Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst county in Ireland ??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

CDfm wrote: »
    have it your own way lightening - I do like Dublin and I know it very well having lived here on and off for 20 years or so.

Well, up till a few minutes ago you thought all the galleries and museums were closed at the weekends. Although, you live in Dublin, judging by your posts about value, prices, substandard overpriced theatres and your fears, it's obvious you really don't know it.
    The thing is lightening that we love to persuade ourselves that we are Irish and loads of fun and great craic but our tolerance for crime etc is fairly awful

Speak for yourself.
    well its because we have something to compare it to.

You have traveled, get over it, I have traveled a lot in Europe, South East Asia, Africa, Australia, Malaysia and am just back from Kota kinabalu. I am no stranger to cities of all sorts, but it's not fair to compare third world cities with Dublin. Work has taken me to a few cities around the UK, some of them are kips, believe me.
    I think a mature persons perception of whats tolerable and a teenage student young adult experience are different.

I don't know what relevance that has to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭A quiet one

The last time I wandered through Dublin, it was a brief visit. I couldn't wait to get out of it.
    I'm not saying I witnessed anything scary or anything like a mugging in process, and I'm a bit sceptical about crime stats which compare London to Dublin. I lived in London for many a year and whereas Dublin probably has pockets of trouble, crime taps on the shoulder of anyone living in London, in any part of it (and beyond), in some form or another;
    Yous don't know what "scary" means.
    As for Brussels. Is there anywhere in Ireland where you see purse / handbag snatchers sharing out their ill gotten gains right there in front of you, in the midst of everyone, in the main market square, using a Biro or pointy little stick to tip out the contents over a drain to select what to keep from the useless evidence that needs discarding?

And yet, there was something about Dublin. The excessive security presence in every tat shop. People walking along looked really stressed and I'd swear a few of them flicked around to check if they were been followed. For all the crime in London people have an element of time for each other that was missing in Dublin, city centre. The change within it's nearby hilly backwaters is astonishing.

The odd thing I've noticed on my travels over the years is that there is just one place which has been mentioned as the best by the Irish abroad who were prepared to say it was better than their own. Galway.
    Not been there yet though.

And one county labelled as the worst; having lived there for a year I understand what is been said; Limerick.

Edit.
    I forgot to mention how grubby and lost Dublin looked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Ya -its the security presence in the shops bars and clubs that creates an atmosphere. To say London is friendlier and feels safer is a real about turn. It usen't to be.

Ive lived and worked in Europe, Middle East and a bit in the US.

I wish Dublin could raise its standards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

Ya -its the security presence in the shops bars and clubs that creates an atmosphere. To say London is friendlier and feels safer is a real about turn. It usen't to be.

"Ya" ............. obviously from cork!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭givyjoe81

The thing is lightening that we love to persuade ourselves that we are Irish and loads of fun and great craic but our tolerance for crime etc is fairly awful.

Its not pick on Dublin Day - I go out to nice places but thats because I can.

The EU think the same

Meant to quote your ridiculously misleading quote of murder stats... Do you know why we have such high murder stats in Dublin?? GANGLAND CRIME!! That massively distorts the figures and although some innocent bystanders have been injured and killed, take these out and you have a pretty reasonable level i would imagine, reasonable as in comparable to other major cities. The chance of you getting shot, unless you're involved in drugs, is miniscule, compare that to lets being in New York where if you are mugged, there is everychance the crack head doing it has a gun.

Friendlier, yes; safer... not a chance.
    But it's streets are better signposted; I mean, if you have an A-Z of London, just look around you to find the info you need to find the page you're on; but in Dublin... ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Ya -its the security presence in the shops bars and clubs that creates an atmosphere

Security measures creates an atmosphere? This is getting silly now. I reckon your mind is made up and no amount of good things in Dublin will change it. It's what you make of it, I use the beaches, Dublin bay, the surrounding hills and mountains, the river, I socialise in the city all the time, I attend sports fixtures, I use my heritage card, I eat out in some of the cheapest and some of the best places in the country, I visit the best pubs and the cheapest pubs, the galleries and museums. I use the free bike scheme to get around in town and I find the city very safe.

Are you going to check out the galleries and museums?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

lightening wrote: »

Are you going to check out the galleries and museums?

I do visit galleries and museums and stopped doing so on bank holidays as the main ones are closed. I love eating out.

