Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

China Blames Online Games for Drugs, Murder, Teen Pregnancy

• 27-12-2009 1:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭

China's state news channel has blamed hugely popular online games for problems including drug addiction, teen pregnancy and even murder this month as regulators crack down on allegedly harmful content in games.

In a program titled "Confession of a Murderer -- Focus on Pornography and Violence in Online Games (Part Two)," China Central Television (CCTV) on Thursday reported on a Beijing juvenile prison where one man was serving a life sentence for murders he committed to obtain virtual equipment in an online game. Up to 80 percent of the violent criminals in the prison turned to crime because of online games, the report said.

"He himself killed five people, and the reason he took the path to crime was addiction to violent online games," it said.

Serious WTF???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Another FFS China moment...

Its cause the government are worried that too many in their population are spending too much time gaming and thus dedicating less time "for China".

So much so that they'll out right lie to their people to get them to play less games or give gamers a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

PogMoThoin wrote: »

Sorry to say, There is something in it. All tho not do the extent they are saying. But playing Online Games or even watching Alot of TV/Movies will do the same thing. It changes you.

Why do you think. The world has changed so much in the last 40 year.

Even 20 year ago. You could walk around at night, Leave your house/car unlocked and not fear that something would happen.

Now a days. There are some places the garda cant even go in to.

This all happened in stages. Bit by bit every year people got a little bit more Violent. Kids started to have Sex at a younger age. And the price of a life is so cheap. In some walks of life. If you don't kill someone. There is something wrong with you and your not part of the click.

The problem is, We are all to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

^ :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Blazher wrote: »
    Sorry to say, There is something in it. All tho not do the extent they are saying. But playing Online Games or even watching Alot of TV/Movies will do the same thing. It changes you.

Now this might come as a bit of a shock but the things posted in that article have been happening before online gaming was available.

Technology has/is evolving/progressing most likely.
    Even 20 year ago. You could walk around at night, Leave your house/car unlocked and not fear that something would happen.

Can't say that's true.

This all happened in stages.

I wonder what stage we are at now ? Surely not endgame. :p
    Bit by bit every year people got a little bit more Violent.

This makes no sense whatsoever.
    Kids started to have Sex at a younger age.

You can verify this somehow ?

And the price of a life is so cheap. In some walks of life. If you don't kill someone. There is something wrong with you and your not part of the click.

I think you watch too much television. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Oh China, you so crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

This all happened in stages. Bit by bit every year people got a little bit more Violent. Kids started to have Sex at a younger age. And the price of a life is so cheap. In some walks of life. If you don't kill someone. There is something wrong with you and your not part of the click.

Are you on drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

:rolleyes: Even bigger WTF??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

And the price of a life is so cheap. In some walks of life. If you don't kill someone. There is something wrong with you and your not part of the click.

No no no, life is actually very expensive. You can get death for free.

Nope, some of us do face up to our responsibilities and duties. It's called "not being a lazy dumbass with a sense of entitlement the size of Jupiter". It's not all that popular because it's harder than sitting back and blaming others. Also the title is a bit unwieldy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Alot of TV/Movies will do the same thing. It changes you.

I agree. I watched the Dark Knight last night.

Now I am going to leave your fate to chance.

If its the shiny side (heads for this case because I dont have a burned coin), I will thank your post.

If its the burned side (tails) I will quote your post with a sarcastic rolleyes on my next post.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

This is from the same government who, during the week, jailed a prominent dissident for 11 years after he wrote a book criticising them, broadcast the news in English so most people couldn't understand it and then had the balls to call this year the "year of citizens rights". :rolleyes:
    And this rubbish doesn't help either. I've watched and played some pretty violent stuff over the years yet I loath it in real life. The only people it really influences are people who are actually susceptible to it - the young, the ****ed up and the morally vacant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Wow..just wow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

Yawn.

Oh, and between all the yawning, it's good to mention violent crimes by youths have went down in the last twenty years. But don't let facts get in the way of your irrational position.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,302 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Wow..just wow
    Well, WoW and a few other games.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I got addicted to drugs, pregnant and murdered someone all because of World of Warcraft. And i'm a guy!!

