Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric picnic 2010 - All discussion no ticket sales/swaps

• Registered Users Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Does anyone reckon any chance of Fever Ray playin some of The knife stuff??
    Probley not i guess but would be cool to hear a mixture if theres a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭techno-allah

It'a highly doubtful I reckon. She'll only have about a 40 minute set or so. Imagine the album will take up most if not all of that time

• Registered Users Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

It'a highly doubtful I reckon. She'll only have about a 40 minute set or so. Imagine the album will take up most if not all of that time

Pitty cause even though its a decent album its a bit down beat i know the knifes aint much better at times ha!! but theres some more up tempo kinda tunes on other albums. Still cant wait to hear when i grow up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

She didn't play any when I saw her before. Her set was great though, really atmospheric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Toast wrote: »
    Last year it didn't sell out until the last week. Also this year it didn't sell out the early bird tickets either. I would suspect that combined with last years washout that it isn't likely to sell out this side of August at the least but it is hard to say as they could always announce something that changes this or the Summer could be a particularly good one increasing sales.

i got my ticket the thursday before the weekend last yr so it wont sell out !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 themucaro

Comparisons with other festivals are valid but there's no need to list full lineups from other festivals, such info is off-topic. I've removed the fluff from the posts by themucaro.

Fair enough, but what about the fluff that was posted by yourself or other mods?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by f®eak s©enery
    True, and they've already confirmed LCD Soundsystem.

Yeah, I've said it before... €250 is just so much for a festival that doesn't really have "big" names. Roskilde... now that's a festival worth €250, and it's not even €250. ****, Primavera Sound cost me €100.

Primavera Sounds lineup is significantly better in my option.

Quote:
    Pixies Wilco Grizzly Bear Spoon Broken Social Scene Florence and the Machine The xx The New Pornographers Pavement Yeasayer Pet Shop Boys Beach House Orbital Built To Spill Panda Bear Low The Charlatans CocoRosie Matt & Kim Atlas Sound No Age Big Pink Gary Numan Dr. Dog Les Savy Fav Tortoise **** Buttons The Antlers Wire Wild Beasts Diplo The Fall The Books Major Lazer The Field The Bloody Beetroots Lee "Scratch" Perry HEALTH The Drums Japandroids Mission of Burma Sunny Day Real Estate Surfer Blood The Slits Real Estate Titus Andronicus Jeffrey Lewis Shellac Fake Blood Here We Go Magic Superchunk A Sunny Day In Glasgow Delorean Hope Sandoval And The Warm Inventions Liquid Liquid Moderat The Wave Pictures Bis Scout Niblett Cold Cave Owen Pallett Joker Best Coast Marc Almond Clean The Smith Westerns Crocodiles Polvo Seefeel Boy 8-bit Sleigh Bells Nomad Dum Dum Girls Thee Oh Sees Sic Alps Harlem Circulatory System Van Dyke Parks Clare & the Reasons Ganglians Roddy Frame Monotonix Condo ****s Ben Frost Sian Alice Group Beak Chrome Hoof Apse nana grizol Standstill Wild Honey Black Math Horseman Ui Camaron Bundles Duquende King Khan And Bbq Psychic Paramount Half Foot Outside Pony Bravo Emilio Jose Chicuelo Cohete Mujeres Biscuit bigott Neuva Vulcano The Allmighty Defenders Endless Boggie Rothershlleymullan Lidia Damut Festival San Miguel Primavera Sound La Leyenda Del Tiempo 30 Aos Despus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

With you on that. If we had the funding we'd have Body & Soul at our own festival in a shot.

Not NPLD by any chance? Body and soul have their own festival this year as well

www.bodyandsoul.ie

Could turn out to be the ''new'' picnic if it goes well.
    Outstanding work ye do.

Consider that in all that wooden stuff knocking around the area, no nails are used in construction. It's absolutely insane. The chippies are incredible men/women, especially the crowd who were doing the wattle and weaving work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

There's a post on the EP forum saying that a friend of theirs works with Friendly Fires and they are playing this year. Probably shouldn't get excited just yet but hopefully that's true.
    Delphic & Yeasayer are both playing Reading the weekend before EP, so if they are doing festivals in late summer there has to be a good chance they'll be announced. (In my mind anyway :pac:)
    Modest Mouse, LCD Soundsystem, Mumford & Sons, The Big Pink & Crystal Castles are all playing there as well. Fingers crossed they aren't the only ones playing both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭whelpy

I just found out today that Jónsi is in the lineup :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I WANANANANANA GOOOO...............................240 euro....................

