Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United v Leeds United - Sunday 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

BERBA wrote: »
    Interesting to see if Fergie sticks with the younger ones over 2 legs against yere arch rivals. If he does yere as good as gone imo and with just one cup left and a tie in feb against Milans over 35's yer season could well and truly be over by March!.

Tis awful alright. We might be forced to compete for the league title again... I'm so bored of it.

You'd think the world had ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Were talking about the same team and same midfield that couldnt beat Kettering Town in 2nd round in 3 hours of football and had to go to ET at elland road to beat them. A small bit of realiam maybe. Just my opinion but i dont think we'll be turned over on our own patch by a league one side.

i'm being realistic.

spurs are favourites, obviously.

but some of your posts have dismissed Leeds completely, which will be viewed as arrogant due to the fact Leeds beat Utd today on Utd's patch.

that is why people have pulled you up on it; not the fact you think Spurs will win.

ffs, we all know Spurs will be favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

If Todays Leeds side turns up it will be tough it will make things tougher if our teams turns up and plays like we did against united in the league cup we will lose but i think after Leeds display today the team will expect a serious fight and we can win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

If Todays Leeds side turns up it will be tough it will make things tougher if our teams turns up and plays like we did against united in the league cup we will lose but i think after Leeds display today the team will expect a serious fight and we can win.

Thats what ive been saying , 'arry wont underestimate leeds coz of what happened today but at the end of the day we should win it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Thats what ive been saying , 'arry wont underestimate leeds coz of what happened today but at the end of the day we should win it

If you'd put it like that originally there wouldn't have been all this fuss. Its not what you say its how you say it, BERBA me aul flower. Looking forward to this one now, just on the off chance it all blows up in your face.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

flahavaj wrote: »
    If you'd put it like that originally there wouldn't have been all this fuss. Its not what you say its how you say it, BERBA me aul flower. Looking forward to this one now, just on the off chance it all blows up in your face.:)

Cud well do but i doubt it , we'll do it for all you utd fans!!......not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Apols if this has already been mentioned, but did anyone think the keeper Kusczak was totally at fault for the goal? He had no right to come out, Evans had Beckford covered and only made it the task easier for him by coming out into no mans land. Van de Sar wouldn't have done the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

grenache wrote: »
    Apols if this has already been mentioned, but did anyone think the keeper Kusczak was totally at fault for the goal? He had no right to come out, Evans had Beckford covered and only made it the task easier for him by coming out into no mans land. Van de Sar wouldn't have done the same!

thought it was brown that was picking him up?kuszczak was slow to come out though,bit of hesitation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Evans was closer to the half way line then he was to Beckford iirc ;)

think it would be harsh to blame the keeper for coming out, Beckford was in behind Brown and in a one on one basically, he could have made himself bigger i guess, tried to cover a bit more of the goal but i would expect most keepers to come off their line to deal with it

if he had saved it or Beckford had missed everyone would say Kusczak did brilliantly to close down the angle and put him under pressure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

anplaya wrote: »
    thought it was brown that was picking him up?kuszczak was slow to come out though,bit of hesitation.
    Maybe it was brown, it was one of the centre halves anyway. I thought it was immensely poor judgement on Kuszchak's part. Beckford was actually headed away from goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Maybe it was brown, it was one of the centre halves anyway. I thought it was immensely poor judgement on Kuszchak's part. Beckford was actually headed away from goal.

yeah it was brown,sure hes a different skin colour from evans.:rolleyes:even gary neville was closer to it than evans i thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

whats the story with 5 mins of FT, did fergie lambast it as not being enough?

Well it really wasn't enough. Becchio was down with cramp for a minute and a half after the ball went out in the 87th minute, United themselves made 3 substitutions in the second half along with Leeds' 3 substitutions. 4 and a half minutes right there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Well it really wasn't enough. Becchio was down with cramp for a minute and a half after the ball went out in the 87th minute, United themselves made 3 substitutions in the second half along with Leeds' 3 substitutions. 4 and a half minutes right there
    So you are really saying that, when you add up all the stoppages, an extra OT allowance has to be added (providing Utd are losing, of course). Go away with ya.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

oldyouth wrote: »
    So you are really saying that, when you add up all the stoppages, an extra OT allowance has to be added (providing Utd are losing, of course). Go away with ya.
    With the amount of time wasting Leeds were doing, I'm surprised there wasn't 15 minutes of stoppage time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

efb wrote: »
    Really, when in that game could united have won 3-0?!

