Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PyRo's Horse Bets.

• Moderators Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭x PyRo

3:30 Pontefract - Carrie's Magic - 3pts

Been following this one for a while, She's from the David Barron yard who have had a good season, Ran well last time out in a higher grade when just failing to stay the 6f and has subsequently been dropped back to 5f for the first time since her debut. Philip Makin is on board and has won on her before, He'll know how to get the best out of her and hopefully get the chance to dictate things from the front.Drawn soundly and will love the conditions, Lots of pace in the race and doubtful if she'll get her own way up front but I think she has the pace to win this. David Barron sends her to Pontefract which is interesting, She's the only one he sends there tomorrow and has three others going to Southwell where he does really well and I'm surprised she's not going for a run on the AW. Hopefully she's out to do the job tomorrow, Philip Makin makes the trip to Pontefract for only one ride also, Before going to Southwell for two rides on Barron horses so I doubt he's making either trip for nothing. She'll hopefully be around the 4/1 mark and looks to have solid claims if in the same vain as last time, There's a race in her soon for sure, Hopefully it's tomorrow. Medium sized bet, Would be larger but for Perfect Blossom who looks a big danger at the weights, Improving constantly and the yard have won this for the last two years but not a good betting proposition at likely odds of 2/1 or so. I'll side with the inform Barron stable to get the better of Kevin Ryans filly.

5:30 Pontefract - Nurai - 5pts

Landed a gamble last time out when winning easily over C&D, Barely had to break sweat to win and was eased down near the finish. 6lb penalty now but still looks way ahead of the handicapper. Was dropped to 1m that day for the first time since debut and it done the trick. Showed plenty of speed and ability, Looks like she could have room for a nice bit of improvement and with Franny Norton on board again I suspect she'll be expected to win this race. The trainer doesn't often visit here but the last three (Including this one) have won at the track giving him a 33% strike rate from 9 visits. It's the only one he sends out here tomorrow and she'll give another good account of herself hopefully and looks the likely winner running off a lowly mark of 56. Should prove well ahead of that if in the same vain as her win 8 days ago and I really fancy her to make it two in a row. She's the only ride of the day for Franny and he is 10 from 35 for this trainer giving them an impressive 28% strike rate and a £21 profit to £1 level stakes, Will hopefully be increasing that tomorrow, Hovering around 6/4 on the exchanges at the moment and that price would be nice come morning, I wouldn't be surprised if she went off odds-on. Looks to have a great chance to me, Maximum bet for me. Here's hoping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

i had only 4 wins monday , 33-1, 6-1 ,9-2, 7-2 :D
    to bad i had them in accumulator, so i won zero:(

two more and i had the max payout

Unlucky Argosy, Accy's on Horse Racing are pointless though. Just do singles or you'll never win a thing.

2:15 Wolverhampton - Albero Di Giuda - 2pts

Ran very well last time out coming second when just beaten by a nose, Always goes well around here and looks back to her best after a string of poor performances. Both career wins have come here over C&D and I think she can gain her third victory here. She was given a very good ride by young Billy Cray last time out and he nearly managed to snatch victory but was just beaten by a very warm favorite in a similar contest to this. Up 3lbs for that run but with Cray's 5lb claim she'll be well weighted and in with a serious chance of winning this, It's a very weak race and I think her form is better than any of the rest of them, She loves the track and has a track specialist on board. He has a 20% win rate around here and shows a £52 profit to £1 level stakes when riding here which is brilliant, Although he has had a few high priced winners but no doubt he knows what to do here to get a horse over the line. She'll more than likely have a battle to get the lead here but she's well drawn to do so and if she does I think she'll run the rest of them into the ground. Likely to be around 4/1, In with a very good chance in my opinion but Mr Skipiton looks a big danger, Ran well here a month ago off this mark, Should do better this time around with Jack Mitchell on board but looks high enough at the weights so I'll be having a tentative enough bet on Albero Di Giuda to do me another favour as she has before.

