Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O2 Wireless only €950 for 3 months

• 09-01-2010 2:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

• €950 for the last 3 months with O2
    I'm self employed designing websites and doing photography on weekends. When moving away from Eircon back in April I considered how much allowance do I really need and I was sure that 10 gigs would be plenty. I was right. I don't leech torrents or other such stuff. I don't let windows do auto updates (that's what wrecked my pc last time) My computer is for work and that's it.
    My wife has a laptop and uses skype video a couple of hours per week and doss on facebook. I might use her laptop for to watch a bit of rugby online or browse about a bit. And if I did go a bit over the allowance well how much can it hurt? An insulting double? €39.98?

Normally we pay €19.99 per month with a 10gig allowance. This hasn't been a problem, routinely we'd be billed €19.99 and I'm satisfied with the price for the service.

On 19th November 2009 we got billed €208.37. Coincidentally on the night of 19th November 2009 my wife's waters broke and we were having our first baby. So I didn't catch that invoice. Incidentally an invoice from O2 is a small envelope that appears down by the clock and disappears if you don't open it. It's then stored in the little program away from sight that comes with the dongle but that deletes them by default after a week. O2 takes their money direct debit from my credit card. Suffering from a massive dose of new baby brain, I just paid the bottom line and didn't go through the details.

On the 21st of December O2 billed me €586.61. Again new baby at home, up to my eyes and under a lot of pressure and stress trying to catch up with work, christmas coming, visitors from abroad coming to stay, that little yellow envelope down at the clock didn't quite catch my attention. I remember thinking it's just O2 talking their 20quid (as per routine) and dismissed it.

Not until I went to clear off my credit card and the lady at the bank counter told me that to do what I intended I'd need to come accross with an extra 500quid did I start to wonder. It must be a simple clerical error I told her.

"Nope it's a usage bill for €586.61". Mary, the useless (from my point of view) O2 help desk assitant advised me that it's correct and that I'm due to pay 2cents for every extra megabyte over the 10gigs allowed.

How in the name of jaysus did I use 38gigs? Ok so let's say that's factual and it's in the contract. Leave that alone for a second.

10 gigs = €19.99 (1 connection)
    +28gigs = €566.62 (enough for 28 more connections)
    Total 38GB = 586.61

There is something simply and clearly moraly wrong here. Now before people jump in and say well that's what you got yourself into - I didn't. There is a strong sense of "this can't happen" when you sign up to these things. A sense of our government won't let companies act the b***x with people like this. I have a bill pay mobile with Vodafone for over 12 years now and I have never been given a bill anything like this. And what's with the contracts? Who brings a solicitor with them every time they go shopping? (excluding the spouse of one)

On this pc is a clean install of Win 7. I have CS3 and Visual Studio 2008, an FTP client and CD burning tools and such for my work and that's pretty much it. I don't have any virus or trojans working in the background. My connection hasn't been hi-jacked. And even if I did have all of the above going on, stealing a man's week's wages for 28gigs of data isn't justifiable. It's a bit of electricity for a few radio waves.

When I tried to persue this, Mary the helpdesk assitant was most obstructive. She would not allow me to speak with a supervisor or somebody that would handle this in a legal manor. She would not give me the address of the O2 Head Office. She insisted she was trained to deal with this call, by that I think she meant act like a complete useless bimbo and wait until I went away. She did give me the number to the O2 head office but guess what?.. It was apparently closed due to the snowfall and the number redirected me back to the helpdesk in Limerick where Mary will be happy to take my call and pass another 1/2 hour of the wanton day. So I called back, and I was cut off. So I called again and I was cut off again. And again. And again. And about 10 more times.

Trying to use the O2 website is a nightmare. If you want to spend money, top up, sign up, it works a treat. If you want to access your accounts it's riddled with bugs and hurdles to make it as tedious as possible. Constant "File not secure" alerts, Page Not Found 404, Page access denied 403 warnings and PDF not generating errors.

There is a usage metering tool supplied with your connection. Top line statement = Not to be used for billing purposes. No wonder, it has a massive discrepency between it's count and the count on the bill. Why can't it be used for billing purposes? Why can't the tool update itself from the server every hour / 12 hours / 24 hours like any other simple RSS tool? "Your usage so far is 1.38GB - Your running bill total is €19.99" Woudn't that make sense? To the customer I mean. If I have a ticker on my desktop updating with the latest news alerts why can't an internet company send me an alert "YOU'VE EXCEEDED YOUR ALLOWANCE"?

So where did the 38gigs come from? A movie is about 700mb but we'll say 1gig. So I downloaded 38 movies in 1 month? I don't think I've seen 10 movies in all of 2009 and 4 or 5 of them would be in the Cinema anyway.

November's bill €208.37
    December's bill €586.61
    Unbilled usage €156.87
    Total for the last 3 months (so far) €951.85

Well they won't just walk off with my money that easily. If it were a Taxi I could easily see what's going on, stop it and get out. But these conmen think I'm just going to take the hit while they wave a contract in my face. Well we'll see about that.

Right lads there's enough there to give you the picture. If you have any such experience with O2 please let me know.

I will be taking them to the small claims court for starters. I'd love to find more people in my situation and make a class action out of it. Jaysus if we get Simon Cowell off the number one spot by working together we should be able to get our more important money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭whippet

sign up to O2's forum on their site. The guys on there are usually very helpful and will be able to investigate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I had a phone with them only for ringin 086 numbers and was 20 euro per month. I decided to cancel it as i was out of contract. The last bill i got included 180 euro for 15mb of data usage which i never used as i have mt own provider. I got the same treatment as above. I never paid it and started getting the usual letters. I got one last week actually saying that they would settle for 50 euro......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Bosshogg

whippet wrote: »
    sign up to O2's forum on their site. The guys on there are usually very helpful and will be able to investigate.

I'm thinking of copying this post more or less onto their forum when I finally get access to it from the confirmation email that I'm waiting all day to arrive. I presume it's manually checked on their side.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,329 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

So in summary:

1) You did not read what you signed up for
    2) You did not bother to check the bills that where available
    3) You had authorized O2 to take the amount on the bills via DD

And now you're:
    4) Upset that they charged according to the contract (which is nothing new and not in any way unique to O2)
    5) Called O2 once and no, a supervisor can not "handle this in a legal manor" as you put it as quite frankly they would not have any such power to cancel it on the spot because you are unhappy
    6) Want to take it to small claims court where it would be thrown out for not having taken the company procedure to it's end

Might I suggest you do something productive instead of posturing on a internet board and write a formal complain letter and send it to O2 specifying your dispute. At least that way you might actually get a resolution to your problem instead of pretending that your case would be the foundation for a class action law suit or something silly.

Oh and I'm not working for, or affiliated with O2 in any way now or previously but you come over as someone who's causing all hell on the phone (and no, speaking to a Supervisor is not your right) which would not help your case in getting it resolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Did you ask them to breakdown the usage in some way ?