I WAS REFERRING TO LEEDS WINNING 3-0. THEY HAD 2 OTHER GREAT CHANCES.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Lou Macari just called Darron Gibson british on MUTV
    technically he is.

No he's not.

Even if you consider the north to be part of the UK, it's not Britain.

UK stands for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland i.e. the union of 2 things, one of which is Britain.

The north/Northern Ireland is notBritain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

kraggy wrote: »
    No he's not.

Even if you consider the north to be part of the UK, it's not Britain.

UK stands for the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland i.e. the union of 2 things, one of which is Britain.

The north/Northern Ireland is notBritain.
    British people, or Britons, citizens of the United Kingdom, of the Isle of Man, one of the Channel Islands, or of one of the British overseas territories, and their descendants
    [/pedantic]

People from Northern Ireland can be dual British/Irish citizens depending on how they see themselves.

Anyway back on topic, fantastic win but I hope this doesn't lead to a slum for us in League 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    With the amount of time wasting Leeds were doing, I'm surprised there wasn't 15 minutes of stoppage time.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

KerranJast wrote: »
    [/pedantic]

People from Northern Ireland can be dual British/Irish citizens depending on how they see themselves.

Anyway back on topic, fantastic win but I hope this doesn't lead to a slum for us in League 1.

Wrong.

They can class themselves has being a citizen of the United Kingdom.

OT, abroad at moment so not sure if he did, but did Fergie end up giving any interview at all?

Wrong.

They can class themselves has being a citizen of the United Kingdom.

OT, abroad at moment so not sure if he did, but did Fergie end up giving any interview at all?
    Sigh. Citizens of the United Kingdom are also colloquially called British. This has to be the most rubbish disagreement ever on here.

And no, Fergie gave no interview directly after the match but did comment later in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

And no, Fergie gave no interview directly after the match but did comment later in the day.

Did you hear the rubbish he was spouting. Not enough extra time?????
    3 mins would have been plenty!!!

Sigh. Citizens of the United Kingdom are also colloquially called British. This has to be the most rubbish disagreement ever on here.

Colloquially perhaps, but the original point was that Lou Macari was TECHNICALLY correct.

He wasn't.

End of discussion.

Colloquially perhaps, but the original point was that Lou Macari was TECHNICALLY correct.

He wasn't.

End of discussion.
    If Lou Macari said it I've changed my mind :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Utd were frankly lucky to get nil yesterday. The only player who cold hold his head up high was Rooney. The PIG was his usual bumbling self, GNev has only one gear now (which appears to be reverse) and has reached his sell by date. If Evra was fit he should definitely have played. Browns turning circle is a square and Fabio loves going forward but needs to work on his defending. The midfield was non existant again. Welbeck still flatters to deceive, bordering on rubbish, I know hes a striker not a winger but even when he had chances to shoot the majority of his shots yesterday nearly went out for throws. Obertan will be a class act but needs time, Gibson left his shooting boots behind. Thought Anderson being substituted gave even more initiative to Leeds (as if they hadnt enough to begin with). Obertan has moments, not the greatest player Utd have ever had but miles better than Nani. No amount of encouragement is ever going to make Berbatov try to look in the slightest bit interested in whats going on around him and I fear that Rooney while increasingly have to do the work of two men. Owen might have scored goals for fun in the past but it doesnt take a genius to figure out that he needs more than 20 minutes to get into the game. He's good but hes no OGS! Wheres Carlos Tevez when we needed him ;o) Wednesday cant come quick enough. If they lose that one Fergies hairdryer will be turned up to eleven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

marwelie wrote: »
    Utd were frankly lucky to get nil yesterday. The only player who cold hold his head up high was Rooney. The PIG was his usual bumbling self, GNev has only one gear now (which appears to be reverse) and has reached his sell by date. If Evra was fit he should definitely have played. Browns turning circle is a square and Fabio loves going forward but needs to work on his defending. The midfield was non existant again. Welbeck still flatters to deceive, bordering on rubbish, I know hes a striker not a winger but even when he had chances to shoot the majority of his shots yesterday nearly went out for throws. Obertan will be a class act but needs time, Gibson left his shooting boots behind. Thought Anderson being substituted gave even more initiative to Leeds (as if they hadnt enough to begin with). Obertan has moments, not the greatest player Utd have ever had but miles better than Nani. No amount of encouragement is ever going to make Berbatov try to look in the slightest bit interested in whats going on around him and I fear that Rooney while increasingly have to do the work of two men. Owen might have scored goals for fun in the past but it doesnt take a genius to figure out that he needs more than 20 minutes to get into the game. He's good but hes no OGS! Wheres Carlos Tevez when we needed him ;o) Wednesday cant come quick enough. If they lose that one Fergies hairdryer will be turned up to eleven.

