Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Poem a day keeps the melancholy away

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭ilovenerds

Mending Wall by Robert Frost

Something there is that doesn't love a wall,
    That sends the frozen-ground-swell under it,
    And spills the upper boulders in the sun,
    And makes gaps even two can pass abreast.
    The work of hunters is another thing:
    I have come after them and made repair
    Where they have left not one stone on a stone,
    But they would have the rabbit out of hiding,
    To please the yelping dogs. The gaps I mean,
    No one has seen them made or heard them made,
    But at spring mending-time we find them there.
    I let my neighbor know beyond the hill;
    And on a day we meet to walk the line
    And set the wall between us once again.
    We keep the wall between us as we go.
    To each the boulders that have fallen to each.
    And some are loaves and some so nearly balls
    We have to use a spell to make them balance:
    'Stay where you are until our backs are turned!'
    We wear our fingers rough with handling them.
    Oh, just another kind of out-door game,
    One on a side. It comes to little more:
    There where it is we do not need the wall:
    He is all pine and I am apple orchard.
    My apple trees will never get across
    And eat the cones under his pines, I tell him.
    He only says, 'Good fences make good neighbors'.
    Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder
    If I could put a notion in his head:
    'Why do they make good neighbors? Isn't it
    Where there are cows?
    But here there are no cows.
    Before I built a wall I'd ask to know
    What I was walling in or walling out,
    And to whom I was like to give offence.
    Something there is that doesn't love a wall,
    That wants it down.' I could say 'Elves' to him,
    But it's not elves exactly, and I'd rather
    He said it for himself. I see him there
    Bringing a stone grasped firmly by the top
    In each hand, like an old-stone savage armed.
    He moves in darkness as it seems to me~
    Not of woods only and the shade of trees.
    He will not go behind his father's saying,
    And he likes having thought of it so well
    He says again, "Good fences make good neighbors."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

All legendary obstacles lay between
    Us, the long imaginary plain,
    The monstrous ruck of mountains
    And, swinging across the night,
    Flooding the Sacramento, San Joaquin,
    The hissing drift of winter rain.
    All day I waited, shifting
    Nervously from station to bar
    As I saw another train sail
    By, the San Francisco Chief or
    Golden Gate, water dripping
    From great flanged wheels.

At midnight you came, pale
    Above the negro porter's lamp.
    I was too blind with rain
    And doubt to speak, but
    Reached from the platform
    Until our chilled hands met.

You had been travelling for days
    With an old lady, who marked
    A neat circle on the glass
    With her glove, to watch us
    Move into the wet darkness
    Kissing, still unable to speak.

-John Montague 'All Legendary Obstacles'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Remember me when I am gone away,
    Gone far away into the silent land;
    When you can no more hold me by the hand,
    Nor I half turn to go, yet turning stay.
    Remember me when no more day by day
    You tell me of our future that you plann'd:
    Only remember me; you understand
    It will be late to counsel then or pray.
    Yet if you should forget me for a while
    And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
    For if the darkness and corruption leave
    A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
    Better by far you should forget and smile
    Than that you should remember and be sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Remember me when I am gone away,
    Gone far away into the silent land;
    When you can no more hold me by the hand,
    Nor I half turn to go, yet turning stay.
    Remember me when no more day by day
    You tell me of our future that you plann'd:
    Only remember me; you understand
    It will be late to counsel then or pray.
    Yet if you should forget me for a while
    And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
    For if the darkness and corruption leave
    A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
    Better by far you should forget and smile
    Than that you should remember and be sad.

One of my favourites but even better is Thunder Road by the one and only :)

Well. the night's busted open
    these two lanes will take us anywhere
    we got one last chance to make it real
    to trade in these wings on some wheels
    climb in back, Heavens waiting down the tracks

Well, oh ,oh, take my hand
    we're riding out tonight to case the promised land.
    oh oh Thunder road, oh Thunder road, oh Thunder road

The Fairies In New Ross

''When moonlight
    Near midnight
    Tips the rock and waving wood;
    When moonlight
    Near midnight
    Silvers o'er the sleeping flood;
    When yew-tops
    With dew-drops
    Sparkle o'er deserted graves;
    'Tis then we fly
    Through the welkin high,
    Then we sail o'er yellow waves.''