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

whelpy wrote: »
    I just found out today that Jónsi is in the lineup :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I WANANANANANA GOOOO...............................240 euro....................

yeah he's good aint he

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I once asked a person who was fairly close to bodytonic and his explanation was that the organisers wanted a bit more of a family vibe, thus the rationale for ridding the festival of pumping techno at 3am.... Ill be very, very surprised if they make a return
    So techno isn't family friendly and is therefore a big no-no, but Neutronyx psytrance at 4 in the morning, and all the space invaders it attracts, is a-ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

yeah he's good aint he

Does he perform any Sigur Ros stuff in his set? Love his solo stuff but would be amazing to hear a few Sigur songs.

Bacchus wrote: »
    Does he perform any Sigur Ros stuff in his set? Love his solo stuff but would be amazing to hear a few Sigur songs.

As with Fever Ray performing The Knife stuff, I'd say it's highly doubtful. He's got two solo albums of material he can play himself and has only just released a new album.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 498 ✭✭Splainc

As with Fever Ray performing The Knife stuff, I'd say it's highly doubtful. He's got two solo albums of material he can play himself and has only just released a new album.

He has put his album up for preview

Sounds great!!!

http://thegmanworld.blogspot.com/2010/03/listen-to-go-from-jonsi-now.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

reckon chemical brothers are likely to be added?? new album in june, theyre playing sonar and exit and the likes. id be fuming if oxegen got them!

df1985 wrote: »
    reckon chemical brothers are likely to be added?? new album in june, theyre playing sonar and exit and the likes. id be fuming if oxegen got them!

I heard before that they should be announced alright. Probably on the next round of announcements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 498 ✭✭Splainc

df1985 wrote: »

I am sick of seeing the chemical brothers at festivals to be honest :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭whelpy

yeah he's good aint he

He's Jesus, lol

Splainc wrote: »
    I am sick of seeing the chemical brothers at festivals to be honest :(

If they are added you don't have to see them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Taz86

I'd love to go to this. €240 is steep though. I really want to see Roxy Music though. 'Over You', 'Virginia Plain', 'Bitters End' and 'More Than This' in particular have accompanied me through many events :) Would love to see them. I can see myself eventually giving in and just going without other essential stuff like food :o Music anorak.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    If they are added you don't have to see them.

The point, as you've missed it, is to get in someone else instead of them as they tend to play alot of festivals and thus broadening the line up rather than going for a safe easy and after you've seen them a few times boring option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ZiX ZiX ZiX

I personally hate when artists/bands start whoring their new album at festivals, I mean it's a festival most people who see you won't be huge fans already and just wanna hear the anthems they can sing and dance along to. Arcade Fire/Faithless/Julian Casablancas/etc are all gonna do that at oxegen this year.

lordgoat wrote: »
    The point, as you've missed it, is to get in someone else instead of them as they tend to play alot of festivals and thus broadening the line up rather than going for a safe easy and after you've seen them a few times boring option.

I didn't miss the point at all. I bet there's many people out there that would love to see them, that may not have seen them before. Just because you have and don't want to again doesn't mean the rest of us should miss out. There'll be other acts on different stages at the same time that you can go to, if you really want to avoid them. There's plenty of acts announced this year that I would find boring. I just won't go see them. I'm not going to complain that they are playing the festival.

There's loads of smaller lesser known bands that I'd love to see added but the whole line-up doesn't have to be non-safe, as you put it. A couple of well known names isn't a bad thing. Why can't we have both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

I personally hate when artists/bands start whoring their new album at festivals, I mean it's a festival most people who see you won't be huge fans already and just wanna hear the anthems they can sing and dance along to. Arcade Fire/Faithless/Julian Casablancas/etc are all gonna do that at oxegen this year.

What would you expect them to do? They've written all this new stuff, worked on it for god knows how long and now they're probably playing 100-odd festivals over three or four months and you expect them not to want to play this brand new shiny set of songs they've been working so hard on? The festival circuit is probably the biggest promotional tool in a bands arsenal, it stands to reason they will promote their newest stuff.

Arcade Fire are more likely to play most of their new album at Oxegen, as is fair. I doubt Casablancas will be playing any Strokes stuff either. Picnic-confirmed bands like the National and LCD Soundsystem have new albums coming out in the next couple of months, I'd imagine what they would be most excited about playing, and what most people would be most excited about hearing, will be the songs off those new albums.

And its a music festival, quite a lot of people go because of the music! Therefore they will go because of the bands that are playing. If they are fans of enough of them they will buy a ticket. That would infer that most of the people that see bands at festivals are already fans of the bands in question or are interested in becoming fans. If they weren't they'd probably be somewhere else. 'Tis the beauty of festivals.

What would you expect them to do? They've written all this new stuff, worked on it for god knows how long and now they're probably playing 100-odd festivals over three or four months and you expect them not to want to play this brand new shiny set of songs they've been working so hard on? The festival circuit is probably the biggest promotional tool in a bands arsenal, it stands to reason they will promote their newest stuff.

