Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E-Cigarettes - The original thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Mezamo wrote: »
    Thanks mewso :-) what's the difference between the two atomisers?? One is low resistance , is it any better?

I've only started trying a LR. I don't have any real need of them but the benefit I think is you don't have to draw as hard on them and of course the throat hit is slightly stronger. I haven't used the LR I have for long enough to know if it wicks well enough under the increased heat but the truth for me at the moment is that the standard does me fine.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Nonamigo wrote: »
    Hey lads. Has anyone tried the Joye tobacco liquid from thevapourstore? It says it's the same as the one that comes with 510 starter kit but is it the same as with ego starter kit?
    Also are there any problems bringing e-cig on the plane through customs (or whatever those people that searching through you belongings at the airport called:)) I'm going to carribeans for holidays and want to take my cig with me....

I haven't tried an eGo starter kit but if I was to guess I would say being Joye products that they are the same liquid. It's my current favorite anyway for a simple flavour with a good throat hit and thats even at 16mg as it is from vapour store. Last I looked they were out of 16mg though.

I've been through airports a couple of times now with e-liquid in the see-through liquid bag and battery/atomiser in my carry on with no issues whatsoever. I did keep atomiser unscrewed from the battery just in case it looks more threatening when together :)

I have even taken discreet puffs in-flight. Inhale, hold in and exhale through the nose downwards. Hardly noticeable but I suspect it would be a problem if they did spot it.

In any case for a long holiday I would pack all my stuff in the check-in bag.
    Also I'm not a fan of tobacco liquids that taste like wet ashtrays (dekang) What about the vapourstore's tobacco range? Virginia, marlboro, flue cured... Do they taste like that or more like sweet caramelly stuff etc.? And who manufactures their liquids?

Haven't tried anything other than their Tab and Marl but it's all dekang anyway isn't it. The Joye liquid is the only one from a different manufacturer bar their freedom stuff. I have little time for Dekang anymore so I have never bothered trying the Virginia and so on. The Marl used to be ok and I don't know if it's just me but the last batch I got was terrible and the Tab had gone down hill too so I'm not willing to risk it anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Nonamigo

Thanks sooo much for your answer.
    Looks like joye tobacco is out of stock now even 6mg:(
    I'm a little tired of fruity flavors at the moment and want some tobaccoish flavor. Just i don't want to buy liquid ashtray again:) I've tried dekang's Virginia and it was the worst thing I've ever inhaled. I was hoping thevapourstore's liquids are not dekang:(

Lads any idea on where else I can buy that joye tobacco liquid? Really want to try it in search for an all day vape.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

lr306 atty arrived today, so far.. not enjoying it at all
    not noticing a flavour improvement, and the vapour is pretty harsh. wont write it off just yet, but i'm going back to the tank for the rest of the day. I think maybe the tank has ruined me for all other atomisers.

new ry4 liquid is kinda interesting.. i can imagine it taking a while to get used to the taste but at 12.50 for 30ml i'm going to make sure I god damn enjoy it. With the amount of juice the tank sucks up I need a cheaper alternative to the enjuice flavoured/lovely juices for all day vaping

Lads any idea on where else I can buy that joye tobacco liquid? Really want to try it in search for an all day vape.

http://www.totallywicked-eliquid.co.uk/products/totally-wicked-eliquid/tw-titan-fluid/20ml-tw-titan-fluid-2-product.html

Unfortunately the bad delivery charges go with that but it's the same liquid I think. There has to be a china source that sells it but I'm not aware of it. Janty probably sell the same stuff but I can't be sure.

not noticing a flavour improvement, and the vapour is pretty harsh. wont write it off just yet, but i'm going back to the tank for the rest of the day. I think maybe the tank has ruined me for all other atomisers.
    I like my 306lr a lot. I think it's winning over my tank and 510lr. Same juice that taste just wright on 306 is very sweet on 510lr and tasteless on the tank....
    Vapor is just the same as on the 510lr IMO

hrm, maybe I got a bad atty.. or maybe it just needs time

or maybe i'm just a cranky bastard this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

mewso wrote: »
    Haven't tried anything other than their Tab and Marl but it's all dekang anyway isn't it. The Joye liquid is the only one from a different manufacturer bar their freedom stuff. I have little time for Dekang anymore so I have never bothered trying the Virginia and so on. The Marl used to be ok and I don't know if it's just me but the last batch I got was terrible and the Tab had gone down hill too so I'm not willing to risk it anymore.

i got a selection of Dekang tabaco flavoured juices from heavengifts recently. They all tasted the same to me and they were all ****e.....very disappointed when i tried them....going to stick with non-tobacco ones for the time being i think...

not noticing a flavour improvement, and the vapour is pretty harsh.