Last one for Wolverhampton, Can't find any others.

2:45 Wolverhampton - Double Carpet - 1pt e/w

Ran very well last time out which came as a surprise as he has been running terribly for a while now but the combination of a falling mark and a good ride by the jockey helped him get second place and possibly could of won it with a bit more luck. Will hopefully be in the same mood today and could go well at a decent price, 5lb claim from Ross Atkinson who got on well with him last time out and if keeping him prominent like that race he should place, Likely to get up near the head of things as there doesn't seem to be much pace in the race and that should stand him in good stead. Prominent horses do well around here and he's soundly drawn also, Only carrying 9stone in weight and has won here in the past. Should go well at likely odds of 8/1 or so. Hopefully he runs like he did last time out, If he does he'll be there or thereabouts come the finish.

Last one for tomorrow, Tomorrow could be wonderful, Or a pure disaster! Feeling confident though. May have another one for Southwell depending on results during the day.

9:10 Southwell - Fuzzy Cat - 2pts

Anytime David Barron goes to Southwell it must be noted, His record around here is unreal. He's the top trainer here by a mile and shows a £200 profit to £1 level stakes, Always worth following his horses blindly when they run here. He has a 19% SR on the AW and with Heslop on board it's 20%. He takes off a useful 5lb claim on this horse and has won on it before. He has been on board her before, Usually giving her very good rides and has won on board also. Her form around here is brilliant despite her being a temperamental sort, It reads 2-1-2-1 which is brilliant. She obviously likes it around here and could put in another bold bid tomorrow off what looks a sound weight to be carrying. Likely to be around 10/1 tomorrow but market support would be significant as Mr. Barron likes to have a flutter, May go back in for more if there's significant support. Tough race to call but with her course form, trainers course form, jockeys course form and the likely hood that she'll get a race run to suit then I can't ignore her claims. Could be a nice price too, Worth a punt, Decent sized bet but nothing too big until I see if she's supported in the market. Good claims regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭stooge

x PyRo wrote: »
    5:30 Pontefract - Nurai - 5pts

...Looks to have a great chance to me, Maximum bet for me. Here's hoping.

NonRunner afaik. Maybe lost the price and pulled it out?

Cheers, God knows why. They were never going to get a price for it anyways so must be for other reasons.

Pontefract:
    11/2 for Sadlers Mark
    9/2 for Carries Magic
    Wolverhampton:
    5/1 for Albero Di Giuda
    7/1 Double Carpet
    Southwell:
    13/2 for Fuzzy Cat

All best odds guaranteed.

2:15 Wolverhampton - Albero Di Giuda - 2pts

Missed the break badly and hadn't a hope. I hate when that happens. No run for the money at all.

3:00 Pontefract - Sadler's Mark - 1pt

Looked the most likely winner at one stage, Looming up alongside the leaders but just couldn't kick on. One to keep an eye on, Spencer gave it a good ride but the horse wasn't good enough in the end.
    2:45 Wolverhampton - Double Carpet - 1pt e/w

Went off way to quick in front, Looked to have a lovely run on the inside but the extra furlong took its toll, Will probably back it next time over 5f at this course.
    3:30 Pontefract - Carrie's Magic - 3pts

Well backed before the off, Didn't get her way up front but was looking in with a chance for a long time, Hit a flat spot and ran on well. Probably found 5f a bit short. Expected a better run tbh.

Poor day so far, Only one hope left in the evening.

Terrible day. All lost, -10pts today. My football bets went well though.

Bank 183.50pts (+83.50pts)

Can't get any worse so here goes nothing!

