Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PyRo's Horse Bets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

got a huge 5.6bf to place , and only put 1/2pt on win :D

• Moderators Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭x PyRo

L'prof wrote: »
    Nicely done, great pick!

Cheers mate, I love spotting potential market movers early. Only backed 5 minutes before the off.

It didn't win so I'm just going to assume Spencer fucked it up? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

good man Pyro

Bet placed at 24th of Sep 2010 10:38 am Total Stake €20.00
    Bet type Single (Each-Way) Tax@Tax free 0
    Number of lines 2 Total stake due €20.00
    Stake per line €10.00 Freebets Redeemed €0.00
    Channel Internet Total amount paid €20.00
    Number of win lines 1
    Number of void lines 0 Returns €72.50

happy enough with that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

x PyRo wrote: »
    It didn't win so I'm just going to assume Spencer fucked it up? :pac:

Too hungover to pay attention to the race. Small bet on the favourite, but that was no good.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Im too hungover to get too animated but nice one again :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

Nice One Again Pyro

Cheers lads, a Dyna Waltz place at least would be nice. Profit assured anyways, not much but slowly does it!

Thanks for the comments, top people.

Lol L'prof. Did I meet you last night?

Dunno, you out in Galway?

Yep actually.

Hit Four Aces afterwards for more punishment?

Dont really play the poker at all except for loose change in the machines. Better stop clogging thread lol.

Better stop clogging thread lol.

2,600+ posts now, I think it's already fairly clogged. :pac:

Dont really play the poker at all except for loose change in the machines. Better stop clogging thread lol.

Nor do I, blackjack and roulette are my drunken pleasures! Yep, very OT. Have to talk about something while we're waiting for the next selection to romp home!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

4th .
    so close,

Nearly placed, ah well. That's life! No excuses for her, she ran a good race.

+1.25pts today.

Bank - 358.64pts (+258.64pts)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Hmm so I did jinx it then

Threw a couple of pound on Hughs pick in the next just for the interest before I go back to bed. Cant even remember what he wrote about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,957 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Hmm so I did jinx it then
    +1.25 PTS. Profits profit. :)

Lots of hours spent going through tomorrow's cards! I'm putting up the selections now as my laptop charger is fecked and I'm not sure if I'll get back to put reasoning to them, but I should do.

Quite a few selections on a brilliant days racing.

1:55 Ascot - Gobama - 1pt e/w @ 22/1 (Coral)

3:40 Ascot - Suruor - 1pt e/w @ 20/1 (StanJames)

5:25 Ascot - Desert Recluse - 1pt e/w @ 14/1 (WillHill)

Now to Haydock.

2:05 Haydock - All Annalena - .5pts e/w @ 25/1 (Bet365)

2:35 Haydock - Becausewecan - 1pt @ 12/1 (VC)

3:10 Haydock - Everymanforhimself - 1pt e/w @ 16/1 (VC)

Nap time..

3:45 Haydock - Cheveton - 3pts @ 6/1 (WillHill)

One for Chester.

3:30 Chester - Arlequin - 1pt e/w @ 12/1 (Bet365)

Total Staked - 15pts

Reasoning to follow, hopefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭whitts

x PyRo wrote: »
    Lots of hours spent going through tomorrow's cards! I'm putting up the selections now as my laptop charger is fecked and I'm not sure if I'll get back to put reasoning to them, but I should do.

Quite a few selections on a brilliant days racing.

Now to Haydock.

3:10 Haydock - Everymanforhimself - 1pt e/w @ 16/1 (VC)

Nap time..

3:45 Haydock - Cheveton - 3pts @ 6/1 (WillHill)

One for Chester.

3:30 Chester - Arlequin - 1pt e/w @ 12/1 (Bet365)

Total Staked - 15pts

Reasoning to follow, hopefully.

are u gonna back every one of these?

I'm not putting them up for the fun of it.

Of course I am.

