Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ennis Assault Victim Dies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Very sad news. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

RIP.

Not good, I heard that he was left in a total mess. I hope the culprits go down for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭seany2929

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

the older of the 2, HarryD he was in my class in the nash many many years ago, proper scumbag, been locked up the majority of his adult life, they'd want to throw away the key this time, saw his nephew's head on the news also, seen him around town on occasion, just a wannbe scumbag, probably **** himself if he was confronted on his own

rip, senseless killing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Very sad news. These type of assaults are happening more and more. It's almost too dangerous to be out and about in the centre of town after a certain time anymore and Ennis is certainly not alone in this. Maybe I'm getting old but I don't remember it being this bad in the 70s and 80s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You would think with all sophisticated CCTV about town that this would stop a lot of it. I wonder did cops get footage of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

happened to be speaking to someone earlier indirectly associated with the deceased. Very tragic and sad story, and to think that they were out of jail for the xmas makes it even worse again....

I know it's not the place to ask or maybe the time to ask, but can anyone say what happened, apart from him being assaulted?

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭firesidechat

My prayers and thoughts are with his family.
    May he rest in peace.

The height is a know troublespot when the pubs and clubs empty out.
    Why were no guards patrolling this area?
    This was a preventable crime. Had there been a visable guard patrolling the area these scumbags would have gone home quietly to their caves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

Rumor has it, it started because the attacker was firing chips at the victim, thus causing a verbal or physical reaction from the victim towards the attacker. The attacker then appears to have ramped this childish act up to murder. May justice be done and the attacker gets whats coming to him. As for the victim, my thoughts and prayers are with your family. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 xmcp

Rumor has it, it started because the attacker was firing chips at the victim, thus causing a verbal or physical reaction from the victim towards the attacker. The attacker then appears to have ramped this childish act up to murder. May justice be done and the attacker gets whats coming to him. As for the victim, my thoughts and prayers are with your family. RIP.

I heard the same, attacker throwing food and yer man just said f**k off and they went berserk.

I was hoping that the deceased just fell the wrong way but talking to bouncers, they said about 3 or 4 people had to drag the two accussed away from the deceased, they didn't stop for minutes. Disgusting.

If Ireland had a proper 3 strike rule like California, this wouldn't have happened.

I edited my last post, tarring a lot of people because of 2 people.

The height is a know troublespot when the pubs and clubs empty out.
    Why were no guards patrolling this area?

This happened around 11.30pm

I'm no fan of the guards, but you can't fault them here at all, what could they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Scum. Should be dropped inside somewhere with high impenetrable walls and left to rot.

RIP to the victims family. I can't even comprehend what its like to lose family in such a senseless manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

RIP, very sad someone gets killed in such a stupid and senseless attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

I'd say the guards must have cctv footage of this, usually there is a guard or two around the square at that hour too, but i guess they cant be everywhere, everytime....
    In fairness you wouldnt expect it at 11.30.
    Apparently there are plenty of witnesses though.
    As for the accused Harry D or skunk as I remember he was known in school, i hope he gets charged with murder not manslaughter, the man is the scum of the earth and his family tree would be no stranger to violence either.
    A sickening murder
    RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

I hope those scumbags end up facing a murder charge

Duckjob wrote: »
    Scum. Should be dropped inside somewhere with high impenetrable walls and left to rot.
    asmobhosca wrote: »
    the man is the scum of the earth and his family tree would be no stranger to violence either.

Society is sick at its foundations... acts like this are just the symptoms of the this sickness. We really need to stop, look at these acts and go back to thier roots causes. The incentive of avoiding jail did not prevent this man's death and it will keep happening until society cleanses the bad seeds before they turn into bad weeds.

It does no justice for these kinds of reactions either. Labeling someone a scumbag or judging them by their family history makes it easy for people to falsely understand the mentality of it all, but its a mistake to conclude that people are kicked to death for these reasons alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

The attackers (from what I've heard) were turned away from Brandons about an hour earlier and were being very aggressive with the bouncers.

My sympathies are with the victims family. Ordinarily these sorts of attacks in Ennis in the past seem to go on between people that know each other a long time and have some sort of ongoing disagreement. To just get murdered on the street by a stranger for no reason makes it seem very unpredictable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

Society is sick at its foundations... acts like this are just the symptoms of the this sickness. We really need to stop, look at these acts and go back to thier roots causes. The incentive of avoiding jail did not prevent this man's death and it will keep happening until society cleanses the bad seeds before they turn into bad weeds.