1:30 Newmarket - Dylanesque - 2pts @ 6/1 (Bet365)

Impressed me with her run last time out when coming back from a 9 month absence to come second just beaten by a head. Philip Robinson was on board for the first time since her impressive maiden win in which she showed alot of speed and fight despite looking out of it at one stage, Things didn't go well for her in the next two races but came back looking as good as ever and could well have the scope for improvement to win this race if running to the ability that I feel is there. Jarvis' yard is in flying form and his 3 year olds usually go well around here when Robinson is on board, They've a 13% combination around here with the 3 year olds. She should go well at a decent price, Well bred with lots of speed and this should be her optimum trip, Looks on a handy enough mark to grab a win soon and carrying 8st 9lbs will hopefully put her bang in the midst of things all going well. Maid In Heaven looks the main danger, Being well backed overnight and likely to be on the scene but is up 9lbs for her most recent win and is carrying alot of weight considering the opposition she faces this time, May prove a bit too much for her to handle but she has plenty of scope for improvement and looks like a potential classy filly, Just can't be having her at 3/1. I don't like the jockey either and she may find at least one too good, Hopefully it's my selection.

2:00 Newmarket - Fireback - 1pt e/w @ 22/1 (Bet365)

I think this fellow could prove to be a bit overpriced and if getting to dictate the pace he could get a place at least, Impressed me back in May over 7f at Lingfield when making all to win a grade 3 handicap by three lengths, Stepped up to 1m next time out but didn't stay the trip, Didn't discredit himself either when only finishing 5l off the eventual winner, Stepped back to 6f now which is a surprise and is probably half the reason that he's such a price but if handling the trip and getting his own way in front he may prove to be massively overpriced. David Probert has been on board for 5 of his 6 rides and knows what to do with him, Probert's a very capable jockey and has a 15% strike rate for this trainer Andrew Balding who has won this race in the past and his horses usually run very well here and 22% of his 3 year olds have won here giving him a big £1 level stakes profit of over £50. The horse seems massively overpriced to me and not without a shout if running to ability, The ground will do him no harm and he might get his own way up front. Horrible race to call but certainly overpriced IMO.

2:35 Newmarket - Soraaya - .5pts @ 16/1 (Bet365)

Not doing much of a write up for this one, Very speculative, But impressed me on debut, Winning well in a 4 runner race, Bred to be a good 2 year old and more to come, This may be a step too far but at 16/1 I'll have a small go. Moore on board could help spur on a bit more improvement and I wouldn't be surprised to see the odds on favorite Memory flop here. Worth taking on with this one IMO.

3:10 Newmarket - Rainfall - .5pts @ 8/1 (Bet365)

Impressive last time out in a Group 3 over 7f, Steps up to a mile here and may be well in with a shout if staying, Which he will. Dettori on board and will hopefully get the most out of her, She could go on to be a very classy type, Has all the speed in the world and looks well able to dig in and battle when needing. Big step up in class here but could well prove overpriced @ 8/1 so I'll have a small bet on her. I like Special Duty but not interested in going in large in such a race, So a small win bet for me.

I think this fellow could prove to be a bit overpriced and if getting to dictate the pace he could get a place at least, Impressed me back in May over 7f at Lingfield when making all to win a grade 3 handicap by three lengths, Stepped up to 1m next time out but didn't stay the trip, Didn't discredit himself either when only finishing 5l off the eventual winner, Stepped back to 6f now which is a surprise and is probably half the reason that he's such a price but if handling the trip and getting his own way in front he may prove to be massively overpriced. David Probert has been on board for 5 of his 6 rides and knows what to do with him, Probert's a very capable jockey and has a 15% strike rate for this trainer Andrew Balding who has won this race in the past and his horses usually run very well here and 22% of his 3 year olds have won here giving him a big £1 level stakes profit of over £50. The horse seems massively overpriced to me and not without a shout if running to ability, The ground will do him no harm and he might get his own way up front. Horrible race to call but certainly overpriced IMO.

Ya lovely feckin' little dancer. YES!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭stooge

Cheers Pyro! I lurk quite often on here and when I saw you tipping this I stuck a 5 e/w bet at 20-1.

It was also tipped on a site I look at a bit:
    http://www.onthenoseinfo.com/today.htm

Great win!

Good stuff Stooge, Crazy price this morning altogether. One of my longest priced winners too I'd say. :D Lovely horse who gives it's all, Probert was class on board too.

