Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Slang and sayings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

the effervescent chat up line:

'gis a go of yer gee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Bertie, as in last night was bertie (mad), oh thats bertie, that feen is bertie etc etc etc

Or something can be real wirey when its just not that cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Be wide lads, shades everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

www.slang.ie

it's all there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Geebags! Get the last of the geebags here mister!

http://www.loganmclain.com/slogan-t-shirts/geebag/

Geebags! Get the last of the geebag albums here mister

http://www.britishhiphop.co.uk/reviews/album_reviews/geebag_-_no_worries_lp_grinnin_.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭nerophis

Des wrote: »
    gowl

=gabhal = junction as in Limerick Junction (Gabhal Luimnigh)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Hang on, you're from the northside and you didn't know what gee meant until you heard DOB say it? Something doesn't quite add up there!

It wasn't widely used in my family-we tend to say 'fanny', 'tuppence' or "cookie" for some bizarre reason.
    Back on topic, my grandmother's quite fond of saying "Ye whore's mouth!", though she prounces 'Whore' as "Hoo-err".

Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Story with a feek ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

gee is a fantastic word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

Magnus wrote: »
    Gee = glee :)

It's not Glee until you put your fingers up :D

I never really took to saying **** that much but I'm constantly sneaking the odd "feck" into my day-to-day conversations.
    Also, "eejit" is grossly under-used these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭gavkm27

other words for gee - ''the axe wound'' or ''the badly arranged kebab''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

n'awful smell off me tackies. Think I'm gonna gawk!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Can you someone please help me out with something i have only ever seen on these boards; twice.

What is a "see you next tuesday"?

Sentence - He's a real see you next tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Can you someone please help me out with something i have only ever seen on these boards; twice.

C U Next Tuesday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Volvoboy wrote: »
    C U Next Tuesday

Oh.. I feel like a bit of a silly kunt now.

Thank you!

Bodhisopha wrote: »

C-U-Next-Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

What the fuk language is that?
    Inik the Ghoul sounds like a character from buffy or something!

Gowl = gee
    Bure = minter

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

How's your gee for a gallop ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Faithless

if i had a bag of mickies i wouldnt give her one!

aka... i wouldnt ride her into battle...

i wouldnt stand on her to get up on a wall

awe me rashers are drippin'

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Pregnant youngwans waters break, she calls her ma says

girl- Ma, me waters broke
    Ma- Where ya ringing from?
    girl- Me fanny to me ankles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

Ned = Liar

" Yere man is some pure Ned"

Barry = Sh1t

" Im only busting for a Barry "
    " I have Barry on my shoe "

A few of my friends have started calling their ****s after celebrities.
    Im going for a Paul Scholes
    Im going for a Gay Byrne
    Im going for a Michael Schumacher
    etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I was curious about Hiberno English slang earlier today and, unsurprisingly, it seems wikipedia covers it fairly extensively
    http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Appendix:Glossary_of_Hiberno-English_slang_and_jargon

So my question was, do you use any other slang that isn't on that list? Maybe slang that is personal to your local area, or even your family, since it sometimes seem that families have their own colloquialisms.

In my own case, we grew up calling fish snoggers, presumably because of their facial expressions. 'Goolies' was what we called a man's dick and 'the grip' is a word for the flu.

A "hames" is a mess in many parts of rural Ireland, and a "miog" (pronounced mig?) is a whisper, as in "I don't want to hear a miog from you"

So AH, any unusual slang words and maybe their etymology as well, if you know it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

When I was growing up we pee'd through our Tommy Dalys'. WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I know there is a pretty comprehensive book on it available, can't think of the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭recyclebin

quare used instead of very. pronounced "kware"

eg 1 that was quare funny
    eg 2 that exam was quare hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A local one based on a Galway hurler.

Going for a Tony Keady..... Having a ****

i.e. A long relieving clearance from the rear.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

later10 wrote: »
    In my own case, we grew up calling fish snoggers, presumably because of their facial expressions. 'Goolies' was what we called a man's dick and 'the grip' is a word for the flu.

Your goolies are your balls ya muppeh'! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

We beeged the gaff then shkinned out cos da shades war leggin and I'd ta feek me beaure too.

With compliments, from deepest darkest Galway.