Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Film Club ideas/suggestions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Having a quick look at the Cineworld website The Brothers Bloom (new film by the director of Brick) and Greenburg (from the guy who did the Squid and the Whale, with Ben Stiller) are two I'd really like to see, both out in the next two weeks or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Why dont we try something in the Lighthouse Cinema, haven't been there yet. Im not mad about Cineworld and only go there because I was outvoted on my initial Dundrum suggestion by you guys to be honest ;o)

Charging 10.50 to see a film in a cinema that hasn't been tarted up in years is outrageous if you ask me. The last time I was there the smell of toilet in the foyer was disgusting. And its 6 quid to park the car. Even in Dundrum they only charge 9.90 and thats relatively new. And the parkings free for me ;o)

Liked Brick but wasn't mad about The Squid and the Whale. But I did see the Greenburg trailer the other night and to be honest if it didnt have Stiller in it I'd probably be first in the queue to go to see it. I only liked him in Dodgeball. As for The Brothers Bloom, dont know anything about it so am open to persuasion!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I liked The Squid and the Whale, mostly.

The Lighthouse is a grand spot, alright. Will check out some of the trailers of what you've mentioned. Not much interesting stuff on the way, I don't think.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

marwelie wrote: »
    Liked Brick but wasn't mad about The Squid and the Whale. But I did see the Greenburg trailer the other night and to be honest if it didnt have Stiller in it I'd probably be first in the queue to go to see it. I only liked him in Dodgeball. As for The Brothers Bloom, dont know anything about it so am open to persuasion!

It was the surprise film at the Dublin film festival earlier this year. It really wasn't all that great.

Oh... The Screen Cinema is has a film quiz coming up soon:

http://thescreencinema.blogspot.com/2010/05/mr-screens-film-quiz-june-16th.html

It's to raise funds to do up the area in front of the cinema.

Could be fun to get a team together from the film forum. Also first prize is a private screening.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I'd be up for the quiz for sure. Also would be interested in the Lighthouse - it is quite awkward to get to, but is the nicest cinema in town. Haven't been down in a while, as I usually just stick with the IFI cos its closer, but will definitely venture down Smithfield way (as long as I can make it back to O'Connell Street for 23:20 ;)).

Got the IFI booklet in the post today, couple of interesting ones coming up. The Killer Inside Me (with Casey Affleck) sounds like it could be worth a watch. Please Give has gotten good reviews though, but I'm going to go see it anyway because Catherine Keener rocks. Trailers below, I'd imagine both will be in the Lighthouse as well. Loads of cool classics on this month too, including the spectacularly good Rashomon - which may well be one of the single greatest, most important films ever made - if people want to start going a bit retro :)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

It was the surprise film at the Dublin film festival earlier this year. It really wasn't all that great.

Oh... The Screen Cinema is has a film quiz coming up soon:

http://thescreencinema.blogspot.com/2010/05/mr-screens-film-quiz-june-16th.html

It's to raise funds to do up the area in front of the cinema.

Could be fun to get a team together from the film forum. Also first prize is a private screening.

We must enter... we must win!!!!

I'd be up for either of them, johnny_ultimate.

Also Some Like It Hot is coming up next month too.

Galvasean wrote: »
    We must enter... we must win!!!!

The Killer Inside Me looks brilliant, when and where are we going to see it!

Not sure about Please Give. On the down side its by the makers of Friends With Money which was one of most painful cinematic experiences of my life. I still have no idea why I went to see it. On the upside it has Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet and Rebecca Hall in it.......hubba hubba!

As for the quiz, count me in. I may not be able to help with too many answers but I've got good handwriting (so I've been told! :P)

BTW I work across the road from McTurcaills. If you want me to reserve a table for the quiz let me know, I can do it at lunchtime tomorrow.

Rashomon sounds like a plan too, I've seen it before but I want to see it again!

Alright The Killer Inside Me a possible bet for the next trip then?

