Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PyRo's Horse Bets.

• Moderators Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭x PyRo

3:10 Haydock - Everymanforhimself - 1pt e/w @ 16/1 (VC)

Looks a very big price considering his efforts last year, he was the model of consistency coming 2nd more often than not but did manage to win off 92 and then again at Lingfield in a decent race. He certainly has ability but for some reason or other just hasn't shown it in 2010. Dropped to nearly his lowest ever handicap mark now which is 84. 16lbs lower than his peak last year, that will certainly help his chances. This should be a lot more suitable and with the extremely talented Cathy Gannon on board he stands every chance of returning to winning ways after his impressive run in the Ayr Bronze Cup last time out when finishing 4th to Cheveton. He showed that he still retains his ability and has now dropped to a winnable mark, he has even been dropped another pound for that run which is madness. Cathy Gannon is a jockey I rate quite highly, she can be gold dust on her day and she hasn't ridden for Kevin Ryan much of late so it's interesting to see her get the leg up today. The stable seem in good knick and although they haven't had a lot of winners of late their horses have been running with a lot of credit. Ryan also had a winner when he visited this track at the start of the month.

Everymanforhimself is tactically versatile and can be ridden prominently or held up, he's versatile on the ground and should be ideally suited by the galloping nature of the Ascot track. The draw is OK, he should be able to get a nice sit in mid division and run on late if he's up to it. The blinkers that were on for his last 3 runs have no been re-replaced with the visor that he usually wear and the combination of that and finding his ability again should see him run a good race here. He looks overpriced on last seasons form and if staying at his usual level that he showed LTO he should run a good race, 4 places paid and certainly worth a small each way bet. 10/1 would be a more realistic price so 16/1 looks very good if he comes on for that run at Ayr last time out. Here's hoping.

3:45 Haydock - Cheveton - 3pts @ 6/1 (WillHill)

Not much I can say about this fellow that I haven't said before when I selected him for the Ayr Bronze Cup, he's upped 7lbs for that win and dropped back in trip but he has everything going for him. He loves this course and has won on both occasions that he has run over C&D. He is a 5f specialist having won 7 times at the distance and has won off 4lbs higher than this mark of 92 and won off 1lb lower over C&D the last time he visited here. The 5lb claim from Dale Swift off-sets that and he gave him a wonderful ride last time out when winning at Ayr and he's great value for his 5lb claim.

Cheveton will be highly suited by the testing ground here and I'm expecting another very big run from him on even more suitable terms than last time out. He strung together a 5 timer in his 4 year old days when getting conditions to suit and I don't think it's inconceivable that he could notch another couple of wins when in this vein of form. He certainly has the ability, he just needs everything to fall right for him and I think it could again here today. He hasn't the best of draws as typically high draws do well here but one of his wins over C&D came from stall 1 and the other when drawn in the middle of 16 runners. He's drawn in the middle again today and with his tactical versatility it could well play into his hands and if he feels no ill effects of his run last Friday I think he'll go very close. He's 7/2 clear favourite in my book and at 6/1 he looks tastily overpriced and should go well.

3:30 Chester - Arlequin - 1pt e/w @ 12/1 (Bet365)

I feel if this fellow gets a clear run he's in with a serious chance, Runs on late and has a brilliant turn of foot. If the gaps appear I think he'll be hard caught, lots of pace in the race and it should suit his style. He hasn't been tested on soft ground before but I always thought he'd be an interesting proposition on this surface and now he gets his chance at a level he usually performs with credit. Silvester De Sousa takes the ride and as you will all know he's a jockey I rate extremely highly and he should be suited perfectly to Arlequin who likes to run on late from the rear. He doesn't often ride for this trainer but from 5 rides he has placed twice. The stable is due a winner having not had one for quite some time and this horse has a race of this nature in him if he runs to his ability. The trainer shows a good profit at this course and has an OK strike rate of 11% with many more placing. I feel the 12/1 is too good to turn down and he was an 8/1 shot in my book and will hopefully run well if handling the ground. He's worth small each way stakes at nice odds and I think he'll eventually go in soon.

