Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United v Leeds United - Sunday 1pm

1111213141517»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Didnt see game yesterday but see Fergie made a deal about the five minutes additional time. FA have decided not charge him. Was time keeping okay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

I thought it was 4 mins but could have been 5
    no more though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Didnt see game yesterday but see Fergie made a deal about the five minutes additional time. FA have decided not charge him. Was time keeping okay?
    I personally thought it would be 3 mins max! I couldnt believe fergusons reaction. Id say he wanted to keep playing til Man U scored. But the way Leeds were defending (Like beavers, to rob a Chris Kamara phrase) Man U were never going to score no matter how many chances they got. they had a few good chances but couldnt put them away.

Leeds Leeds Leeds!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

ahh, just watched the game in full again there. So much more enjoyable when you know the result :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

SarahBM wrote: »
    I personally thought it would be 3 mins max! I couldnt believe fergusons reaction. Id say he wanted to keep playing til Man U scored. But the way Leeds were defending (Like beavers, to rob a Chris Kamara phrase) Man U were never going to score no matter how many chances they got. they had a few good chances but couldnt put them away.

Leeds Leeds Leeds!!! :D

This is getting very old. 6 subs, two injuries requiring treatment, and a leeds player booked for timewasting near the end, that I recall. 5 minutes is a very conservative estimate of time added on. Can't really complain at getting 5 minutes, it could easily have been more, but to say it should've been less is just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

few of the subs were made together iirc.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    few of the subs were made together iirc.

2. Giggs and Valencia? So 4.5minutes, which would mean he'd have to add 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

About five and a half minutes injury time was played

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

monkey9 wrote: »
    About five and a half minutes injury time was played

post of the thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,950 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

EDIT: Sorry, thought this was the United super thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Fergie's post match rants about added time are getting a bit tired now - 95 minutes were played & United had their chances and wasted them. They could've played another 5 minutes & still not have scored. Leeds won fair & sqaure & Ferguson needs to direct his frustrations at the players on the training ground - not at the officials, who in fairness did a good job - especially fro United - as Brown was skating on thin ice for much of the second half & got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

JPA wrote: »
    Just because a team had better chances doesn't mean they were the better team, it's ignoring that Leeds defended very very well. Their defending was better than Man Uniteds attacking.
    I'd actually say it was more to do with United's bad finishing if I'm honest.
    event wrote: »
    ??

ye had one more chance on target than us. yeah, ye had loads off target but thats due to the pressure that leeds put ye under and the great defending. Sure anyone can take a shot and kick it wide.

One more on target is all, and we hit the bar and beckfords chance near the end was probably the easiest in the game, inches wide

Ye didnt play badly, but some players had awful games, like brown, neville, obertan, wellbeck, berbatov. thats 5 players out of 11 who played badly

Berbatov an awful game? That's silly. His passing was a constant threat and opened up chances for others time and time again.

If memory serves United had about 8 more shots, as well as about a half dozen more corners. That's indicative of more chances.

This is getting very old. 6 subs, two injuries requiring treatment, and a leeds player booked for timewasting near the end, that I recall. 5 minutes is a very conservative estimate of time added on. Can't really complain at getting 5 minutes, it could easily have been more, but to say it should've been less is just ridiculous.

and yet again people get this wrong

5 subs, 2 at the same time, which amounts to 2 minutes. so they got an extra 3 minutes from other things.
    there was a 6th sub, made in injury time and the full time whistle wasnt blown until sometime in the 96th minute.

but let fergie give out all he wants, makes it all the more enjoyable:pac:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

and yet again people get this wrong

5 subs, 2 at the same time, which amounts to 2 minutes. so they got an extra 3 minutes from other things.
    there was a 6th sub, made in injury time and the full time whistle wasnt blown until sometime in the 96th minute.

but let fergie give out all he wants, makes it all the more enjoyable:pac:
    And yet again, going on Leeds United's timewasting throughout the second half there could have been 15 minutes injury time. It was pretty bad in the first half too, even with the scores level. Don't get me wrong, even if there was 30 minutes of injury time United still wouldn't have scored, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the time added on.