Hi Nody.
    Thanks for taking the time to write an objective reply. These companies have found great ways to bend the law so let me respond;

1) I did read what I signed up for but there's 2 points.
    1, I'm not a lawyer therefor not qualified to read a 2500 word contract hashed out by business sharks, nor should I need a lawyer to go shopping for a simple service. As consumers the big providers have earned a level of trust from generations of fair play from companies such as the ESB, Bord Gais, old Telecom Eireann/ Eircom and so on. It has become an expectation for the consumer over time that it's a safe place for the average Joe to deal with these monster size companies. You sign up, pay your FAIR dues and all will be fine. I assume this has been tempered over the years by our government from disputes such as this arising over time.
    2nd, "2 cents for every extra megabyte" What's a megabyte in Internet usage terms? I'm working with PCs for 12-15 years now and I can't answer that. I watch rugby online. How many megabytes is that? A match? A minute of a Match? How many megabytes does my wife use on Skype? She talks for hours. I haven't the slightest notion! I could investigate it but could the average Joe? So again the humble consumer must make an assumption and put a little trust in the company that they're getting a fair deal and not going to get screwed for their week's wages on the slightest mix up. At least in your house you can see the ESB meter spin and turn off the furness but with these guys you have to crawl through a mine field to get your information. I'd say if you converted a megabyte into milage and you took a taxi driven by O2 then it's about a foot.

2) You're right I didn't check the bills that were available. After the first few bills they had gained my trust and I dismissed the little yellow icon, the smallest possible effort by them to alert me, as "ah that's just O2 looking for their 20quid". I don't feel my internet habits changed so there was no reason for me to assume the bill would either. Also as I mentioned earlier, we've just had our first baby, coincidentally at the time of the first bill, and I can tell you in simple words that doing my job and sitting in front of a PC was the very last thing I wanted to do for the next 6 weeks. When finally I did sit down my work was so backed up that any little thing extra on the TODO list was a burden. Technically though Nody, like the sharks you are correct. If I asked you how much is your ESB bill? Would you have to check the bill or would you answer "about 100-120 each time, maybe a bit more in winter"?

3) I'm not sure I had much if any choice with how I paid. Again more force feeding and having it their way from their side.

4) Yes I am upset that they have charged me according to the contract. In fact initially I was outright furious, later I was depressed. I had the feeling that we had been robbed. It was like someone crept in the window and stole 950 euro of my very hard earned household budget from the cookie jar. There is cause for arguement because Joe Soaps like me are getting sucker punched and robbed of their wages and these sharks are hiding behind a piece of paper. They know that 99.9% of the people will pay up and do nothing about it. I'm in the .1% of the rest.

5) I called O2 more than once, about 10 times over 2 hours I'd say. Mary the useless helpdesk assistant refused to give me any details to handle the matter legally, including the address of the O2 head office. Between her and her supervisor it was a clear attempt at obstruction to wear me out and give up. Several phone calls later with other staff I slowly got more and more information. Including how to escalate it to a complaint, which I tried to do initially but was told by Mary there is nothing more she can do for me as she is trained to handle the situation. Putting it bluntly she simply would not do a dnam thing and yakked me off the phone, or was I cut off? hm? She suggested at one point that my solicitor would know what to do!? Eh like call O2 and ask for the same address? Mary was anything but helpful to say guide me into and through the complaints process, she simply insisted that she was well within her right to take the money. Fair enough, I'm well within my right to fight for it back.

6) As stated in #5, I was trying to escalate the complaint but Mary wouldn't simply saying that everything is correct according to usage and there is nothing more she can do. I will however go to O2 offices on Monday morning in person because they keep cutting me off (accidentally) and escalate the complaint there.

7) I might be rightly called a few things like venting anger, voicing my complaint amongst other victims of white collar scam, alerting other people to the pitfalls of dealing with a faceless company that has a banner on their website "A Company You Can Trust", but I am not "posturing" as you rather insensitively put it. (Don't worry I can take a few digs - but I'll swing back). Overall Nody your objective opinion is helpful. I'm sure the sharks have every sort of answer armed and ready in their book so I'll take this as a small primer.
    Calling the class action lawsuit a "someting silly" is disappointing. It might come from growing up in a school class where the teacher knocked the crap out of one kid and all the others were forced/trained to stand there and do nothing and watch the horror of the singled out kid suffering but that's another story. It's an ambitious idea in THIS country but maybe people are feeling the pinch just enough to follow the leader? A petition at least? I dunno maybe as usual the small guy will be left to take the beating on his own. I'm actually not too much in the belief that I'll get my money back from these billionaire scabs no matter what but with the use of the many Internet forums, a specialised blog site, twitter and facebook, radio stations and newspapers and fella's like you Nody putting your 2 cents in maybe, just maybe, I'll take a week's wages out of their pocket and we'll call it even.

€20 for the first 10 gigs and €200 for the next 10 gigs is a con job but they don't put it to you that way instead prefering to give you the ambiguous detail of 2cents per mb. The consumer is clearly mislead. They entice you in and then they empty your pockets. The company is simply not acting responsibly. This can't be allowed to go unchallenged by the public especially since there's no clear and simple way for the consumer to monitor the usage.

Take a look at this link http://www.o2online.ie/wps/wcm/connect/O2/Home/Shop/Broadband/ and look at the banner "O2 mobile broadband. Just €19.99 per month. It's that simple"
    Now do me a favour and show me where it's stated 2 cents per extra mb, use a stopwatch.

@jhegarty: Hi J. Here's a sample from my account statement. Notice how it logs on robotically every 2 hours. I can't confirm or deny if I left the PC on over night on these dates but wtf was I downloading? This goes on for days. You'd think I'd know about it right? Also the dongle gets passed around 3 different PCs so if one did have a torjan that got by me I'm fairly certain it wouldn't be on all 3.
    16:58 14/12/09 Data 5.94 MB 0.00
    18:58 14/12/09 Data 962.0 KB 0.00
    19:16 14/12/09 Data 2.0 KB 0.00
    19:16 14/12/09 Data 527.38 MB 0.00
    21:06 14/12/09 Data 683.64 MB 0.00
    23:06 14/12/09 Data 419.95 MB 0.00
    00:00 15/12/09 Data 595.74 MB 0.00
    01:06 15/12/09 Data 1.05 GB 0.00
    03:06 15/12/09 Data 605.5 MB 0.00
    05:05 15/12/09 Data 194.95 MB 0.00
    09:45 15/12/09 Data 138.43 MB 0.00
    10:05 15/12/09 Data 527.38 MB 0.00
    11:06 15/12/09 Data 908.25 MB 0.00
    13:06 15/12/09 Data 830.13 MB 0.00
    15:06 15/12/09 Data 693.4 MB 0.00
    17:05 15/12/09 Data 530.46 MB 0.00
    19:02 15/12/09 Data 737.0 KB 0.00
    21:02 15/12/09 Data 16.0 KB 0.00
    22:33 15/12/09 Data 205.09 MB 0.00
    23:06 15/12/09 Data 410.18 MB 0.00

Maybe it's an O2 trojan?

Cheer's lads.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,507 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Bosshogg wrote: »
    Hi Nody.
    Thanks for taking the time to write an objective reply. These companies have found great ways to bend the law so let me respond;

1) I did read what I signed up for but there's 2 points.
    1, I'm not a lawyer therefor not qualified to read a 2500 word contract hashed out by business sharks, nor should I need a lawyer to go shopping for a simple service.

