Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PyRo's Horse Bets.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,516 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

x PyRo wrote: »
    You mean Dancing Tonado, E. If Max was 33/1 I'd have the house and carpet on him to place. :pac:

Yeah I knew I'd made that mistake after I posted it - had to pop out to the shop and couldn't fix it. :)

• Moderators Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Could be worse E, sometimes I forget which horse I'm on mid race, bad signs. :pac:

Cheers for the comments lads, at least I know my methods work on the NH too, which is sweet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Went big on the bomber.

The mistake early on cost him... bad luck.

Such a pity that Our Bomber Harris can't jump. Would love to see him on a flat track now after having that run.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

He ****ed it up at the last, seemed to be cruising:(

3rd :)
    Another good call.... really caught up at the end.

JJ, he didn't feck up the last I don't think but he was cruising relatively speaking. Wouldn't of won anyways, needed to race closer to the pace I'd say, quite surprised he done so well from being held up bordering on last. Great run.

E, cheers. :) 7 bets, 1 win, 4 places with two poor efforts. I'm happy. Back et all to be update now in a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Well done.

+21.2pts for the day.

Over the moon with that and all achieved with just the one winner, 4 places certainly helped and all at relatively good prices including a 40/1, 16/1, 12/1 and an 8/1 place. The potentially excessive staking paid off and a very tidy return because of it. :) Credit to Midnight Chase who ran a stormer, he's a class act.

Bank - 387.36pts (+287.36pts)

Relief, slowly but surely picking it up again and 2 winning days from the last 3, very good winning days too. The tide could be turning, hopefully.

s320x240

Loving the picture. Your fine drawing?

greetings wrote: »
    Loving the picture. Your fine drawing?

Oh God no. It's one of these stupid 'meme' things on the net, I just thought it was quite fitting. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 43,901 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Nice one Pyro..

Put €5 E/W on Dancing Tornado and Mad Max.. €30 profit!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,957 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Cheers for the tips Pyro. I'm off for an Indian now all for free thanks to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Crowie13

Very good day well done Pyro.

Was only on Plan A myself cos I was waiting on ur write ups for the first too and then forgot was playing football early so missed the rest :mad:

Think I might have to retire from football, I'm missing too many of these winners and places on Saturdays :D

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭mickey1979

cheers pyro Dancing Tornedo would have been serious but great anyway

Cheers for the comments lads, it was a long overdue good day! 2 out of 3 have been very profitable not and hopefully it'll be 3 out of 4 after Sunday. Won't have many bets though, tricky day.

2:20 Cheltenham - Manyriverstocross - 2pts @ 6/1 (Ladbrokes)

Well bred 5 year old who is still lightly raced over hurdles having only had 6 starts to date, he was previously very good on the flat, achieving a career high mark of 97. He took to hurdles straight away when scoring in a relatively poor maiden hurdle at Chepstow this time last year, he won by 8 lengths that day after jumping very well throughout on soft ground, which suits perfectly. He'll be getting GS ground here and any little bit of cut should increase his chances significantly. He is trained by Alan King, he had a very poor season last year by his standards and comes here on the back of an impressive start to the new season having readied many first time out winners since the NH got back on track. Whatever was wrong with the stable seems to have been sorted out, if recent form is anything to go by. This change in fortunes may also give us the chance to see Manyriverstocross in a much better light and he seems to be very well handicapped to go close here, he only carries 10st 13lbs too, which is a help. He is most effective on the back of a strong pace and will more than likely get that here in this 19 runner Grade 3 Handicap Hurdle. The only thing he needs to click now is his jumping as he has been a bit dodgy at times but when he gets it right he has a wonderful jump in which he can gain some yardage per jump, he comes out of them in a good rhythm and if he gets into the lead a couple out then he could be hard to peg back. He is built for stamina and the worry is that the extended 2mile trip may be on the sharp side for him but he has a nice turn of foot and on the back of a strong pace we should see it become more stamina sapping contest, rather than an out and out race for the speed merchants. His stamina should also come in handy when they've to go up the hill.

His jockey, Wayne Hutchinson, has said he is working really well at home and should go well. This leads me to believe that he may overcome the 8 month lay off to gain victory here, he has run well on the back of a break before and with the stables form picking up, we could see a new and improved version of Manyriverstocross. 5 year olds are typically the likeliest candidates for victory here and horses carrying under 11st have a favourable record in this Greatwood Handicap Hurdle contest at Cheltenham. There are 8 five year olds here, Menorah and General Miller would be the biggest threats but both are high enough in the weights for my liking and are opposable at their current prices, despite their obvious class. Not many of the other ones catch my eye at all and the Alan King trained 5 year old looks well able to justify his 6/1 price tag. He is 12lbs better off with Get Me Out Of Here for a 7 length defeat back in February, the track wasn't ideal for my selection that day and he looks on much more favourable terms now too, plus King was couldn't buy a winner back there and may just have everything perfect for a turn around in the form here. Wayne Hutchinson is a very capable jockey and form a formidable partnership when riding for King, they've a 14% strike rate and even show a small profit to level stakes from over 600 runners. He's also riding very well of late and gets on well with this fellow having won on board him once from 2 rides. I think Manyriverstocross has a lot going for him here and should run a solid race, hopefully enough to gain victory. He's a best priced 6/1 and I judge him to be a 9/2 shot, not a huge difference but still a value price and much more likely than most of the opposition here, in my opinion. Small enough stakes for this one, it's a tough race but he has enough to go close if getting the bit of luck he didn't get when running last season.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Oh jaysus! I've been on since last Sunday at 9/1...I don't think anything that both of us have backed has won afaik. :eek:

:eek: If I knew you were on.... Ah no. :pac: Records are there to be broken, hopefully he'll break our jinx!

