Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long did it take you to get home today?

• 06-01-2010 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭

How long did it take you to get home today and how did you get home? car/train/walk/ski ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Not me but my sister in law left work in mulhuddart at 14.30 heading for ballyfermot,she's still on the M50 trying to get off at J7 almost 7 hours later!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭demakinz

only in the door after been in the car since 4.back up to dublin at 5;30am.i would stay at home only iv to collect my wages.m4 out of dublin seriously bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

No problem for me as I live a mile from home, but a colleague took 2hrs from Airton Rd to Clondalkin village.

And even worse, I know someone who works in Blanch industrial estate that left at 33pm and is just in city centre now.:eek:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Took just under 4 hours, bussed it, then walked across city and caught a lift, was hairy though, lost control of the car twice.
    Journey usually takes 60-90mins at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭robust

I thought the 3 and a half hours it took be to get from beaumont to castleknock (half a hour to get out of a car park) was bad but 7 hours...wow!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭mad m

left work in car at 3:30, got home just before 6.....Live 3-4miles from work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Wibbler

Is this the right room for a rant? ;)

I left Sandyford Industrial Est. at 4pm on my way to Swords. Made excellent progress until I reached the start of Sean Moore road at Sandymount, then the nightmare began. 1 hour 30 minutes from there to the other side of the East Link, then about 20 minutes from there to the roundabout at the point. Reached the port tunnel toll plaza and waited for 40 minutes for them to let the traffic through.

Total time door to door 4 hours 50 minutes. Time from door to loo 5 secs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Jokesetal

4h30m to do a trip that's normally 1hr.
    It took over an 1h20m to get through the Walkinstown Roundabout from the Submarine Bar. Gardai walking around with hands in their pockets, which is about as much use as they would have been anyways.
    VW Polo abandoned in the median directly opposite the Fire Brigade Station on Belgard Rd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Little Miss Cutie

Car - 5 hours from city centre to Portmarnock.

Honestly thought I would never get home.

Saw some really scary things, everyone please take care out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭wayne2107

Sandyford To Santry (Driving Mercedes Sprinter)

Sandyford ind est was just a complete mess. We were pulled out of there at 2pm and told to return to base (Airport). Could not get near the M50 so went via Kilmacud Rd, Mt Merrion, N11, Ballsbridge, South Lotts, East Link, Port Tunnel, M50, Ballymun Rd, Northwood, Swords Rd.

Once I got out of Sandyford Ind est traffic was great until East Link. Very heavy on East Link, as was the tool booths at the tunnell. Slow coming out of the tunnell along the M1, M50 was fine but from the Ballymun Rd end of Northwood to the Swords Rd end took over an hour.

Left Sandyford 3:10
    Arrive Santry 5:05

Journey normally takes 40 mins via M50.

Looking at above posts I done pretty ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snowey07

walked from blanch to phibsboro 9km in total - me legs are wrecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

snowey07 wrote: »
    walked from blanch to phibsboro 9km in total - me legs are wrecked

Brother had to walk Blanch -> Glasnevin. Insane...

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭manster

2 hours through the Park from Heuston to Castleknock. Trains are going to be a nightmare tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

St Stephens Green to Cabinteely 3.5 hours. Took nearly 3 hours to get to Ranelagh - maybe 3 miles!

And when I got in was so ravenous......so much for New Year Resolutions on diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,525 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Walked from Leeson Street to Mulhuddart - 2hrs 45 minutes.
    (would have been even longer if I hadn't made a late decision to be a nut and walk through the traffic at the M50/M3 bridge rather than go the long way through Castleknock).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Miss Tequila

o my god!!!

that's terrible!

if its gonna be same tomor, dont forget to bring the foood while you drivin home..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭xxlilyxx

walked home only took an hour and a half so i was lucky i dont live to far from town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Avaya79

I left the car at home in the morning and walked to work, and back. you guys should try that for a change instead of relying on the sacred car. it saves a lot of stress (and time hehe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭DDigital

Left Sandyford village at 2pm. Got back to Naas Co. Kildare at 7pm.

I didn't use the M50 from Sandyford. It was stuffed. Headed towards Dundrum. Took the Wickham bypass, branched off and headed to Nutgrove (big mistake). Slow crawl to Rathfarnham and on over Templeogue bridge. Slow crawl along N81. Stopped off at the Texaco station for R&R with Hortons donut and hot cup of tea. Saw the Garda Traffic Corp vehicle parked up so decided to join the useless gits (no Garda presence anywhere on route except for my tea break!) Traffic was easing so crawled onto the M50 southbound to join an icy N7 and literally crawled all the way to Naas.

I know we all feel like ranting, but the continued lack of any kind of coordinated response to this weather is disheartening. Its not exactly the first time either. God help us if we were to experience a serious disaster.

