Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting New People In Waterford

• 12-01-2010 11:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

Hey,
    Hows it going? Bit of a strange one to ask on here but here goes. Ive been living in Waterford since 2003. I was here as a student for 4 years and made many friends, but as some of you can relate to, they tend to mova away after college, and I got a job here. What are the best ways of meeting paople and making new friends in Waterford? I am considering joining the Kingfisher as I like keeping fit etc and am wondering would this be a good 1st step? All suggestions (helpful ones!!) appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Well this forum is a good start..there's always beers and things happening..

facebook might be an idea as well...

What kind of things are you interested in...how old area ya etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Join things would definately be the way to go.

Not sure about how many people you'd meet in the gym mind you, I've always found people keep to themselves, or maybe that is because I don't like talking when exercising so people just don't talk to me - hehehe :rolleyes:

But there are loads of other groups/places you can join as well as the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭AngelinaJolie

What are your interests? The arts and music scene in Waterford is great - go along to a few events (check out local papers to find out what's on) and I guarantee you get chatting to someone!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Ya i'd second sticking around here, we're not a bad bunch and I think the plan is to have a beers/activity every few months. Actually, oce the weather picks up we must organise another one.

I'd also second a social club. If you look in the munster or waterford today i'm sure there a few advertised.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭hellfireie

if ur into fitness why not join the running club or athletics club? tonnes of people in that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭aws

Hi OP, its all depends what your into, do you play soccer? If theres the floodlit league ,its played evenings 5 days a week and theres always teams looking for players or if your only a casual player theres 5 aside being played in all the all weather pitches in the city and its good craic. Actually we play on a Wednesday at 9 your more than welcome to come along if it suits.
    If your into keeping fit i suggest a martial art such as Muay Thai, its great fun and really good for fitness and most of the time your paired off with a different partner each time you train, everyone is sound as a bell and beginners are always welcome. PM me if you want more details.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

ziedth wrote: »
    Ya i'd second sticking around here, we're not a bad bunch and I think the plan is to have a beers/activity every few months. Actually, oce the weather picks up we must organise another one.

Yep, this has already entered my consciousness so expect an update in the next couple of weeks. :D

Are you coming to The Forum this time? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Yep, this has already entered my consciousness so expect an update in the next couple of weeks. :D

Are you coming to The Forum this time? :p
    Jesus i couldnt not go. Anyway, we shouldn't derail this thread completely. So once this bloody weather finally breaks will start organising.

Yeah so Tommy, try to keep active on the Waterford forum and join us for what I believe will be karting and beer, preferably in that order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭tommytoofar

Sound. Yeah. I'm 25 and from Tipp originally like, not poud of it, not ashamed of it either!!! Ah like good music, cars, rallying, football, comedy and just having the craic you know. Cheers for the help lads:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭foxylad

Sound. Yeah. I'm 25 and from Tipp originally like, not poud of it, not ashamed of it either!!! Ah like good music, cars, rallying, football, comedy and just having the craic you know. Cheers for the help lads:)

go on ya Tommy - next time your in Escape - say hi - ill have a pint with ya!

foxylad wrote: »
    go on ya Tommy - next time your in Escape - say hi - ill have a pint with ya!

Sound:) Some nice women in there the last few times we were there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

good spot alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Mr Ed

Same problem, but joining the kingfisher won't really help as most people stick to themselves. I can barely breath let alone talk after a run!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 vitalic

Yeah I moved down here a year and a half ago, joined the Kingfisher but didn't get to know anyone through it. Most of the new people I know in Waterford I met through housemates... are you living on your own or sharing?

Think a support group needs to be set up for us Deise newcomers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

If any of ye new people are near hillview lemme know. Ill drag ye to the ronemore for a few beers most nights of the week :)

vitalic wrote: »
    Yeah I moved down here a year and a half ago, joined the Kingfisher but didn't get to know anyone through it. Most of the new people I know in Waterford I met through housemates... are you living on your own or sharing?

Think a support group needs to be set up for us Deise newcomers ;)

am living with lads i knew from college, doesnt help i know. they aint too pushed about socialising and making new frinds like

• Registered Users Posts: 42 clonna

you can be my friend if u want, haha...:D
    im gonna be a blow in soon enough and know no-one in waterford,
    its gas though isnt it, like i keep getting waves of 'sh#t, i have to make friends', cant remember the last time i purposefully made a friend!

Sound !!!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Maybe we should make a new sticky thread called "Friends Wanted"! People could post in there if they're new in town or just want to meet like minded people to do things with. Even as a Waterford native I still have trouble finding a few people to go for a few drinks with at the weekend. Working shift work doesn't help and as the OP has said a lot of old friends tend to move away after college, get married...etc. There could be a lot of us in the same boat just waiting to meet each other. (This really reminds me of the movie "I Love You Man" where Paul Rudd is desperately looking for friends!)

As for the OP finding new friends I really recommend you join some sort of a club, be it sporting or otherwise, just something that you have an interest in. That way you'll meet people that are into the same thing as you, that's something in common straight away.

I'm in a local Triathlon club if you've an interest in swimming, running or cycling. We have club traning almost every night during the week and race season is coming up so we'll have plenty of events and nights out at the weekend. And don't think we're all fitness freaks. Many of us take the social side of things a lot more seriously than the training side!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

I know there is some rallying activity in the west of the county. Maybe Kilmacthomas or Dungarvan. Sorry I've no more information, but it could be good for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 clonna

haha 'friends wanted' no stence of desperation eh!!??:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8 gemma 1975

Hi everyone my name is gemma im 34 living in waterford and am looking to meet new friends to hang out with . I love soccer running and most sports and i love going to the cinema and hanging out in pubs. I also love travelling unfortunately im not one for going for meals .

If your interested in making new friends please let me know

Gemma :)

gemma 1975 wrote: »
    Hi everyone my name is gemma im 34 living in waterford and am looking to meet new friends to hang out with . I love soccer running and most sports and i love going to the cinema and hanging out in pubs. I also love travelling unfortunately im not one for going for meals .

Hi Gemma,

We have a cinema club from this forum that meets up once a month. There should be a meet before the end of March so if it interests you, you should come along.

Here's the thread. Keep an eye out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I'm so interested I'm almost vibrating here. My hobbies include drugs, sex, arson and rescuing orphans from burning buildings.
    Longshanks@theinterweb.com

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

Gemma1975, just so you know, people who were born in 1975 are either 35 or 36.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 gemma 1975

thanks nkay will do :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

Waterford freemen group meets monthly,
    Discussions around geneology, bank crisis, self
    Improvement, giy,political misrepresentation etc...
    Info
    Facebook.com/waterfordfreemen

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

hhhmmmmmmmmmzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz............

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭deiselack

Hi folks, I'm also looking to meet new people, I'm trying to get away from the pub life, don't get me wrong, I love a few beers or glasses of vino, it's just that's all my friends (male & female) seem to do.

I'm always into trying new things, I like yoga, going to live gigs, recently joing the running down in the RSC, going to the cinema, going for walks, going visiting historical sites round Ireland, reading everything and anything, photography. I tried the photography club in Waterford but there's no one my own age there and I felt a bit out of my depth as I was a complete beginner. Just bought a bike recently too..so I'm trying my hand at anything really..just to meet people but I'm finding it hard.

So...friend available lol but seriously I know there's meet up's on here so..any help/guidance much appreciated or if anyone is in the same boat drop me a line

Thank ya kindly :)