Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O2 Wireless only €950 for 3 months

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

BostonB wrote: »
    So if this is on Rip Off then the issue is soley about pricing.

If its about disputing that he used the data then it should be somewhere else.

Or it could be a combination of the two. What is your point ? You think the thread should be moved ? If so to where ? What purpose would be served for anyone by doing that ?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Morlar wrote: »
    Post reported.

In fairness to Nody, all of the points he made in his post are facts and they are backed up by what the Op has said in numerous posts in this thread.

While the OP "may" not be a troll there actions certainly do come across as troll'ish, again this isn't speculation its based on the facts at hand.

Despite the OP saying he has 15 years of experience and "design websites", when it was suggested he was a troll he then asks what a troll is, your telling me thats not acting the fool for the sake of a reaction?

When told to read up boards rules and use Google (which is a pretty common and justified response) he then comes back with another smart response.

[EDIT] Just saw LFCFan's posts.

Anyway, although people seem to think I'm fully backing O2 on this I';m not, I am however backing them up in respect of the information they supply to their new customers.

In my view was the OP given all the information before signup? Yes he was
    - O2 like any ISP has T&C's for its products its a consumers job to read them and ask questions if they don't understand them
    - The details are given in a quick ref T&C factsheet on the O2 website

In my view should the OP pay the full wack, Technically yes
    - The charges are valid in-line with O2's T&C's and the OP by his own admission failed to read the T&C's I still think if the OP approached O2 in a clam, concise and logical manner he'd likely get some percentage of his fee's refunded back to him as some sort of goodwill gesture. Atleast this would be my belief based on similar situations before I've seen on boards where the customer didn't start shouting at the company and accusing them of illegal activity.
    - I think the OP would be foolish to simply "accept" the full payment but at the same point he'd be extremely foolish to "expect" a full refund as he does have to admit a certain amount of liability based on the statements he's made regarding his usage and not reading the T&C's.

I would imagine O2 like any company may waive certain charges under certain circumstances as a goodwill gesture, the very fact that they have bothered to register on boards.ie and request the OP contact them shows they are interesting in atleast attempting to resolve his issue. This is more then can be said for alot of companys in Ireland :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Bosshogg

Cabaal I'm starting to feel sorry for you at this stage. If you can't see the sarcasim used by me asking "Explain trolling" to you, someone that's clearly out to start a flame war and is not one bit interested in contributing to the thread topic then you're borderline nuts.
    If you've fooled yourself into thinking that you're so smart at persistently taking my words out of context and calling them facts or vice versa then again at best I can feel sorry for you because there are a lot more smarter people here seeing your behaviour. I've tried a couple of times to explain this to you now I feel there's no hope for you. Any further posts persuing this surely must be considered trolling on your behalf.

In Internet slang, a troll is someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum This would apply to you a lot more than I.

You've done your best to destroy this thread for whatever reason. You persistenly try to discredit me for whatever reason. You want the thread locked in spite of everyone else interested. You've become fixated on being disruptive. And telling everyone what is fact and what's right is just foolish arogance.
    You no longer contribute anything to the topic.

When I write "I was on the phone to the O2 helpdesk" and then you write "you're publicly turning down help from O2" do you really think you have everyone fooled? I can't help wondering what's your motivation to put so much time and energy into this but don't even bother to answer, I'm just treating anymore posts from you as static noise. Nody you too. O2 record the calls and so do I.

A note back on topic... When I have a bit more time I'll update the thread with another conversation I had with the O2 helpdesk and their refusal to provide me with my usage details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Cabaal wrote: »
    While the OP "may" not be a troll there actions certainly do come across as troll'ish, again this isn't speculation its based on the facts at hand.

At the same time, you "may" not be a complete retard. See how that works ? There are a group of people on here inexplicably giving the OP a hard time and what I find also strange is that the moderators have no issue with this.

What he said was not 'backed up by facts', what he said was ;
    Originally Posted by Nody View Post
    if you are not a troll you're behaving like one .... I can't assume that you are anything but a troll

That is essentially saying 'YOU ARE A TROLL'. Except not using those words in that order. In many forums on here most posters would be banned or at the least infracted for that.

If you did a household survey in Dublin or anywhere in Ireland or even europe of the amount of people who think that €950 for 3 months broadband is a rip off or not my guess is you would get in the region of 95% of consumers would say €950 for 3 months mob broadband is a ripoff. The only people in my view who would disagree would most likely a) own a comms company, b) work for one, have worked for one or have friends who do. Either that or c) for some other reason they are bitter and condescending to potentially less technically-savvy internet users who are getting shafted like that.

