Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Medical & How long have you been waiting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 kates068

Rob6052 wrote: »
    Thanks Kate Ye hopefully can't wait to get started and get into it ....

Ya i'm the same! Only raring to go sure! We might end up in the same intake you'd never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

If you fail medical do you get an opportunity to retest? For eyesight etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

As far as I know, it depends on what grounds you fail it on. If its eyesight they are happy to retest you post laser eye surgery.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 1rishguy

Spare me the lectures BUT Is there any way to fool the medical? Do they look for your past medical records? The reason i ask is that 2 years, whilst in the middle of my ATPLs I found out I had diabeties. Now for the past year my blood sugar levels have been fine, I cant remember the last time I had a low and also I am doing some alternative health treatment and its knocked my blood sugar into place. Apart from flying the other thing I always wanted to do was serve but the money stopped me doing it full time. So do they look for loads of past medical history?

There is no way of fooling it. Just had mine today. They check everything and I mean EVERYTHING!!

Passed Medical today I should have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

1rishguy wrote: »
    Passed Medical today I should have said.

Well done to you :) Almost there now hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭hayzer

How much notice do you get an average between the call for a medical and the actually test?

hayzer wrote: »
    How much notice do you get an average between the call for a medical and the actually test?

A few weeks notice mostly. Some people do receive shorter notice if their have been cancellations though.

Your looking at about a month and a half, thats what I got.

kerry4sam is not wrong either, i am letting you know my experience.

1rishguy wrote: »
    kerry4sam is not wrong either, i am letting you know my experience.

ha! That was quick.

Yeah peoples' circumstances and waiting times vary throughout :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Is this the hearing test? I Google common hearing tests..
    Pure Tone Air Test
    Bone Conduction Test
    Speech Reception Threshold Test
    Speech Discrimination Test
    What are Audiograms?

What constitutes a "good" hearing test?

A complete hearing test consists of the following components:
    Pure Tone Air Conduction test
    Bone Conduction test
    Speech Reception Threshold test and
    Speech Discrimination test.

Pure Tone Air Test

This is when audiologist (hearing specialist) places headphones over your ears and plays different tones. You are told to indicate when you can hear each tone. This test will determine how well you hear at different frequencies. The normal human car can hear tones from 20 to 20,000 cycles per second.

Bone Conduction Test

During the Bone Conduction test an instrument is placed against the mastoid bone, which is just behind your ear. The tester then plays the same tones as you heard during the Pure Tone Air testing. You then indicate when you hear the tones. This test will determine whether your hearing loss is due to outer or middle ear problems, or is related to inner ear nerve damage.

The Speech Reception Threshold is the softest point at which you are able to repeat words correctly 50% of the time. The Speech Reception Threshold test indicates the level of sound you need before you can hear and understand words.

Test words given at normal speech levels indicate how the patient is functioning without hearing aids. In the conventional Speech Discrimination test, the hearing specialist presents 25 to 50 standardised words to you, which you are asked to repeat.

What are Audiograms?

Audiograms are charts used to record the results of some types of hearing test. They show how loud a sound has to be, before a person will hear it (without hearing-aids). Separate audiograms will be completed for the left and right ears. This is because you may have difficulty hearing in one ear (unilateral loss) or in both ears (bilateral loss).

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

Lads am waiting since 2009!!!

Dubbhoy wrote: »
    Lads am waiting since 2009!!!

when last did you make an enquiry?

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

Passed the medical yesterday :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

kerry4sam wrote: »
    when last did you make an enquiry?

about 2 months ago ! they say there something there waiting on to come back for me :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 38 cozzy66

halfback5 wrote: »
    Passed the medical yesterday :D:D:D

Well done!! How long in total were you waiting for the whole process, Did u find the medical to be difficult

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

I applied september 10,
    october 10 I did the written and interview,
    november sent off BR form,
    was due to have my medical in December but had to postpone it due to been caught up with work.

As for the medical itself, while i wouldnt consider it been hard it is very very thorough, they check absolutely everything, i will write up a review of the day later on if you wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭smiley963

halfback5 wrote: »
    I applied september 10,
    october 10 I did the written and interview,
    november sent off BR form,
    was due to have my medical in December but had to postpone it due to been caught up with work.

As for the medical itself, while i wouldnt consider it been hard it is very very thorough, they check absolutely everything, i will write up a review of the day later on if you wish.
    Yea that wud b helpful so we no what to expect If we get called.

smiley963 wrote: »
    Yea that wud b helpful so we no what to expect If we get called.

Mod Note:

You've received that formal warning from me for breaching our forum charter with your use of text-speak. You should be well familiar with our forum charter at this stage smiley963.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 23 atreyugk

Hi guys, I've been looking at this forum for a good 2 years but this is the first post i have posted.

I applied for the GR back in September/October 2010 there was a bit of an issue with my application but after 16 months I was requested to attend a medical on Wednesday, which I passed! It was a long road especially at the start but when input it out of my head it seemed to come around quicker if that makes any sense?! Anyway I'm wondering now how long, on average, does it take to get the call for training? if any of you have experienced this your input would be great thanks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭shaunerz

Hello Everyone :) I'm waiting to be called for the medical myself. Does anyone know of anyone failing on the lung capacity test? I'm a smoker and a bit worried about it :/

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Dan1994

shaunerz wrote: »
    Hello Everyone :) I'm waiting to be called for the medical myself. Does anyone know of anyone failing on the lung capacity test? I'm a smoker and a bit worried about it :/

My mate is a very heavy smoker and he passed it , just give it ur best shot and u shud b grand.