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    And yet again, going on Leeds United's timewasting throughout the second half there could have been 15 minutes injury time. It was pretty bad in the first half too, even with the scores level. Don't get me wrong, even if there was 30 minutes of injury time United still wouldn't have scored, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the time added on.

did i say there was?

5 minutes is grand, but fergie complaining that there should be more is laughable

Leeds timewasting? :rolleyes:
    we spent so much time on the ground as wes brown was let kick anyone and get away with it.

pornapster wrote:
    It was pretty bad in the first half too, even with the scores level.
    Leeds were only level with man u for the first 19 mins, btw.

Fair play to a lot of the Man U fans, they have congratulated Leeds on a good performance. Some of the so called fans keep trying to find things about the Leeds performance, but the fact of the matter is Man U didnt play to the best of their ability, and Leeds took full advantage!!!

did i say there was?
    5 minutes is grand, but fergie complaining that there should be more is laughable
    Leeds timewasting? :rolleyes:
    we spent so much time on the ground as wes brown was let kick anyone and get away with it.

I agree. Brown should have got a yellow card in the 2nd half (too many bad tackles to name one) and therefore should have been sent off!
    Leeds are a tougher team, because they have to be playing in a lower league. Premier League players go down so easy these days and get so much protection fromt he ref, those players wouldnt last five mins on a league one pitch never mind a hurling field! LOL!!

Did anyone else notice the condition of the pitch at old trafford. I thought it was pretty dodge. Ive seen better pitches at brighton!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Did anyone else notice the condition of the pitch at old trafford. I thought it was pretty dodge. Ive seen better pitches at brighton!

Have you not heard ,we're financially screwed , Waiting on cash for flogging Rooney to some Spanish crowd :pac:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Fair play to a lot of the Man U fans, they have congratulated Leeds on a good performance. Some of the so called fans keep trying to find things about the Leeds performance, but the fact of the matter is Man U didnt play to the best of their ability, and Leeds took full advantage!!!

I agree. Brown should have got a yellow card in the 2nd half (too many bad tackles to name one) and therefore should have been sent off!
    Leeds are a tougher team, because they have to be playing in a lower league. Premier League players go down so easy these days and get so much protection fromt he ref, those players wouldnt last five mins on a league one pitch never mind a hurling field! LOL!!

Who are Man U? Never heard of them...

Correct, Leeds were ahead after 19 minutes.

I have congratulated Leeds fans on what is a fantastic result for them. There is no doubting that they were the better and more organised team on the day, hence why I said United could have played for another 30 minutes and still wouldn't have scored. I was merely pointing out that the added time was correct and that there could have been more of it if anything.

As for Brown, he plays hard but fair. I remember one tackle where he was surrounded by Leeds players after a really hard challenge where he won the ball cleanly. Not sure if it was that one that got him booked or not but he definately didn't deserve to be sent off (nor did anyone for that matter).

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Have you not heard ,we're financially screwed , Waiting on cash for flogging Rooney to some Spanish crowd :pac:

about the only player ye have worth selling at the mo. Class player. probably the best in the league. maybe Leeds will get him when we're back in the premier league in a couple of years.

I havent seen much of berbatov but from what I have seen he seems to be a bit like beckford. just expects everybody else to do the work and will put the ball in the net when it falls right for him. Id say Fergie is regretting buying him!!! ye should never have let tevez go!

PORNAPSTER wrote: »

As for Brown, he plays hard but fair. I remember one tackle where he was surrounded by Leeds players after a really hard challenge where he won the ball cleanly. Not sure if it was that one that got him booked or not but he definately didn't deserve to be sent off (nor did anyone for that matter).

no, that tackle was perfect

but after that, he tackled doyle and went over the ball, gave away a free and lucky not to get a yellow. in the second half, he came through the back of beckford twice and becchio once, all giving away free's. he then had a little tussle with howson which should have resulted in them both getting booked. For persistent fouling alone, he should have got a second yellow. You cant really deny that, anyone that does is blinkered and foolish IMO

on a more light hearted note:

Fergie and Simon Grayson are in a bar, after 3 drinks simon says.. You better piss off now its the 4th round!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

I havent seen much of berbatov but from what I have seen he seems to be a bit like beckford. just expects everybody else to do the work and will put the ball in the net when it falls right for him. Id say Fergie is regretting buying him!!! ye should never have let tevez go!