Seriously?
    This is your defense?
    Bill Pay Terms & Conditions say - http://www.o2online.ie/wps/wcm/connect/O2/About+O2/Terms+and+Conditions/O2+Broadband/Billpay+Broadband
    7. Data Usage
    7.1. Monthly Data Usage limits apply and any usage over the limit applicable to your Service is subject to the then applicable excess charge. Where monthly usage is below the usage limit at the end of the monthly period the difference cannot be carried forward from one billing cycle to the next on any Price Plan.

They also have (for those that like plain English stuff)
    Quick Terms & Conditions

* Connection to the O2 Clear Broadband 12 month and 18 month plans are subject to 12 month and 18 month minimum terms respectively.
    * The O2 clear 30 day plan is subject to a 30 day notice period and direct debit is required.
    * All O2 Broadband Plans have a data usage limit and a charge of 2c per MB applies for all usage in excess of the data usage limit on your plan.
    * Data usage while roaming is excluded. When roaming standard data roaming charges will apply including when the service is used in Northern Ireland and the UK.
    * Roaming is restricted on connection to O2 broadband and you must contact customer care to avail of roaming.
    * Charges apply if you use the O2 Broadband SIM for services other than the O2 Broadband service.
    * All charges are inclusive of VAT @ 21%.
    * All rates are rounded to the nearest cent for presentation purposes. Click here for a detailed list of all charges.
    * If you are an existing O2 Broadband customer you can switch to the O2 Clear Broadband 12 month and 18 month plans when you have completed six months of your existing contract and if you agree to a new minimum term. You cannot move to the O2 Broadband Clear 30 day plan until you have completed your full contract term.
    * O2 broadband is subject to network coverage and availability. Broadband Speeds may vary.

I don't see how much clearer O2 could provide this information, its extremely clear

As consumers the big providers have earned a level of trust from generations of fair play from companies such as the ESB, Bord Gais, old Telecom Eireann/ Eircom and so on. It has become an expectation for the consumer over time that it's a safe place for the average Joe to deal with these monster size companies.

You sign up, pay your FAIR dues and all will be fine. I assume this has been tempered over the years by our government from disputes such as this arising over time.

- Assuming stuff is not a defense, would you get a bill pay mobile phone from O2 without reading the Terms & Conditions?
    - Would you get a bank loan without reading Terms & Conditions?
    No of course you wouldn't you'd be a fool not to read the conditions to such financial commitments.

You are provided with this information for a VERY good reason, if YOU choose not to read it/them then you've nobody to blame but yourself.

2nd, "2 cents for every extra megabyte" What's a megabyte in Internet usage terms? I'm working with PCs for 12-15 years now and I can't answer that. I watch rugby online. How many megabytes is that? A match? A minute of a Match? How many megabytes does my wife use on Skype? She talks for hours. I haven't the slightest notion! I could investigate it but could the average Joe?

Again, seriously?
    Your ignorance defense is laughable, we're not talking 10MB over your limit we're talking numerous GB's which for your information work out as 1024MB per GB ;)

Lets put this stuff into something abit simpler, I have experience with the ISP industry and can tell you for a fact that the average joe doesn't even do 10GB per month when they use their internet connection.

As such O2 offer what is viewed as a very reasonable cap for a product that is aimed at average joe's, the very fact you pulled down over 20GB+ puts you outside of the average joe spot and its something you'd be fully aware of.

Most users on ISP's that pull down large amounts of data do so by using stuff like bittorrent or streaming videos for very long periods of time, these are both things you'd be very aware of.

So again the humble consumer must make an assumption and put a little trust in the company that they're getting a fair deal and not going to get screwed for their week's wages on the slightest mix up.

No you don't, you never assume anything especially when it comes to overuse of a service,
    At least in your house you can see the ESB meter spin and turn off the furness but with these guys you have to crawl through a mine field to get your information.

and with O2 they give you a usage monitor AND you know if your downloading/streaming something because you've actually completed the actions to do so.

2) You're right I didn't check the bills that were available.

Its good your admitting fault, finally we are getting somewhere
    After the first few bills they had gained my trust and I dismissed the little yellow icon, the smallest possible effort by them to alert me, as "ah that's just O2 looking for their 20quid".

Ok we're back to your ignorance as a defense, seriously nobody is going to believe you didn't check your bill because you "gained trust from a large company", you as a consumer has basic responsibility and this includes checking your bills and making sure they are correct.

If you had a mobile phone package that came with say 60free minutes and you used 635 so the mobile provider billed you for the excess would you still complain?
    I don't feel my internet habits changed so there was no reason for me to assume the bill would either. Also as I mentioned earlier, we've just had our first baby, coincidentally at the time of the first bill, and I can tell you in simple words that doing my job and sitting in front of a PC was the very last thing I wanted to do for the next 6 weeks.

Fair enough but having your baby is not O2's concern thats your personal life and has nothing to do with them.
    When finally I did sit down my work was so backed up that any little thing extra on the TODO list was a burden. Technically though Nody, like the sharks you are correct. If I asked you how much is your ESB bill? Would you have to check the bill or would you answer "about 100-120 each time, maybe a bit more in winter"?

For me I submit meter readings to Bord Gais so I know exactly what my power bill is every two months, if it went up I'd check the reading myself.

The same goes for my internet connection, I run both a usage monitor on my PC and I check my ISP's monitor to ensure I never run into problems :)

3) I'm not sure I had much if any choice with how I paid. Again more force feeding and having it their way from their side.

They (o2) are entitled to enforce the Terms & Conditions you previously agreed to
    4) Yes I am upset that they have charged me according to the contract. In fact initially I was outright furious, later I was depressed. I had the feeling that we had been robbed. It was like someone crept in the window and stole 950 euro of my very hard earned household budget from the cookie jar. There is cause for arguement because Joe Soaps like me are getting sucker punched and robbed of their wages and these sharks are hiding behind a piece of paper. They know that 99.9% of the people will pay up and do nothing about it. I'm in the .1% of the rest.

So if you sign up to a bank loan and just for the hell of it we say they add on a 100e penalty for a missed payment and you missed a payment as you didn't have enough in your account and had no overdraft so they applied this fee, yes you'd be pissed off but this doesn't make the banks actions wrong. :)

Thing is it would be your fault and the bank in this example has done nothing wrong. If you didn't read the T&C's of the loan or simply accepted them even though you claim you didn't understand them then its 100% your fault.

The same can be said for this case, you claim ignorance as a defense both in relation to understanding their very clear Terms & Conditions and your internet usage.
    5) I called O2 more than once, about 10 times over 2 hours I'd say. Mary the useless helpdesk assistant refused to give me any details to handle the matter legally, including the address of the O2 head office.

If your taking legal action then your solicitor should be well able to obtain O2's legal address, if you simply wish to write a complaint then use the address on their website which can be easily seen

O2 Customer Care Centre
    McLaughlin Road
    National Technology Park
    Limerick.

Call center staff will not normally give out details for how people can make legal claims against a complaint, they will only give out basic complaints procedure details which does not include how to make legal claims.
    Between her and her supervisor it was a clear attempt at obstruction to wear me out and give up. Several phone calls later with other staff I slowly got more and more information. Including how to escalate it to a complaint, which I tried to do initially but was told by Mary there is nothing more she can do for me as she is trained to handle the situation. Putting it bluntly she simply would not do a dnam thing and yakked me off the phone, or was I cut off? hm?