Highly progressive 3 year old filly who has went from strength to strength this season opening her turf account at Newmarket in May off a mark of 70 and improving so much that she's now rated 90. She should be suited by the large field here and 2 of her 3 career wins have come in relatively large fields. She often pulls hard throughout but with 21 runners declared she should get a nice position in behind and hopefully settle down to run on late as she so often has. She has only got soft ground on one career run and she should of won that when coming second behind First City, who has since placed at Group 3 level on soft ground. My selection was badly hampered that day by the winner who veered badly left to curtail my selections run and I feel she could of got up without getting nudged 100 yards out. Gobama certainly has the ability and speed to outrun her price here and with the big field and soft ground likely to suit she should have everything in her favour here. It should be a truly run race which will play into her hands and although she's stepping up in class I expect she can do enough to grasp it with all fours! The Ascot track should suit her style and if the gaps open at the right times she'll be staying on as well as any.

Seb Sanders is on board today and he knows her well having ridden her on 7 occasions with 2 wins and 2 places. Those two wins came in the 13 and 15 runner fields in which she won both comfortably. When Sanders teams up John Hills he has a good 14% strike rate and this is the only horse that Hills sends up to Ascot today, the stable isn't in good form but the horse is getting ideal conditions today and at 22/1 it's surely worth taking a small chance on. Her Sire, Dr Fong, was a soft ground specialist and even won the St James's Palace Stakes at this course on Good-to-Soft back in '98 and if his highly progressive daughter has taken his soft ground loving genes I expect she'll prove very good with a bit of cut in the ground. This will be her second time experiencing it and with a top jockey on board I'm expecting her to outrun her severely overpriced odds. She's a 10/1 shot in my book so the 22's available seems absolutely huge, assuming the ground stays the way it is. She's worth small each way stakes and although there are some classy animals in the field I wouldn't be surprised to see her power home in first place. 4 places being paid too is a massive plus. Here's hoping for a big run.

Highly progressive 4 year old who enjoyed a very good 2009 when starting off winning off a mark of 75 and ending the season rated 98. He has always struck me as a horse who needs soft ground and from 5 runs with a bit of juice in the ground he has never finished out of the top 3 and won once. A lot of his more impressive runs has come in races that are run very quickly from the off and with many speedy sorts here I'm expecting the combination of softish ground and a good gallop to culminate in a good run for the David Simcock trained Suruor. His galloping style should be ideal for the Ascot course and this will be the first time he should get a bit of cut in the ground at this course. He ran well here in July over C&D when coming 5th of 21 runners on very fast ground and with conditions to suit and a decent draw here today he might just be able to go a few lengths better here today and possibly win, he was only 2 lengths away that day and he ran well next time out on softer ground at Goodwood when finishing 1 length behind Axiom back in 3rd, he was hampered a furlong out and flew near the finish but his race was already run at that stage.

Tom Queally takes the ride today and I find that quite interesting as he doesn't often ride for Simcock. Queally has been riding very well of late and he shows a good profit when riding this course and has an OK strike rate of 10% from 86 rides. He should be ideally suited to Suruor who likes to be held up and I always like backing Tom on a hold up horse. If he gets him settled in behind I'm quite sure that when the gaps appear my selection will have enough gears to make a big challenge at a course that suits him perfectly and on ground that should prove exactly to his wanting. He has a good attitude and rarely puts in a bad run and if getting the run of the race here he should outrun his price tag. I have priced him up as a 10/1 shot and the 20's available are way overpriced.

He is now 14/1 with the bookie I made my selection with earlier and he has shifted in price with many other firms but 20's are still available with Ladbrokes. I expect this will be gone come morning.

Aidan agrees with you on Everymanforhimself. Might make that my banker.

Seriously overpriced for sure, wouldn't know about banker. :pac:

Suruor has a massive chance in my opinion. I've an awful feeling he's the pricewise extra horse for today.

5 places paid, woop! :pac: 20's looking huge now IMO.