BERB = 30.75m Spurs laughin all the way to the Bank on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

about the only player ye have worth selling at the mo.

Can't let that one pass Im afraid.

Rooney is not worth selling. He is worth far more to this club than any player we have at the moment, and to sell him would be lunacy. And if you're comment is more along the lines of "Rooney's the only good player ye have that would bring in money", thats also BS. Well done on the victory and all that, but dont let it go to your head and become an authority on what Man Utd should and shouldn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

about the only player ye have worth selling at the mo. Class player. probably the best in the league. maybe Leeds will get him when we're back in the premier league in a couple of years.

Every single word in this post is wrong. :eek:

Boggles wrote: »

And most of this:

Yeah, the cheek of these "so called fans", defending their team.:eek:

If the leeds players are so much tougher, why did they require treatment every single time they fell over? Although, in fairness, ye're captain, can't think of his name, didn't make a fuss over a fairly bad tackle by Gibson, i think, but overall, there was nothing to show how much tougher they were.
    They were good at wasting time though, i'll give you that.

Utd fans need to get over the fact that they were beaten by a 3rd division team at home.

how is every single word wrong? I said Rooney was class. not wrong

Leeds will be back in the premiership in 2 or 3 years. not wrong

It was madness to let a good player like Tevez leave. not wrong.

Im not letting this go to my head either. I know Leeds clearly havent been playing premier league opposition week in week out. We are in league 1 and I havent forgotten that.

I also said that I had not seen much of berbatov, and just made the comment about him on what I had seen.

What man u midfield do you think would have beaten Leeds on sunday???
    I think if Leeds had Snodgrass on from the start though, the score line would have been bigger.

meant to say as well, some people were mentioning, rightly so, how it wasnt united first team

it wasnt leeds' either, we were missing 3 definate starters, snodgrass wasnt fit to start but came on and another lad who has played a good bit didnt play due to him being on loan to us and he wasnt allowed to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

Leeds will be back in the premiership in 2 or 3 years. not wrong

It was madness to let a good player like Tevez leave. not wrong.

Im not letting this go to my head either. I know Leeds clearly havent been playing premier league opposition week in week out. We are in league 1 and I havent forgotten that.

I also said that I had not seen much of berbatov, and just made the comment about him on what I had seen.

What man u midfield do you think would have beaten Leeds on sunday???
    I think if Leeds had Snodgrass on from the start though, the score line would have been bigger.

This thread really should have died a death already but anyway...

1) You said that Rooney was the only player we have worth selling, I'm not sure what this means but if it's implying that he's the only class player we have than it is laughably incorrect. Evra, Vidic, Rio, Fletcher to name only a few others who have made United a dominant force in England and one of the dominant forces in Europe in the last 3 years.

2) Leeds might be back in the premiership in 2 or 3 years, but it's not certain. Therefore I would say you were neither wrong nor right with this one.

3) We didn't let Tevez leave, we merely chose not to sign him on a permanent basis. This was for a number of reasons.
    He was not first choice and didn't perform very well last season.

He got a bit stroppy when he didn't start and tried to use the fans to influence the manager.

He has the worst touch of any 30m+ player I've ever seen, and is pretty much an inferior version of Rooney.

Essentially, he just wasn't worth the money that was being asked for him.

4) I'll admit I haven't seen much of Beckford, but I highly doubt he is comparable to Berbatov. He seems to be a centre-forward very much in the British sense of the word, big, strong with a bit of pace and a general nuisance.

You said before that Berba is like Beckford in that he waits for the ball to come to him and puts it in the net. This couldn't be further from the case. He drops deep, gets on the ball around 20 yards out a lot and creates a lot of openings for other players. Indeed, if you had actually paid attention to the match the other day you would have seen this.