Anonymous (early 19th century)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

I hope you enjoy this, it always bring a smile to my face:

Warning - When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple
    By Jenny Joseph

When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple
    with a red hat that doesn't go, and doesn't suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    and satin candles, and say we've no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired
    and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
    and run my stick along the public railings
    and make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    and pick the flowers in other people's gardens
    and learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
    and eat three pounds of sausages at a go
    or only bread and pickles for a week
    and hoard pens and pencils and beer nuts and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
    and pay our rent and not swear in the street
    and set a good example for the children.
    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.
    But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 aodh90

Our own Mr Yeats at his very best:

The Indian Upon God

I PASSED along the water's edge below the humid trees,
    My spirit rocked in evening light, the rushes round my knees,
    My spirit rocked in sleep and sighs; and saw the moor-fowl pace
    All dripping on a grassy slope, and saw them cease to chase
    Each other round in circles, and heard the eldest speak:
    Who holds the world between His bill and made us strong or weak
    Is an undying moorfowl, and He lives beyond the sky.
    The rains are from His dripping wing, the moonbeams from His eye.
    I passed a little further on and heard a lotus talk:
    Who made the world and ruleth it, He hangeth on a stalk,
    For I am in His image made, and all this tinkling tide
    Is but a sliding drop of rain between His petals wide.
    A little way within the gloom a roebuck raised his eyes
    Brimful of starlight, and he said: The Stamper of the Skies,
    He is a gentle roebuck; for how else, I pray, could He
    Conceive a thing so sad and soft, a gentle thing like me?
    I passed a little further on and heard a peacock say:
    Who made the grass and made the worms and made my feathers gay,
    He is a monstrous peacock, and He waveth all the night
    His languid tail above us, lit with myriad spots of light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The Young May Moon

by Thomas Moore

The young May moon is beaming, love,
    The glow-worm's lamp is gleaming, love,
    How sweet to rove
    Through Morna's grove,
    When the drowsy world is dreaming, love!
    Then awake! the heavens look bright, my dear!
    'Tis never too late for delight, my dear!
    And the best of all ways,
    To lengthen our days,
    Is to steal a few hours from the night, my dear!

Now all the world is sleeping, love,
    But the sage, his star-watch keeping, love,
    And I, whose star,
    More glorious far,
    Is the eye from that casement peeping, love.
    Then awake! -- till rise of sun, my dear!
    The sage's glass we'll shun, my dear;
    Or, in watching the flight
    Of bodies of light,
    He might happen to take thee for one, my dear.

I Loved You
    ~ Alexander Pushkin

I loved you;
    even now I may confess,
    Some embers of my love their fire retain;
    But do not let it cause you more distress,
    I do not want to sadden you again.

Hopeless and tongue-tied, yet I loved you dearly
    With pangs the jealous and the timid know;
    So tenderly I loved you, so sincerely,
    I pray God grant another love you so.

Pushkin certainly knew about love,in a way he died for it I suppose.

marienbad wrote: »
    Pushkin certainly knew about love,in a way he died for it I suppose.

There's a few different translations of that poem, think that's my favourite though. Fairly legendary way to go out, fight a duel, get shot in the stomach, manage to wound the other guy and then forgive him. It's Dangerous Liaisons all over again.

And all for the love of a woman. My favourite translation also , some of the others are a bit clunky if you know what I mean. Fine art to translate poetry correctly is'nt it. To convey the meaning but retain the poetry .

marienbad wrote: »
    And all for the love of a woman. My favourite translation also , some of the others are a bit clunky if you know what I mean. Fine art to translate poetry correctly is'nt it. To convey the meaning but retain the poetry .

There is a real, subtle art to translation that all too frequently gets overlooked, imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭tomasocarthaigh

Robert Burns

ON SEEING ONE ON A LADY'S BONNET AT CHURCH Ha! whare ye gaun, ye crowlin ferlie! Your impudence protects you sairly: I canna say but ye strunt rarely Owre gauze and lace; Tho' faith, I fear ye dine but sparely On sic a place. Ye ugly, creepin, blastit wonner, Detested, shunned by saunt an' sinner, How daur ye set your fit upon her, Sae fine a lady! Gae somewhere else and seek your dinner, On some poor body. Swith, in some beggar's haffet squattle; There ye may creep, and sprawl, and sprattle Wi' ither kindred, jumpin cattle, In shoals and nations; Whare horn or bane ne'er daur unsettle Your thick plantations. Now haud ye there, ye're out o' sight, Below the fatt'rels, snug an' tight; Na faith ye yet! ye'll no be right Till ye've got on it, The vera tapmost, towering height O' Miss's bonnet. My sooth! right bauld ye set your nose out, As plump an' grey as onie grozet: O for some rank, mercurial rozet, Or fell, red smeddum, I'd gie ye sic a hearty dose o't, Wad dress your droddum! I wad na been surprised to spy You on an auld wife's flainen toy; Or aiblins some bit duddie boy, On's wyliecoat; But Miss's fine Lunardi!—fie! How daur ye do't? O Jenny, dinna toss your head, An' set your beauties a' abread! Ye little ken what cursed speed The blastie's makin! Thae winks and finger-ends, I dread, Are notice takin! O, wad some Power the giftie gie us To see oursels as others see us! It wad frae monie a blunder free us An' foolish notion: What airs in dress an' gait wad lea'e us, And ev'n Devotion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭mikeyboy

