Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Italia '90: Ireland v England.

• 10-01-2010 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

for anyone that has ESPN classic (now free if you're a UPC customer) this is starting tonight at 9:40pm-just thought id let people know who may have not been born/too young to remember/want to see it again.

it might be 20 yrs on but im gonna find it hard to not shout at the tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

df1985 wrote: »
    it might be 20 yrs on but im gonna find it hard to not shout at the tv.

Spoiler:
    It was a draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

haha i know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

If its the entire match then I'd imagine this will be actually impossible to sit through without falling asleep/slashing your wrists.

The only saving grace is it will be a total and utter vindication for the introduction of the passback rule.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Ah the introduction of the passback rule; a moment when ball-playing defenders became more widely appreciated and Walter Zenga turned into a pumpkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

its extended highlights, lineker just scored, serious amount of empty seats at it?? the way people go on about it i thought half the country had travelled to italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Did you see that tackle by Walker on Houghton in the box?? How the hell was that not a peno!!!!

I don't remember that incident at all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Robbed of a peno.Can see us equalizing though.

C'mon Ireland

We've been fairly positive the last few minutes.

Staunton is playing well, great signing that by Dalglish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,427 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Anyone got the odds on sheedy scoring for Ireland tonight;)

This Eamon Dunphy lad is quite tedious with his inane rantings isn't he lads, doubt he'll ever work for RTE again after this World Cup.

flahavaj wrote: »
    This Eamon Dunphy lad is quite tedious with his inane rantings isn't he lads, doubt he'll ever work for RTE again after this World Cup.

It's great to see you still have a love for the game, Flah. What with Utd being crap and all. Tell me, when was the last time you's won the league? ;)

We've just made it 18 and counting. I reckon we'll have about 25 titles by the end of the decade, unless something disasterous like Dalglish leaving happens!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

I watched some of this the other night via The Van with Colm Meaney. Good film but not as good as The Commitments.

monkey9 wrote: »
    It's great to see you still have a love for the game, Flah. What with Utd being crap and all. Tell me, when was the last time you's won the league? ;)

We've just made it 18 and counting. I reckon we'll have about 25 titles by the end of the decade, unless something disasterous like Dalglish leaving happens!!

This Ferguson fella hasn't a clue in all fairness.

Bring back Big Ron, at least the football was good.:pac:

There's loads of empty seats!!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Can't see Ireland winning a match in this group.

Might stick a load on Ireland to draw the game against Egypt, a dull 0-0 imo, Dunphy will have a field day.

OPENROAD wrote: »

Might stick a load on Ireland to draw the game against Egypt, a dull 0-0 imo, Dunphy will have a field day.

LOL, whatever next, a female president of Ireland?:pac:

Yeah right!! Egypt are sh!te.

Next you'll be telling me we'll have a woman as president!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

This thread is a bit like glimpsing what 1990 would have been like had Boards and the Soccer forum been around.

Liverpool fans are jubilant with another title in the bag, delighting in frequenting the United superthread to gloat over United's latest lowly finish.

United fans are pissed about the "Are United (and Fergie) done? *Haters gonna hate" thread. Boggles' assertion that United will dominate the nineties if they stick with Ferguson is met with ridicule. CHD offers a bet on it.

mink_man has been banned. Well, some things don't change.

McMahon on. He should steady the ship for England!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

stop with the long balls already. The only way you'll score is by keeping it on the deck and passing it.

This thread is a bit like glimpsing what 1990 would have been like had Boards and the Soccer forum been around.

Liverpool fans are jubilant with another title in the bag, delighting in frequenting the United superthread to gloat over United's latest lowly finish.

United fans are pissed about the "Are United (and Fergie) done? *Haters gonna hate" thread. Boggles' assertion that United will dominate the nineties if they stick with Ferguson is met with ridicule. CHD offers a bet on it.

mink_man has been banned. Well, some things don't change.

The paralells are spooky, Just put Liverpool's name on the Utd thread and Utd's name on the Liverpool thread and it's the same

Yeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!!! One all. Sheedy!!! Come on Ireland!!

Pick that out Shilton, you geriatric!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

That's a great strike from Sheedy.

That Paul Gascoigne looks like he might be a good player.

OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE OLE

........ad naseum.

The paralells are spooky, Just put Liverpool's name on the Utd thread and Utd's name on the Liverpool thread and it's the same

Boggles would still be a Liverpool fan though, he'd just be a bit happier.:pac:

It would be a bit of craic actually to have threads based on matches from ESPN and pretend to watch them live. We should do that!!