my head hurts :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Wasn't exactly vintage Rooney either. He gave away petulant fouls, had his pocket picked and missed some decent shooting chances. But at least was trying things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Kilkenny and doyle in midfield will put the fear of god in to modric kranjcar and lennon:rolleyes:

Players like that would be out-muscled with determination like the Leeds lads showed yesterday. No prancing around for them when Leeds come to town, they might experience a bit of an actual tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Were talking about the same team and same midfield that couldnt beat Kettering Town in 2nd round in 3 hours of football and had to go to ET at elland road to beat them. A small bit of realiam maybe. Just my opinion but i dont think we'll be turned over on our own patch by a league one side.

Maybe cos Leeds had a poor attitude of Kettering Town players beforehand, the same way your saying Man Utd may have had a poor attitude towards Leeds players yesterday.

as for the bit in bold, well, join the club on Man Utd fans who also didn't think they'd be turned over on their own patch by a League 1 team. Bare in mind we haven't lost in 16 matches now, playing 2/3 games before that, so confidence high there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

kida wrote: »
    my head hurts :confused:

Sorry, didnt mean to melt anyones head :D I needed to have a rant, and you got in the way :P

Loosely translated, MUFC were sh1t, lucky to get nil and I am very very pissed off. MUFC losing to Leeds any competition irrespective of what league they are in is unacceptable in my opinion, especially when I have a wager with my Leeds Utd following uncle (the black sheep of a family of MUFC supporters :P) that there was no chance of MUFC losing yesterday:o.

Things can only get better, (I hope!)

To give Man Utd some bit of comfort, Leeds aren't realistically a League 1 side. Obviously yes they are in League 1 but if they'd been in the Championship this season they'd be pushing for one of the playoff spots IMO. There's very little difference between the top 4 or 5 teams in League 1 and a lot of Championship sides. Similarly the top 3 or 4 in the Championship could take the bottom sides in the Premiership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Dave! wrote: »
    Jayzus.....

When will the DVD be out? Maybe a commemorative mug or somethin?

Yep, ever so slightly OTT I reckon.:)

Leeds won and well done

Fergie is a God he can do no wrong

It was a blip for Manchester United

Everyone hates Manchester United

Its freezing outside

Berbatov is sh'it

0-1 Beckford 19mins Old Trafford

x x x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Another bad result yesterday but I enjoyed the game none the less. Leeds desereved their win tbh as the created the better chances and their defence played a stormer. Looks like united will have to for the League and CL now.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

This game was actually a little cracker. Wish there was one of these every round. <3 the Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Trilla wrote: »
    Leeds won and well done

Fergie is a God he can do no wrong

It was a blip for Manchester United

Everyone hates Manchester United

Its freezing outside

Berbatov is sh'it

0-1 Beckford 19mins Old Trafford

x x x

I thought Berbatov wasn't that bad yesterday. Set up at least 4 good chances yesterday and on another day if any 2 of those were converted, everyone would be saying that is why we paid so much for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

A small bit of realiam maybe. Just my opinion but i dont think we'll be turned over on our own patch by a league one side.

lol.

I said at it the very beginning of this thread.

Leeds have only lost 2 of their last 32 games. They have the best performance record this season of any club in their respective league. They are 8 points clear in League 1 with a game in hand.

Grayson has won 41 of his 61 games.

Liverpool barely scraped past them at Elland Road.

Any Man United fan that did not feel Leeds would be challenge on Sunday doesn't have a clue. All the predictions of 3, 4 or 5 nil were arrogant and mis-guided.

I fully expected Leeds to take something from that game whether it was a replay or better. They have been sensational so far this season.

All this whinging about not enough injury time, penalty shouts and Berbatov's laziness is hilarious.

Fair play to the United fans here are actually crediting Leeds with the win they deserved. Had Snodgrass's shot been 1 inch lower we would have won the game with a 2 goal cushion.

See you guys at Old Trafford and Elland Road in 2011. MOT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Most of the stoppages were down to our players getting treatment following tackles by Brown. I think he must be taking lessons from Paul "everybody knows he means no harm" Scholes

Dave! wrote: »
    Jayzus.....

When will the DVD be out? Maybe a commemorative mug or somethin?

why would there be a mug or DVD?