Arcade Fire are more likely to play most of their new album at Oxegen, as is fair. I doubt Casablancas will be playing any Strokes stuff either. Picnic-confirmed bands like the National and LCD Soundsystem have new albums coming out in the next couple of months, I'd imagine what they would be most excited about playing, and what most people would be most excited about hearing, will be the songs off those new albums.

And its a music festival, quite a lot of people go because of the music! Therefore they will go because of the bands that are playing. If they are fans of enough of them they will buy a ticket. That would infer that most of the people that see bands at festivals are already fans of the bands in question or are interested in becoming fans. If they weren't they'd probably be somewhere else. 'Tis the beauty of festivals.

A lot of your post is looking at the setlist from the bands point of view, I'm looking at it from a festival-goer's point of view. I've been going to oxegen and EP for the last 5 years and usually find the best bands to see are the newer ones who are on their 1st album (e.g. kaiser chiefs/franz ferdinand/magic numbers/arctic monkeys back in 2005/2006) and I'm fairly sure similar bands on their 1st album like mumford and sons/empire of the sun/temper trap/florence and the machine/etc will be the highlights of this years oxegen.

The proof is there when you are at a festival watching the crowds reaction to a band playing loads of unknown new material. They just stand there looking bored. Perfect example of this was the raconteurs at oxegen in 2008. The crowd (and me) hadn't a clue what 90% of the set was and I was a huge fan of their 1st album at the time.

In contrast, in 2007 when daft punk played - they just played all the classics that everyone wanted to hear and it went down as one of the greatest oxegen acts of all time.

Same last year when the killers played, they just jumped straight into songs like human/somebody told me/mr brightside/spaceman/etc because that's what the crowd wanna hear and what makes them enjoy the festival.

I'm fairly sure if eminem starts playing mostly songs from his new album at this years festival people won't enjoy it. They wanna hear songs like lose yourself/my name is/stan/etc.

I agree with bands playing their new material to genuine fans at their own gigs, but at festivals you aren't gonna be a "fan" of every single band in every timeslot over the whole 3 days so a large portion of the crowd will be people who just happen to be at the festival and checking out X band at a particular time or because their friends are going to see them. I am not a killers fan by any stretch of the imagination but really enjoyed their performance at oxegen last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I get your point, but to be honest, when it comes to some of those bands, a big part of the draw for me will be hearing more material after a couple of years absence. I've no doubt they'll mix it up enough to keep everybody happy, but as a hardcore little nerd, I'm looking forward to hearing something new.

A lot of your post is looking at the setlist from the bands point of view, I'm looking at it from a festival-goer's point of view. I've been going to oxegen and EP for the last 5 years and usually find the best bands to see are the newer ones who are on their 1st album (e.g. kaiser chiefs/franz ferdinand/magic numbers/arctic monkeys back in 2005/2006) and I'm fairly sure similar bands on their 1st album like mumford and sons/empire of the sun/temper trap/florence and the machine/etc will be the highlights of this years oxegen.

Don't agree there at all, I doubt any of my festival favourites would have been on their first album at the time, beyond Arcade Fire. Sigur Ros, The National, Bright Eyes, My Bloody Valentine, Wilco all spring to mind here. And personally I thought Franz Ferdinand were far better in 2008 at EP than 2005 at Oxegen. Thats personal opinion though.
    In contrast, in 2007 when daft punk played - they just played all the classics that everyone wanted to hear and it went down as one of the greatest oxegen acts of all time.

I thought the Raconteurs killed in 2008, although I will admit Blue Veins was the highlight of the set. I skipped out of Daft Punk to go see Brian Wilson, now there's a man who could play the hits! Still, again, this all personal opinion, hence I won't comment on the Killers. ;)

To be honest, I see the attitude you have towards bands at festivals as part of a wider trend of fan selfishness, there's no two way deal any more. Whats in it for the artists (and I use the word intentionally here) in all this? The chance to play the same three singles from their first album to a bunch of people who don't really like them, except for those singles, for a couple of years before everyone gets tired of them and moves on? It would really make you want to put in the effort of songwriting and touring alright. Its part of a wider problem where people expect too much of musicians and don't expect to give anything back.

Its part of a wider problem where people expect too much of musicians and don't expect to give anything back.

Jaysus, I wouldn't call nearly €250 "not giving anything back". EP/Oxegen are the most expensive festivals in the world!

But that's not the artists fault surely? The money goes to the promoters, the bands charge the same whether they play at a E100 festival or a E250 festival.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

I think the original point is about Fever Ray playing stuff from The Knife. Why would she? The Knife are not playing. Fever Ray are.