Any consumer advocacy group would most likely agree that it is an outrageous amount.

Yet somehow here on a consumer board there are a handful of posters not only disagreeing with that & siding with the comms industry but actively & relentlessly giving the op a hard time ?

...and on a side note to the O2 staff. Hard working people happy to be in a job like any of us. Fellow workers. And may I say they're very good at their job too, you should hear them receit those T&Cs with the clarity of a high court judge. I'm not in anyway holding any of them responsible for what has happened or how they have to deal with this complaint. In fact I feel bad for them having to be in the front line of fire while some fat cat presumably floating around on his super yacht in his favourite tax exile reaps all the rewards. So no bad feelings or animosity there to the O2 peeps.

202Paddy no disrespect but with people goading me, if you can see it from my point of view, it's not hard for me to be suspicious. Don't worry I'll be on the O2 website and I've loads of creative ideas. It's in my favour to have a willing rep from O2 here so I'm gonna validate you ;)

Ok so I was retrying to sign up to the O2 forum. Of course the very first port of call is the T&Cs. So here's the thing...

3. Content
    3.1. Customer shall not submit any Content to the O2 Forum that does not comply with these terms and conditions and/or the General Terms and/or the O2 Forum Guidelines. In addition, and for the avoidance of doubt, the Customer shall not submit to the O2 Forum any Content, which in the absolute and sole discretion of O2 is deemed by O2 to be:-
    3.1.9. relates to the conduct of a business;

I won't even bother with section 4 - Moderation.

So...ehh... I better ask first... Would this thread be allowed over there?

Ah sure let's give it a go anyway - it's a company you can trust.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

I have made some positive comments in this thread, although I am not sure if the OP would agree. I am confused as to what the OP is looking for from O2?

Having read the thread, I think it is a combination of some of the following:

1) O2 give you a full refund.
    2) O2 give you a partial refund.
    3) O2 pay him compensation of some sort for the cheating him out of money.
    4) O2 give you an apology.
    5) O2 change their advertising material so that they state the GIGABYTE price rather than MEGABYTE price for excess usage.
    6) O2 supply a customer service person to open the OPs mail (this last one is a joke).

Can you please let me know which of these, and any other outcomes that you are looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭nordiestar

Unless my eyes are playing tricks on me, NB: (their not) I am astonished to read through this post and find some people actually supporting o2, but more astonished that a so-called "impartial" moderator is totally abusing the op, in fact almost bullying, and trying to belittle him.

The fact that the op did or did not fully read the small print does NOT justify the overcharges that had been applied to the account.

This thread was posted under the category of RIP OFF IRELAND. Someone getting a bill for almost €1000 for only 3 months MOBILE broadband, (Not even fibre optic/ 16788899 mbs speed is a RIP OFF!

Anyone not in agreement that these prices charged by o2 are fair, must wipe their bottoms with €50 notes!!!! Either that or their just dam right petty, and argumental.

Rant over, prob get banned, but their is actually steam errupting from my ears here!

randomer wrote: »
    I have made some positive comments in this thread, although I am not sure if the OP would agree. I am confused as to what the OP is looking for from O2?

Having read the thread, I think it is a combination of some of the following:

1) O2 give you a full refund.
    2) O2 give you a partial refund.
    3) O2 pay him compensation of some sort for the cheating him out of money.
    4) O2 give you an apology.
    5) O2 change their advertising material so that they state the GIGABYTE price rather than MEGABYTE price for excess usage.
    6) O2 supply a customer service person to open the OPs mail (this last one is a joke).

Can you please let me know which of these, and any other outcomes that you are looking for.

Randomer I agree that your comments are constructive and whether I agree or disagree with your opinions I'm greatful. It's important to me to be challenged by other opinions.

1) No. Refund would have been nice and a quick and easy outcome but fair play isn't on the cards so I'm not looking for that. Never was.

2) I suggested that a fair price be paid but I was stone walled and directed to the T&Cs.

3)Compensation? No. Well not in monetary terms. I'll take kicking them in the balls back though.

4) Won't happen other than "Sorry for ya" from behind a contract.