Having watched the highlights again last night (and god that was awful), I'd make a few comments.

United had more chances. Not to mention (generally) better ones.

Leeds got a goal against the run of play and had a couple of good chances late on. They rode their luck and got away with it. Fair play to them.

Those castigating United are missing the point that actually, they did play better, even towards the end they missed some great chances. Owen and Rooney showed awful composure yesterday.

The biggest worry wasn't us being outplayed, because we weren't, instead it was that lack of creativity and composure up front.

And Berbatov played well for the record. Despite his injury.

Agreed.

Like I said to others, if Leeds played like Man United did and visa versa, people would still say Leeds deserved it. Purely because they are from two divisions lower and this clouds peoples judgment on the game. That and a lot dislike Manchester United, just being honest. No harm in disliking teams I suppose.

However, M United were awful and lost the midfield battle on many of occasions. A draw would have been a far result, but M United need to get players back fit and go on a run. It doesn't like they are responding to these kick in the asses they're getting. That's their 7 defeat I think this season, 5 in the league and 3 of that 7 in Old Trafford.... I havent even digested my Christmas turkey yet. Only upside for the red devils is other teams are suffering somewhat too and they dont have similar injury probs.

Trilla wrote: »
    Agreed.

Like I said to others, if Leeds played like Man United did and visa versa, people would still say Leeds deserved it. Purely because they are from two divisions lower and this clouds peoples judgment on the game. That and a lot dislike Manchester United, just being honest. No harm in disliking teams I suppose.

However, M United were awful and lost the midfield battle on many of occasions. A draw would have been a far result, but M United need to get players back fit and go on a run. It doesn't like they are responding to these kick in the asses they're getting. That's their 7 defeat I think this season, 5 in the league and 3 of that 7 in Old Trafford.... I havent even digested my Christmas turkey yet. Only upside for the red devils is other teams are suffering somewhat too and they dont have similar injury probs.

In fairness, I put a lot of this down to the myth that the result is a true reflection of the game. It's not.

The better team lost. The team who beat them played extraordinarily well given who they are (these days), but even though everyone would accept they played well and United were dire, United still had more chances.

In saying that, Leeds showed that they're a very competitive team. Whether that's because they are, or because United underestimated a very old rival I don't know. For the sake of the fans I suppose I hope it's the former. I've always felt that Ridsdale was a bit of a cock after all for what he did to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Just because a team had better chances doesn't mean they were the better team, it's ignoring that Leeds defended very very well. Their defending was better than Man Uniteds attacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

LEEDS got exactly what they deserved yesterday , while I agree with some off the points raised. Yes there was a lack of creativity and a lack of composure in front of goal but this is not the first time this season we have tried to use them as excuses. We were not good enough ,on the day .
    The simple truth is that yesterday Utd were second best at the basics ,they were out fought and battled (especially mid field) for large portions of the game and therefore never really got a foothold in the game from which they could dominate . Leeds on the other hand showed a hell of alot more committment and effort than the vast majority of the Utd players on show and this was reflected in the result .IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

basically my feelings on the game is that Leeds indeed deserved to win, but with the chances United had they should have won.

Having watched the highlights again last night (and god that was awful), I'd make a few comments.

Leeds got a goal against the run of play and had a couple of good chances late on. They rode their luck and got away with it. Fair play to them.

Those castigating United are missing the point that actually, they did play better, even towards the end they missed some great chances. Owen and Rooney showed awful composure yesterday.

The biggest worry wasn't us being outplayed, because we weren't, instead it was that lack of creativity and composure up front.

And Berbatov played well for the record. Despite his injury.

??

ye had one more chance on target than us. yeah, ye had loads off target but thats due to the pressure that leeds put ye under and the great defending. Sure anyone can take a shot and kick it wide.

One more on target is all, and we hit the bar and beckfords chance near the end was probably the easiest in the game, inches wide

Ye didnt play badly, but some players had awful games, like brown, neville, obertan, wellbeck, berbatov. thats 5 players out of 11 who played badly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

event wrote: »
    ??

Ye didnt play badly, but some players had awful games, like brown, neville, obertan, wellbeck, berbatov. thats 5 players out of 11 who played badly

correct apart from Berabatov, add Owen to it instead

owen had 20 minutes. he had one chance, which he fluffed and was taken down for a free. thought he did ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭BrianCalgary

event wrote: »
    ??

You hit the nail on the head with this analysis. I'd say Berbatov's play actually had us down to 10 men.

Congrats Leeds, you deserved it.