A Belgian Orphan"

Daddy was a Belgian and so was Mammy too,
    And why I'm now in Larne I want to tell to you:
    Daddy was a soldier and fought his level best
    For both his King a Country, and I'll tell you the rest.
    Our home was snug and cosy and how happy we were all,
    Until Daddy he was ordered to obey his country's call. . . .

One day a short time after, a troop of Germans came,
    While we sat around the table, playing a childish game;
    Mammy was busy baking bread for all our tea,
    When the door was flung wide open and in stepped Germans three.

One spoke to mammy saying, "Stay your labour for your kids,
    Give to us all this bread! or we'll stab your bony ribs!"
    And raising high his glittering sword one cut off Mammy's head,
    Her body fell upon me, while her poor neck bled and bled!

Three shots soon followed after, and my dear wee brothers three
    Fell dead across poor Mammy whose neck bled on my knee;
    I screamed, "Oh sirs wee Hors is shot, and Buhn and Wilhelm too!"
    Then on my knees I fell and begged they'd spare wee brother Dhu;

Just then they raised the little lad and threw him on the fire,
    And wreathed in smiles they watched him burn until he did expire;
    My poor wee sisters screamed and cried, and clutched dead Mammy's hands,
    When lo! they cut off baby's head and also her wee hands.

Ah sirs, I begged, just kill me now, else I shall die with fear.
    One drew his sword - cut off my hand, I reached the other out,
    "Cut this off too, ye cowards?" I then began to shout.
    In rushed some neighbor women with knives both bright and sharp
    And stabbed the Kaiser's butchers into their very hearts.

Take warning all ye British Boys, turn out in thousands strong;
    Go fight for King and Country and France will aid you on!
    If you should meet the Kaiser, cut off his only arm,
    For his "wee one," it won't matter, it can't do any harm.

I've just heard Daddy, too, is killed, so all alone I'm left,
    Of brothers, sisters, parents dear, I have been made bereft.
    Some day I'll die and meet them all, 'twill be a joyous sight,
    For us to live in glory, and view the Kaiser's plight -
    Tortured with remorseful flames, he won't have power to quell
    If nobody conquer him on earth the devil will in hell

Amanda McKittrick Ros.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

I've been looking for love poems, but I don't think you could quite describe this as one...I do like it though!

He loved three things alone:

White peacocks, evensong,
    Old maps of America.

He hated children crying,
    And raspberry jam with his tea,
    And womanish hysteria.

… And he had married me

Anna Akhmatova

cailinoBAC wrote: »
    I've been looking for love poems, but I don't think you could quite describe this as one...I do like it though!

He loved three things alone:

White peacocks, evensong,
    Old maps of America.

He hated children crying,
    And raspberry jam with his tea,
    And womanish hysteria.

… And he had married me

Anna Akhmatova

Oh it is a love poem allright and by one of the greatest , No one knew love and loss better the Akhmatova

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

Oh I've read plenty about Akhmatova (and this one somewhere along the way) but only reading her poetry by itself now, as opposed to quotes in other reading. I know that it is about love...but more the loss of it, than the love itself, I think.
    I haven't read much poetry in a while and I am looking for, I suppose, more optimistic love poetry at the moment, but in buying some books, I just had to pick up a book of hers and of course it's the first one I'm reading.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The Waste Land: Five Limericks (by Wendy Cope)

I
    In April one seldom feels cheerful;
    Dry stones, sun and dust make me fearful;
    Clairvoyants distress me,
    Commuters depress me
    Met Stetson and gave him an earful.

II
    She sat on a mighty fine chair,
    Sparks flew as she tidied her hair;
    She asks many questions,
    I make few suggestions--
    Bad as Albert and Lil--what a pair!