Have you passed your background checks and everything. If so how Long did they take.

Dan1994 wrote: »
    My mate is a very heavy smoker and he passed it , just give it ur best shot and u shud b grand.

Mod Note:

You've received that formal warning from me for breaching our forum charter with your use of text-speak. You should be well familiar with our forum charter and I also issued a warning a few posts up relating to text-speak also Dan1994.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

Dan1994 wrote: »

Thank you... I remember doing one at the hospital when i was younger and thinking it was really hard!! So i'm worrying less now that i know that ;)

Have you passed your background checks and everything. If so how Long did they take.

Hi! Yes. Sent my BR forms off over a year and a half ago!! :/ Long wait! Got an email on the 9th of Dec to fill out another form before i could go to the next stage which is the medical :) Fingers crossed now :P

Wish you good luck I hope my BR checks don't take that long please god.

I'm sure it won't. Me and a friend done the interview together, he is just back from training while i am still waiting on a medical. His family is much bigger than mine, I have none living outside Ireland. It just depends, Good Luck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭robo008

Two and a half years down the road, finally a date for the medical. I wonder is there an intake coming up? Such a long road guys you just got to sit tight and try not to think about it! There were Gardai in my college recently advertising the reserves so, there is light at the end!

robo008 wrote: »
    Two and a half years down the road, finally a date for the medical. I wonder is there an intake coming up? Such a long road guys you just got to sit tight and try not to think about it! There were Gardai in my college recently advertising the reserves so, there is light at the end!
    An intake jus went down last Wednesday, the next one probably be In April or maybe even June. :-)

Hopefully June... College work piles up in April/May, and I wont have much else to do this summer!

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭RosieMarie_91

Got an email about my medical today. :D Made up :cool:

Got an email about my medical today. :D Made up :cool:[/Quote
    Congrats when is it. :-)

19th of April...Good few weeks yet. what stage are you at smiley963??

Got my medical dates today too!

Anyone know what the standard they need for the hearing?

19th of April...Good few weeks yet. what stage are you at smiley963??
    My background checks have commenced about two weeks ago, from your expiernce how long did you wait.

I applied back in October 10. Had my interview in Feb 2011, handed in my BR form, meeting with the super was in Sept 11 and then got my medical coming up :D I've not had to wait as long as some people but i tell ya it felt like forever. Now to start the detox :D

Got my medical dates today too!

Anyone know what the standard they need for the hearing?

Whens your medical??

I applied back in October 10. Had my interview in Feb 2011, handed in my BR form, meeting with the super was in Sept 11 and then got my medical coming up :D I've not had to wait as long as some people but i tell ya it felt like forever. Now to start the detox :D
    Well that's good I started mine may 2011 and had interview with sgt/sup November. How long do your checks take, I no this personal but did any of your family have history with Garda.

Dont really know how long they took, maybe 4 or 5 months. All my family is in England. and nope no history:)

Ah right I see some of mine have. Not all but they all live in Ireland. only petty crime.

Whens your medical??

April 25th!! Need to get working out.

Seems to be a few people getting called for medical. I wonder is this governments answer to all the retirements this month. Instead of recruiting full time members........

April 25th!! Need to get working out.

You and me both. haha

Does anyone know the hearing requirement for the reserves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

For the people asking about the hearing test, I am unsure maybe someone can confirm, but I think this might be what the test may be like..
    Pure Tone Air Test
    Bone Conduction Test
    What are Audiograms?

What constitutes a "good" hearing test?

A complete hearing test consists of the following components:
    Pure Tone Air Conduction test
    Bone Conduction test
    Speech Reception Threshold test and
    Speech Discrimination test.

Pure Tone Air Test

This is when audiologist (hearing specialist) places headphones over your ears and plays different tones. You are told to indicate when you can hear each tone. This test will determine how well you hear at different frequencies. The normal human car can hear tones from 20 to 20,000 cycles per second.

Bone Conduction Test

During the Bone Conduction test an instrument is placed against the mastoid bone, which is just behind your ear. The tester then plays the same tones as you heard during the Pure Tone Air testing. You then indicate when you hear the tones. This test will determine whether your hearing loss is due to outer or middle ear problems, or is related to inner ear nerve damage.

The Speech Reception Threshold is the softest point at which you are able to repeat words correctly 50% of the time. The Speech Reception Threshold test indicates the level of sound you need before you can hear and understand words.

Test words given at normal speech levels indicate how the patient is functioning without hearing aids. In the conventional Speech Discrimination test, the hearing specialist presents 25 to 50 standardised words to you, which you are asked to repeat.

What are Audiograms?

Audiograms are charts used to record the results of some types of hearing test. They show how loud a sound has to be, before a person will hear it (without hearing-aids). Separate audiograms will be completed for the left and right ears. This is because you may have difficulty hearing in one ear (unilateral loss) or in both ears (bilateral loss).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

I think its H1, but someone who's been through the entire process will be able to confirm that.

Passed the medical during the week there,:D hearing test was almost my downfall! Its the headphones test, make sure u clear the wax out! I had a build up that I was unaware of!! Maybe too much info....

robo008 wrote: »
    Passed the medical during the week there,:D hearing test was almost my downfall! Its the headphones test, make sure u clear the wax out! I had a build up that I was unaware of!! Maybe too much info....

Do they check your weight aswell ?