It does no justice for these kinds of reactions either. Labeling someone a scumbag or judging them by their family history makes it easy for people to falsely understand the mentality of it all, but its a mistake to conclude that people are kicked to death for these reasons alone.

obviously you've never met/come across the accused....
    Also its a bit much to criticise statements referring to the culprits as scumbags.... In a situation like this I cant think of a better description, although not everyone who comes from a disadvantaged backgroud goes around acting like this.
    The accused has a rap sheet as long as your arm, and to be honest they probably dont give a sh1t that someone is dead.
    youre not dealing with everyday normal rational human beings here, these guys really dont give a fcuk what happens.
    Scumbag is pretty damn appropriate from where i'm sitting and jail is far too good for them

People like you are the reason this was allowed to happen, these scumbags, yes, scumbags should never be on the streets anyway, they should have been locked up for 40 years minimum for their numerous crimes before. How many crimes of this nature were prevented in California because of the 3 strikes rule?

I agree we should prevent the bad seeds in the first place, sterilisation of the parents. As I hear they were no angels themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭palaver

xmcp wrote: »
    I agree we should prevent the bad seeds in the first place, sterilisation of the parents. As I hear they were no angels themselves.

That's what Hitler had in mind, and not only in mind...
    As much as I understand the anger and as much as I despise violent people like these killers, but populistic statements like above won't lead to a better society. Who is going to decide which parents will have "decent" kids an who will bring criminals into life?
    Wasn't there a case in D4 a few years ago where a bunch of "well-bred" rich kids killed another boy just for, I don't know, they didn't like his T-shirt or such like? There.

I would like to see the killers locked up for life, though. Real life, not "let's see after 5 years" life.

asmobhosca wrote: »
    obviously you've never met/come across the accused....
    Also its a bit much to criticise statements referring to the culprits as scumbags.... In a situation like this I cant think of a better description, although not everyone who comes from a disadvantaged backgroud goes around acting like this.
    The accused has a rap sheet as long as your arm, and to be honest they probably dont give a sh1t that someone is dead.
    youre not dealing with everyday normal rational human beings here, these guys really dont give a fcuk what happens.
    Scumbag is pretty damn appropriate from where i'm sitting and jail is far too good for them

Yes, I am familiar with the accused. Had an unfortunate run in with him and his friends at Clare Abbey several years ago.

You are entitled to call him as you please, for whatever practical purpose this serves, I do not know, other than blowing off some mental steam. All I know is that society allowed this risky case to fester for years until he finally commited capital crime. Where were you shouting "scumbag" then? Did you ever think the accused was a serious risk? If so, why didnt you do something about it?

Well obviously it's not gonna happen, I'm just in a rage all day, especially when I see the front of the Clare People.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,522 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mod warning: I've cleaned up this thread. The next person that advocates violence against these guys will get a one month ban from this forum. Boards.ie is not a place where incitement to violence will ever be tolerated. First and last warning.

People like you are the reason this was allowed to happen, these scumbags, yes, scumbags should never be on the streets anyway, they should have been locked up for 40 years minimum for their numerous crimes before.

There we go. Your irrational and complusive reaction, blinded by the fear of what happened and fuelled by ignorance just made you a say a stupid comment.

Your in dreamworld man, and a very violent one for that matter. Come out of it quick before it consumes your thought.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Personally I think most of the focus should be put on prevention, if there was a visible Garda presence they wouldn't have even thought about it, that area is 1 of the busiest areas of the town on a normal night, on 1 of the busiest nights of the year it'll be doubley busy, if there were 2 guards at Tierney's, 2 down Parnell St. and 2 down O'Connell St. with a Paddy Wagon going around as well there wouldn't be any of this kind of thing happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Claregirl

I have to disagree about the visible Garda presence. It would have just happened somewhere else and another family would be grieving now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Police can't be everywhere, but they have to be visible in the busier areas

There we go. Your irrational and complusive reaction, blinded by the fear of what happened and fuelled by ignorance just made you a say a stupid comment.

Your in dreamworld man, and a very violent one for that matter. Come out of it quick before it consumes your thought.

Lolz, there's no way I'm getting into a big e-argument with you based on your past socialist, anti-EU, anti-business, general tin foil hat posts, you're the polar opposite of everything I stand for.

Forgot my comments about sterilisation, that was just said in anger.

But I stand by my support for a 3 strike rule or even a 5 strike rule. How many times do you read in the papers of scumbags up in court getting their 30th or 40th conviction? Do you not think they had enough chances? There should be mandatory minimum sentences for 5 crimes, 30 years. I'll hazard a guess that these 2 accused have had a few convictions, therefore they'd be spending Stephens Day in prison and not on the streets.

Stating the obvious wont change anything. I am agreed with you in principle, that violent offenders need to be tackled earlier. I don't think that throwing them in prison for another few years teaches them anything, in fact you will agree, it makes inherently violent people even more unstable. Prison is societies way of painting over a problem > a quick fix solution. Would it not make more sense to diagnose violent offenders with having a mental illness, therefore they can be treated in some way > we can learn from this and teach kids in school in ways not to end up like this. The vicious cycle needs to be broken somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Flippin' awful news. RIP, and I hope the attackers get what's coming to them.

My friend knew the victim as he lived just down the road. Was supposed to be the biggest legend goin'. My thoughts are with his family.