The most progressive horse of 2010 by a long shot, started off his season running off a mark of 48 and at his peak reached 92 which is obviously outstanding progression. He has went off the boil a little bit based on his last run but I think he was given a shocking run and never had a chance after being held up a long way off a very quickly run race. He should find things more to suit here and although he's unproven on the ground having never raced on anything worse that Good I had him marked up as a horse who may just appreciate a bit of juice in the ground even though he's fairly effective on the quicker surfaces. There are only 11 runners in the field which is also another thing I consider a positive as I don't think he's suited to fields with quite a lot of horses and the less there are here, the better. He has a lovely cruising speed and that should be ideal for the Ascot track, he ran well over C&D on two occasions both on quicker ground and in tougher races and he receives a 12lb weight allowance for age which means he'll only be carrying 8st 10lbs which is yet another positive.

He has only had 13 career runs so his progression may not be finished yet as he's quite lightly raced and although he has had a busy and fairly tough season I expect one more bold showing from his this year and with the weight allowance and Robert Winston on board I think he could just prove to have very solid claims. When Winston rides for trainer Pat Eddery he has a highly impressive 21% strike rate and a decent profit to level stakes. Desert Recluse seems to have been underestimated by the odds compliers and he's somehow a 14/1 shot, I had him priced as a 5/1 shot. One of us is wrong and I think it could prove to be the bookmakers minions. A 3 year old won this race last year too and there are only 2 in this field, my selection and Atlantic Tiger from the Johnston yard. He's an unknown quantity at this level and trip so I'll be siding with the 3 year old who I think may appreciate the ground here today and should get a run to suit. Small each way stakes in the hope that he rediscovers his mid-season form and takes advantage of the 12lb weight allowance.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Looking at Ascot card earlier and seen Desert Recluse and had a feeling you'd pick him out.;) Great minds think alike so!

4 year old filly who showed some glimpses of ability on her last 2 starts. Placed twice at Listed level in Germany last year just beaten into 2nd place very narrowly and most of her good form has come on a softer surface. She joined this yard this year and made her debut in a Listed event at Goodwood with an official rating of 99. She came stone last and showed little again next time out finishing last once again. Her last two runs on softer ground has hinted she may prove to be coming back to a bit of form and with conditions to suit and 19lbs below here opening mark of 99 she may have a squeak here if running to her form last year. I know little about her trainer but she has a highly impressive 29% strike rate at the course and Dane O'Neill taking the ride is another positive, he has only ridden on 3 occasions for her before and was on this filly last time out when she finished 5 lengths behind Senate. She is dropped back in trip to 1m 2.5 furlongs and that should help as I feel this trip should prove to be around her optimum. All in all she could prove to be a lively outsider with conditions to suit and is worth tiny each way stakes at tasty odds. She's a 16/1 shot in my book based on her run last time out and the 25's look big.

Ran OK off top weight in a class 3 handicap at Ayr last time out when finishing 3rd. He's now 1lb below his last winning mark and loves a bit of cut in the ground and with Haydock currently resembling something like a bog I'm expecting he could have a good chance of plodding his way home from the front. He has had a very busy season without winning but is now 11lbs lower than when in the peak of his powers and I feel that it could all click together some day and he has run OK at the track before as a 2 year old over 6f which is obviously a trip too short for him. He's running 1m 6f today and carries 9st which is always handy at these stamina testing distances and with Greg Fairley on board and no other confirmed front runner I'm expecting a bold bid to make all here. He's trained by the wonderful Mark Johnston who has been in decent form of late, hopefully he'll be expecting Becausewecan to take advantage of the drop in the weights and take victory here. He certainly has everything going for him and although he's up against horses rated far superior to him, he once was every bit as good as these animals and has the ability to prove so once again. Kansai Spirit is obviously a big danger, he's a favourite of mine and has done me good turns in the past couple of months but he's racing off a top weight of 10st here and is totally avoidable at a current price of 3/1. I'm siding with the Johnston horse to come back to form and take this, he's 12/1 at the moment which is too big in my opinion. I wouldn't be surprised to see him backed tomorrow and he was 8/1 in my book.