Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which is the tastier? Tayto or King Crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

only culchies call King crisps Tayto's. Peasants :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Bambi wrote: »
    only culchies call King crisps Tayto's. Peasants :mad:

"Can I have a pack of Tayto's? ..... Not them Tayto's, the King Tayto's!"

<Shudder>

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

King Crisps are the only way to go. King on Brennans bread with a real butter. My mouth is watering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I went to school with a chap who had a quirk concerning crisps. If he was eating a bag of one flavour, say cheese & onion, and you offered him some of your ready salted, he'd take one or two, drop them into his own bag, give it a wee shake and say "Little surprise for later on" and continue eating. His sincerity always made me laugh.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I HATED at birthday parties when the mammy would go out and get the Tayto multipack and pour them all into one bowl. It was always a gamble sticking your hand in there, might get a few smokey bacon ones.

Twee. wrote: »
    might get a few smokey bacon ones.
    They were always my favourite as a child. Gone off them now though.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

King for me by a good way.

And is it just me or is there far less Tayto available now then years ago? You would be lucky to spot Tayto cheese and onion in a shop, nevermind the other flavours that they used to make.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Twee. wrote: »
    I HATED at birthday parties when the mammy would go out and get the Tayto multipack and pour them all into one bowl. It was always a gamble sticking your hand in there, might get a few smokey bacon ones.

I love that! No only cause you don't know what it flavour you'll get but if you stuff a couple in your mouth you get a lovely mixture. Salt and vinegar + smokey bacon is lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Despite the fact that i am a born and bred King man, due to the limitations of the stupid vending machine we have in my office, i have already eaten 2 packets of tayto cheese and onion today. While i will admit they did the trick, i feel strangely like i've cheated on my loving girlfriend with a cheap but tasty whore. I may well need counselling after this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Garage nearest me doesn't have King, anymore, gah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

King are the best. One of the first things I did when I was a kid after coming back from holidays was stop into a shop, get a pack of King (the large ones, not those multipack scrooge size packets), a roll and a bit of butter. Made myself a roll in the car before the drive home, heaven!!!!

King Luxery in the blue packet, or King Pub Crisps are the best Cheese & Onion ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Sam Spuds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Burger Bites! But between King or Tayto? Tayto all the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Never seen salt & vinegar king crisps.....where would one get them?

Their C&O are far nicer than Tatyo's offering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Tawfee

Pacifico wrote: »
    Never seen salt & vinegar king crisps.....where would one get them?

Their C&O are far nicer than Tatyo's offering!

saw them in the spar on Camden street recently, across from the Palace niteclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

King crisps are nicer in small doses, Taytos you can just eat and eat and eat

Taytos FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The_Keeper

Tayto, unless I'm having a few beers, then it's King all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

King cheese & onion are much nicer. Taytos have always been hit and miss. I've opened bags of charred taytos, underflavoured taytos, over-salted taytos and ones with big massive black bits in them. King have always been a better quality of crisp and now I'm peeved that I can't go to the shop to get a bag cos I'm snowed in :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

both truly lovely crisps are on sale in Superquinn

well the 6 pack diet version of them. 2 X bags = €3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

both truly lovely crisps are on sale in Superquinn

well the 6 pack diet version of them. 2 X bags = €3

I love King crisps, but Diet King are rank. I don't eat crisps too often, but if I do I want to know that I'm getting the benefit of all the durty saturated fat.

Tayto are OK, but they can be hit & miss sometimes.

What's the point of diet crisps? Eat the proper crisps, just do the exercise after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

Kiera wrote: »
    Mega meanies.

no, the question asked is which is tastier, tayto or king..not what is the most tasty bag of crisps..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

What's the point of diet crisps? Eat the proper crisps, just do the exercise after.

People will eat anything.

Diet crisps are full of the worst artificial junk and fried in trans fats.

You may save a few calories but you'll just went up a few more notches on the 'now more likely to get Heart Disease or Cancer' list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

How on earth is King winning?! *outrage*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

How on earth is King winning?! *outrage*

King crisps have the "cool" factor.

Tayto are better but are just not 'Rock n Roll' enough.

If you had a Poll of who is the better singer, Mariah Carey or Lily Allen, Lily would walk it.