Games are the Devil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Overheal wrote: »
    Well, WoW and a few other games.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Ni hao, comrade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

This is coming from the country that employs mobile execution buses to keep up with the demand of the numbers they put to death yearly. *Cough* I'd be far more concerned about the effect of that government than any form of entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

facepalm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

d22ontour wrote: »
    Can't say that's true.

Well I can say that his comment on that issue is very very true.
    Kiith wrote: »
    I got addicted to drugs, pregnant and murdered someone all because of World of Warcraft. And i'm a guy!!

Games are the Devil!

And I thought you went mad because you're a ginger...

Let me put it simply for you children. We live out lives the way we do because of influences. Be it from your parents, friends, peers, teachers, television, radio or games... The fact of the matter is that games DO influence our moods, our way of thinking, our ability to socialise, our diets and our judgement of others etc etc. Regardless of whether you agree with this fact or not, you are being influenced in one way or another by the games you play and the films you watch. This influence may be massive, or it may be minute. It may be concious or it may be subconcious. While a game or film may not directly tell you to go kill a whole load of people in a shopping centre, or drive through a bunch of hare krishna's on their way to temple. You may have a slight bias against certain countries or civilisations due to certain games that paints that country or civilisation to be barbaric, inhumane and outright dangerous.

You may think it is ok to cause suffering and pain to living things because you cannot make the connection in the game, that it is wrong. Games are available and easily accessible for all ages. It can be put down to bad parenting or whatever, but children shouldn't be allowed to play games of a violent nature. Again, it is an influence which will create your personality. At such a young and supple age, you will be influenced more by your surroundings. I know that it is wrong to kill somebody, but somebody that is surrounded by a virtual world who is killing people in the game on a daily basis, all day long, may not see that it is wrong.

To claim that a certain game or film made you go and kill a load of people is bullshít, to claim that games or films have altered your outlook on life and influenced you somewhat into creating an almost non existant gap between reality and a surreal world, is very very possible.

Games and films DO influence your thoughs and actions. They can be bad, and ignoring that FACT is fcuking stupid...

I'm sorry but your points are far from facts,

I grew up playing violent videogames and watching violent films from a young age and they have never impacted my real life or caused me to do harm to others, same goes for everybody else i know.

People become viloent/criminals as a result of bad parenting, violent upbringing by their peers/parents. FACT or atleast thats what most psychological research points too.

It is these people that need to be addressed, not the entertainment world.

Good People dont simply pick up a game and become corrupt/violent, im sorry but that is just ludicrous.

Now violent people/psychopaths may get ideas from these forms of entertainment and mimic things from games, but the games dont make them what they are, they would still do violent/harmful actions regardless of whether they were playing games or not..

These actions are unnecessary measures by the Chinese and will not fix or help the problems at hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

In the words of Chris Rock: "Whatever happened to just plain old CRAZY?"

nix wrote: »
    I'm sorry but your points are far from facts,

I grew up playing violent videogames and watching violent films from a young age and they have never impacted my real life or caused me to do harm to others, same goes for everybody else i know.

People become viloent/criminals as a result of bad parenting, violent upbringing by their peers/parents. FACT or atleast thats what most psychological research points too.

It is these people that need to be addressed, not the entertainment world.

Good People dont simply pick up a game and become corrupt/violent, im sorry but that is just ludicrous.

Now violent people/psychopaths may get ideas from these forms of entertainment and mimic things from games, but the games dont make them what they are, they would still do violent/harmful actions regardless of whether they were playing games or not..

These actions are unnecessary measures by the Chinese and will not fix or help the problems at hand.

I want to introduce you to FACT, he eats your opinion for breakfast...

What you need to do before you enter a debate on such a topic is educate yourself... even a little. Go read some books on how the mind works, behavioural science and perception etc etc. You may have a better understanding of the situation. To suggest, what you just did, implies that you do not have a clue about what you are talking about.

Nowhere in my post did I mention that if you play computer games you will kill people. You could have the best parents in the world but be exposed to a lot of violence from an early age through other mediums, this will influence you, depending on the nature of the games, films, your willpower, mental stability etc etc. Killing somebody and then blaming a game doesn't make you insane. Not necessarily. You could be quite sane, but you may lack the ability to differentiate between the virtual world and the real world.