Cisco LR306 or standard LR306? The Cisco is great but I don't know about the standard in comparison.

just the standard I think, not too bothered i only got the 306 to try it out to see if the flavour really was that much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

just the standard I think, not too bothered i only got the 306 to try it out to see if the flavour really was that much better.

Sometimes the resistance can be a tad low on LR306s making for a slightly too harsh vape. Using it on the lowest voltage battery you can manage is the best bet. Smaller Ego batteries are probably what you've got to hand that fits the bill. What you want to do is partially charge the battery and not use the atomiser on a fully charged battery. This is because the voltage of a battery varies according to how charged it is. From 3.9V to 3.4V over the battery charge cycle for an Ego battery if I recall correctly.

Other than that, give it a few days and it should smooth out some bit. Sometimes they take a bit of breaking in for some reason. Break it in on partially charged batteries for a few days and see how you get on. Or charge the batteries fully, use a different atomiser for an hour or so and then switch to the 306. It's annoying and a hassle but it can work.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Opit

Remember that every new atty is flooded with some untasty liquid.
    306 LR same like other LR attys must be verrryyy wet all the time.

What's different betwin Cisco 306 and Joye 306??

Opit wrote: »
    Remember that every new atty is flooded with some untasty liquid.
    306 LR same like other LR attys must be verrryyy wet all the time.

What's different betwin Cisco 306 and Joye 306??

Higher quality material resulting in slower heatup for better flavour and supposed longer life but as with all attys pinch of salt and all that. The result though is very good flavour and throat hit.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Ric.ie

So I'm considering buying my 70-year-old mother an e-cigarette kit; after 40 years, it's now impossible that she'll ever quit real cigarettes, and I'm hoping that they might have a positive impact on her health (smoker's cough, sense of smell, appetite suppression etc).

From skimming this thread and looking elsewhere, it seems like the 510 (Joye & Titan are interchangeable names for the same model?) is pretty standard for beginners - while the eGo simply can use a larger battery/atomiser, and USB charger.

However, I'm wary that she'll find some excuse not to try it - i.e. it's too heavy, difficult to draw from, tastes like cack - so is the 510 ideal for someone like her to try?

Also, any recommendations on the best starter pack deal on an Irish or British site? I've browsed 5-6, but I'm finding it hard to decide which ones are best (# of atomisers, manual/automatic batteries, flavours, strength etc). She smokes light cigarettes, but I'm not sure how that transfers over to e-cigarettes - maybe people try a stronger dose of nicotine when first trying e-cigarettes to compensate for the difference?

Ric.ie wrote: »
    So I'm considering buying my 70-year-old mother an e-cigarette kit; after 40 years, it's now impossible that she'll ever quit real cigarettes, and I'm hoping that they might have a positive impact on her health (smoker's cough, sense of smell, appetite suppression etc).

From skimming this thread and looking elsewhere, it seems like the 510 (Joye & Titan are interchangeable names for the same model?) is pretty standard for beginners - while the eGo simply can use a larger battery/atomiser, and USB charger.

However, I'm wary that she'll find some excuse not to try it - i.e. it's too heavy, difficult to draw from, tastes like cack - so is the 510 ideal for someone like her to try?

Also, any recommendations on the best starter pack deal on an Irish or British site? I've browsed 5-6, but I'm finding it hard to decide which ones are best (# of atomisers, manual/automatic batteries, flavours, strength etc). She smokes light cigarettes, but I'm not sure how that transfers over to e-cigarettes - maybe people try a stronger dose of nicotine when first trying e-cigarettes to compensate for the difference?

The only problem with nicotine strength is that it also has a bearing on the throat hit which for many folks is a greater help than the actual nicotine when making the switch. Regardless I would recommend you buy a starter kit that contains cartridges of different strengths. Most probably do but I would email the vendor and ask if it is not stated. Explain why you want them and you will find most vendors very helpful. My favorite site in the UK, Liberty Flights, is selling the 510 pack at £29.99 which aint bad and I would expect them to be very helpful if you email them as they have a good rep. Not forgetting the Vapour Store either. Slightly more expensive but they are very responsive to emails too and the next day delivery is great.