2:55 Cheltenham - Westlin' Winds - 1pt e/w @ 40/1 (Bet365)

Not really sure how 40/1 is available on this progressive 4 year old son of Montjeu. He started his career over hurdles this time last year when scoring by 10 lengths on his debut in a Novices' Hurdle contest at Hereford. He then followed up when scoring by 9 lengths next time out, beating a decent enough type so easily. He likes to race handily and with a bit of luck he could get the lead here but he's equally effective when tracking the leaders. He's also a horse who enjoys ground with some give in it and he should get that here today. This will be his first time stepping up to 2m 5f having previously raced at 2 miles, in some very good races too. He ran in the Grade 1 Triumph Hurdle here at the festival in March, amazingly he was only a 10/1 shot in that company but he ran no sort of race, weakening quite easily when put under pressure. Next time out he ran the 146 rated Escort'men to within 1.5 lengths at Chepstow, he possibly needed that run after over half a year off although he flopped next time out (his last race) when sent off 4/1 in a very competitive handicap, nearly every bit as competitive as this one. He weakened once again quite easily but has bounced back previously and I certainly think he's worth taking a chance on here, especially with 4 places being paid giving him an even better chance of placing at least.

Westlin' Winds will have to find more now upped in trip for the first time, 5 furlongs than anything he has ever faced before but he has stayed on very strongly suggesting a step up in trip would suit, this however looks quite a big step up, not one beyond him if finding more. The ground should be ideal and he will more than likely get a race run to suit. He should also be suited to the tough nature of the track here, despite not running well on his only run here. He's trained out of the Egerton stable, they don't have too many runners nowadays but have been in good form since their charges have returned to the track. They have had a 40/1 winner at Cheltenham before, hopefully lightening can strike twice but I don't think he should be anywhere near that price, he's a 16/1 shot in my book, more than half the price the bookmakers consider him to be. He doesn't leap off the page and it's debatable whether he'll stay or not but at these odds he's worth a small each way punt, it's a big leap of faith but he could run into a place in a race full of horses who could be anything at all.

No more from me for tomorrow, taking it handy as it looks a fecker of a day and I'll try to keep my dough for a bit longer than usual. :pac:

I'll leave on this note..

Midnight-Chase-Cheltenham_2526710.jpg

What a horse!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

2:55 Cheltenham - Westlin' Winds - 1pt e/w @ 40/1 (Bet365)

Not really sure how 40/1 is available on this progressive 4 year old son of Montjeu. He started his career over hurdles this time last year when scoring by 10 lengths on his debut in a Novices' Hurdle contest at Hereford. He then followed up when scoring by 9 lengths next time out, beating a decent enough type so easily. He likes to race handily and with a bit of luck he could get the lead here but he's equally effective when tracking the leaders. He's also a horse who enjoys ground with some give in it and he should get that here today. This will be his first time stepping up to 2m 5f having previously raced at 2 miles, in some very good races too. He ran in the Grade 1 Triumph Hurdle here at the festival in March, amazingly he was only a 10/1 shot in that company but he ran no sort of race, weakening quite easily when put under pressure. Next time out he ran the 146 rated Escort'men to within 1.5 lengths at Chepstow, he possibly needed that run after over half a year off although he flopped next time out (his last race) when sent off 4/1 in a very competitive handicap, nearly every bit as competitive as this one. He weakened once again quite easily but has bounced back previously and I certainly think he's worth taking a chance on here, especially with 4 places being paid giving him an even better chance of placing at least.

Westlin' Winds will have to find more now upped in trip for the first time, 5 furlongs than anything he has ever faced before but he has stayed on very strongly suggesting a step up in trip would suit, this however looks quite a big step up, not one beyond him if finding more. The ground should be ideal and he will more than likely get a race run to suit. He should also be suited to the tough nature of the track here, despite not running well on his only run here. He's trained out of the Egerton stable, they don't have too many runners nowadays but have been in good form since their charges have returned to the track. They have had a 40/1 winner at Cheltenham before, hopefully lightening can strike twice but I don't think he should be anywhere near that price, he's a 16/1 shot in my book, more than half the price the bookmakers consider him to be. He doesn't leap off the page and it's debatable whether he'll stay or not but at these odds he's worth a small each way punt, it's a big leap of faith but he could run into a place in a race full of horses who could be anything at all.

Looks like a non-runner

Westlin Winds doesn't go.I'm liking the look of Manyriverstocross.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭mickey1979

two rivers toomany:D

Pity Westlin' Winds was a non runner, next time he's out I'll be on.

Manyriverstocross traveled like a dream, was the last one off the bridle but didn't have the turn of foot that the two ahead of him do. He hit a flat spot and stayed on gamely again, I'm thinking he could be very interesting over 2m 4f as 2 miles seems too short for him, although the only 2 to beat him contained one class act and another supremely well handicapped horse. He'll come on for the run too so certainly interested to see where they go with him next.

Bank - 385.36pts (+285.36pts)

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Crowie13

Yeah really thought he had it, was trading as low as 5/2 on PP betting in running but like u said he never found enough. Ah well tomorrows another day.

Reasoning to come soon...

4:10 Wolverhampton - Lewyn - 2pts e/w @ 25/1 (Bet365)

Reasoning to come soon...

4:10 Wolverhampton - Lewyn - 2pts e/w @ 25/1 (Bet365)

Not again! :( :pac:

I know, I've just looked at your thread this instance. :(

*Lays off*

Some day man, some fecking day! We'll click soon.

I might have a saver on Lenny Bee (5/1) who ran well against Piscean (7/2) last time. Piscean came around the outside (Lingfield!) so Lenny Bee may be just as well treated but a much better price. Gonna see how the market develops tomorrow. I backed Piscean the race before his double...I want to get him beat badly!