Given I wasn't party to the calls I don't know what either party said or did so I';m not really going to comment on this.
    She suggested at one point that my solicitor would know what to do!? Eh like call O2 and ask for the same address? Mary was anything but helpful to say guide me into and through the complaints process, she simply insisted that she was well within her right to take the money. Fair enough, I'm well within my right to fight for it back.

- imho she's right for not giving an address for legal claims
    - She's right in saying charges are valid
    6) As stated in #5, I was trying to escalate the complaint but Mary wouldn't simply saying that everything is correct according to usage and there is nothing more she can do. I will however go to O2 offices on Monday morning in person because they keep cutting me off (accidentally) and escalate the complaint there.

You'd likely find as with the vast majority of head offices that nobody will be in that office that can deal with a customer facing issue like yours,
    7) I might be rightly called a few things like venting anger, voicing my complaint amongst other victims of white collar scam, alerting other people to the pitfalls of dealing with a faceless company that has a banner on their website "A Company You Can Trust", but I am not "posturing" as you rather insensitively put it. (Don't worry I can take a few digs - but I'll swing back). Overall Nody your objective opinion is helpful. I'm sure the sharks have every sort of answer armed and ready in their book so I'll take this as a small primer.

Again O2 have done nothing wrong, had you posted this on the Broadband forum the vast majority of users would likely confirm the same to you :)
    Calling the class action lawsuit a "someting silly" is disappointing.

Any comments regarding a class action lawsuit are hilarious, class action suits don't exist in Ireland....we are not America :)
    It might come from growing up in a school class where the teacher knocked the crap out of one kid and all the others were forced/trained to stand there and do nothing and watch the horror of the singled out kid suffering but that's another story. It's an ambitious idea in THIS country but maybe people are feeling the pinch just enough to follow the leader? A petition at least? I dunno maybe as usual the small guy will be left to take the beating on his own. I'm actually not too much in the belief that I'll get my money back from these billionaire scabs no matter what but with the use of the many Internet forums, a specialised blog site, twitter and facebook, radio stations and newspapers and fella's like you Nody putting your 2 cents in maybe, just maybe, I'll take a week's wages out of their pocket and we'll call it even.

Ok now your talking nonsense, the company is not assaulting you or bullying you or anything to that affect they are charging you for a service YOU used in-line with the Terms & Condition YOU agreed to.
    €20 for the first 10 gigs and €200 for the next 10 gigs is a con job but they don't put it to you that way instead prefering to give you the ambiguous detail of 2cents per mb.

No its not, its actually standard enough without the industry in Ireland to charge for over use....lets see
    - Eircom say they'll do it
    - Vodafone say they'll do it
    - Perlico say they'll do it
    - UTV say they'll do it
    Need I go on? :) You'd trust Eircom as well wouldn't you?
    The consumer is clearly mislead.

This is a incorrect statement, you've stated ignorance as your defense....sadly such a defense will not stand up as O2 provide you with the Terms & Conditions which you choose no to read and/or understand.
    They entice you in and then they empty your pockets. The company is simply not acting responsibly. This can't be allowed to go unchallenged by the public especially since there's no clear and simple way for the consumer to monitor the usage.

- You sign up to a service
    - The service outlines charges
    - You overuse the service and are hit with excess use charges
    - You complaint because they charge you

How have they not acted responsibly?
    Take a look at this link http://www.o2online.ie/wps/wcm/connect/O2/Home/Shop/Broadband/ and look at the banner "O2 mobile broadband. Just €19.99 per month. It's that simple"

Ever hear of Terms & Conditions apply?

bottom of the page clearly shows
    O2 Broadband terms & conditions

* Bill pay Terms & Conditions
    * Prepay Terms & Conditions

Terms & Conditions apply to basically ever product and/or service you use in a day to day life, if this is going to be your legal defense then you need to stop right now as your going to waste your time and money further.

By your logic because it says just Just €19.99 per month. It's that simple neither the extra charges or contract length apply to you because these are not mentioned :rolleyes:

Now do me a favour and show me where it's stated 2 cents per extra mb, use a stopwatch.

Don't play the fool, you know exactly what a MB is as you've stated yourself your "employed designing websites and doing photography", if you don't know what a MB is then get out of the industry your in.

If you design websites and create graphics you'll understand basic file sizes because you have to as uploading large graphics to a website can slow the loading time, this is very basic stuff.

If you take photos then you'll also understand basic file sizes (such as what a MB is), depending on what type of file format you shoot in you;'d know for example that a RAW file can come in around 10MB.

I've no time for people that act ignorant yet they know this information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,096 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Is there an unsecured or hacked wireless network involved in this, because it seems odd that after a string of normal bills, the usage sky-rockets?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,507 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Is there an unsecured or hacked wireless network involved in this, because it seems odd that after a string of normal bills, the usage sky-rockets?

This could only happen if the OP ordered the O2 Wireless Router in which case if he configured it incorrectly somebody could potentially use his connection.

Given he says he switches the O2 connection to three different laptops this would suggest a dongle instead of a router

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

OP - Maybe your attitude is all wrong on this. No wonder Customer service won't entertain you if your rant here has been anything to go by.

For some reason your useage has been exceptionally high - surely your first action to to see why the useage was so high and where the blame for this lies.

Was it a trojan, was it some automatic download problem, was your computer hacked, are you on a wireless system etc etc etc.

Some poor girl in O2 has had to deal with your high handed crap yet you have not done the basic checks of where & why the useage was so high.

O2 have simply charged you for downloads that seem to have happened - maybe its a foult of theirs, maybe a fault of yours - get your pc checked by soemone with some knowledge and then approach O2 in a mannerly way and see if they can do something for you. - But first i think an apology to the custoemr service personell in O2 should be given. I've always found themm to be exceptional!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

OP it might be worth getting in touch with ComReg, and letting the customer service drone know you're doing this should snap them to attention fairly quickly.

They're charging 20 euro per GB over your allowance which is the amount you pay for 10GB and a connection! While it might be common practice it does seem a bit absurd.

Lets face it lads, the usage was well over and the cost off this was ridiculously expensive.

And the OP won't be the last person for this to happen.

Surely there should be some mechanism's in place so as to alert a user that they will incur these costs.

I would imagine that these are in place on pre-pay midband systems for bandwidth control surely they could be implemented on billpay systems.

Maybe they could integrate the 2, as in if you are on 10G package and if you reach it, you will be alerted by text instantaneously and have choices as to disable connectivity altogether, providing the user the opportunity to realize that they have reached their limit.

I have Dovodo UMR router with sms alerts setup so I can observe what usage I am using, it is very difficult to get an accurate reading from using O2's own website as it doesn't seem to be updated on the fly.

Surely this would be a more sensible approach in managing a line for the User and the for the provider.

Regardless off terms and conditions, 950 euro is a ridiculous price for broadband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 VaPz

Are people seriously attacking the op in this thread? Anyone with abit of knowledge about computers knows that 30gb + for 3 months of random browsing cannot be exceeded.

I have a 20gb limit with ntl. My family download tonnes. I have yet to be billed for any extra charges. and im talking about 5 people in the family downloading, and using the internet almost all day.