Found this site. honeyvillevapor.com It's in usa. They offer 5ml juices now for 0.30 cents! I've ordered 12 juices, paid 8 euro in total with delivery! They say it's usa/italy made stuff, so no Chinese crap. Hope it's good:)

is my LR306 supposed to get so hot? after only vaping once or twice with it, 2-3 drags.. it's uncomfortably hot.. never noticed that with my lr510's.. a little bit with the tank when the atty wasn't performing as well as it should

The hotness is related to the low resistance. Lower resistance = more heat. Run with a lower voltage battery to get around this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Mezamo

The only problem with nicotine strength is that it also has a bearing on the throat hit which for many folks is a greater help than the actual nicotine when making the switch. Regardless I would recommend you buy a starter kit that contains cartridges of different strengths. Most probably do but I would email the vendor and ask if it is not stated. Explain why you want them and you will find most vendors very helpful. My favorite site in the UK, Liberty Flights, is selling the 510 pack at £29.99 which aint bad and I would expect them to be very helpful if you email them as they have a good rep. Not forgetting the Vapour Store either. Slightly more expensive but they are very responsive to emails too and the next day delivery is great.

I must echo Mewso's comments regarding the vapour store. I had a faulty battery from my ego-t kit. I emailed them and they replaced it straight away, they even sent a stamped addressed envelope to return the faulty one back to them. Its not always soley down to price, service is also important. Fair play to the vapour store +1 on service!

Mezamo wrote: »
    I must echo Mewso's comments regarding the vapour store. I had a faulty battery from my ego-t kit. I emailed them and they replaced it straight away, they even sent a stamped addressed envelope to return the faulty one back to them. Its not always soley down to price, service is also important. Fair play to the vapour store +1 on service!

similar thing happened to my sister when I got her to try e-cigs, I forget exactly what her problem was but she was very impressed with their customer service and it was resolved very quickly.

nesf wrote: »
    The hotness is related to the low resistance. Lower resistance = more heat. Run with a lower voltage battery to get around this.

hrm, i was trying it on an almost dead battery like you suggested but it was still running incredibly hot.. it negatively affected the quality of the flavour in my opinion and I never noticed that with my lr510's. ill just keep plugging away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 sky35

I ordered the silky/silk cut liquid from the best shop and it arrived yesterday. Very disappointed, tastes a bit strange after my joye tobacco juice and little or no vapour from it, I've tried dripping it also and it's no better, so i think it's back to the joye for me. Has anyone else tried it and what have they thought of it?

i'm not a fan of it either...didn't see any difference between silky and congress at all. They taste the same to me...i'd love to try joye tobacco liquid tho...

It's great nonamigo, I'm not an expert, I've only been vaping a month, and ita the only one I've used so far but silky is so c**p in comparison. It's currently out of stock in the vapour store though, ive just mailed them to see when they're expecting it back in

Yeah, this is not the first time I hear good things about Joye tobacco. Makes me wanna try it even more:)
    I was told the vapourstore will have it in stock by next week. So hopefully I'll order some to try:)

Yeah, this is not the first time I hear good things about Joye tobacco. Makes me wanna try it even more:)
    I was told the vapourstore will have it in stock by next week. So hopefully I'll order some to try:)

Hmmm, hope I can drag the bottle I have out till then, not looking forward to trying to vape with silky if it runs out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Found this site. honeyvillevapor.com It's in usa. They offer 5ml juices now for 0.30 cents! I've ordered 12 juices, paid 8 euro in total with delivery! They say it's usa/italy made stuff, so no Chinese crap. Hope it's good:)

Those juices arrive for you yet Nonamigo? Any use?

just got an email from them that it's shipped. will wait and see:)
    some people got their juices already. you can read short reviews here on recent pages

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭wingnut32

Well first month over and Im really enjoying my vaping, a little bit too much methinks. Was on totally wicked last night ready to order some flavours until i came to checkout to look at the £10 shipping charge..has anyone ordered liquids from them? I was interested in the extra stout and green cow..

wingnut32 wrote: »
    Well first month over and Im really enjoying my vaping, a little bit too much methinks. Was on totally wicked last night ready to order some flavours until i came to checkout to look at the £10 shipping charge..has anyone ordered liquids from them? I was interested in the extra stout and green cow..