I'm sleepy!

There may not be any selections over the coming week as I've to wait for my new laptop charger to arrive. :(

Good luck today folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Breast of duck tomorrow man

I'll be on a few of them i'd say because i cant pick my nose these days lol

• Registered Users Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

x PyRo wrote: »
    3:45 Haydock - Cheveton - 3pts @ 6/1 (WillHill)

Not much I can say about this fellow that I haven't said before when I selected him for the Ayr Bronze Cup, he's upped 7lbs for that win and dropped back in trip but he has everything going for him. He loves this course and has won on both occasions that he has run over C&D. He is a 5f specialist having won 7 times at the distance and has won off 4lbs higher than this mark of 92 and won off 1lb lower over C&D the last time he visited here. The 5lb claim from Dale Swift off-sets that and he gave him a wonderful ride last time out when winning at Ayr and he's great value for his 5lb claim.

Cheveton will be highly suited by the testing ground here and I'm expecting another very big run from him on even more suitable terms than last time out. He strung together a 5 timer in his 4 year old days when getting conditions to suit and I don't think it's inconceivable that he could notch another couple of wins when in this vein of form. He certainly has the ability, he just needs everything to fall right for him and I think it could again here today. He hasn't the best of draws as typically high draws do well here but one of his wins over C&D came from stall 1 and the other when drawn in the middle of 16 runners. He's drawn in the middle again today and with his tactical versatility it could well play into his hands and if he feels no ill effects of his run last Friday I think he'll go very close. He's 7/2 clear favourite in my book and at 6/1 he looks tastily overpriced and should go well.

Sounds good, think I'll take him ew for a good return if he wins!

Best of luck dude, hopefully he does us another favour! :)

Gobama seemed amiss there, Sanders only hit her twice and just quit trying. Odd.

Winner!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

x PyRo wrote: »
    Winner!! :D

BOOW YAW.. SHAME IT WASNT 1PT EW,, BUT WHO CARES!!!
    KEEP EM COMING!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

A fine winner that! Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Philcan

Seriously impressive Pyro...yer the man

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Nice start to the day :p

• Registered Users Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

What can I say! Had it 2f out. Class!

Cheers for the comments lads, free rolling now, God I love when a winner comes early.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

gREAT been in profit with loads more bets in play :D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,901 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Pyro,

You ledge... wished I put more than €2 on him! :(

Ah well, €60 is better than a kick in the face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Incorporating Haj

Cheers Pyro!

basquille wrote: »
    Ah well, €60 is better than a kick in the face!

Damn right it is. :D I'm raging I didn't put on more also as I really thought she had everything to suit. Ah well. :(

Cheers for the message.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭Juwwi

great stuff pyro.

done 28 each way doubles.

could'nt of had a better start just need another with him now :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

no joy in the 2.35 :( still in profit no mater what for today :)

Everymanforhimself ran well for a long time, thought he'd place but just faded.

Really fancy Suruor in the 3:40, only best priced at 14's now but he's a pricewise selection.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Fair play man, which one came in and what price was he? On the phone here, so it's awkward to check.

All Annalena won. The smallest staked selection typically!

Arlequin up next. Fingers crossed.

Edit : Poor, no idea why he tracked the leaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Don't mean to hijack the thread pyro,but got a tip for Faldouf in the 4.05 at Navan,just said I'd post it where people would see it. I've back it each way. Well done on the winner.

Woah, poor Suruor. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Not a good one at all. Still, nice winner earlier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Cheveton does it nicely.

My favourite horse eveeeeeeeeeeeeeer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭Juwwi

phew that was close :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Fair play for sticking with Cheveton...I got burned too many times and weirdly I was at plenty of funerals and missed all the fecking weddings!!