Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TONIGHT With Vincent Browne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

My marks out of ten:

Michael Martin 8
    Eamonn Gilmore 7
    Enda Kenny 7
    John Gormley 7
    Gerry Adams 6

Nothing significant.. the guys pretty much just recited their mantras.. Martin tried to land a knockout blow on Adams but didnt succeed.. Adams still wishy washy on the economics.. Enda was solid without be commanding, must have been tired after flying back from Germany.. what did the rest of you think?

I thought Gilmore was poor, nothing to suggest he is a potential Taoiseach.(5)

Kenny did OK, which was above expectations. (7)

Martin and Gilmore were reasonable (6 each)

Don't like Adams to be honest so not in a good place to judge (5)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Ah I got McGurk mixed up with McGuirrick - you know the racing pundit fella -now that would have been a good show....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Vic Reeves!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

My marks out of ten:

Michael Martin 8
    Eamonn Gilmore 7
    Enda Kenny 7
    John Gormley 7
    Gerry Adams 6

Nothing significant.. the guys pretty much just recited their mantras.. Martin tried to land a knockout blow on Adams but didnt succeed.. Adams still wishy washy on the economics.. Enda was solid without be commanding, must have been tired after flying back from Germany.. what did the rest of you think?
    naw, thought M Martin came across as panicked. (and not just bec he was beside Gerry)
    sam Smyth pushing FG on rte 2 - all of them are actually. not very convincing

Friday seems a long way away, Vinny.

Get on with tonight, you are starting late already.

Those Calvin kleins made sure enda didn't drop any balls....

deelite wrote: »
    'cept the 'all will suffer' bit. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

deelite wrote: »

They must of been chaffing a bit as he had his hand is his pocket for quite a while.

yer man - the independent candidate comes across very well. who he?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

John McGuirk looks like a cross between Ferris Bueller and Drew Carey and a cube all mashed up in one.

This panel don't want to talk about the debate at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

ArtSmart wrote: »

Yeah I thought that was bizarre... thought more would have been made of that... other than that he did well I thought.. Was a bit slow in reponse to Gilmore a few times, but got there in the end.. given that he flew back from Germany today (and must have been very tired), he didnt make any mistakes.. And that is what was important..

I think from this debate more people would be convinced by Enda as a leader, than would have been before the debate.. though not hugely..

Looks like the "relative poverty contributes to poor health outcomes" discussion is about to be reignited again. Pity he wasn't on when the Baroness was. i'd like to see him agrue his way of it with this guy.

SkidMark wrote: »
    This panel don't want to talk about the debate at all.
    :confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

#vinb said that all the leaders have lovely bottoms :eek:
    I didnt tune in for nicey nicey Vinb

Kathleen looks absolutely out of her head on drugs or something.

McGurk is an excellent speaker - where's he standing?

That_Guy wrote: »
    John McGuirk looks like a cross between Ferris Bueller and Drew Carey and a cube all mashed up in one.
    or a young Vic Reeves.

:confused::confused:

Well, the independent candidate wants to talk about himself, and the other guy wants to talk about long term health care.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Jesus wept :rolleyes:

Yeah I thought that was bizarre... thought more would have been made of that... other than that he did well I thought.. Was a bit slow in reponse to Gilmore a few times, but got there in the end.. given that he flew back from Germany today (and must have been very tired), he didnt make any mistakes.. And that is what was important..

I think from this debate more people would be convinced by Enda as a leader, than would have been before the debate.. though not hugely..

yes, more a 'phew' than a 'whoopee'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

That_Guy wrote: »
    Kathleen looks absolutely out of her head on drugs or something.

She's awful for TV.. Monotone, like a Mother Superior, pontificating.. I dont know why people have Jim Power on anymore.. his credibility as an economist is shot..

I think Vincent is losing his prime guests to RTE when they are in direct competition.. Sam Smyth and Mick Clifford on The Eleventh Hour..

Sardonicat wrote: »
    or a young Vic Reeves.

Don't see Vic in him - see Stephen Fry in him more so.

'testicular fortitude' :D

That sounded like a threat. Reminded me of Goeble's "total war" in the way it was delivered.

Testicular fortitude.... What???

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

McGurk is an excellent speaker - where's he standing?
    Cavan/Monaghan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

I dont know why people have Jim Power on anymore.. his credibility as an economist is shot..

Have you scratched him off your famous list of economists you can trust?biggrin.gif

Crypto fascists. LOL

I know imelda May is giving up her quif for trocaire, but i didn't know she was letting others use it.