5) I think a first choice midfield with the right attitude, let's say Giggs, Fletcher, Anderson and Valencia, though you can replace Anderson with Scholes or Carrick (or Hargreaves:D), would 9 times out of 10 be good enough to beat Leeds. Actually, the midfield the other day should beat Leeds 7 times out of 10, regardless of whether Snodgrass played or not.

I will say that specifically on Sunday, it would have been tough to beat Leeds due to the fact they played out of their skins. However, if you are implying, and I don't know if you are or not, that Leeds are actually better than United, then you are displaying the same kind of delusional fantasy that got your club into the position it now finds itself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Archimedes wrote: »
    Can't let that one pass Im afraid.

Rooney is not worth selling. He is worth far more to this club than any player we have at the moment, and to sell him would be lunacy. And if you're comment is more along the lines of "Rooney's the only good player ye have that would bring in money", thats also BS. Well done on the victory and all that, but dont let it go to your head and become an authority on what Man Utd should and shouldn't do.

Pff...:mad:

Condescending term to use

....an opinion was given on fergies decision. It's a discussion forum, what do you expect??

Pff...:mad:

Condescending term to use

....an opinion was given on fergies decision. It's a discussion forum, what do you expect??

What decision are you talking about? Im not being condescending at all, Im just pointing out that the opion "Rooney is the only player worth selling" is a ridiculous one. Sure, its opinion, and everybody has one, but its quite clearly the wrong opinion.

Ah come on now, I'm not going through all your BS, but I know and you know and everyone else knows that not what you said now was it??? ;)

What decision are you talking about? Im not being condescending at all, Im just pointing out that the opion "Rooney is the only player worth selling" is a ridiculous one. Sure, its opinion, and everybody has one, but its quite clearly the wrong opinion.

I'm on about the "don't let it go to your head" comment made......Thoroughly condescending!!

I never implied that Leeds were better than Man U. Hello!! League 1!!! :D

I wasnt paying as much attention to the man u players as I was concentrating more on our boys :D:D:D

This is one of the reasons I love football. Everyone has an opinion and everyone thinks their opinion is the right one.
    Archimedes, my opinion isnt wrong, its just different to yours.every one sees things differently in soccer. especially Man U and Leeds Fans :D

Bottom line.... Man U are out of the FA cup and Leeds are still in it. Leeds put in a performance to be proud of , Man U didnt.

I think this thread can be put to bed now.

I never implied that Leeds were better than Man U. Hello!! League 1!!! :D

I wasnt paying as much attention to the man u players as I was concentrating more on our boys :D:D:D

This is one of the reasons I love football. Everyone has an opinion and everyone thinks their opinion is the right one.
    Archimedes, my opinion isnt wrong, its just different to yours.every one sees things differently in soccer. especially Man U and Leeds Fans :D

Bottom line.... Man U are out of the FA cup and Leeds are still in it. Leeds put in a performance to be proud of , Man U didnt.

So your opinion that Berbatov is like Beckford in that he waits for people to set things up for him, is right?

Even if I told you that since he came to the premeirship he has one of the highest assist tallys in the league???

Now you see that is a fact. He sets up alot of goals. Would that not make your opinion wrong?

Now everybody has an opinion, not everybody has an educated opinion, there is a huge difference, See?

Again matter of opinion but i wouldnt think for much longer !

So your opinion that Berbatov is like Beckford in that he waits for people to set things up for him, is right?

Even if I told you that since he came to the premeirship he has one of the highest assist tallys in the league???

Now you see that is a fact. He sets up alot of goals. Would that not make your opinion wrong?

Now everybody has an opinion, not everybody has an educated opinion, there is a huge difference, See?

Gee, thanks for clearing that up!!!!:rolleyes:

I'm on about the "don't let it go to your head" comment made......Thoroughly condescending!!

Well whatever you took from it, there was certainly no condescension intended, I assure you. I would have said the same thing to a fellow United fan had they suggested the same, so apologies if you were offended but it was really unintentional.

