Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Real pair of Boots

• 09-01-2010 11:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭

How do you know if a pair of boots are real?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Depends, have you been drinking?

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

What kind of boots are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Depends.

Did they belong to a dead footballer, confer you with magical centre-forward abilities when you wear them, but leave you in any number of embarrassing scrapes when you always seem to mislay them before a schools cup final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

You give them to a mate to wear, tell him to kick you in the sprouts, and then you should be able to tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Exit wrote: »
    kick you in the sprouts,

magic,haven't heard that 1 in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

http://ihatesnaps.files.wordpress.com/2007/01/ruby_slippers.jpg

Click em together a few times while chanting "There's no place like Old Trafford, There's no place like Old Trafford"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

stovelid wrote: »
    Depends.

Did they belong to a dead footballer, confer you with magical centre-forward abilities when you wear them, but leave you in any number of embarrassing scrapes when you always seem to mislay them before a schools cup final?

I think this would probably make them less real.

Billy's boots FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Puma Kings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

These are real football boots

football%20boots%20Fifa%20E45.jpg

These, or anything even resembling them, are not

adidas_5F00_f50i_5F00_review_5F00_main.jpg

Soft lads wearing coloured boots, the only colour football boots should be is black or brown

Came accross a pair of my dad's old boots a few years back when I was younger. Tried them on for the laugh and they fit grand (same size feet) but man were they heavy. Like they were made of concrete. Put on a regular pair afterwards and was like walking on air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

paddy978 wrote: »

first step is to establish that theyre not a teapot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Generally you can tell my the stitching on them OP, a lot of the counterfeits you will notice irregular stitching and also the logo will be slightly out.

Deep
    Once Zhuangzi dreamt he was a butterfly, a butterfly flitting and fluttering around, happy with himself and doing as he pleased. He didn't know he was Zhuangzi. Suddenly he woke up and there he was, solid and unmistakable Zhuangzi. But he didn't know if he was Zhuangzi who had dreamt he was a butterfly, or a butterfly dreaming he was Zhuangzi. Between Zhuangzi and a butterfly there must be some distinction!
    Once Paddy978 dreamt he was a real pair of boots, a real pair of boots flitting and fluttering around, happy with himself and doing as he pleased. He didn't know he was Paddy978. Suddenly he woke up and there he was, solid and unmistakable Paddy978. But he didn't know if he was Paddy978 who had dreamt he was a real pair of boots, or a real pair of boots dreaming he was Paddy978. Between Paddy978 and a real pair of boots there must be some distinction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,778 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

There should be a Christian Leboutin tag on the insole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

paddy978 wrote: »
    If you see the likes of Torres or Gerrard wearing them they're real :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Is there a cat with a Spanish accent, under a wide brimed hat, and carrying a rapier, wearing them?

If so, yes they are real.