohoo. Feel so liberated. I telephoned the woman and she said she would be interested but only in part-time as she has two small children herself. Now I need to figure out what next. OR rather who else. My husband is sitting his QFA tomorrow and when he passes (we are thinking positively!) he will be technically qualified but would need some training on the practical end. At least I know he wont sod off and decide to become a lifeguard and I don't have to pay him for the time he spends at work while training:D

About the text-speak thing, humble apologies. I think it was on rollercoaster or some other parenting board when I was a newbie that I spotted those and thought them a suitable idea for protecting the identity of a child/husband, but since it is forbidden here I will not use it. I simply did not realise, for that I must apologize profusely.

Husband is sitting his QFA tommorrow and we have quite a lot riding on it. His boss in his current job is a right pain right now buggering off to spain for weeks on end and leaving no one in charge and just giving dogs abuse to everyone on the phone. He sacked a guy today because the guy suggested that he wasn't being paid the JLC rates for the job. The threat of sacking is hanging over everyone's head. My suggestion is that the boss is lazy, absent and negligent and hubby should start his own company and steal all his contracts.;) Much stress today.:rolleyes:

Thought I felt little bubbles in my belly tonight... 16 weeks, I wonder is that too soon?:confused:

If your husband does start his own business give us a call. My other half wouldn't mind working for an honest security officer for once!

Don't think 16 weeks is too early, especially for a second pregnancy!!