5) Yes. But this is where we leave the "O2" exclusive arena. I'd like it accross the board. These Comms products are relitively new and these exploits/loopholes as we find them need to be cleaned up. As someone else said "this is standard practise" well we need to change that, hence the Minister for Comms implimenting/refining a law.

6) is open to interpretation, "person" is ambiguous, so I'll reserve my answer until I have a picture, hear her accent and availabilty etc. ;)

7) Let the buyer beware. I don't want anyone getting stung like this again. Not even for 50quid on a bill and that's bound to be happening a lot with today's internet usage.
    What's making my story stand out is that most people won't kick up a storm about a 50 quid over charge therefor you won't likely hear about it and I'm visually the single disgruntled customer.
    If I caught the first €200 invoice I might have taken the hit and just called them dirty fkucers and left it there but the way circumstances played me I'm in for €1000 now. If I had any notion that this could happen to me I would never have took the chance and signed up. I second guessed myself that I did the math wrong and changed €200 for 10GB back to €20 for 10gb to match the bold ad of the company you can trust. Honest mistake that cost me a grand.

8) My favourite. It's a lot like #3 - Hurt them back.

The argument about how the 38gig ran up is a distraction. Somebody suggested for a laugh downloading porn - It's as valid as anything else, If I downloaded 2 years supply of Donkey pron it's irrelevant. Did I leave the PC connected to SkyTV all night long? Did I infact not have the pc on at all for the entire month. I can say my PC is squeaky clean and they can say I'm downloading 10gig a day. The server counter doesn't match mine. The argument can go on forever. I asked for statements and was denied them. That doesn't matter either.

The fact remains that the bill is €1000 for 3 months internet. Nobody would ever expect that in normal domestic use- if it was expected they'd take action and swap over.

Thanks Randomer.

This one slice of arogant ignorance stung a little bit...
    Too busy for this, new baby that - they're just excuses that you didn't bother your barney checking your bills,

Yeah you're right again. I didn't "bother my barney". Being a living nervous wreck while watching my first tiny new born in ICU box is just a pathetic excuse IF THAT REALLY HAPPENED AS I CLAIM and really that little envelope icon from O2 should have been my priority. We all need to take a leaf from DG. Sure lads "life happening" is no issue here when they have a contract, my life should have circled around the O2 contract and constant checking to see if they're gonna slap me one, but hey read the slogan "It's a company you can trust". Do you ever wonder why we have Consumer Associations and protection laws?
    It seems your letting some sort of pride and the feeling of being hard done by get in the way of the fact that there is options open to you. If you stand by your claims of not downloading 38GB then I think you would mad not to at least go and talk to Paddy over on the O2 forum. After all the bickering is done and dusted here on boards you will still be down 900euro.
    I think there's a point of realization after so many stone walls (the posts are long enough without writing about every one) that you're just gonna keep on getting f'd around. As I've previously written I've talked to, and the calls have been recorded for entertainment and recreational purposes, to many O2 helpdesk assitants. I'm not discounting Paddy coming along but he is on the tail end (so far) of a long list of Helpers that I've talked to and reached the same conclusion - the charges are valid.

Hi Nordie.
    I totally understand people getting frustrated. I just want to say that I really hope nobody gets banned or locked out for a while.

The underlying point of the thread is to stop people getting hurt :D

And I think the forum mod is doing a cool job letting people get their feelings accross. Try not let him get caught in the cross fire.

Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

At the same time, you "may" not be a complete retard. See how that works ? There are a group of people on here inexplicably giving the OP a hard time and what I find also strange is that the moderators have no issue with this.

The mods are not here to curtail people's opinion, or tell them what to think. They are however here to make sure people don't call others retards.
    nordiestar wrote: »
    but more astonished that a so-called "impartial" moderator is totally abusing the op, in fact almost bullying, and trying to belittle him.

What mod of the Rip off Ireland forum did this now?
    The fact that the op did or did not fully read the small print does NOT justify the overcharges that had been applied to the account.

This is just going around in circles now. He didn't read what he was signing up to, he didn't check his usage, he didn't stop after the first large bill, he continued to over use, he get's another large bill, he continues to over use, he gets a third large bill and only then wonders why he's getting such large bills. It is quite simply astounding that you think the OP did nothing wrong here.
    This thread was posted under the category of RIP OFF IRELAND. Someone getting a bill for almost €1000 for only 3 months MOBILE broadband, (Not even fibre optic/ 16788899 mbs speed is a RIP OFF!