The thing is, hes being scammed. He didnt infact use all of his allowance, and i doubt any home user could go over a 10gb/month limit.

All the legal BS of him signing up to this / allowing them to DD is terrible. Its simply he is getting over charged. The op did nothing wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

I used 3 mobile broadband on top up for few months. I had the choice of stopping connection once i had met my limit, or keep going and be charged for it.
    Does the o2 system offer a similar option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

Notice how it logs on robotically every 2 hours

That's more likely to be indicative of their usage metering software than your logon times, however your computer probably was on and downloading during those times. If you can find a virus or a trojan, that'd help your case a lot. I'm not very familiar with windows, but there's probably some free tool available that monitors traffic going in and out of your PC- this'd be a good place to start.

During typing this a string of other posts have come online. I have to dash but I'll get back in a while. Thanks to all for your 2 cents. Oh **** how much is that really? ;;)

Cabaal wrote: »
    I've no time for people that act ignorant yet they know this information

Well first I'd have to say thanks for so much time given to respond with such a lengthy response whether I'm acting or just plain am ignorant. I am a bit surprised to find within all those words to find there's nothing you agree with on Joe Soap's side. Having said that I wouldn't want false hope either. But I'm a bit disappointed in the way that you extract points almost taking them out of context rather than comment on the situation as a whole.

One point I don't seem to be able to get accross is that Mary on the helpdesk would not give me any information to escalate a complaint. Simply insisting that there is no reason to take the matter further than her due to how right they are inside the contract you've so well rehashed.
    File sizes from my camera are 22mb. Yup I get that. I even wrote an application that'll resize them to about 70kb for preview and 15kb for thumbnails to ftp up and show on my website. But what's 1 mb worth of youtube? When I'm on justin.tv watching rugby how much is that? Or how much allowance do I need to talk on skype for an hour? Do I need less if I just listen and let the other side talk? O2 does provide a counter with a disclaimer on the topline "not for billing purposes" So what's the point of it? It's only counted a mile out on my side compared to theirs.
    You said that 10GB is more than enough for most people - I agree. I thought about this before I signed up and figured I would seldom get past 5 GB. That's how it ran for months. I haven't changed my habits, if anything with new baby at home and a house full of foreigners for a while I feel I'm using the internet less but you're dead certain I'm downloading torrents etc. 38Gigs in a month!? That's about 50 movies. Wtf am I to do with those in a month? With foreign visitors in the house there's nearly no TV on since they hardly understand a word of English anyway. Poor playstation didn't know what happened to it.
    I did rebuild my PC. During that I do the updates during install. That could be a few gigs. But then why is it over 3 months?
    So let's say I did knowingly download the top 50 discs from HMV. And I did knowingly go over by 28Gigs-ish. To be hit with a bill of €560 is still a con job. As cute as you Cabaal and Nody are to pick the bones out of a complaint from me you still wouldn't sit down to work out with your calculator €200 for the next 10gigs. Like me the assumption to figure out at a glance that 2c per mb works out at €20 per 10gb is easy to do with all those zeros and the impression that you're getting a fair deal and a sense that comreg and such wouldn't let the likes of this go on. It's easy to second guess yourself into thinking you did the math wrong. That is them taking advantage of busy people. That is a con.
    Now if you want to harp on and on about how I did sign, and I didn't read, and all the responsibility is all and only on me then we won't get much work done here. I'm putting my hand out to be slapped here but... If a kid went into a shop and paid €10 for a lollipop you'd march right back in there and demand the money back straight away and not accept that "you agreed to the price" and "not my fault if you're busy and not paying attention".
    I'm sick of these internet companies hiding behind they're contracts with no commitment to the customer. Speeds up to X Megabytes* Fair Usage Policy* Liablility Clause*

It's not ok and not enough to firstly put a line buried in the T&Cs and secondly ambiguous in describing the price. I searched the T&Cs for "cent" but reading your post I see it's in there as 2c. This is not a clear explanation or display of the price be any means. And if you think it is then you've very high expectations of what people understand of these things. Even I as a seasoned professional was caught out in the numbers. A very clever slip of the decimal point in their favour. And I'm sure this very same thing is happening to lots and lots of people that don't see it until something goes wrong. Then they find O2 standing there smuggly with their contract in their hands. Well I don't think trapping people like that is acceptable business practise and it should be challenged because it amounts to nothing less than white collar thievery.
    It is quite simply underhanded behaviour and I know you see that. This time it's not to the tune of a few quid but €100's out of one man's pocket.
    Any comments regarding a class action lawsuit are hilarious, class action suits don't exist in Ireland....we are not America
    This again is a very disappointing remark on a couple of levels but I'll let you reconsider it.

Right so here's a couple of questions:
    If it was your €950 that they clearly swindled would you just suck it up and pay the bill?
    Having read this post would you sign up with O2?

Have I got sour grapes? furkin right I do. Am I gonna lie down and take a whoopin? I might not have any choice, these are big thugs. Like you and Nody the court might think the contract is justice done.
    Will I get my money back? Maybe it depends on who I get on the day to deal with the complaint but I wouldn't count on it.
    Will it cost O2 more than the €950 they blagged out of me? You'd wanna belief it will. Just on time alone spent dealing with me directly it'll cost them a lot more than that. The fact that anyone reading this post will steer well clear of them but never would I stop here. I must be watching to much rugby online - you hurt me and I'll hurt you back.

I wanted to write more atm but the baby that I mentioned earlier to provide context of how one man's life can be more distracting that a tiny envelope down at the clock has just woken up and started to make rightful demands for food and tlc.

Thanks again for the post Cabaal and all.
    I hope we come accross a few people that are in the same boat, they might help you see the other point of view a bit clearer.
    "This is not America" - Irish Consumers need to pull together and not let themselves be bullied in this fashion by the big sharks. I haven't yet (weekend) got on to the consumer groups but there weight and organisation needs to be used to defend people from this sort of thing.
    Wouldn't you agree?

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,096 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

VaPz wrote: »
    Are people seriously attacking the op in this thread? Anyone with abit of knowledge about computers knows that 30gb + for 3 months of random browsing cannot be exceeded.

I have a 20gb limit with ntl. My family download tonnes. I have yet to be billed for any extra charges. and im talking about 5 people in the family downloading, and using the internet almost all day.

The thing is, hes being scammed. He didnt infact use all of his allowance, and i doubt any home user could go over a 10gb/month limit.

All the legal BS of him signing up to this / allowing them to DD is terrible. Its simply he is getting over charged. The op did nothing wrong here.