III
    The Thames runs, bones rattle, rats creep;
    Tiresias fancies a peep--
    A typist is laid,
    A record is played--
    Wei la la. After this it gets deep.

IV
    A Phoenician named Phlebas forgot
    About birds and his business--the lot,
    Which is no surprise,
    Since he'd met his demise
    And been left in the ocean to rot.

V
    No water. Dry rocks and dry throats,
    Then thunder, a shower of quotes
    From the Sanskrit and Dante.
    Da. Damyata. Shantih.
    I hope you'll make sense of the notes.

The Waste Land: Five Limericks (by Wendy Cope)

I
    In April one seldom feels cheerful;
    Dry stones, sun and dust make me fearful;
    Clairvoyants distress me,
    Commuters depress me
    Met Stetson and gave him an earful.

II
    She sat on a mighty fine chair,
    Sparks flew as she tidied her hair;
    She asks many questions,
    I make few suggestions--
    Bad as Albert and Lil--what a pair!

III
    The Thames runs, bones rattle, rats creep;
    Tiresias fancies a peep--
    A typist is laid,
    A record is played--
    Wei la la. After this it gets deep.

IV
    A Phoenician named Phlebas forgot
    About birds and his business--the lot,
    Which is no surprise,
    Since he'd met his demise
    And been left in the ocean to rot.

V
    No water. Dry rocks and dry throats,
    Then thunder, a shower of quotes
    From the Sanskrit and Dante.
    Da. Damyata. Shantih.
    I hope you'll make sense of the notes.

Brilliant, just brilliant- T.S pompous git will not be pleased

• Registered Users Posts: 34 bain_triail_as

e.e. cummings - anyone lived in a pretty how town

http://www.americanpoems.com/poets/eecummings/11880

Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night (Dylan Thomas)

Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
    Because their words had forked no lightning they
    Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
    Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
    And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
    Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,

And you, my father, there on that sad height,
    Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,951 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

cailinoBAC wrote: »
    I've been looking for love poems...

A more on the nose love poem despite being called "I do not love you":)

I do not love you... (Pablo Neruda)

I do not love you as if you were salt-rose, or topaz,
    or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off.
    I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
    in secret, between the shadow and the soul.

I love you as the plant that never blooms
    but carries in itself the light of hidden flowers;
    thanks to your love a certain solid fragrance,
    risen from the earth, lives darkly in my body.

I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where.
    I love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride;
    so I love you because I know no other way

that this: where I does not exist, nor you,
    so close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
    so close that your eyes close as I fall asleep.

Check Neruda out if you are looking for love poems. There are even some very sensuous raunchy ones!

Days (Philip Larkin)

What are days for?
    Days are where we live.
    They come, they wake us
    Time and time over.
    They are to be happy in:
    Where can we live but days?

Ah, solving that question
    Brings the priest and the doctor
    In their long coats
    Running over the fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭mikeyboy

Morning Dictation

Come in, Miss Jones, and take a letter,
    How’s your mother, hope she’s better?
    Now let’s see, ah, Gunn and Frame,
    Their plea for time, it is quite lame,
    So, my dear sirs, I do regret,
    I must foreclose, I won’t forget,
    I want the farm, the pigs, the corn,
    Please do vacate by Monday morn.
    That’s all dealt with, now let’s see,
    I think we’ll take our morning tea,
    Then we’ll write to Freddie Mann
    And repossess his caravan,
    Then send a bill to Dewar’s garage,
    His profits I can duly ravage,
    Foreclose the deal and repossess,
    You do look lovely in that dress,
    Then go kick out old Uncle Tom
    And pile his stuff out on the lawn.
    Ah, Miss Jones, Miss Jones, would you marry me,
    And bring me up my morning tea?
    I know it’s sudden, please don’t mind,
    But I am solvent, warm and kind,
    What’s that, my love, you spurn this banker?
    And where did you learn a word like…?

Max Scratchman

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

from The Song of Myself - Walt Whitman

The past and present wilt—I have fill'd them, emptied them. And proceed to fill my next fold of the future.Listener up there! what have you to confide to me? Look in my face while I snuff the sidle of evening, (Talk honestly, no one else hears you, and I stay only a minute longer.)Do I contradict myself? Very well then I contradict myself, (I am large, I contain multitudes.)I concentrate toward them that are nigh, I wait on the door-slab.Who has done his day's work who will soonest be through with his supper? Who wishes to walk with me?Will you speak before I am gone? will you prove already too late?