Everyone knows quite well that this is not a normal bill. It is NOT a bill for 3 months mobile broadband usage. It's a bill for excessive usage, 4 times over his allowed limit. They don't hide the fact that there is a limit, nor do they hide the charges for going over this limit.
    Bosshogg wrote: »
    The fact remains that the bill is €1000 for 3 months internet. Nobody would ever expect that in normal domestic use- if it was expected they'd take action and swap over.

This is your entire problem right there. Your usage was not normal domestic use. You just failed to realise that, and you failed to understand or check what it was you were buying in the first place. This bill is as a result of your choices, the vast majority of other users have no such problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

This one slice of arogant ignorance stung a little bit...

Yeah you're right again. I didn't "bother my barney". Being a living nervous wreck while watching my first tiny new born in ICU box is just a pathetic excuse IF THAT REALLY HAPPENED AS I CLAIM and really that little envelope icon from O2 should have been my priority. We all need to take a leaf from DG. Sure lads "life happening" is no issue here when they have a contract, my life should have circled around the O2 contract and constant checking to see if they're gonna slap me one, but hey read the slogan "It's a company you can trust". Do you ever wonder why we have Consumer Associations and protection laws?

Thanks for proving my point. The fact you knew the mail was there, indicates you were using your computer - so could have checked, but didn't bother. As I stated, the other things going on in your life are merely an excuse looking for pity in my view. I have a young child, and another one coming in the next couple of weeks - I always check my bills.

The fact of the matter is this: are your charges a rip off?

Well, if that was the actual cost of 3 months usage, then yes, but its not. Its the cost of using the service well outside (3 times outside) the terms you agreed to.

As has been stated, if you had approached O2 in a reasonable manner, you may have well received a good will waiver of most of your charges - quite common practice the first time something like this happens.

It happened to me, but upon talking with the ISP in question (actually, mobile provider), they waived the charges and refunded me the full amount. But you can be damn sure I never let it happen again. (I was using my phone as a modem - bad bad bad idea).

So does your blind ignorance and aggresive manner with O2 relinquish you of charges you ran up, and were notified of?? No.

This is not a rip off, O2 don't owe you anything. If they do however end up giving you something back as a goodwill gesture, count yourself lucky, and take it as a lesson learned.

But don't bitch about them charging you appropriately, just because you don't feel the charges are just.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

...The fact that the op did or did not fully read the small print does NOT justify the overcharges that had been applied to the account....!

One things got nothing to do with the other.

Or it could be a combination of the two. What is your point ? You think the thread should be moved ? If so to where ? What purpose would be served for anyone by doing that ?

You tell me then whats the point of this thread. Because I have no idea.

jor el wrote: »

This is just going around in circles now. He didn't read what he was signing up to, he didn't check his usage, he didn't stop after the first large bill, he continued to over use, he get's another large bill, he continues to over use, he gets a third large bill and only then wonders why he's getting such large bills. It is quite simply astounding that you think the OP did nothing wrong here.
    Thanks for your opinion Jor el.
    Just to clear this up; I missed the first bill completely. When the 2nd bill got my attention I became aware of what's happening. The 3rd bill is not in yet but for unbilled usage it's already at €157.

Thanks for proving my point. The fact you knew the mail was there, indicates you were using your computer - so could have checked, but didn't bother.

As has been stated, if you had approached O2 in a reasonable manner, you may have well received a good will waiver of most of your charges - quite common practice the first time something like this happens.

It beggers belief how I proved your point when I wrote so many times that I didnt' see it, further more by default settings it deletes itself after 7 days. Personal reasons included for justification that you clearly don't appreciate. What do I need to say to make that clearer? In fact your first remark is mind numbing at this point in the thread.

"If I had approached O2 in a reasonable manner" Are you suggesting I didn't? As if I needed someone to tell me how to speak to others in the first place. I don't ever take out my problems on customer service. If however the person on customer service is a butthead and clearly just fobbing me off then who wouldn't be antagonized, that's a different story. But just to be clear... I'm nice to customer service. I actually started out thinking it was just a clerical effort with no harm done. Please read the previous posts before making anymore suggestions on what I should do or indirectly refering to my character. Jor el this how the thread starts going round and round, people not reading the thread and me repeating myself.
    It happened to me,

What? You were too busy playing with your bills or what? Contracts! data counters! How is this possible? Shame you never got on to boards.ie and put the rest of in the picture about the damage.