Only he, his wife and O2 could decide one way or the other on that. No-one else here can possibly know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,322 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

bosshog you can ask the bank to take back any funds paid for by direct debit you did not authorise. you can tell 02 this is what your going to do but explain you'd rather not and would like to agree a fair amount. They may cut you a deal, again be very carefull what u say and stick to the facts as the call could be recorded. Your baby, time of year, foreign visitors etc have nothing got to do with your problem, keep them out of it, it makes you sound a bit crazy. It's very hard to deal with prople when there not being rational, mary in o2 knows this as well as anyone. I don't know how you can prove the way 02 check your usage is correct, agree the out of bundle usage cost is crazy & anti consumer, if 10 gigs is 20 euro then 20 gigs should be 40 euro and so on and so forth. Best of luck with it, keep the cool & a level head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

this usage seems very suspicious unless the op ws up all night downloading stuff? it may be that your account has become mixed up with another account as o2's systems are plaqued with bugs and glitches and numerous billing issues have been reported in the past.
    16:58 14/12/09 Data 5.94 MB 0.00
    18:58 14/12/09 Data 962.0 KB 0.00
    19:16 14/12/09 Data 2.0 KB 0.00
    19:16 14/12/09 Data 527.38 MB 0.00
    21:06 14/12/09 Data 683.64 MB 0.00
    23:06 14/12/09 Data 419.95 MB 0.00
    00:00 15/12/09 Data 595.74 MB 0.00
    01:06 15/12/09 Data 1.05 GB 0.00
    03:06 15/12/09 Data 605.5 MB 0.00
    05:05 15/12/09 Data 194.95 MB 0.00
    09:45 15/12/09 Data 138.43 MB 0.00
    10:05 15/12/09 Data 527.38 MB 0.00
    11:06 15/12/09 Data 908.25 MB 0.00
    13:06 15/12/09 Data 830.13 MB 0.00
    15:06 15/12/09 Data 693.4 MB 0.00
    17:05 15/12/09 Data 530.46 MB 0.00
    19:02 15/12/09 Data 737.0 KB 0.00
    21:02 15/12/09 Data 16.0 KB 0.00
    22:33 15/12/09 Data 205.09 MB 0.00
    23:06 15/12/09 Data 410.18 MB 0.00

o2 should be able to provide details of sites that you have visited at these times but they may well treat your telephone requests as simple feedback? so your best course of action at this stage is a "formal complaint" in writing!

you must use the heading "formal complaint" or they may not treat it as a complaint but as feedback!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,322 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

foggy_lad wrote: »

o2 should be able to provide details of sites that you have visited at these times

I don't think they can, I could be wrong though, but I thought there were some data protection laws covering this. Your browsing history should tell you as well if it's not deleted. If it wasn't it could be a good place to back up the claim the billing system is wrong..

But as the OP says he designs websites, depending on what he's doing this would require a fair bit of uploading/downloading.

In addition we don't know what other downloads the OP has done

NTL don't charge for over-use, NTL allow upto over 100GB before they'll even contact you.

Plenty of people on the Broadband forum could state otherwise, while the average user from the ISP's point of view will not normally use over 10GB.

Its extremely easy to use 10GB, 40GB, 80GB...hell even upto 1TB on a Home Broadband connection. A percentage of home users will exceed 50GB+ on a monthly basis depending on what they download
    The op did nothing wrong here.

Howe exactly have you come to this conclusion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

bosshog you can ask the bank to take back any funds paid for by direct debit you did not authorise.

No he can't. He has already authorised it by signing and agreeing to the terms and conditions of the contract which basically state that he is authorising variable deductions from his bank account.

But as the OP says he designs websites, depending on what he's doing this would require a fair bit of uploading/downloading.

In addition we don't know what other downloads the OP has done

NTL don't charge for over-use, NTL allow upto over 100GB before they'll even contact you.

Plenty of people on the Broadband forum could state otherwise, while the average user from the ISP's point of view will not normally use over 10GB.

Its extremely easy to use 10GB, 40GB, 80GB...hell even upto 1TB on a Home Broadband connection. A percentage of home users will exceed 50GB+ on a monthly basis depending on what they download

Howe exactly have you come to this conclusion?

If we stop all generalisations of "he could download x amount or that". And we actually stop to read the post he doesnt download much. Uploads for a website are tiny.

Im quite disappointed that this has turned into a "General" thing. He COULD download x amount. He COULD upload 150gbs worth of stuff. However
    judging by the op ( which is the thread about him and no one else btw ) He hasnt met the criteria of being over 10gb. Were here to talk about HIM being ripped off.This has gone drastically off topic in my eyes. If you dont believe his words, dont post.

However of course, thats just my take on things.

One point I don't seem to be able to get accross is that Mary on the helpdesk would not give me any information to escalate a complaint. Simply insisting that there is no reason to take the matter further than her due to how right they are inside the contract you've so well rehashed.

Fair enough, however thats a customer service issue only and the fact that an agent in O2 wouldn't give you certain details is a seperate part of your complaint to the billing.

- The over-usage charge is a billing issue and account issue
    - The staff member not complying with your request is a customer service issue
    File sizes from my camera are 22mb. Yup I get that. I even wrote an application that'll resize them to about 70kb for preview and 15kb for thumbnails to ftp up and show on my website.

Ok so you understand file sizes then thats all we need to now :)
    But what's 1 mb worth of youtube? When I'm on justin.tv watching rugby how much is that? Or how much allowance do I need to talk on skype for an hour? Do I need less if I just listen and let the other side talk? O2 does provide a counter with a disclaimer on the topline "not for billing purposes" So what's the point of it? It's only counted a mile out on my side compared to theirs.

Depending on thw quality of the stream your watching it could be in excess of 200MB an hour for video but it depends on the quality.

Given we know your streaming video of matches etc then we know your not just "browsing websites", this would hint towards how you exceeded your 10GB usage.

You said that 10GB is more than enough for most people - I agree. I thought about this before I signed up and figured I would seldom get past 5 GB. That's how it ran for months. I haven't changed my habits, if anything with new baby at home and a house full of foreigners for a while I feel I'm using the internet less but you're dead certain I'm downloading torrents etc. 38Gigs in a month!? That's about 50 movies. Wtf am I to do with those in a month? With foreign visitors in the house there's nearly no TV on since they hardly understand a word of English anyway. Poor playstation didn't know what happened to it.

Well lets see, if your downloading warez
    - Lower quality can be 700MB
    - Standard movie can be 1.4GB each
    - 720 HD could be about 4.5GB
    - 1080 would in excess of 7GB

You must also remember that with bittorrent if your using it this downloads AND uploads at the same time.O2's 10GB is for usage it does not specify if its download ONLY.

So if you download 5GB of torrents and seed these to 1:1 then you've hit 10GB easy.

I did rebuild my PC. During that I do the updates during install. That could be a few gigs. But then why is it over 3 months?

I couldn't tell you, its your connection only you know what you used it for.
    So let's say I did knowingly download the top 50 discs from HMV. And I did knowingly go over by 28Gigs-ish. To be hit with a bill of €560 is still a con job

In your view it is, in the eyes of the service provider they are simply charging you for a service you have used.

Lets remember that bandwidth is not free, doesn't matter if you downloaded legal downloads, illegal downloads or Linux ISO's, if you exceeded the usage cap then the charges are valid.

As cute as you Cabaal and Nody are to pick the bones out of a complaint from me you still wouldn't sit down to work out with your calculator €200 for the next 10gigs. Like me the assumption to figure out at a glance that 2c per mb works out at €20 per 10gb is easy to do with all those zeros and the impression that you're getting a fair deal and a sense that comreg and such wouldn't let the likes of this go on. It's easy to second guess yourself into thinking you did the math wrong. That is them taking advantage of busy people. That is a con.

0.02c per MB works out at 20.48 per 1GB, NOT 20e per 10GB.