Fair enough then:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Fergie got it wrong again

BERBA wrote: »

seriously, no one really cares what you think

all you seem to be doing it trying to rile leeds united and man united fans in this thread

seriously, no one really cares what you think

all you seem to be doing it trying to rile leeds united and man united fans in this thread

your fellow leeds fan back through a number of posts putting out a lot of inaccuracies. Were all entitled to our opinion . Isnt that why its a discussion thread?.:confused:

which is about Manchester United vs Leeds United in the FA Cup 3rd round

so far your posts have been:
    Utd fans need to get over the fact that they were beaten by a 3rd division team at home.
    BERB = 30.75m Spurs laughin all the way to the Bank on that one.
    Cud well do but i doubt it , we'll do it for all you utd fans!!......not.
    Thats what ive been saying , 'arry wont underestimate leeds coz of what happened today but at the end of the day we should win it
    Were talking about the same team and same midfield that couldnt beat Kettering Town in 2nd round in 3 hours of football and had to go to ET at elland road to beat them. A small bit of realiam maybe. Just my opinion but i dont think we'll be turned over on our own patch by a league one side.

We'll show you how its done in 3 weeks time. delighted leeds won today but there's nothing derogatory imo in expecting 3 top international players not to have sleepless nights over 2 league one midfielders if they have the right attitude on the day. Something your boys didnt have today.
    Dont think im being arrogant saying that 'arry wont fall in to the same trap as SAF
    Interesting to see if Fergie sticks with the younger ones over 2 legs against yere arch rivals. If he does yere as good as gone imo and with just one cup left and a tie in feb against Milans over 35's yer season could well and truly be over by March!.
    Kilkenny and doyle in midfield will put the fear of god in to modric kranjcar and lennon:rolleyes:
    Completely agree with you but being at home to Leeds who are a league One side you'd expect utd to beat em even with the Neviller in their team , think the players attitude was shockin
    and what about fletcher park evra carrick scholes giggs valencia owen all left out ?..we know the defence is injured and all that but Fergie and all the players (rooney the exception coz he's got a great attitude) thought all they had to do was turn up at the ground to get a result ...big mistake.
    we are talking about a league one side here?. Lightning wont strike twice at the lane.
    no chance , if 'arry puts out a half decent team it will be a comfortable home win. Fergie is arrogant and he under estimated leeds today. No chance 'arry will do that.
    We all need a team of Wes Browns !:p
    As much as i was gutted when he left us , i'd never take him back , not after him going on strike and not playing against boro. Leave him rot at united imo. We made good money on him ...would the majority of spurs fans want him back after what he did?
    Love the bloke hence the username....he made us 30.75m and he's having a mare with united :D,he made his bed and all that

Easy tiger!..we'll sort em out for ye in the 4th round:D

COYS

Bigtime leeds deserved to win and what about the 5 mins injury time...where did they come from?

out of 20 posts, 3 are about the game

most seem to be talking about how spurs will beat leeds in the 4th round.

if you want, go and make a thread about that, but there is no need for it in here

out of 20 posts, 3 are about the game

most seem to be talking about how spurs will beat leeds in the 4th round.

if you want, go and make a thread about that, but there is no need for it in here

Nothing controversial in any of above posts. Leeds beat Utd , Leeds drew Spurs in next round . All related . Didnt realise you had to be a utd or leeds fan to post in this thread?..Reality check you don't. I'm entitled to my opinion that we should beat a 3rd division team at home in the FA Cup. You might let me know whats so controversial about that?

I think the point Event is making is that this thread is about sundays game. not the game coming up. You should start a new thread for the 4th round match.

This is becoming tiresome. I think I will leave now. I thouroughly enjoyed the banter boys and girls. :D Good Luck!

MOT!!!

oh my good god, you're just not getting it

you dont have to be a fan, not at all.

you are entitled to your opinion, course you are

i spell this next bit out for you though

NOT IN THIS THREAD. THIS IS FOR MANCHESTER UNITED VS LEEDS UNITED ONLY. THAT IS THE PURPOSE OF MATCHDAY THREADs, TO STOP THEM BEING DRAGGED OT

if you wish to discuss spurs vs leeds,make a thread for it