Just glad to end my non stop losing run with something that's a decent price, Sick of feckin' losing. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

was looking at your selections last night for today and was going to back it,didnt in the end as horses really aint my style,,kinda sick.:rolleyes:

fair play though,obviously well spotted,back on the saddle so you are.;)

Cheers Coughlan, Nice to get a winner.

Soraaya could of won that. :( Came second, She'll be a classy sort, Keep an eye on her lads. Should of went e/w.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Great call on fireback.

I do not think Sooraya could have won that though, Memory looks special and had to go the long way round too!

only1stevo wrote: »
    Great call on fireback.

I do not think Sooraya could have won that though, Memory looks special and had to go the long way round too!

Cheers mate.

She got hit straight after jumping out of the stalls, Would of taken a bit out of her plus I didn't think Memory would of got there as she looked stuck for room when Soraaya was coming through, Just thought she was going to do it. :D Beaten by the best horse, But Hughes nearly made a huge mistake. Soraaya will be a short price next time out I'd imagine, She impressed me big time on debut, Lots more to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Cheers mate.

She got hit straight after jumping out of the stalls, Would of taken a bit out of her plus I didn't think Memory would of got there as she looked stuck for room when Soraaya was coming through, Just thought she was going to do it. :D Beaten by the best horse, But Hughes nearly made a huge mistake. Soraaya will be a short price next time out I'd imagine, She impressed me big time on debut, Lots more to come.

Ah didnt realise, might have a nibble at your 3.10 shot!

The Will Hill commentator was roaring about it when she came out of the stalls, He was on her I think. :D

Trappy race that 3:10, Not one for big stakes at all. Couldn't rule anyone out in it but that Rainfall looks to have lots of ability and room for improvement. Big step up for her though.

Thought Rainfall was coming to win that at one stage. 1 winner, 2 places and a creditable run by the other one. I'm happy anyways.

+24.5pts today.

Bank 208pts (+108pts)

7:50 Kempton - Ultimate Quest - 3pts @ 13/8 (Bet365)

C&D winner, Ran well last time out but top weight took it's toll. Upped from class 6 to class 5 and as a result will only be carrying 8st 12lbs which is nearly a stone less than last time, Racing against better horses but over 2 miles I certainly don't want to be on anything carrying more than 9 and a half at the most. Can't really see what will beat it, Some awfully exposed horses here and I fancy Ultimate Quest to have more in the locker still, Came back after a two year lay off and form since then reads 3-2-1-3, The last two being over C&D. Blinkers now attached and may spark even more improvement. Lightly raced for a 5 year old with only 12 career starts and has plenty of room for more improvement, Looks a typical Prescott improver and Sanders takes the ride as he has on the last three occasions, He'll know exactly how to get the best out of this fellow and hopefully gain a second career win. He's the only one Prescott sends here this evening and his horses usually go well around here, He has a 14% strike rate with all his horses here although he doesn't visit often, He has a 29% strike rate with his over 4 year old horses which is impressive. (9 from 31) Drawn soundly and clearly enjoys the track, Has a great chance of winning this and I feel 13/8 is value for his chances, The main danger is Sheila's Castle, Who shaped last twice as if it needed further but its AW form is poor, Bar a maiden win so I think I'll avoid that one. Medium sized bet on the Prescott horse who has fairly solid claims in my opinion.

Didn't see the race but no good. Shelia's Castle was 2nd @ 12's.

Bank 205pts (+105pts)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Great selections Pyro, keep it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Hondo75

Great result Pyro..
    Missed race is there any replays out there? Cheers again..

Hondo75 wrote: »
    Great result Pyro..
    Missed race is there any replays out there? Cheers again..

Cheers man, Here's the site to look at.

http://horses.sportinglife.com/Video/Racing/

Go down to near the bottom and click the 2:00 at Newmarket, You can watch the closing stages or the full race. Very impressive from the horse.