Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to cure missing Cork sickness?

• 08-01-2010 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

I've a friend who's missing Cork badly as she lives in England and hasn't been back for a while.
    Never been to Cork but what would cheer someone up who's been away for a while (apart from going back home)?

I was wondering when you go on hols or live away from home, what are the little things you miss the most and really appreciate when you get back?

Thanks for your help :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭k8hm

get her some barrys tea :)

k8hm wrote: »
    get her some barrys tea :)

I was going to say that :D
    Cork sickness is a bummer, I went to Galway on Wednesday and was mad to get home today, am dreading the full weeks from next week on.

I take it she listens to 96fm and redfm on line ?

kinshasa wrote: »

I was wondering when you go on hols or live away from home, what are the little things you miss the most and really appreciate when you get back?

- Potatoe pie and chips from Lennox (Bandon Road)
    - night out in Havannah Browns
    - speaking to ladies with Cork accents :D
    - seeing Patrick Street
    - Walk around The Lough

Oh I love the weekend :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

tanora !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

barry's tea is a great idea. if she drinks coffee you could get the cork branded stuff from cork coffee roasters (rebel city espresso).

some photos of iconic cork places - the lough, patrick st, the english market and so on.

a copy of the Echo. oh - record an echo fellow roaring "echo" and set it to her ringtone. she'll soon get over missing Cork :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

Asda have an Irish section in some stores, you can get Barrys and McCambridge's bread and stuff.... It's mostly food we miss :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭omerin

she probably knows theres no better place then Cork and is finding it difficult to settle for second best

op tell her to come home, we miss her to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kinshasa

Hey,

Thx everyone for all the replies, very helpful & would love to visit Cork myself now :-)
    Re: the Echo man, I saw this documentary on youtube:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWSfHMdRxaQ

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

If she is in London, she could go here.

There is also the UK version of Boards. That is where I got the above link. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭babychuckles

cheese and onion taytos
    but hard to get in the uk i believe

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

cheese and onion taytos
    but hard to get in the uk i believe
    Sure I lived in London til I was 13 and my Dad was bringing home Taytos and Mikados from somewhere so they must be available.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

PROC

Or the Murphy's poster on the brewery "Home, like"

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭donglen

kinshasa wrote: »

I've a friend who's missing Cork badly as she lives in England and hasn't been back for a while.
    Never been to Cork but what would cheer someone up who's been away for a while (apart from going back home)?

Thanks for your help :-)

Bag of Tayto Cheese & Onion, between 2 slices of heavily buttered (real butter, none of that olive oil rubbish) Pat the Bakers white bread, washed down with a mug of Barry's Gold Blend Tea..........drool.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Oh i feel the pain, im a cork man true and true and i moved to Donegal just over a year ago, im missing it bigtime, all my friends and stuff, gud aul Lennox's and reading the Echo every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

There are a fair few videos of Cork on youtube... if that's not too traumatic.

Also, maybe get a copy of the Holly Bough for your friend? It seems to be popular with ex-pats.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭babychuckles

theboss80 wrote: »
    Oh i feel the pain, im a cork man true and true and i moved to Donegal just over a year ago, im missing it bigtime, all my friends and stuff, gud aul Lennox's and reading the Echo every day.

re the echo sure read it on line. Although not the same as holding it in your hands but it might take the edge off the pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 rebelontour

been out of Cork a good few years now and am living up da north. have yet to find anything that really helps aside from frequent weekend visits back to Cork for a trip to jackies and a few pints in the local.listening to prendeville on the web sometimes helps as at least you get to hear the accent of people ringing in and find out whats winding people up....

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭diego ribas

Barrys tea

Bag of taytos, altough not from Cork

tanora

the echo or examiner

a Neil Prendeville signed photo:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

donglen wrote: »
    Bag of Tayto Cheese & Onion, between 2 slices of heavily buttered (real butter, none of that olive oil rubbish) Pat the Bakers white bread, washed down with a mug of Barry's Gold Blend Tea..........drool.

Surely you should be eating Pezo Pan and not Pat the Bakers ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Print this out for her: (it always cheers me up when I'm in the Pale)

Cork Dictionary Improved

This is your first lesson in de frases of de Cork biys. C'mere I realise some of the feenos and de wans have pure hassle with de Cork speak like. So have a lash of it and ther'll be less gowls around. How bad!