Of course, i say that cos it gives me the chance to support the league Champions and Utd are just a cup team with a dodgy Scottish manager who the fans want out.

LOL, whatever next, a female president of Ireland?:pac:

no chance.

Though here is a mad prediction for you ,I have a feeling Liverpool are going to enter a crisis , can't see them winning a league title for the next 20 years at least.

It would be a bit of craic actually to have threads based on matches from ESPN and pretend to watch them live. We should do that!!

Of course, i say that cos it gives me the chance to support the league Champions and Utd are just a cup team with a dodgy Scottish manager who the fans want out.

Definitely. I want to see what its like to permanently angry and disappointed.:pac:

Best thread in a while this, someone whould channge the title to ESPN Classics Superthread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,427 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

God when you look back at our team back then we had great quality players, its really no surprse how well we did in those 10 years or so

no chance.

Though here is a mad prediction for you ,I have a feeling Liverpool are going to enter a crisis , can't see them winning a league title for the next 20 years at least.

I'd say Podge and Rodge have a better chance of getting to the Aras than a woman in fairness. Not that they're gonna last much longer either, think that gimmick's kinda run its course.

You know what I love? Big cripsy tewnty pound notes as big as a table cloth. That and big chunky fifty pence pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Great assist from Packie Bonner. And that face he pulled just before hand....psyched the English out so it did ;)

It's a legendary face. I'd say there were kids all over country, pulling that face while kicking the ball out, whether they were playing for clubs or playing three and you're in!!

I know i was!!! :o:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

[1990 Des]

Oirland me hole :rolleyes:

[/1990 Des]

Des wrote: »
    [1990 Des]

Oirland me hole :rolleyes:

[/1990 Des]

Yeah right, Des!! What age were you back then? About twelve or so? Don't tell me you didn't get caught up!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Yeah right, Des!! What age were you back then? About twelve or so? Don't tell me you didn't get caught up!!!!
    He was 40 at least :)

I was coming up to my 11th Birthday, the following November.

I was joking with that post. Of course I watched the World Cup. :)

I actually remember as far back as Euro 88, and my Dad screaming for the Holland offside, and again back to Mexico 86, my Uncle over from London giving out shíte about Maradona.

I also think it's a great idea further up the thread here, we should pick a game/incident from the early 90s or before and re-create it here.

Someone could act as the "press" and release certain aspects of it, as if it's on SSN or something, "official" websites etc, and have everyone commenting as if was happening in real time here. I think it's be a good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

thank God no one saw alan mcloughlin scratching his arse about 5 yards offside for sheedy's goal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

And Forest are the 3rd best team in England. Those were the days alright :)

Des wrote: »
    I also think it's a great idea further up the thread here, we should pick a game/incident from the early 90s or before and re-create it here.

Some good matches coming up this week on ESPN Classics if anyone is interested we could pick one and see how it goes.

http://www.espnclassic.com/tv-guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Defo a handball, defo a peno, 100% a peno. Ireland should be in the WC and win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

And when I click my fingers you will be in the present.

1...2....3... *click*

Defo a handball, defo a peno, 100% a peno. Ireland should be in the WC and win it.
    You can't play this game Gav, you weren't born :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Sr. Pirotecnic

was at the game, made the marathon journey over from Malta in a catamaran with the supporters club, madness, got escorted from port to stadium and back again. don't think the ground was full but there was some heavy rain during the game which meant many fans crowded under cover which made the ground look a bit empty. i suppose it was a poor game (little did we know what awaited us on the sunday vs egypt) but was a huge event for irish football and we got a result too. great celebrations after our goal of course, is my mind playing tricks on me but were there really cops with rifles in amongst the crowd? irish/english numbers were about the same and we certainly gave as food as we got in the singing stakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Them Brits, always living in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

There's loads of empty seats!!! :eek:

People couldn't make it over cause of the snow.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Poor game, but at least we should see a bit more action against Egypt. Like all African teams, they're decent going forward but leaky at the back. Expect a high-scoring encounter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'd give that Quinn fella a start in the next game or so. He's been quality since he joined us and I think he has a goal in him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

stovelid wrote: »
    Them Brits, always living in the past.

Damn right. Would they ever shut up about winning the WC in 66. Its like saying us paddies would be reliving the minutiae detail of the likes of this match over and over again lets say in 20 years time when we will all be living on the moon with our hover bikes and what not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

think they could go all the way...

anyone need a ticket for the next round???

102120.jpg