I'll throw up a sticky about the quiz, although we seem to be close to having a team here already!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I'd join in the aversion to Ben Stiller..
    The Killer Inside Me looks good. Casey Affleck is fairly reliable, I think. Not so sure about Please Give. Must try and see Some Like It Hot.

A quiz could be good craic, though I don't think I'd help in the knowledge department.

I've been hearing good things about The Killer Inside Me. Apparently teh book it's basedon was on of Bret Easton Ellis' influences for American Psycho.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭geoffraffe

Thanks for the link. I'm excited about The Killer Inside Me now. Cassey Afflek has really impressed me in his last few films. I haven't managed to make it to a film night yet but I hope to tag along to the next one.

Great to hear. New members are always welcome.

So Killer Inside Me is out right..... now (actually, it was released yesterday, but still). Any preferences about where and when if people are still up for seeing it? This week? Next week? The week after? Right now?

It seems to have generated a certain amount of discussion on the airwaves. I'd be up for seeing it soon ish, though I'm a bit ill at the moment and may not be able to.

Id be up to see it assuming Im free

As I will pretty much watch anybody playing football and the Greatest Show on Earth (c FIFA) is starting in approximately 2 and a half days time, I am about to become a recluse for the next month.

So the only time that I definitely have free is between 5 and 7.30 on Friday of this week. I'll be in town watching South Africa v Mexico from 3 anyway so I can head into where ever we are meeting up afterwards. I'm off all of next week too. The plan as always is to watch all 64 games live (upto a point of course, can't watch two at the same time no matter how hard I try) but I could be persuaded otherwise.

I love my World Cup ;o)

Well unless y'all want to go see it this week with little notice, I don't mind holding off for a while. We hopefully will have the table quiz next week to look forward to anyway!

The Goonies is on this Thursday at the Screen.

They're encouraging people to dress as pirates too.

Anyone else going along?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Muffin top

I'm going. Sounds like fun..no pirate gear; might be able to rustle up an eye patch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Anyone else going along?

Would have loved to see that but it's the sister's birthday. Bloody family :mad::)

I'd love to come along to the next one ....

Yeah working tonight so can't make it :(

Anyone have any suggestions for the next meetup?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Anyone else going along?
    Yup - about 6 of us in total. I'll be the one not wearing any pirate gear ;)

I think if anyone picked from the others in that list you'd be ok :D

Anyone have any suggestions for the next meetup?

Bad Lieutenant at The Screen but prolly everyone's already seen that.

Anyone heard anything good about the new Woody Allen, Whatever Works? Looks like classic 1970s Allen! :)

And ... er ... Predators :o

LittleBook wrote: »
    Bad Lieutenant at The Screen but prolly everyone's already seen that.

Anyone heard anything good about the new Woody Allen, Whatever Works? Looks like classic 1970s Allen! :)

And ... er ... Predators :o

Hmm, have seem Bad Lieutenant (brilliant) and Whatever Works (only saved by Larry David) already.

I'm not all that hyped up about it, but I'd be up for Predators. Plus, seems like the kind of thing we'd get a good turn out for :pac:

I'm actually really looking forward to it. The director of Control + Adrien Brody + the legends that are Laurence Fishburne and Danny Trejo!! [explode] :D

Edit: LMAO ... wrong "Control" ... a little less hyped now :pac:

So ... what happens next?

It's starting next Thursday in Cineworld, personally I work "office hours" so Thursday/Friday evening would be good for me ... or should we wait until the initial stampede dies down. :eek:

Think Im actualy seeing Predators with friends on the 9th. It opens the same time as kiddie vampire porn instalment #3. Cinema is bound to be busy.

Others interested in Predators then, or anything else if that doesn't interest ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Galvasean wrote: »
    Think Im actualy seeing Predators with friends on the 9th. It opens the same time as kiddie vampire porn instalment #3. Cinema is bound to be busy.

So UCI Coolock it is. :pac:

Screen appear to be showing Predator at 8:30pm on Monday, July 12th. Perhaps a little short notice... or there's Terminator on July 26th. http://thescreencinema.blogspot.com/