I have used the LUAS - but last time we were on it you has a few drunks with cans.

I still dont know why but the center of London feels safer to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

I do visit galleries and museums and stopped doing so on bank holidays as the main ones are closed. I love eating out.

I have used the LUAS - but last time we were on it you has a few drunks with cans.

You obviously lived in a different London to the one I lived in for 6 years. Without doubt one of the coldest, least friendly and itimidating cities I have ever lived in. How can you even compare Dublin to London in terms of safety? I know which one I'd prefer to be lost in at midnight.

Don't worry about it, that feeling will pass.

Bugnug wrote: »
    You obviously lived in a different London to the one I lived in for 6 years.

In fairness he said the Centre of London.
    And yes, on certain days you can wander through sections of it and, even after an hour of walking, not see another soul, or any trace of life in action other than what might be behind the CCTV cameras, which sit there with a stillness suggesting their guardians have also disappeared. Some find that intimidating; I found it awesome.
    And then later, after dark, if you have to go through it again you hope (some probably say a prayer) that it'll be the same. that you've just found a secret the nasties haven't heard about yet. But then you wish your shoes wouldn't make such noise, giving you away and making it harder to hear them sneaking up behind you.

Bugnug wrote: »
    "Ya" ............. obviously from cork!

Ah, but what's the atmosphere in the Cork city Tourist office (I'll assume there is one).
    The unspoken attitude of the staff in the one in Dublin echoed the ugliness outside it remarkably well;

SHOO SHOO, shoo, outta my way. NOW
    (mutters)Tsk, tsk, Friggin tourists people!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

ok can we just say that people from metropolitain Cork are going to be slagging people from metropolitain Dublin? and visa versa? naturally cork people hate dubs and dubs hate cork people so agreeing to disagree is the best way to stop the bickering!

my openion is, being from Limerick city i could'nt care less what other people think of the place, shure, it mightnt have things some other places have and vica versa but there are still loads of cool things to do here so I couldnt see it being the worst in Ireland, its a well equipped place for its size, if i need something i cant get here i use ebay like!

Dublin is ****!ng class, im not gona lie..has everything in the city etc but wouldnt be able to stand the accent.

cork city is also class, always reminded me of a smaller dublin, accent doesnt bother me..fairly similer to limericks

most of the big towns and cities are nice in fairness..its just places that have nothing in them like leitrim and longford etc are very bland!

and anyone calling people culchies to people who live in metropolitain cork or even Limerick doesnt really make sence!

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

To be honest i find Dublin to be nice enough.It's no where near as bad as people say it is.Limerick is no differant from any other city with regards scummers Cork Galway And Waterford are just as bad but it's a bit run down and there is a dreary atmosphere to the place although it would not be as dreary as Waterford.

ya some places are a bit like that but the whole centre of town has been transformed moodernised and pedestrianised over the past year or so, so its not too bad anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 11,361 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    Dublin is ****!ng class, im not gona lie..has everything in the city etc but wouldnt be able to stand the accent.

i remember someone from NYC on another forum wrote this about their home town, i laughed, i laugh even more now :D
    most of the big towns and cities are nice in fairness..its just places that have nothing in them like leitrim and longford etc are very bland!

loads of stuff to do in leitrim

rossie1977 wrote: »
    i remember someone from NYC on another forum wrote this about their home town, i laughed, i laugh even more now :D

loads of stuff to do in leitrim

i said in the city because you have places like limerick where the city centre is a ghost town and you have about 15-20 retail parks and shopping centres in the suburbs so noone goes to town anymore to shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 tequilarose24

cloneslad wrote: »
    Cavan, it has Cavan people in it.

If we are counting Northern Ireland too then I would say Fermanagh and Cavan. Because they have Fermanagh and Cavan people there.

Monaghan, it has Monaghan people in it :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Every county has something going for it and something going against it. All in all its not a bad little country we live in, no volcanos or poisonous snakes. Even if we can't deal with a heavy spell of rain or a few cold nights.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

There's still a few poisonous snakes out there alright

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Jesus... Irish counties, sure they're only a few miles across!! Shag all difference in any of them, some have bigger towns than others...

Generaly it's all proportionate, bigger towns have more scumbags but small towns have plenty of scum but on a smaller scale :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Sligo.