Now if you want to harp on and on about how I did sign, and I didn't read, and all the responsibility is all and only on me then we won't get much work done here. I'm putting my hand out to be slapped here but... If a kid went into a shop and paid €10 for a lollipop you'd march right back in there and demand the money back straight away and not accept that "you agreed to the price" and "not my fault if you're busy and not paying attention".

In your example above the shop would be under NO legal obligation to give a refund, ion much the same way as if you bought a CD for 50e in one shop and it was 10e in another the shop that charged 50e would not have to give a refund.

Don't believe? Check with consumer rights :)
    I'm sick of these internet companies hiding behind they're contracts with no commitment to the customer. Speeds up to X Megabytes* Fair Usage Policy* Liablility Clause*

They have a commitment,
    They provide the service for a fee, this service has attached T&C's which you agree upon accepting the service. They have commitments in the T&C's so do you.

The problem is in your case is because you'#ve been caught out you don't wish to fullfill your commitments under the T&C's.

It's not ok and not enough to firstly put a line buried in the T&Cs and secondly ambiguous in describing the price. I searched the T&Cs for "cent" but reading your post I see it's in there as 2c. This is not a clear explanation or display of the price be any means.

You are kidding me right?
    Ok lets use this, You posted this link earlier
    http://www.o2online.ie/wps/wcm/connect/O2/Home/Shop/Broadband/

Now, click on Buy Bill Pay Broadband
    scroll down and click on
    View quick terms & conditions
    Quick Terms & Conditions

* Connection to the O2 Clear Broadband 12 month and 18 month plans are subject to 12 month and 18 month minimum terms respectively.
    * The O2 clear 30 day plan is subject to a 30 day notice period and direct debit is required.
    * All O2 Broadband Plans have a data usage limit and a charge of 2c per MB applies for all usage in excess of the data usage limit on your plan.
    * Data usage while roaming is excluded. When roaming standard data roaming charges will apply including when the service is used in Northern Ireland and the UK.
    * Roaming is restricted on connection to O2 broadband and you must contact customer care to avail of roaming.
    * Charges apply if you use the O2 Broadband SIM for services other than the O2 Broadband service.
    * All charges are inclusive of VAT @ 21%.
    * All rates are rounded to the nearest cent for presentation purposes. Click here for a detailed list of all charges.
    * If you are an existing O2 Broadband customer you can switch to the O2 Clear Broadband 12 month and 18 month plans when you have completed six months of your existing contract and if you agree to a new minimum term. You cannot move to the O2 Broadband Clear 30 day plan until you have completed your full contract term.
    * O2 broadband is subject to network coverage and availability. Broadband Speeds may vary.

O2 could not provide the Terms & Conditions in a clearer manner then this, its in plain english.Its not hidden or hard to understand.

To be perfectly honest O2 is the very ISP I've seen in the UK or Ireland that posts a quick breakdown of its Terms & Conditions in this manner.
    And if you think it is then you've very high expectations of what people understand of these things. Even I as a seasoned professional was caught out in the numbers. A very clever slip of the decimal point in their favour. And I'm sure this very same thing is happening to lots and lots of people that don't see it until something goes wrong. Then they find O2 standing there smuggly with their contract in their hands. Well I don't think trapping people like that is acceptable business practise and it should be challenged because it amounts to nothing less than white collar thievery.
    It is quite simply underhanded behaviour and I know you see that. This time it's not to the tune of a few quid but €100's out of one man's pocket.

So its all fine and well for you not to meet your commitments under O2's Terms & Conditions but if O2 didn't provide you with the service in-line with their Terms & Conditions they'd be hell to pay from you complaining about it.

You can't pick and choose parts of a Terms & Conditions, its either all or nothing and if you don't agree with the Terms then you shouldn't have accepted them.

This again is a very disappointing remark on a couple of levels but I'll let you reconsider it.

Right you can be disappointed by my remarks all you want but class action suits DO NOT exist in Ireland so you ranting on about them means nothing
    Right so here's a couple of questions:
    If it was your €950 that they clearly swindled would you just suck it up and pay the bill?
    Having read this post would you sign up with O2?

First of lets talk facts, O2 have done nothing illegal so saying they swindled you out of this money is misleading.

Would I use O2's services, yes I would like any "Mobile Broadband" provider O2 like Meteor, Three or Vodafone reserve the right to charge for excessive usage.

On the basis that I understand this very basic fact I would use services belong to any of the above providers if I had to.

If however I used say 15GB on a 10GB package and I got charged then I only have myself to blame, I'd be annoyed with myself but I'd learn from it and move on and watch my usage in future :)

Have I got sour grapes? furkin right I do. Am I gonna lie down and take a whoopin? I might not have any choice, these are big thugs. Like you and Nody the court might think the contract is justice done.

So rather then take personal responsibility you want to challenge it, fair enough youy are entitled to.

You have two options
    - Small claims court
    - Get a solicitor and got to court....good luck with this option :rolleyes:
    Will I get my money back? Maybe it depends on who I get on the day to deal with the complaint but I wouldn't count on it.
    Will it cost O2 more than the €950 they blagged out of me? You'd wanna belief it will. Just on time alone spent dealing with me directly it'll cost them a lot more than that. The fact that anyone reading this post will steer well clear of them but never would I stop here. I must be watching to much rugby online - you hurt me and I'll hurt you back.

Your belief that people will stay away from O2 is misguided, they most you';ll get O2 to do is perhaps reduce your bill.
    I hope we come accross a few people that are in the same boat, they might help you see the other point of view a bit clearer.
    "This is not America" - Irish Consumers need to pull together and not let themselves be bullied in this fashion by the big sharks. I haven't yet (weekend) got on to the consumer groups but there weight and organisation needs to be used to defend people from this sort of thing.
    Wouldn't you agree?

*if* a company is doing something wrong then consumers have every right to challenge it.

In your case however its equal to a mobile phone company charging you for phone calls you made and then you complain about it.....pointless complaint.

If we stop all generalisations of "he could download x amount or that". And we actually stop to read the post he doesnt download much. Uploads for a website are tiny.

VaPz really?
    He's admitting to streaming rugby online this is not just browsing websites :)

Also O2 charge for "usage" this includes uploads and downloads so it all counts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Completely different kettle of fish. Mobile internet companies are very different than fixed line companies like UPC and are much much stricter on bandwidth allowances. Fact is if you're family really download tonnes as you say UPC probably just haven't charged you rather than you not going over your limit. Personally I can get through 20GB in a week.

TO OP
    This is all on you to be honest, you signed the contract without knowing the complete details and you went over the limit. You haven't a legal leg to stand on.

Your best bet would be to try to come to some arrangement with O2, there have been cases where companies have been very understanding to customers in this situation. They might end up knocking some of the cost off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Ah would you cop on. If they download "loads" you will go over 20GB. 20GB is very little if you download any movies. Maybe they don't enforce a cap and thats a different story.

Just as a matter of interest what NTL package has a cap of 20GB?

I feel sorry for the OP if there is a mistake here but to be honest it's very unlikely for it to happen two months in a row. If there is no mistake then it is not O2's fault or problem. If there is a virus/trojan it is still not O2's problem.

VaPz really?
    He's admitting to streaming rugby online this is not just browsing websites :)

Also O2 charge for "usage" this includes uploads and downloads so it all counts

Im not gonna comment anymore, as we both have our ideas of "home use". And neither of us can be fully right. Only thing we can do is respect others opinions.