Good luck with the new baby. Don't forget about it when you're concentrating on your bills.

You tell me then whats the point of this thread. Because I have no idea.

Seems to be 2.
    1 To tell others about a rip off. In this case it's O2 but it's a good warning about dealing with all Comms.
    2 To call the OP an idiot for being caught out. (even though it has happened to others)

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭IKOS

Seems to be 2.
    1 To tell others about a rip off. In this case it's O2 but it's a good warning about dealing with all Comms.
    2 To call the OP an idiot for being caught out. (even though it has happened to others)

Hi Bosshogg,

Sorry to hear about your billing issue. Did you happen to get this resolved with O2? I just noticed that a mod from their forum was on here.

Sorry if I am being nosey, just that dealing with the team at O2 on the web are usually very helpful. I always posted there when I was a customer and found the two lads excellent to deal with.

Good luck.

Seems to be 2.

Good to clear that up. As its not mentioned, that kinda indicates you're not interested in suggestions on how to resolve this. You weren't very clear about that in your original comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

If someone knows how to download that amount of stuff in a month (it would have to be torrents or large programs etc) they would know what a MB is.

I concede you're probably right about this. The OP mentioned he liked watching rugby, let's say he watched one 80 minute match per day at 384Kbs. That works out at 6.9GB if I've done my sums right, which leaves 3GB for other downloads. There's obviously an onus on the OP to work out why he downloaded so much to help is case, but it could still be a trojan or virus.

Thats not the point, its how its done with ISP's - and while its not perfect, it is the currently accepted practice for pricing over limit traffic.
    A big problem with arguments like "All ISPs", "this is how it's done", "it is the currently accepted practice" etc, apart from the obvious one, is that whether they're acceptable or not can depend very much on which side of the fence you're on. If you were a Confederate farmer in pre-abolition times, slavery was all of the above, but it wasn't so acceptable if you happened to be a slave. Obviously there're a myriad of differences between this and the OP's case and I'm not suggesting he go William Garrison on their ass, but a 900% penalty is exorbitant and I think getting this reduced a bit would be reasonable.

They advertise the cost - what more can they do? Nearly all of your software will show you usage in MB until you go past the GB limit. This does however assume you generally would not go more than 1GB over limit - as the pricing in MB would be easier to track. Also, they would have to give a pricing of €20 per GB, which would mean having to divide it down to figure out your usage cost. So in one way, this actually benefits the 'average' joe. However, there is no perfect way of doing this.
    I think advertising the excess at 20 Euro per GB would make the consequences of exceeding your limit a lot clearer to "average joe".

Good to clear that up. As its not mentioned, that kinda indicates you're not interested in suggestions on how to resolve this. You weren't very clear about that in your original comment.

Hi BB.
    *Shaking my head* This kinda indicates that you haven't read the other posts.

IKOS wrote: »
    Hi Bosshogg,

Sorry to hear about your billing issue. Did you happen to get this resolved with O2? I just noticed that a mod from their forum was on here.

Sorry if I am being nosey, just that dealing with the team at O2 on the web are usually very helpful. I always posted there when I was a customer and found the two lads excellent to deal with.

Good luck.

Hi IKOS.
    Called O2 help numerous times back and forth. All of them lovely, not all of them bright. Some of them sypathetic and all of them very well versed in the T&Cs.
    So far I haven't been able to get on to the O2 forum. When I do eventually, I'll be so bound by the T&Cs there that I'm sure all of this will be cleaned off their site extra pronto under their moderation clauses. All that aside, I'm sure the people on the O2 forum are lovely too.

Now we're at the registered letter and wait 10 days level.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭IKOS

Hi BB.
    *Shaking my head* This kinda indicates that you haven't read the other posts.

Hi IKOS.
    Called O2 help numerous times back and forth. All of them lovely, not all of them bright. Some of them sypathetic and all of them very well versed in the T&Cs.
    So far I haven't been able to get on to the O2 forum. When I do eventually, I'll be so bound by the T&Cs there that I'm sure all of this will be cleaned off their site extra pronto under their moderation clauses. All that aside, I'm sure the people on the O2 forum are lovely too.

Okay well good luck on your journey.

Its a shame this was not resolved at first level.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Carol_1985

"All of them lovely, not all of them bright. Some of them sypathetic and all of them very well versed in the T&Cs".

