Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Big Freeze ( Sunday 10th January )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭pp_me129

200motels wrote: »
    Heavy Snow now but not sticking.

Course its sticking, theres already a layer of snow around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Tommo119

Shane Slv wrote: »
    Finally some proper snow !:) This is our first real dose of snow since this "mini ice age" started:D

You can't see it in the photos but it is lightly snowing !
    dsc00891b.jpg

dsc00890b.jpg

dsc00889i.jpg

Lovely pics! Always good to see the snow settling on the branches, proper winter! You just need to go out in the snow now and christen it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

Heavy Snow now but not sticking.

what are the roads like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Snowaddict wrote: »
    Well it's very localised. Go into Mullinavat & up the Hills, there is a copious amount of snowfall. Is it not snowing heavy there?

SA :)

Sleety sh1t, melting everything :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Old Man WInters

GavinH wrote: »
    Ths snowman. okay i now he's not great, but we dont get a lot of practice in Cork. BTW, how does one embed a photo.
    (img)PUT IMAGE URL HERE(/img)

Just change the '( )' brackets to '[ ]' ones instead. Unless you are attaching an image you have not uploaded; I think you do that by clicking on 'Go advanced' and scrolling down a bit below the text box.

Hehe, box. Anywho....

• Registered Users Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Interesting demonstation of distance from sea on the traffic cams :-

Dun Laoghaire

Site0Camera54.jpg

Edmonstown

Site0Camera74.jpg

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭vodafoneproblem

nicnac wrote: »
    Had enough of it here at this point. Hope it all melts so we can get back to trying to hold down our jobs. Don't need the worry of how I will get into work tomorrow.

Now melt to f*ck .... all of it! Melt

I'm with you! I wonder how much business and possibly jobs has been lost through all of this? I hope they extend the sales for another few weeks because I haven't gotten near them. Ok, time to go finish my salt shrine to the God of Thaw. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭pp_me129

homolumo wrote: »
    what are the roads like?

Main Roads Are Slush, Estates Are Covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

dsc00891b.jpg

Great pics Shane, but bejesus that is one steep hill there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 847 ✭✭✭mickger

Trotter wrote: »
    Are you getting the DP from your own station?

Snow on the Dunmore Road in Waterford is the flakey variety and it is starting to stick again. Temp here 0.8. I've no DP measurement facility.

Yeah from my own cheap station nothing fancy;), as you said getting heavier now and starting to stick again after that brief thaw earlier. Temp 1.0c DP 0.0c

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭200motels

homolumo wrote: »
    what are the roads like?
    Not too bad, the main ones are good, it's the roads that are not used that often which are dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

mickger wrote: »
    Yeah from my own cheap station nothing fancy;), as you said getting heavier now and starting to stick again after that brief thaw earlier. Temp 1.0c DP 0.0c

We might be in for a decent covering overnight too so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Couple of hours snow having its effect.

101965.jpg
    101966.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,503 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

The River Shannon is freezing over in parts!:eek:
    1536 The Air Corps has flown in emergency supplies of fodder to animals on farms based on the islands of Lough Ree.

Many large sections of the River Shannon are now covered in thick ice and gardaí are working with the army to get supplies to stockholders in the region.

My grand mother was telling me that she last remembers the river freezing over in the last 40's, I am guessing 47.

Looking at the latest radar i think we are in for a good few hours of this yet

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭nifheorais

101960.jpg
    Where in Galway are you? Light snow in the city and seems to be sticking!:D

pp_me129 wrote: »
    Course its sticking, there's already a layer of snow around.
    Well it's not adding to what's already there, that's what I meant. Anyway enjoy it while it lasts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

A rapid thaw tomorrow night in the south could and pbly will lead to serious flooding

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Timistry

ch750536 wrote: »
    Couple of hours snow having its effect.

101965.jpg
    101966.jpg

:eek: we only have a dusting!

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭GavinH

GavinH wrote: »
    101964.JPGThs snowman. okay i now he's not great, but we dont get a lot of practice in Cork. BTW, how does one embed a photo.

Sorry will resize the next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

hope so, we are the snow capital of Ireland today even if we don't.

mickger wrote: »
    Looking at the latest radar i think we are in for a good few hours of this yet
    Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Anyone agree with me that the radar is completely boll*xed???

Everyone seems to have something thats wrong, I know it hasn't shown anything here all day, and I've had horrible sleety sh!t since midday.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

nifheorais wrote: »
    Where in Galway are you?

The part where it isn't snowing. :mad:

Timistry wrote: »
    :eek: we only have a dusting!

I could have thrown a snowball into Kerry from where I took those pics.

Hopefully.

Looking at this i think so, well hope so anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭anoble66

snowing now in north tipp

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭Defcol

Raining here now. :( Any chance this will turn to snow over the next few hours?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lyn27

had a shower of rain here so everything melting away.... moan

'1458 An iceberg has been spotted 1km northwest of Arranmore Lighthouse in Co Donegal.

It is 40 years since an iceberg was last recorded off the Northwest coast.'

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0110/tracker.html