Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Driving a Train

• 06-01-2010 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭

Hi

Not sure if this is the correct place to post. But here goes

I have recently been thinking of a career change. would like to get out of the 9-5 cycle (I work in IT, 3 years, experiance)

Always wanted to drive a train at some point in my life.
    Can you just apply to CIE/Irish Rail for a Job as a driver or do you have start off checking tickets at a train station?

I know in the US you can apply to be driver straight off the bat.

Anyone know the Answer?

Cheers
    G.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The only surefire way to drive a train in Ireland is to have family in the job. From what I've heard, mainly on boards, it's nigh on impossible to get into otherwise. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

grahambo wrote: »
    Hi

I have recently been thinking of a career change. would like to get out of the 9-5 cycle (I work in IT, 3 years, experiance)

Can you just apply to CIE/Irish Rail for a Job as a driver or do you have start off checking tickets at a train station?

Anyone know the Answer?

Cheers
    G.