There are reasons why things are sensored, why there is an age limit on games and films. Young minds should not be exposed to such things, it will effect you in one way or another, small or large. Saying there is no link between films/games and violence is quite illogical. There is a pretty strong link. Similar to being exposed to violence in the real world.

While opinions don't matter a sweet fúck, i'll let you hear mine. I think China is over exaggerating, I don't like the PC brigade too much, but sometimes they are needed. Over a certain age, when your brain is more developed, you should be able to chose for yourself what you watch and play. Until then, you should have limited exposure to excessive violence and gore...

I want to introduce you to FACT, he eats your opinion for breakfast...

What you need to do before you enter a debate on such a topic is educate yourself... even a little. Go read some books on how the mind works, behavioural science and perception etc etc. You may have a better understanding of the situation. To suggest, what you just did, implies that you do not have a clue about what you are talking about.

Nowhere in my post did I mention that if you play computer games you will kill people. You could have the best parents in the world but be exposed to a lot of violence from an early age through other mediums, this will influence you, depending on the nature of the games, films, your willpower, mental stability etc etc. Killing somebody and then blaming a game doesn't make you insane. Not necessarily. You could be quite sane, but you may lack the ability to differentiate between the virtual world and the real world.

There are reasons why things are sensored, why there is an age limit on games and films. Young minds should not be exposed to such things, it will effect you in one way or another, small or large. Saying there is no link between films/games and violence is quite illogical. There is a pretty strong link. Similar to being exposed to violence in the real world.

While opinions don't matter a sweet fúck, i'll let you hear mine. I think China is over exaggerating, I don't like the PC brigade too much, but sometimes they are needed. Over a certain age, when your brain is more developed, you should be able to chose for yourself what you watch and play. Until then, you should have limited exposure to excessive violence and gore...

Oh i am quite educated, and my post did cover your retort. Infants shouldn't be exposed to violence during the oedipal phase (between the ages of 3-5), to allow your child to do so would be deemed by me (and many others) to be bad parenting. If your buying your 5 year old grand theft auto your failing at parenting and most likely failing in all other departments, teaching right and wrong, manners etc.

But the Chineses answer to resolving bad parenting is to ban a fun game for ALL ages, which is ignorant and unnecessary.

My post didnt state that all ages should be exposed to any game they choose, keep the age limits in check by all means, there are other games for them to play in the mean time, but to ban all ages is just too extreme.

Heck Super mario and Sonic kept me going till my early teens :)

EDIT: In retrospect i do realise my post was a bit weak, when i said young age i ment from age 8-10 and up. Apologies!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

bullsh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Far far more people killed driving to the store / hit by someone driving to the store to buy a game or dvd than have been killed by people influenced by said items.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Saying there is no link between films/games and violence is quite illogical. There is a pretty strong link. Similar to being exposed to violence in the real world.

Yeah, just like people playing Battlefield 2 have post traumatic stress disorder like real soldiers who witnessed violence in the real world. It's a pretty strong link, right? :rolleyes:

Saying that experiencing violence in games or films is in any way similar to experiencing it in real life is bordering on the offensive, it's wooly-headed nonsense, and the kind of sensationalist hyperbole The Sun would publish. People who have experienced violence in real life will frequently suffer from shock, and often much more serious psychological disorders and traumatized. The very fact that you can liken the real trauma that people who've witnessed violence in real life can suffer to playing a video game is shocking, it's by far the most insensitive and downright foolish things you've written.

The utter nonsense about violence in fiction having such an effect on people is clearly disproved by the amount of people who do watch violent films or play violent games, and are not suffering from trauma or shock. But hey, lets not let common sense get in the way of moral indignation, shall we?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Games cause teen pregnancy? I would have thought the reverse.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,302 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

^ :D .... :(

Yeah, just like people playing Battlefield 2 have post traumatic stress disorder like real soldiers who witnessed violence in the real world. It's a pretty strong link, right? :rolleyes:

That's the dumbest shít I have ever heard...
    Saying that experiencing violence in games or films is in any way similar to experiencing it in real life is bordering on the offensive, it's wooly-headed nonsense, and the kind of sensationalist hyperbole The Sun would publish.

