Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transferring Funds Between Banks and General Inefficiency

Options
  • 13-01-2010 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭

Hi, I have had some bad experiences with banks where I have current/ savings accounts.
    It seems, in my opinion, to take an unreasonably lengthy time to complete a financial transaction (online or in-branch) when dealing with different banks here in the ROI.
    I recently transferred a sum of money (online with 24 hour banking) between AIB and Halifax. The sum was very ordinary and not at all significant, but it wasnt until the third working day that it appeared in my Halifax Account.
    On Monday last I performed a similar transaction of a similar size, and although the payee account was immediately debited, my beneficiery account has only just been credited...at approximately 8pm. Again, it is the third working day since the transaction

I raise this with my bank occasionally but each without fail says the other institution is just slow at this kind of thing.
    What is the point of 24 hour banking if it would be quicker walking into branch, withdrawing money, and physically carrying it to the other bank? This is 2010, must it really take so long to complete a transaction?