I've ordered stuff a few times from them. Normally the delivery charge is sufficient to make me go elsewhere for juices etc. EN-Juice is my standard port of call these days for e-juice.

any reccomendations for a really strong flavour, preferably coffee/chocolate from enjuice? I have the coffee supreme premium and i'm really liking it, but with the tank sometimes the flavour isn't very strong. was thinking of going for one of their espresso flavours next

I like their Espresso and their Coffee, Chocolate and Caramel mix. My sense of taste is really poor though due to medical reasons so can't really say whether they're very strongly flavoured. Other people who've tried them on my e-cigs find them lovely though.

Got my new atomizers and some ry4 delivered today. The taste of the atomizer is rank but ill persevere. One thing i did notice is that the ry4 was a different colour an had a pg sticker on the back of it, vg pg mix is the best?? Anyone smoke the pg liquids? Cant really tell what its like because of the new atomizer..

PG is the standard. Unless you went out of your way to buy VG before now thats what you have been vaping all along. The new atomiser taste shouldn't last long.

Interesting, i always thought if it didn't say one way or the other, it was a 50\50 pg\vg mix. Not based on anything, just an idea I got in my head :rolleyes:

PG is the standard. Unless you went out of your way to buy VG before now thats what you have been vaping all along. The new atomiser taste shouldn't last long.

Thanks Mewso.
    Gryzor wrote: »
    Interesting, i always thought if it didn't say one way or the other, it was a 50\50 pg\vg mix. Not based on anything, just an idea I got in my head :rolleyes:

Me too!

just saw this on the beeb...

not sure what type of juice this guy was vaping, or maybe the doc was talking ****e???
    Dr Allcock said that the brand Mr Miller had been using seemed to involve a mixture of nicotine and some oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Yeah I don't like this bit
    There's extensive literature in the medical world on damage to the lungs due to inhaling oil, which looks very similar to his disease,

was just about to post that article!!
    It may be scare-mongering but, coming from the bbc, alot of people will believe it...

Here's another one on the oily side of things...

Gryzor wrote: »
    was just about to post that article!!
    It may be scare-mongering but, coming from the bbc, alot of people will believe it...

Here's another one on the oily side of things...

Well I'm referring to it as scare-mongering for the benefit of people reading this thread. Yes it will have a negative affect but the ECITA are doing good work at jumping on this stuff and getting the right message out. Despite all of this it is a reminder to use reputable liquid suppliers as a sensible precaution and not use oil based supermarket flavourings for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well I'm referring to it as scare-mongering for the benefit of people reading this thread. Yes it will have a negative affect but the ECITA are doing good work at jumping on this stuff and getting the right message out.

Hardly an un-biased source though. The tobacco associations did a great job of jumping on all the 'scaremongering' surrounding cigarettes and tobacco too. I would take anything an organisation who's sole purpose is to make as much money as possible for their members, from their industry, skeptically. They are propaganda merchants. Not just the ECITA specifically, all trade associations, it's their reason d'etre.

strobe wrote: »
    Hardly an un-biased source though.

Hey if there was an alternative source for the media I'd be all for it. For now the person acting on behalf of the ECITA has simply been telling the truth based on facts from what I've seen. She is on UK Vapers and wouldn't get an easy time of it if she didn't.

Has anyone tried the xl clearomizers yet, any experiences?

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Opit

Not yet, but I'll try them soon.

Been looking at these aswell....

Seems to be very mixed reviews on the clearomizers....they appear to be pretty fiddly yokes. From what i've seen the giantomizers are very similar, but with alot less problems

haven't tried either yet though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Beasty.

not yet but intend to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Would this be a good starter purchase for someone quitting a 20 a day habit?

http://www.thevapourstore.ie/joye-ego/joye-ego-starter-kit-510-version-/prod_245.html

Or this

http://www.vapourireland.com/e-cigarette-starter-kits/joye-510-starter-kit/prod_1.html

Or if anyone has any other suggestions I would really appreciate it.

I'm kind of lost where to begin :o

Shulgin wrote: »
    Would this be a good starter purchase for someone quitting a 20 a day habit?

http://www.thevapourstore.ie/joye-ego/joye-ego-starter-kit-510-version-/prod_245.html

Or this

http://www.vapourireland.com/e-cigarette-starter-kits/joye-510-starter-kit/prod_1.html

Or if anyone has any other suggestions I would really appreciate it.

I'm kind of lost where to begin :o

I was the same as yourself a month ago...and picked up the ego tank starter pack....for ease of use and a good introduction to vaping, you can't go far wrong with it....
    You'll get two very solid ego batteries in the kit. That'll allow you to branch off and experiment with different types of atomisers or cartomisers
    Don't forget some juice!!