Just trying to be a little more active on boards, maybe it doesnt suit me :P

Edit: i assumed i had a 20gb allowance, its unlimited :P. My mistake.

Hi Guys. Sorry about the mad long posts but I'm trying to respond to all a little as best I can.

This could only happen if the OP ordered the O2 Wireless Router in which case if he configured it incorrectly somebody could potentially use his connection.

Given he says he switches the O2 connection to three different laptops this would suggest a dongle instead of a router

Yup working off a dongle. Looks a lot like any other USB memory stick for those that don’t know. (Dongle is an odd word)

mcaul wrote: »
    OP - Maybe your attitude is all wrong on this. No wonder Customer service won't entertain you if your rant here has been anything to go by.
    mcaul wrote: »

For some reason your useage has been exceptionally high - surely your first action to to see why the useage was so high and where the blame for this lies.

At first I thought it was a simple clerical error. No harm done, someone made a typo, it happens, just gimme my few quid back. Only after dealing with Mary the help desk lady that acted with the attitude of a bouncer outside a cheap nightclub “nope you’re not getting in tonight bud” did I start to become frustrated. “I’m right and there’s nothing getting done about it here bud”. We’ve all seen this stone-wall behaviour at some point along our way, heck they even gave it a name “stone walling”. That and the fact that I realised it’s more than a clerical error and they're doing a runner with my money.

OP it might be worth getting in touch with ComReg, and letting the customer service drone know you're doing this should snap them to attention fairly quickly.

They're charging 20 euro per GB over your allowance which is the amount you pay for 10GB and a connection! While it might be common practice it does seem a bit absurd.

Comreg is on the Monday morning calls list along side consumer affairs. I’m not expecting much from either. I mean really how could ComReg let this happen in the first place?!

NoDrama wrote: »
    Lets face it lads, the usage was well over and the cost off this was ridiculously expensive.
    NoDrama wrote: »

And the OP won't be the last person for this to happen.

Regardless off terms and conditions, 950 euro is a ridiculous price for broadband.

That’s more so my point. We shouldn’t let this continue. Anyone of you peeps could be next, maybe not with O2 but if the general practise is allowed to continue then someone else will hit you with it. You might get your money back but why all the stress?

The op did nothing wrong here.
    Thanks for the moral support.

I used 3 mobile broadband on top up for few months. I had the choice of stopping connection once i had met my limit, or keep going and be charged for it.
    Does the o2 system offer a similar option?
    No. And they’re not open and abundantly clear about what happens either.
    (Btw Digiweb slash your connection speed when you go over and deduct your over usage from next month but they don’t bill you or cut you off.)

there's probably some free tool available that monitors traffic going in and out of your PC- this'd be a good place to start.

I’m using next door’s Eircom connection now. The O2 dongle is unplugged now. When my wife next uses skype she’ll use the dongle and we’ll use O2’s records to see what it uses.

Only he, his wife and O2 could decide one way or the other on that.

I wish we did! But even if using Skype and watching rugby does use 38Gb we’re still left with the problem of the price charged.

o2's systems are plaqued with bugs and glitches and numerous billing issues have been reported in the past.
    Oh please go on...? Any examples?

I don't think they can, I could be wrong though, but I thought there were some data protection laws covering this. Your browsing history should tell you as well if it's not deleted. If it wasn't it could be a good place to back up the claim the billing system is wrong..

All of these investigations are a nice idea but how would it pan out? Would I bring my laptop to O2 and say there ya go have a look at the browsing history? I can’t see that happening. It’s a bit more like there word against mine. But I’ll say this, the O2 counter on my PC is a mile off compared to their counter...but they do say mine is NOT for billing purposes!

bosshog you can ask the bank to take back any funds paid for by direct debit you did not authorise.
    you can tell 02 this is what your going to do but explain you'd rather not and would like to agree a fair amount. They may cut you a deal, again be very careful what u say and stick to the facts as the call could be recorded.

Your baby, time of year, foreign visitors etc have nothing got to do with your problem, keep them out of it, it makes you sound a bit crazy.

Don’t think I can instruct the bank to pull back my money because I authorized O2 to take varying amounts each month.

I hope I didn’t come across as (too) crazy in my post. Mentioning the new baby etc was just to provide some context of how even a seasoned computer user can in just one of a million ways be distracted from the little small envelope that is your billing notice. More used in context of the forum among peers. By the way if you don’t open the little yellow envelope, it disappears into oblivion on reboot. They made it so easy to forget about it.

Im quite disappointed that this has turned into a "General" thing. He COULD download x amount. He COULD upload 150gbs worth of stuff. However
    judging by the op ( which is the thread about him and no one else btw ) He hasnt met the criteria of being over 10gb. Were here to talk about HIM being ripped off.This has gone drastically off topic in my eyes. If you dont believe his words, dont post.

However of course, thats just my take on things.

Hey VaPz thanks for the sensitive consideration. My nuts are well kicked in. It’s a nice contrast to words like “laughable” being thrown at me but I just think that’s also a useful primer and nothing compared to what the sharks will do if this gets to a courtroom. I also wouldn’t want to stifle any opinions because people are concerning themselves about being politically correct.
    I could possibly have transferred 38gb – I don’t know what it takes to watch a few rugby matches on Justin.tv. I do upload to my own site zips of upto 500mb but that would be the largest and 4 in a month would be the most.

Right so let’s look at a few facts. I did sign the contract and they’re sticking to it perfectly. But here’s the real problem...

8 bits to a byte, 1024 bytes to a kB, (I can actually count in binary but let’s keep it simple), 1000000 bytes in a megabyte. How many bytes in a Gb anyone? 1000000000 bytes in a gigabyte therefore 10Gb is 10000000000. So if you want to find out how much more you are charged for every Gb over you are you have to multiply 1000000 by .02 and then multiply the answer by 10000.
    Is this right? Could someone check this for me? I want to use it as an argument.

Now if I start off with 10GB = €19.99 then how much will 1 Mb cost me? I just don’t even have to try I can see the 10 from 10GB and I can see the 20 from €19.99 so I know there’s a 2 or a .2 or a .02 in the answer.

So does anyone see the real problem here? Could anyone here realistically be bothered to tell me how much 1 mb would cost? With all them zeros it’s real easy for the decimal point to slip one place now isn’t it?! So anyone see the sucker punch coming yet?.. 2 cents for a megabyte sure isn’t that the same as €20 for 10GB?

That for me lads is the con. And with that shameful white collar blag they want to rob my wages.

Now contract or now contract, justice is fairness. This isn’t fairplay. If a court delivers justice then there is some hope for my fight.
    Honestly I think my best chance for a outcome is to start some fires like this about the place and make them want to shut me up.

Cheers lads for the 2 cents worth.
    (yis all owe me 200 euro worth now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Im not gonna comment anymore, as we both have our ideas of "home use". And neither of us can be fully right. Only thing we can do is respect others opinions.

Agreeing to disagree is at odds with what you have previously said ;)
    Anyone with abit of knowledge about computers knows that 30gb + for 3 months of random browsing cannot be exceeded.
    People will respect your opinion more if you don't imply they know nothing about computers if they disagree with you.