But home safe and sound and very greatful. First visit to this particular forum as a result and I must say some of the stuff posted (small) is mind boggling. What is it with some posters here?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Avaya79 wrote: »
    I left the car at home in the morning and walked to work, and back. you guys should try that for a change instead of relying on the sacred car. it saves a lot of stress (and time hehe)

Some people rely in Public Transport, walking is not an option, going by google maps my journey would take 5 hours walking, and is 25kms, I don't rely on the "sacred" car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

Took me about 10-15 seconds this morning, still in my jammies. Technically I'm still working at the moment, but when I finish up it will be about 15-20 seconds (it's an uphill walk).

I did venture out on the streets today and I have to say the roads are only crazy. I don't envy anyone that *has* to drive in this weather.

z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

walked 3 to 4 minutes. :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,654 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

We were told to go home at 3pm today. I got a taxi into work this morning, cos it was too difficult to drive. I had orginally asked the taxi driver to come and pick me up at about 4, but when i heard we were closing at 3, I rang and asked if he could come earlier? The building's doors were shut at about 3.15pm, leaving me sitting outside in my wheelchair, freezing my ****ing arse off!!!!

A colleague, then walked with me up to the large roundabout in Ballyfermot. We kept in touch with the taxi company to see what progress(if any?)the driver was making. He eventually arrived in Ballyfermot at almost 5pm, and picked me up!!

If I get into work tomorrow morning, I am going straight to our Safety Officer, and Union rep to complain that I was left outside the front gate freezing my arse off in that weather, when I had no other way of getting home(the buses stopped at 3pm)!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Just under an hour. Tram Connolly->Heuston followed by a 30 minute walk.

Seems everyone in town decided to leave early. So I got something to eat in the IFSC after work and travelled at around 7pm after the mayhem had subsided.

No problems.

Just a side note - trams were running into Connolly almost bumper to bumper from Abbey St to Connolly. I watched one tram arrive at the Busaras stop well before the preceeding one had fully left! Much less than a platform length between them. So presumably they were leaving Connolly at the same rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Wibbler

If I get into work tomorrow morning, I am going straight to our Safety Officer, and Union rep to complain that I was left outside the front gate freezing my arse off in that weather, when I had no other way of getting home(the buses stopped at 3pm)!!!!!!!!

That's terrible MM. Sounds very thoughtless to me. Give them hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,654 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Wibbler wrote: »
    That's terrible MM. Sounds very thoughtless to me. Give them hell.

I will.......................if I actually get in to work tomorrow!!!??

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Left work at Heuston around 18:50. Got a LUAS pretty quickly, which slowed to a crawl on Abbey Street. Then the train was about 10 minutes late at Connolly so I got in the door just after 20:00 and felt very glad that my journey was considerably shorter than many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Aquavid

Three and a half hours from Cherrywood to East Wall by car. (normally an hour in peak).

I'd usually take the bus to work, but brought the car today just in case there was exactly the kind of disruption/service curtailment - Cherrywood is a long way to be stuck out of the city if no transport is running!

Aquavid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

City Centre to Blessington took me nearly 5 hours this afternoon :(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Car - 5 hours from city centre to Portmarnock.
    Just curious - were you not tempted to take public transport and abandon the car? The trains may have been busy but the journey times weren't much longer than normal and the delays only on the scale of about ten minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭butters.scotch

Walked from Lower Baggot Street to Kimmage, 1hr 15 min so wasn't too bad. Managed to fall on the way home as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Left Leopardstown at 2 and got to Maynooth at 5. Just half as bad as the last snow (6 hours).

Worst area was actually getting from the business park to the M50. M50 was a crawl as far as Firhouse, and then got pretty bad again around the N4. long tailbacks at the N7 as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Left Booterstown at about 7.30. Only took about an hour (deliberately stayed late) via M50 to Finglas

I have NEVER seen anything like the traffic at the Blanchardstown exit on the south bound side. The q started near enough where you come onto the M50 south bound from Finglas. Seemed to be a complete jam on the actual toll bridge too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

lord lucan wrote: »
    Not me but my sister in law left work in mulhuddart at 14.30 heading for ballyfermot,she's still on the M50 trying to get off at J7 almost 7 hours later!!:eek::eek:

She got home at 21.55 in the end,7 and a half hours in a little micra!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Murilloinf

We were told to leave work at around 2:20.. eventually I got the bus at 2:35 just beside luisa bridge (stupid me, as I could have got a train to conolly then the luas) any how, the bus left us out in the middle of the N4, as he said he could not drive. I walked from liffey valley to Cork st, about 3.5 hours in a journey that normally takes me 50 minutes in a public transport or 20 by motorbike.Not sure if I am comming in tmrw if it's the same hell I am definetely NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,954 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭rgfuller

