Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help! puppy on heat

Options
  • 11-01-2010 6:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭

Our 7 month old shih tzu has just come on heat. We had planned on having her spayed straight after Christmas as we just didin't want to see the poor little baby have to have her op at Christmas. Can I contact the vet and have it done immediately or do we have to wait? . She is indoors apart from walks so I don;t think there should be a problem with male visitors. Although we have two large female dogs they were spayed before their first heat so I have no experience of this. The american web sites I have read this afternoon talk of soothing music and brushing her to de stress her!!!!! Apart from a few spots of blood there was nothing obvious to me but just wondered if there is something I should be doing.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Starlights

Hiya Maisie
    You will have to wait awhile after she comes out of season before getting her spayed.
    Keep her away from other dogs, try not to take her out for walks, just letting her out in the garden to go toilet and make sure she isnt left unattended in the garden, as visitors will try anything to get into the garden to get to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You will have to wait 3-4 weeks after heat has ended before you can get her spayed. Heat will last 3-4 weeks, but may be shorter or slightly longer.