Nothing to do

Litter everywhere

Most people I met were total *****

Honestly my favourite thing about Sligo is that it doesn't take long to leave

No offense Sligo Boardsies

Limed for truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Jesus... Irish counties, sure they're only a few miles across!! Shag all difference in any of them, some have bigger towns than others...

Generaly it's all proportionate, bigger towns have more scumbags but small towns have plenty of scum but on a smaller scale :)

Some towns have literally no scumbags though. The boom years has seen a huge influx of 'scum' into smaller towns and villages i.e. someone selling their house in a less desirable area of the city and moving to the 'country'. They would be living at a more 'acceptable' address and would have probably made a profit from the sale also.

Some towns always had a bigger proportion of scum than other towns anyway e.g. Youghal which is a beautiful seaside town littered with scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sirsok

I hate dublin....theres way to much sh!t going on at once up there and way to many people that seem to either consist of dirty begging scumbags(i always without fail get asked for money) and those d4 type abercrombie wearing, fake accent, lady gaga loving motherf**ckers!!!!

I prefer to chill back in my quite beloved four in a row All-Ireland winning county of KilKenny!!!(I actually hate Hurling)

Really like cork and waterford to.........just hate dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Sirsok wrote: »
    I hate dublin....theres way to much sh!t going on at once up there and way to many people that seem to either consist of dirty begging scumbags(i always without fail get asked for money) and those d4 type abercrombie wearing, fake accent, lady gaga loving motherf**ckers!!!!

I prefer to chill back in my quite beloved four in a row All-Ireland winning county of KilKenny!!!(I actually hate Hurling)

Really like cork and waterford to.........just hate dublin

Have some good dublin mates but just don't like dublin as a city, its too bloody hard to get around in and the knacks congregate everywhere that you do wanna go to.

Really feel sory for the aul style dubs, you know like Dublin city in the rare aul times, it must be a bit **** growing up somewhere, and most of us will always love where we grew up because its where we grew up, but growing up somehwere and probably not having the option to live there because of inflated prices (though maybe lack of work is more accurate at the moment) and having to live in the likes of berites subuarban mayhem lucan just to be anywhere near close to home

Fcukin Fianna Fail...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I have to disagree with you there. Limerick has, proportionally speaking, way more scumbags inhabiting it. The city is far more compact than Cork and thus you have lowlifes living not only close to the city centre, but actually in the city centre. Walk down O'Connell St any given day, the place is teeming with them, William St is their favoured location though, i avoid that area if at all possible. Thats not to say Limerick doesn't have its nice areas, it does. I love Dooradoyle, Castletroy and down by the Abbey River.

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Lord ButterSlip

Limerick is Fairly Bad.
    killkenny without doubt kilkenny:mad: i have never yet met on kilkenny person who has not a asshole, im sorry im just stated the facts.
    dannym08 wrote: »
    Kilkenny. Horrible place.
    Kess73 wrote: »
    Dishonourable mentions for Kilkenny for being ****eholes as well.
    flahavaj wrote: »
    Kilkenny, undoubtedly. They saved up the entire gene pool for sly looking f*ckers and somehow spilled it into that county a a few hundred years ago. The heads on them, theyre so schnaaaaakey looking. And they're actually proud of how schnakey they are as well

Shower.

All of the above is lies and deceit. So is the rest of the Kilkenny Haters stuff that I couldn't be bothered to quote (There is rather a lot).

AND Kilkenny is a City NOT a town, Thank You All Very Much.
    zootroid wrote: »
    There's an awful lot of Kilkenny bashing going on in this thread :(

I am also sad :(
    I suppose people used to be afraid of dissing Kilkenny because of the witchcraft connections.

We have elected all of our Witches to the Borough Council so they pose no threat anymore.

Now Retreat to The Kilkenny City Forum!! Before the backlash!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Limerick is Fairly Bad.
    AND Kilkenny is a City NOT a town, Thank You All Very Much.

Kilkenny is a town. Kilkenny is not a city. STFU and GTFO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Parsley wrote: »
    Nope sorry its known as Kilkenny City........

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Lord ButterSlip

Parsley wrote: »

It is a city whether your personal problems want it to be or not. If you want to be technical and start quoting the Local Government Act (2001) : (In which case it is described as a City) or you are sensible or have seen the charter, it is a City. Whatever, Not Bovered!

*yells abbreviations*