Part 1:Expressions

01) C'mere = Excuse me
    02) I will yeah! = no!
    03) What's the story fella? = how are you?
    04) hows the form? = hows it hanging?
    05) You would yeah!= You would'nt dare!
    06) Here la = here you are
    07) There la = it's over there / look over there
    08) State a him la = He looks bad
    09) (Ah / Awe) now sham = thats good
    10) I claim ya = I would really like to engage in a fight with you.
    11) Pure = very
    12) Two ****s = care
    13) Could'nt give two ****s = I don't care
    14) Like = this word is used at least once in every Cork sentence. eg. Ah know like you understand don't ya?
    15) Like eh = Used as a hesitation at the start of a sentence.
    16) Nawful(he's a nawful langer) = terrible
    17) Bate = beat up, used with da ****. eg, I'll bate da **** outa ya
    18) Have a lash off = have a go
    19) Lash into hash = Smoke cannibas
    20) Be wide = be careful
    21) Scetch = There`s someone coming(be wide)
    22) Be doggy wide = be extra careful
    23) How bad bhoy = good
    24) Bhoy (pronounced-by biya) = man / person. Not necesserily a Celt.
    25) A trip in the white van = A trip in an ambulance

1. Part 2:Nouns & verbs
    26) Brasser / stella / tramp / trollup / whore bag = prostitute
    27) Stella = Girl who wears her hair up in bob, chews on gum, has earings the size of hulla hoops, and are mostly norries (see no.73)
    29) Steamer / bender / queer / ass-bandit / ****** / puff / gaylord = homosexual
    30) Hairy = Child molester / peodaphile or old person / experienced person
    31) Blouse = Steamer ( ya ****in` blouse)
    32) Wan / bure = female
    33) Young wan = female child
    34) Fella / fein / feeno / your man = male
    35) Small fella = Male child
    36) Mam / dad / ole man / ole laid / oul fella / oul wan = mother/father
    37) Lulla / subla / din-din / a suck / cream crackers = knackers
    38) Apache = joyrider
    39) Salk = stolen car
    40) Sham = young male / hard man or knacker
    41) Sham-feen = macho / hard-man
    42) Snout / gonker / snoz = nose
    44) Pussy = chicken **** or ****** (see no.29)
    45) Langer / langerdan: prick
    46) Gowl(Ghoul) = Stupid person
    47) Gimp = Feckin eejit
    48) Gimpy walk = person with the mousy walk (wabbling from side to side)
    49) Fifty = Stood up
    50) Poppies / tatties = Potatoes
    51) Yolkes = ecstasy
    52) Duby / chatnospoof = hash
    53) a nodge = small bit of hash
    54) a knock = a lump of hash of any size
    55) A deal = 10 pounds worth of hash
    56) A score = 20 pounds worth of hash
    57) Shades / law / blue bottles / pigs / = Gardai
    58) Two-bulb / shade mo-beal (awe now feen pull a leggar) = squad car
    59) Pig stie = Garda station
    60) Speedy = Garda motorbike
    61) Gatch = walk
    62) Snobby **** / ****** = well-off person
    63) Gammy = deformed
    64) Jag / doing a line / jaggin / meetin a wan / with / scoring = going out with.
    65) Gatt / lush / drink = alcholic beverages
    66) Gattin / on the piss / gettin langers / pintin / on the tear = going drinkin(in a pub)
    67) Bushin = going drinkin on the street
    68) Reef / reefin / mangle = beat up / beating up
    69) Lamp / skanse / la = look
    70) Droppin / Wizz = need to piss
    71) Hangin = Need a fag
    72) Wah / Whacker: scumbag
    73) Norrie = Person from Northside of the City.
    74) Frame / kit = woman`s body
    75) Flaa = good lookin` girl
    76) Feak = see no.77
    77) Is she feakin` = is she ****able
    78) Drain the weasel / go for a slash / take a piss = urinate somewhere

2. Part 3 : Place Names
    79) Grawn: Gurranabraher
    80) Knocka: Knocknaheeney
    81) Mahn: Mahon
    82) da Han: Ballyphehane
    83) Tokor: Togher
    84) da Glen: The Glen
    85) Pana: St. Patrick Street
    86) Flying bottle: The HolyHill Inn
    87) da Peace Park: Bishop Lucey Park
    88) Clon: Clonakilty
    89) Crosser = Crosshaven
    90) da Cross = Turners Cross
    91) Golden Wheely bin land = Douglas
    92) Fanny city = Grange (the women are unbalieveable up there)
    93) The smell = The halting site

3. Part 4 : House Things
    94) Gaff = house
    95) Free Gaff = house where the parent r absent (party at the gaff)
    96) Scoot on = This is what u say to ******s who show up at your party uninvited

Part 5 : Sayings
    97) She got a Slap of the ugly stick = She`s an ugly bitch
    98) Ya mog = you ugly person (no gender nessesary)
    99) Ya dirty rotten dying bastard = Sombody who farted in the company of feaks
    100) I`ll drop ya = I will knock you out with one punch
    101) Good ****in` luccckkk = good bye, see ya soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭TOPDAWG

also a pint of Razza!! (raspberry cordial) Anytime i ask for it up the country i get looked at like i have ten heads!! "Glass a wha'???"

Been away from Cork for 2 years meself,best thing that helps is gettin home as often as possible, pints at the local, few games of ball with the lads, a stroll down panna with a hot chocolate from O Connaills. Deadly.

My missus (not from cork) thinks i have a problem the way i go on about Cork but i tell ya, ya dont reailse what a great place it is until ya have to leave it and work in the godforsaken hole that is Laois.

The atmosphere, the constant buzz and vibe, the characters, the craic, the strong sense of pride in the people of Cork. Miss it big time.