How do you know how bright they are. Some would say that signing up for a service without reading t&c's is not very bright.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Seriously?? Exactly what do you plan on claiming for?

People like you make me laugh. You exploit a service, get billed heavily for it, and then claim they shoudln't have charged you so much??

Ha! Good luck with that one!

Have you even tried to work out yet what you were downloading that was sucking up 28GBp/m??

That should be your VERY first objective.

To continue using the service (you state the latest bill is already at €157 for unbilled usage) is just crazy. Would you not just turn it off at this stage?? You're merely rubbing your own nose in it by continually, intentionally, abusing the service.

You;'re responses here are very arrogant, and I see that you're trying to play the dumb card. But that may have worked after the first €500+ bill - 3 months later you're just taking the piss in fairness.

If your first load of bills were normal, what has changed in your browsing habits?

You seriously need to consider ADSL or cable....

thebaldsoprano - I'm not trying to justify it by saying 'all ISP's work it out this way' merely trying to show that its a well known way of calculating usage.

I mean, O2 provide a rough usage calculator right on their broadband site. As for the MB V GB argument. In O2's FAQ, Usage Allowance section:
    With our O2 Clear Broadband price plans you have a 5GB, 7.5GB or 10GB usage limit depending on your plan. Usage is calculated in Megabytes (MB) and Gigabytes (GB) -where 1GB equals 1,024MB. As an example a typical music track is 5MB, and a 2 hour DVD quality film is 1GB. Uploading to the Internet (eg. sending photos and emails) also counts towards your allowance.

I really don''t think they can make it any clearer than that.

They also tell you how you can check your usage - which can be seen on your account section of the site - most ISP's provide NO WAY of knowing your usage, so this actually helps defend O2's position.

OP - blaming T&C's for blocking your claim i.e. doing what they're meant to do, protect O2's services and contracts, and are there and transparent for all to see, is a little far fetched.

You seem a little paranoid that the Terms & Conditions you signed up to might be used against you?? I wonder why that is.....

**Hint - you breeched them.

Hi BB.
    *Shaking my head* This kinda indicates that you haven't read the other posts.....

I asked a straight question, that was your answer. Its not possible to read all your posts on this thread, they are too long. Like a O2 contract. I got tired of reading endless bashing of one thing/person after the next without really discussing how to move forward. Whereas people seem to get sorted on the O2 forum. If I don't get a confirmation email from a site/forum I email the admin. Not that unusual. Email and forum software is not that robust.

http://forums.o2online.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=7197
    http://forums.o2online.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=6004
    http://forums.o2online.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=4370

If your approach is not getting results, perhaps time to rethink how you do it. I'm no fan of how O2 does business, or its dire website, or its charges. (Its not unique in those problems). But at least the guys on the forum seem to take the time to check stuff out properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,211 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

So if this is on Rip Off then the issue is soley about pricing.

I think this thread should close on that note.

BossHog needs 40>50GB of data a month to keep up with his current internet usage. He either cuts his internet usage by 75% or has to find cheaper internet.

If fixed line isn't an option, he needs to look at all the midband providers and see who gives him the best bang for his buck.

No doubt this will happen to someone again, if anything is to be learned is always read the T&C's when entering into a legal contract.

BossHog follow it through with o2, there the only ones who can help you get some money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

I think advertising the excess at 20 Euro per GB would make the consequences of exceeding your limit a lot clearer to "average joe".

No, because then they would charge per GB for over usage. If someone were to g 1MB over the limit, they would be charged the 1GB amount. This would result in a whole different thread about what a rip off it is to be charged 20 euro for 1MB of data.
    So far I haven't been able to get on to the O2 forum. When I do eventually, I'll be so bound by the T&Cs there that I'm sure all of this will be cleaned off their site extra pronto under their moderation clauses.

You're drawing conclusions about something you haven't even used. There are many threads and posts that make disparaging remarks about O2's products and services, that have not been removed, some of them by me. You are making a lot of wrong assumptions in this whole affair, and it doesn't look to me like you even want it to be resolved, choosing instead to have a good rant on any available soap box. You've even been offered help by one of the reps on this thread, and have refused to engage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

OP - I empathise with you. The bill is way over the top. Companies like this should issue you with a warning if you go over the limit. It's very hard to keep track of a cap, especially only 10 gigs. The multimedia rich content today on the internet just uses up bandwidth way too easily and most users aren't aware of it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Ok, I've given it a chance but this thread is going nowhere. Closed!