Left City Centre at 6.15pm via car, quays dead slow and icy, a gritter vehicle was being escorted by the guards along the quays bus lanes spreading grit around 6.45pm, then on the N4 which had a long slow moving queue up to palmerstown - but was moving, 1 working dublinbus passed a 78a which doesn't normally go that route, arrived in lucan estateland at 7.45pm, so a 90 minute journey which was good going given the conditions. The sdcc.ie website travel times are handy for guestimating the traffic speed along the n4 and other routes (3kph from Heuston to Palmerstown at that time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Berti Vogts

Heading inbound today on the N3, I met traffic a few hundred metres short of the Quinn building in Blanchardstown at about 4.15. Got onto M50 southbound at 9.30:eek:

More than 5 hours to cover not much more than 2kms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 UndecidedKris

Cork City, took me almost 2 hours to get from the city to Tower than another 1 or so to drive to Inniscarra, roads are lethal :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 w200

Left car safely parked in town , put on walking boots and warm clothes that I had stored in boot.( listened to forecast last night ) Left town walking along royal canal at 2pm. Stopped at twelfth lock hotel in Castleknock for great bowl of soup at about 3.30 and got home to Maynooth at 7. A fantastic evening and a great day to be alive.:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

Couple of trips I had this evening.....

Cork Street to Kidare Street via Cuffe Street, Dawson Street and Molesworth Street was one hour and 5 minutes. The longest part was the delay on St. Lukes Avenue onto Patrick Street, a good 30 minutes for 200 metres.

Mount Street to Heuston via Dawson Street College Green and the quays was a mere 45 minutes.

Heuston to James Joyce was 30 minutes, all caused from tailbacks onto Stoneybatter and Manor Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Thelip

Definitely think I'm one of the very lucky ones as my journey home was, while not ideal, but perfectly fine. Was checking websites and saw Dublin Bus was not operating, but thought it was a hoax and ignored it. Was convinced to leave city centre office (live in Lucan) at about 3:45 only to realise 'twas no hoax. Panicked a bit but thought outside the box! Get dart to Dun Laoighre where other half was working and get lift from there. No prob with dart, Dun Laoighre fine in comparison to CC. Sat in warm waiting room and had chat with OH colleagues, coffee, loo, etc. Left at 6:30 and in Lucan at 8:00. OH knew routes other than n/m4 and one very happy and impressed girl. Friend told me people were walking home on N/M4. To be honest, would still be trying to get home if it was not for himself as no other way to get home other than bus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

left the car in work tonight (blanch ) and walked home (mulhuddart) took 20 mins and from talking to others who drove it took them over an hour to get to mulhuddart from blanch,the steep turn at the shanty bridge in mulhuddart caused all sorts of chaos because by the looks of it 1 in 3 cars couldnt manage the climb i was standing there helping people out (pushing cars) turned out to be an interesting evening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,047 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Took me an hour and a bit to get home. Major delay was through Castlecurragh. Normally take Damastown Avenue but there were people stuck half way up the hill blocking the path. Though if they were able to stop dead without sliding back down, surely there was traction there that they could have used to get all the way up if they just gave themselves enough momentum going in. I'm guessing they were members of the 5mph brigade. Rest of the journey was just taking it slow but otherwise steady progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

1.5 hours walk from Damastown Ind Est (Clonee) to Ashtown. Beautiful day to be out walking, I really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

work from home. Killer commute, 10 seconds downstairs.
    But because of the cold weather the kettle took about 15 seconds longer to boil than usual. So I ahare your pain :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

About 10 years ago I worked in Bank of Ireland. We had half an inch of snow one day, and lots of people stayed home. My manager, irritated, reminisced about the big snow in the 80s (1986?) Said that when people couldn't get to work in Head Office etc, they just walked to their nearest branch, presented themselves and asked if they could be useful. Apparently one guy started it, one of his colleagues followed suit, and within the week most of the staff were working in whatever office or branch they could get to.

Ah, the 80s, where greed drove the work ethic like nothing else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Where's all the pics of these mammoth journeys on the skating rinks? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Yesterday? Ditched the car at work, walked up to Connolly station and got the 6.03pm train to Dundalk. Amazingly it was on time, not crowded and I got a seat! Possibly the best rush hour train journey in the 10 years I've been getting the train. Home by 6.50pm. Train station was unbelievable - the queues for tickets were huge. Though to give CIE their due (and I don't do it often), the queue moved very fast and trains seemed to be doing okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

4 hours and 20 Mins from Sandyford Ind Est to Lucan, and I left at two to give myself a headstart.

Nearly Two hours to get onto M50, just over 2 hours to get off M50 and the M50 itself was only 20 mins. So the problem was entering and leaving the M50. Heaven knows how long it would have taken if I had left at my normal time of 5 O'Clock.

Please Please let today be nearly a normal day :D