Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So tried to build my PC... failed

Options
  • 02-01-2010 11:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭

Got all the components in Maplin today and spent 400 quid and got some pretty old parts but i hope solid.

Black ICute Case 40euro
    4chan PCI sound card 23E
    OEM 250gb SATA HD
    580w Xpower GTXlight PSU 82E
    __8100VM-M5 GeForce MotherBoard
    __Athlon X2 Dual Core 7450
    __2GB DDR2 800mhz
    __Heat Sink+ Fan --->202E

I have a Samsung Syncmaster P2270 LCD that i was using my laptop off.

So i put it all together carefully.

I press the power button its turns on and i see nothing. The LCD knows that its plugged into the PC because it searchs between Analog and Digital looking for a signal.

I expected that I would see the POST routine but my heart sank into my stomach when nothing appeared :(

Anybody able to provide some ideas? I heard no sound either. Like beeps etc. (dnt know if pc's still beep during POST)

Also could it be that this LCD doesnt display post routines and only comes alive when i boot into windows? -.- I dnt have another screen so I hope thats not the case also.

Many Thanks,
    -W :pac:

Comments

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

Why in the name of God did you get that tripe in Maplins?! :(

The kit is old, but I'm more worried about the horrid mobo (ECS = fail) and off-brand PSU (JG won't even review them because they keep trying to bait-and-switch :rolleyes: )