Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical & How long have you been waiting?

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭yenom

Lads, a question about the medical, do ya have to have the laser eye surgery done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭RUNNER 1

They give you time to get it done .

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭yenom

RUNNER 1 wrote: »
    They give you time to get it done .

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Did anyone get a call for a medical lately or what's happening with them.

Haha i wish .

How long have you been waiting?

im just on the background checks myself , but iv been 8 months since my 1st application .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

want2b wrote: »
    Did anyone get a call for a medical lately or what's happening with them.

Hi mate! I have one coming up at the end of November bursting my back side trying to get my BMI down lol! What's your story?

Still waiting to hear back from Background checks so I guess I'm not going to have my medical this time when I didn't hear anything.

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Hi Guys

Does anybody know if they give you much notice for your medical and when do they usually take place i.e. wknd or wk days.

Do they tell you there and then if you pass or fail it?

Usually about two to three weeks notice

The medical officer will tell you there and then that you are fit for duty then it's back to the reception area and inform the receptionist that you have been passed fit

Can anyone help with this question, I can't seem to find an answer anywhere, what is the hearing requirement?

Hi lads I have my medical coming up! Got a medical today
    From the doctor my
    BMi is 28 and I have trouble with my eye
    Sight! Any advice lads
    ?

well they give u a chance to sort out your eye sight . as for the BMI if u are over or under by alot i here you might be failed , thats just what i here.

Cheers mate! Are you allowed wear your glasses for the eyesight test?

No your 100% not allowed wear glasses .

Defective Vision (the vision standard required of a Garda Reserve trainee is not less than 6/18, 6/18 correctable to 6/9,6/12, with normal colour vision).

Hope this helped .

No your 100% not allowed wear glasses .

Defective Vision (the vision standard required of a Garda Reserve trainee is not less than 6/18, 6/18 correctable to 6/9,6/12, with normal colour vision).

Hope this helped .

Cheers for that! I and border line without glasses so I guess it's touch and go! Medical on the 21st! November

Im sure you will be grand .Very best of luck Canyon86.

Thanks mate

going to give it my best shot and work from there,

in the gym and steady diet with weeks so here s hoping,

how is all your end?:D

Ahhhh just over a month in background checks hopin maybe may or june il here sumthin :)

Hi lads I have medical this week :)

Lucky man , hope gos well, and dont worry ul be fine :D

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Hi lads I have medical this week :)

Best of luck, hope all goes good for you, keep us posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Legalstudiesk

Hi everyone just got a notice that I have my medical in January.. Just wondering does anyone know if you pass the medical how long it can take to hear back and start training if you pass??? Thanks :)

how long since u first applied ?:)

• Site Banned Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Raider190

Hi everyone just got a notice that I have my medical in January.. Just wondering does anyone know if you pass the medical how long it can take to hear back and start training if you pass??? Thanks :)

In my case it was two weeks got a call then an email and started training the following week

Raider190 wrote: »
    In my case it was two weeks got a call then an email and started training the following week

Had my medical today and passed people! Delighted with myself!
    Travelled up from limerick this morning for it so worth the trip!
    Good luck to all!

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Had my medical today and passed people! Delighted with myself!
    Travelled up from limerick this morning for it so worth the trip!
    Good luck to all!

Well done,

NICE1 :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Legalstudiesk

how long since u first applied ?:)

Hi i dnt know if this was aimed at me but ill answer anyways haha... first appled in june 2012 had my interview and writen test in december... sent the br forms off in jan and had a meeting with the supper i think after that... (im not yo sure though) but i got the email 2 dats ago sayin my medical is i jan.... since i first applied waitin about a year and a half to get to the medical stage.... hw is everyone getin on??are ye waitin long or have ye had yer medical and hwd ye get on??:)

id say be mid next year before i here anythin