I don't see how difficult this is for you to understand, it's really quite simple... for most. Yet you seem to twist and turn my words. I said an exposure to such violence will influence your mind in one form or another, in a small or significant way. Key word here is INFLUENCE. Let me eplain this exceptionally complex word for you a little further:

"The power to affect, control or manipulate something or someone; the ability to change the development of fluctuating things such as conduct, thoughts or decisions; An action exerted by a person or thing with such power on another to cause change"
    People who have experienced violence in real life will frequently suffer from shock, and often much more serious psychological disorders and traumatized. The very fact that you can liken the real trauma that people who've witnessed violence in real life can suffer to playing a video game is shocking, it's by far the most insensitive and downright foolish things you've written.

Influence, not experience. They are differant... It seems you have a hard time differentiating between the two. I never once refered to the traumatic effects that violence has on people, in games or in real life. I spoke about the influence that high levels of exposure to gore and violence in games has on people and how it can leave them less sensitive to such violence in real life.

No matter what it is, the more you are exposed to something at a young age, the more "normal" you percieve it to be. Children on nudest beaches with their parents, they grow up more open about sex and it's less of a taboo subject. Children who grow up in a devout religious family will be the same. It's soooo simple to see, how you cannot is beyond me. It's quite obvious you know nothing about conditioning and how the human mind works...
    The utter nonsense about violence in fiction having such an effect on people is clearly disproved by the amount of people who do watch violent films or play violent games, and are not suffering from trauma or shock. But hey, lets not let common sense get in the way of moral indignation, shall we?

That's your argument? That lots of people play games? Are you for real? Again, understand the true meaning of influence. I think my argument is a little too complex for your mind to understand. If you cannot make the connection and cannot understand what I am talking about after the 3rd or 4th post, then stop trying... seriously, you are getting somewhat confused it seems, but hey, lets not let the ability to read properly get in the way of a good auld internet discussion, shall we?
    nix wrote: »
    Oh i am quite educated, and my post did cover your retort. Infants shouldn't be exposed to violence during the oedipal phase (between the ages of 3-5), to allow your child to do so would be deemed by me (and many others) to be bad parenting. If your buying your 5 year old grand theft auto your failing at parenting and most likely failing in all other departments, teaching right and wrong, manners etc.

The problem is, children are not bought these games, they are exposed to them from other mediums. The internet is a library of gore, violence and porn. It doesn't make you a bad parent if your child was exposed to something when he is not in your care. If you buy your children these kind of games, you need a good kick up the arse.
    But the Chineses answer to resolving bad parenting is to ban a fun game for ALL ages, which is ignorant and unnecessary.

While the most dangerous age to be exposed to such violence is not adulthood, it can still influence you. What makes it easier is the level of quality of modern games. The physics engines and graphics are amazing. Banning the whole country from playing these games would seem to be a bit excessive from our point of view.

My post didnt state that all ages should be exposed to any game they choose, keep the age limits in check by all means, there are other games for them to play in the mean time, but to ban all ages is just too extreme.

Yea it is a little extreme. Then again, it depends on the level of violence.
    Heck Super mario and Sonic kept me going till my early teens :)

Me too :P

EDIT: In retrospect i do realise my post was a bit weak, when i said young age i ment from age 8-10 and up. Apologies!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

video game violence has as much influence on someone has two puppets attacking each other. Or kids playing with action figures and having them 'fight' each other.

The amount of virtual characters I've seen get decapitated over the years would be in the hundreds of thousands. Are you saying seeing this prepares me for seeing someone get their head sawn off in real life? Because that would be pretty ignorant imo.

The line between seeing mock violence on tv in a game or with puppets and seeing it in real life, is not as thin as you make it out to be.

But talking about all this is beside the point. This is China we're talking about, the same country that rolls over its own people in tanks. Who make up reasons to execute people so they can use their organs. They're not worried about this stuff at all, they are worried that too many people are using the games as escapism, and the online games have them meeting with people from outside china. They are afraid of their lack of control over these peoples virtual lives.