Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another gaming rig for newbie

Options
  • 01-01-2010 11:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 33

Hi all,

I'm currently in the market for a gaming pc.
    I have a budget of about €1000 but this can be stretched a bit if required.
    The build will have to include all components i.e. monitor, OS, keyboard, mouse, etc.

This will be my first build so I'm fairly new to all this stuff.

I've put together a rough build on komplett but it's way over budget:

87055868.jpg

Does it look like it would work?

Where could I make cuts without significantly reducing performance ?

I could probably do without the Bluray drive but I thought it would be handy with the HD monitor.

Is the HD monitor worth it or should I go for lower resolution?
    Could I then downgrade the Radeon 5850?

I know that case is out of stock and it's probably overkill aswell.
    Any other case recommendations?

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

looks grand except that cooler doesnt work with the i5 socket, needs to be 1156, the best current coolers are the Notua ND-D14, Megahalem and TRUE in that order.

My thoughts on the above are:
    1. Get a 24" screen if you can, youll probably be looking at it for the next 5 years and should only be 50euro extra( single most improtant part of a PC )
    2. Komplett are really expensive, i normally go with overclockers.co.uk but the lads here use some german site.
    4. Id go for much cheaper ram, GSkill are good.