But we all know Mariah is a queen and has the vocal range of an angel sent from the good lord himself :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

King are nicer on their own but if I have a ham sandwich there's only Tayto going in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

OutlawPete wrote: »
    King crisps have the "cool" factor.

Tayto are better but are just not 'Rock n Roll' enough.

If you had a Poll of who is the better singer, Mariah Carey or Lily Allen, Lily would walk it.

But we all know Mariah is a queen and has the vocal range of an angel sent from the good lord himself :cool:

Ah, I get it now...:confused:

But all the cheapskates I know buy King, surely that's saying something?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Kiera wrote: »
    Mega meanies.

fatty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 BarbieBellex

Tayto salt and vinegar!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

brummytom wrote: »
    Walkers

Walkers Max. Now there's a meaty crisp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Do they still make perri crisps? Haven't had them in years. They get my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

King is massive!! Tayto is rotton! eeeuuhhh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

King really the single pack of Tayto's though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭murphy125

King crisps are way nicer than Tayto:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭RedDragonJack

I'd say king are better than tayto. But both companies seem to have quality control issues while a pack of walker always taste the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Graceland

Definetly King crisps. You can't beat the flavour of them. I even have a packet for tonight, lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

M&S* wrote: »
    King really the single pack of Tayto's though.

Na. they taste different...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

****e... I clicked Tayto by accident.

They've been very bad for years. Using bad spuds or something.

My grandparents used to fill me up with bags of King crisps and them old glass bottles of lucozade in the pub as a kid when I'd be staying with the in the summer hols.

I earned them though... used to round up the "shape an' the cows". Did more running than that lazy-arse so called "sheepdog". He was a right little wanker. Used to run after them when they didn't need rounding at all, then he'd sit on his hole when he was needed.

p.s. I'm not a culch

honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

tayto all the way, 24/7, every day of the week and twice on sunday. even the multipacks are better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Neither, they're both filth ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Abigayle wrote: »
    Neither, they're both filth ;)
    Oohhh :eek::eek:, we gota Walkers fan girl in the thread do we?? :P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Couple of nice tuna/mayo sandwiches & a bag of Kings cheese n onion. Oh and a big mug of tea.:D Feckin heaven.

Oohhh :eek::eek:, we gota Walkers fan girl in the thread do we?? :P:pac:

You absolutely don't ;)

Utter shyte in a packet of crap. Use your head, if its processed its shyte. I love fruit, veg, nuts, and seeds.... we can live on it, and it feels great =P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I love fruit, veg, nuts, and seeds.... we can live on it, and it feels great =P

That's like saying air is great & we can all live on it. Yes, we know that - but that doesn't mean that a drag of a joint in between to break up the goodness & healthiness doesn't taste nice & do the soul a hell of a lot of good to boot.

Nevermind the letting loose element. Afterall, we're humans, not squirrels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

they're both rank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's all about getting the balance right .If your not vegatarian then at least getting an adequate supply of fresh fruit and veg in between the processed stuff is something .It doesn't all have to come out of a tin or a packet but as we are talking crisps I like an odd packet of walkers ,Tayto and Kings when avaiilable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

You absolutely don't ;)

Utter shyte in a packet of crap. Use your head, if its processed its shyte. I love fruit, veg, nuts, and seeds.... we can live on it, and it feels great =P

Yaaawwwwwn! Yeah im sure veg & seeds are very good for you & all but sometimes ya just want a packet of crisps or a burger or a bag of chips or a pint. They taste good.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Thucydides

As far as I know they're made by the same company i.e. Tayto make King?

I used to be a King fan true and true. Though I started eating the

'Handcooked crisps' they sell in M&S and haven't went back since.

King and Tayto seem real greasy in comparison. Not to mention they're

always small and broken.

I tried the 'speciality crisps' in Lidl a while back and they were as good if

not better than the M&S crisps!

Not to mention, they're 1.39€ as oppossed to 2.40€ in M&S

Yeah im sure veg & seeds are very good for you & all but sometimes ya just want a packet of crisps or a burger or a bag of chips or a pint. They taste good.:)
    Throw a packet of crips into a fire, then tell me they are harmless.