Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal v Everton -3pm Setanta

• 09-01-2010 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭

Arsenal v Everton

At least we're not completely football starved today! I'm hoping that with Arsenal missing Fabregas and Song that we can sneak a draw. We'll need luck though with the likelyhood of Saha not playing. Look out for Seamus Coleman who is likely to start with Hibbert out Injured. Landon Donovan may be handed a debut as well.

Arsenal
    Suspended: None Doubtful: None
    Injured/unavailable: Bendtner (groin), Clichy (back), Djourou (knee), Eboue & Song (both Africa Cup of Nations), Fabregas & Wilshere (both hamstring), Gibbs (foot), Van Persie (ankle), Walcott (side strain)
    Everton
    Suspended: None Doubtful: Saha (hamstring)
    Injured/unavailable: Anichebe (knee), Arteta (knee), Distin & Gosling (both hamstring), Jagielka (knee), Rodwell (hamstring), Jo (club suspension), Yakubu & Yobo (both Africa Cup of Nations)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

I was'nt too worries about this game, but now that I know Seamus Coleman and Landon Donavon will be playing, It's a different story!! :p

Seriously tho, the gunners have picked up max points at home in all games this season bar the Chelsea game. I cant see it being any different here. Arsenal to win by two goals, take them rose tinted glasses off Op!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Hurrah for game going ahead.:)

Anyone see the lads out on the steps of the Emirates with the bunsen burner yokies?

If Arsenal win this it puts them right bang in the title race. Games in hand are nice but nothing matches points on the board. If they can get a result with Fabregas and RVP out, then it will be a big plus.

Can see Everton struggling up front, especially with Saha not fully fit.

While both sides have two missing at the ANC, I think it's advantage Arsenal in this as their squad cover looks stronger.

Arsenal 3-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Would like to see something like
    Howard
    Coleman, Neill, Heitinga, Baines
    Fellaini
    Pienaar, Neville, Cahill, Bilyaletdinov
    Vaughan (Or saha if fit)

Don't think it'll be as comfy as some of you think for Arsenal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Voltwad wrote: »
    Would like to see something like
    Howard
    Coleman, Neill, Heitinga, Baines
    Fellaini
    Pienaar, Neville, Osman, Bilyaletdinov
    Cahill
    Vaughan (Or saha if fit)

Don't think it'll be as comfy as some of you think for Arsenal ;)

Landon Donovan no!?

Gillington wrote: »
    Landon Donovan no!?
    I don't know what his match fitness is like, I reckon it's more likely he'll come off the bench, could be wrong though.

Don't think it'll be as comfy as some of you think
    for Arsenal ;)

3-0 is probably a bit optimistic but with Arsenal I feel this season they are much likelier to win a game 3-0 than 1-0 or 2-0.
    Don't know if that makes much sense but it's the logic behind my prediction.
    Also I don't have much confidence in the Everton defence.

Hoping for a cracking game as been bleak the last while on the football front for me of late.

3-0 is probably a bit optimistic but with Arsenal I feel this season they are much likelier to win a game 3-0 than 1-0 or 2-0.
    Don't know if that makes much sense but it's the logic behind my prediction.
    Also I don't have much confidence in the Everton defence.

Hoping for a cracking game as been bleak the last while on the football front for me of late.
    Heitinga and Neill at the back have looked a lot more assured as of late. It all rests on how those two play as a partnership really. Still badly missing Jags :(

Any word on when Jag and Arteta are due back?
    I thought they were meant to be returning in December originally.

Both suffered setbacks. They've recently started training but could be a few weeks yet and god knows if they'll be the same kind of players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Come on Everton! Arsenal will win about 3-0 though.

• Moderators Posts: 8,728 ✭✭✭x PyRo

4-1 win to the Arsenal. Ramsey to provide another masterclass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I'm never totally confident against Everton but, home advantage and current form should be enough to see us through. As for a scoreline, it's too hard to call but, I agree with MementoMori. We're as likely to score 3 as we are 1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

I'm afraid Arsenal could drop points here. The main cause for concern is that Everton will be up for this one, after the humiliation at Goodison in August, and the Arsenal team have looked a little jaded of late. The match against Bolton being called off may turn out to be a blessing in disguise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Arsenal won 13 of the last 14 matches! thats some record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

I'm afraid Arsenal could drop points here. The main cause for concern is that Everton will be up for this one, after the humiliation at Goodison in August, and the Arsenal team have looked a little jaded of late. The match against Bolton being called off may turn out to be a blessing in disguise though.
    Agree with this post, although I'd like to think that we hopefully have the quality to see Everton off today. I'm not expecting us to dominate the game like last time but you never know.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Arsenal won 13 of the last 14 matches! thats some record.

Last 13 of 14 matches in what? I've been checking everything possible and I can't figure it out!

jasonorr wrote: »
    Last 13 of 14 matches in what? I've been checking everything possible and I can't figure it out!
    Home games against Everton

I reckon a nervy as anything, hanging on for ages, rear guard fortress of a 1-1 draw.........then Wenger crying his arse of because we kicked his lickle boys a bit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

In their last 14 games against Everton at Highbury/Emirates..