This poem is half a book long, the above is only one small part, part 51. A stunning work, containing one of the greatest lines in literature - "I am large, I contain multitudes". A work of genius.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Living in Sin

"She had thought the studio would keep itself;
    no dust upon the furniture of love.
    Half heresy, to wish the taps less vocal,
    the panes relieved of grime. A plate of pears,
    a piano with a Persian shawl, a cat
    stalking the picturesque amusing mouse
    had risen at his urging.
    Not that at five each separate stair would writhe
    under the milkman's tramp; that morning light
    so coldly would delineate the scraps
    of last night's cheese and three sepulchral bottles;
    that on the kitchen shelf among the saucers
    a pair of beetle-eyes would fix her own---
    envoy from some village in the moldings . . .
    Meanwhile, he, with a yawn,
    sounded a dozen notes upon the keyboard,
    declared it out of tune, shrugged at the mirror,
    rubbed at his beard, went out for cigarettes;
    while she, jeered by the minor demons,
    pulled back the sheets and made the bed and found
    a towel to dust the table-top,
    and let the coffee-pot boil over on the stove.
    By evening she was back in love again,
    though not so wholly but throughout the night
    she woke sometimes to feel the daylight coming
    like a relentless milkman up the stairs."

Adrienne Rich

From The Waste Land

At the violet hour, when the eyes and back
    Turn upward from the desk, when the human engine waits
    Like a taxi throbbing waiting,
    I Tiresias, though blind, throbbing between two lives,
    Old man with wrinkled female breasts, can see
    At the violet hour, the evening hour that strives
    Homeward, and brings the sailor home from sea,
    The typist home at teatime, clears her breakfast, lights
    Her stove, and lays out food in tins.
    Out of the window perilously spread
    Her drying combinations touched by the sun's last rays,
    On the divan are piled (at night her bed)
    Stockings, slippers, camisoles, and stays.
    I Tiresias, old man with wrinkled dugs
    Perceived the scene, and foretold the rest—
    I too awaited the expected guest.
    He, the young man carbuncular, arrives,
    A small house agent's clerk, with one bold stare,
    One of the low on whom assurance sits
    As a silk hat on a Bradford millionaire,
    The time is now propitious, as he guesses,
    The meal is ended, she is bored and tired,
    Endeavours to engage her in caresses
    Which still are unreproved, if undesired.
    Flushed and decided, he assaults at once;
    Exploring hands encounter no defence;
    His vanity requires no response,
    And makes a welcome of indifference.
    (And I Tiresias have foresuffered all
    Enacted on this same divan or bed;
    I who have sat by Thebes below the wall
    And walked among the lowest of the dead.)
    Bestows one final patronising kiss,
    And gropes his way, finding the stairs unlit. . .
    She turns and looks a moment in the glass,
    Hardly aware of her departed lover;
    Her brain allows one half-formed thought to pass:
    "Well now that's done: and I'm glad it's over."
    When lovely woman stoops to folly and
    Paces about her room again, alone,
    She smoothes her hair with automatic hand,
    And puts a record on the gramophone.

T.S.Eliot

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

Brendan Kennelly - Begin
    Begin again to the summoning birds
    to the sight of light at the window,
    begin to the roar of morning traffic
    all along Pembroke Road.
    Every beginning is a promise
    born in light and dying in dark
    determination and exaltation of springtime
    flowering the way to work.
    Begin to the pageant of queuing girls
    the arrogant loneliness of swans in the canal
    bridges linking the past and the future
    old friends passing through with us still.
    Begin to the loneliness that cannot end
    since it perhaps is what makes us begin,
    begin to wonder at unknown faces
    at crying birds in the sudden rain
    at branches stark in the willing sunlight
    at seagulls foraging for bread
    at couples sharing a sunny secret
    alone together while making good.
    Though we live in a world that dreams of ending
    that always seems about to give in
    something that will not acknowledge conclusion
    insists that we forever begin.

One night on The Late Late Show, Gay Byrne rang a woman to tell her she had won a car. The jovial atmosphere came to a sudden halt when she responded to his teasing about her not being in a good mood with "my daughter died last night."

The rest, was television history. Gay handled it superbly, and turned to his guest Brendan Kennelly to offer some words of support. Keeping calm, Brendan, from memory, recited the above poem and ended it with "that's for you."

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

Though There Are Torturers
    by Michael Coady

Though there are torturers in the world
    There are also musicians.
    Though, at this moment,
    Men are screaming in prisons,
    There are jazzmen raising storms
    Of sensuous celebration,
    And orchestras releasing
    Glories of the Spirit.