Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal v Aston Villa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thats that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Hamstring gone? Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Good goal. Injured???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

his gone

that could be trouble for arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

The best player,i've ever had the pleasure of watching.

YOU BEAUTY

What price that goal?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Cesc looks injured :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Why the **** is he still on the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Great goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Feck he's injured himself doing that, what a goal though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Wow, he looks terrible now. Good goal though. Poor by Miller.

It was a risk but seems worth it even if there is a hint of injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

ul fabreglass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭paul150

Get him off wenger, what a goal

Get him off right now please Mr. Wenger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Fabregaaaaaassssssss

robo_fap.gif

Off now. What a fantastic 20 odd minutes of football for him.

Fantastic cameo.

That really was some fecking finish, pace and swerve from such a short distance.

I heart Cesc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Just shows you what star players are worth to teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Good to see him jogging off. He'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Crosáidí wrote: »
    Young hasn't put 1 decent ball in all day

He's been poor today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Fcuk yeah!! Happy fcuking Christmas, C'mon the Gunners ;).

How did he miss?

And to cap off a great day of betting. Arsenal to get the third goal at 4/1

Good second save from Almunia there

SDTimeout wrote: »
    And to cap off a great day of betting. Arsenal to get the third goal at 4/1

I hate pre-timing :pac:

Get in !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

That 4/1 then became 13/2 and i didn't

DIABY :D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Not great by Villa today.....

Hoping this isn't the beginning of the end of our season.

3-0 now. Hope Hull can beat United to blow the title race wide open.

For the second game in a row Diaby has been absolutely brilliant and thoroughly deserved his goal, lets keep this form up Abou!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

shoutman wrote: »
    Not great by Villa today.....

Hoping this isn't the beginning of the end of our season.

We werent great going forward at all today
    We still had a good chance of snatching a win until Cesc came on

Quality performance from Aresenal and Fabregas in particular. Just awesome.

Brilliant stuff, great second half. Up into 2nd now, for the moment anyway.

Come on Hull!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

that was phenomenal from arsenal

On that first half a draw was a fair result, but in that second half Arsenal absolutely deserved the three points, I think 3-0 is a little bit of a harsh scoreline on Villa though.

Fabregas.... Wow, that guy is something special, he completely galvanised the whole team when he came on.

Delighted with that win, I would have taken a draw before the game, fair play to both teams for putting on such a great spectacle.

Also I think that has to be one of the best refereeing performances I've seen in the Premier League in a long long time, the only thing that should have been different imo was that Song should have walked, but aside from that he showed great common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Fair play to Arsenal. They upped their games when they needed to and deserved the win

I dispise jamie redknapp

Frisbee wrote: »
    Also I think that has to be one of the best refereeing performances I've seen in the Premier League in a long long time, the only thing that should have been different imo was that Song should have walked, but aside from that he showed great common sense.

Quite a big thing in the context of a game of football! Not that it would have made much difference today I suspect.

mike65 wrote: »
    Quite a big thing in the context of a game of football! Not that it would have made much difference today I suspect.

Well it was the 88th minute so I don't think it would have made a huge difference...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

What a huge difference Fabregas makes, he really is a phenomenal player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Well, contrary to what the commentators were saying we actually played well in the first half.

Vermaelen just made a great point there, the difference wasn't just Cesc coming on, it was Villa's midfield running out of legs. They had a great 60 minutes but you could see from the start of the second half they were beginning to flag a bit, they just weren't quite as quick to close down Arsenal's midfield and cut out those through balls, and Wenger saw this and brought on Fabregas. Masterstroke.

A great performance in the end from Arsenal, but it'll mean nothing if they haven't left anything in the tank for Tuesday, and Vermaelen and the rest of the defenders looked damn tired after that. I'm worried, Villa made it a much tougher game than the scoreline suggested, but hopefully the fact the game was won with 15 minutes to spare will mean they aren't completely ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

That was such a great second half performance, absolutely fantastic from Cesc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Fabergas , amazing,

I will be interested to see if he features in the next game, he appeared to aggrivate his injury on the second Goal, If he stays fit Arsenal are in with a big shout for the title IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    What a huge difference Fabregas makes, he really is a phenomenal player.

as i said earlier, they go from looking pretty and vaguely threatening the goal, to looking dangerous and likely to score the minute he's involved.

if by some miracle he stays for the majority of his career he'll outstrip henry as arsenal's greatest player of the modern era.

truly sensational player.

he plays football, to sound sickeningly clichéd, the way it was meant to be played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Well done to the Gunners, excellent performance and deserved the victory today. Villa were very poor. Not sure why O'Neill left Heskey playing midfield when he could have brought on Reo-Coker...we were getting killed in midfield at the time. Anyway, hopefully this just makes us more determined for the Liverpool game.

The Muppet wrote: »
    Fabergas , amazing,

I will be interested to see if he features in the next game, he appeared to aggrivate his injury on the second Goal, If he stays fit Arsenal are in with a big shout for the title IMO.

I wouldn't imagine Wenger will risk him against Pompey, even if he had have come through that game without aggravating his injury.

Diaby---Song---Denilson should have enough about them to see off Pompey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hudsonriver

Well, contrary to what the commentators were saying we actually played well in the first half.

Vermaelen just made a great point there, the difference wasn't just Cesc coming on, it was Villa's midfield running out of legs. They had a great 60 minutes but you could see from the start of the second half they were beginning to flag a bit, they just weren't quite as quick to close down Arsenal's midfield and cut out those through balls, and Wenger saw this and brought on Fabregas. Masterstroke.

A great performance in the end from Arsenal, but it'll mean nothing if they haven't left anything in the tank for Tuesday, and Vermaelen and the rest of the defenders looked damn tired after that. I'm worried, Villa made it a much tougher game than the scoreline suggested, but hopefully the fact the game was won with 15 minutes to spare will mean they aren't completely ****ed.

match is wendsday but I agree with what your saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Frisbee wrote: »
    I wouldn't imagine Wenger will risk him against Pompey, even if he had have come through that game without aggravating his injury.

Diaby---Song---Denilson should have enough about them to see off Pompey.

I'm pretty sure Song is going to be gone by then. Ramsey will come in I suppose