Arsenal won 12, drew one, and lost one.

Home games against Everton against

Really? Good record. Coincidently, our best record against any of the other 6 that have remained in the premiership every season since it began, comes against Everton! 11 more points than against Villa.
    I reckon a nervy as anything, hanging on for ages, rear guard fortress of a 1-1 draw.........then Wenger crying his arse of because we kicked his lickle boys a bit!!

If you think you're going to scrape a point by kicking lumps out of us, think again. It's probably the best tactic for ye to employ but, Arsenal are much more capable of dealing with that than a few years ago when it was a problem!

I would luv it if we beat/hammered ye, just for that comment alone, luv it! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,012 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

At least we're not completely football starved today! I'm hoping that with Arsenal missing Fabregas and Song that we can sneak a draw. We'll need luck though with the likelyhood of Saha not playing. Look out for Seamus Coleman who is likely to start with Hibbert out Injured. Landon Donovan may be handed a debut as well.

Seriously tho, the gunners have picked up max points at home in all games this season bar the Chelsea game. I cant see it being any different here. Arsenal to win by two goals, take them rose tinted glasses off Op!
    What am I missing here:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

At a guess:

Almunia

Sagna
    Gallas
    Vermaelen
    Traore

Ramsey----Denilson----Diaby

Nasri
    Arshavin
    Eduardo

Frisbee wrote: »
    At a guess:

Almunia

Sagna
    Gallas
    Vermaelen
    Traore

Ramsey----Denilson----Diaby

Nasri
    Arshavin
    Eduardo

Not think he'll give Eduardo a chance up top given he's scored 3 in 4 now?

He probably will, although I've been saying that for weeks and Eduardo always seems to be stuck out on the left.

I haven't been impressed with Eduardo at all lately and fear he'll never be the same again but, if he scores today I'll be happy :D

Same, he's been very underwhelming.

3 in 4 though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Donovon starts!

Arsenal

* 01 Almunia
    * 03 Sagna
    * 05 Vermaelen
    * 10 Gallas
    * 30 Traore
    * 02 Diaby
    * 08 Nasri
    * 15 Denilson
    * 16 Ramsey
    * 23 Arshavin
    * 09 Eduardo

Substitutes

* 21 Fabianski,
    * 18 Silvestre,
    * 37 Eastmond,
    * 07 Rosicky,
    * 32 Merida,
    * 38 Emmanuel-Thomas,
    * 12 Vela

Everton

* 24 Howard
    * 03 Baines
    * 05 Heitinga
    * 18 Neville
    * 23 Neill
    * 09 Donovan
    * 17 Cahill
    * 20 Pienaar
    * 21 Osman
    * 25 Fellaini
    * 08 Saha

Substitutes

* 01 Nash,
    * 31 Coleman,
    * 34 Shane Duffy,
    * 43 Shkodran Mustafi,
    * 07 Bilyaletdinov,
    * 14 Vaughan,
    * 37 Baxter

EDIT: Surprised to see Merida on the bench if he really is leaving!

Weather suits Arshavin, I'm expecting a big game from him today.

Would love a 5-5 draw.:pac:

eagle eye wrote: »

Our defense is better than that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

He was complaining about the weather earlier on Football Focus haha.

Well I don't really care who wins it, I'm not convinced about the defense though. I just want to see a competitive game and loads of goals.

I still have this feeling though that Arshavin is going to run the show today. I honestly fancy Arsenal to win it by 3, maybe 4-1.

Ha!

Well I don't really care who wins it, I'm not convinced about the defense though. I just want to see a competitive game and loads of goals.

I still have this feeling though that Arshavin is going to run the show today. I honestly fancy Arsenal to win it by 3, maybe 4-1.

Come off it! Our defense is so bad that Everton could score 5?

EDIT: I don't think defense is our strongest point by any means but, only 4 teams have conceded less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Haha they are hoping for a 5-5 because they are neutrals who want loads of goals!

There's only 2 games on today, everyone wants loads of goals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

I reckon Landon will hit the ground running in the premiership and tip him to get a cheeky one today!

There's only 2 games on today, everyone wants loads of goals!

Think of the bright side.

Super Long MotD coverage later :D

Slight little flurry of snow there before kickoff.

Pitch looks in great nick, given the conditions.

Strong team out for the Toffees.

I think they will get something from this.

Think of the bright side.

Super Long MotD coverage later :D

They'll show us second for 5 minutes!

Wonder what happened to Vermaelen there, seemed a very innocuous challenge for the ball between them.

Neville you're an embarrasment to the name:p

Game has started at a blistering dawdling pace.

Throw some money on Fellani picking up a booking.
    Won't be great odds but looks like free money to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

C'mon the Arsenal, need the three points out here today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Get in:)

Fecking pathetic defending

How does he get to that ahead of Gallas and Verm?!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

FFS, poxy defending, wheres the fcuking marking lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

goal,osman.arsenals defence seems asleep

1-0 Osman

Everton have been the only team playing at all.
    Arsenal havent looked ar*sed at all so far.
    Will see what Arsenal are made of now.

Game on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I finally sort out a stream and the first thing I see is the ball bouncing of Osmans head :(

lol