Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TONIGHT With Vincent Browne

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

RayM wrote: »
    A gender based quota system, where the onus is on the political parties to seek out more female candidates, based on their abilities (i.e. not selecting them solely because they have ovaries), would inevitably result in a decrease in the number of gobshites and gombeens in the Dáil. I don't get why people are so opposed to the idea.

I fully agree with that. I'm sorry if it came across to you or anybody else that I am against gender equality. I'm not. Political parties should do everything they can to nurture and facilitate all female candidates. My argument is soley aimed at the odd few far lefties who seem to think it would be a good idea to elect any female candidates into the dáil.

And the whole inheriting seats bs doesn't wash either. It's another reason this country is in the toilet. There are far too many people in the dáil who believe it is their right to lead the country, rather than an honour.

A position of, what should be, such high importance should be earned, not awarded - regardless of gender/race/shoe size etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

nummnutts wrote: »
    I don't think I'd go as far as saying that it's sexist - but I'd like to see the reaction to a 'how can men fix the recession' style debate.

Well the ordinary debate on the recession is de facto about how can men fix the recession.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Well the ordinary debate on the recession is de facto about how can men fix the recession.

It's about time ordinary debate was put aside then, because these are no ordinary times.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

It's about time ordinary debate was put aside then, because these are no ordinary times.

While there is a low take up of Women in the Dail, there has been a higher proportion of Women Ministers.

I disagree with forcing political parties to run more Female candidates, in the same way as I would disagree with political parties being forced to run more Male candidates.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

:mad: tut tut tut...

"Morning, Noon-an Night"...

Are you sure? It was never written down anywhere so I beg to differ. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

That was the point of the all female panel...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

That was the point of the all female panel...

The Irony being that TV3 don't think many women can do serious TV leaving most of them to present XposÉ :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Who was the hot girl on tonights discussion panel ?
    The one with the long curled hair sitting closest to VB.

Good Jesus was she sexy !:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Sarah McInerney, Sunday Times..

MCINERNEY_sarah_byline_display.jpg

I prefer Aine Kerr myself.. She was on last nite and looking gorgeous...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭baldbear

A td making excuse for their high wages, well i never.

I'd say that Siobhain wan would have yer head wrekd..

Only half way through it now. Two things I've noticed:

1. So far, lots of "you guys" from VB.

2. "throw up the graph again"

Loving it, O'Cuiv trying to defend the indefensible while the whole time the graph is proving he's talking horsesh*t.

That Siobhan is a headweck alright. :(

telekon wrote: »
    2. "throw up the graph again"

I'm not sure about that graph though Telekon.. they are making out that the only people's financial circumstances who have risen since 1986 (I think it was 1986 anyway, hard to see) were the politician's... they had one set of bars for "average industrial wage" which apparently stayed the same :confused:.. even if they had taken in to account the cost of living this surely couldnt be right. ... and they make out that the situation was the same for those on the right side of the chart.. have we a source for that chart online?

It was 1986. And I'm pretty sure it was adjusted for inflation etc.
    If not the person who went to the bother of producing it for national television should be shot. I'm sure it was legit in fairness.

Mary Louise O'Donnell, Elaine Byrne and Fionnán Sheehan on tonight.. some other lad that I dont know as well. .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Niall Crowley is the other guest. Ex head of the Equality Authority who resigned in a huff a couple of years back when his funding was cut.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1212/equality.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Fionnán is getting annoyed with Vincent's new ideas:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Go away please Fionnan Sheehan you boring, boring, boring person.

I think Elaine Byrne speaks a lot of sense... MLOD is just a drama queen, cant take her seriously...

Fionnán seems to be in bad form.. he's after pissing off Vincent now anyway..

Fionnán is getting annoyed with Vincent's new ideas:D

Vincent sounds like an old hippie in a suit.

With his razor sharp delivery wouldn't Vincent make a great comedian? rolleyes.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

fionnan just tried to ridicule vincents socialist ideals and got owned by vincent before cutting to credits lol-classy flyswatting there vince

Did Vicent say the starhad a story Ireland to play England next June?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Koloman wrote: »
    Vincent sounds like an old hippie in a suit.

Have to say wasn't impressed with him tonight.
    Quite unfocussed with his people power thing.
    I sometimes think he prefers to have a laugh over anything else.

baldbear wrote: »
    Did Vicent say the starhad a story Ireland to play England next June?

At Lansdowne Road. Just don't call it "Aviva" in the presence of Vincent!

Koloman wrote: »
    At Lansdowne Road. Just don't call it that in "Aviva" in the presence of Vincent!

Jaysus i never heard a word! I may get my combat gear ready..

What's the problem? Those English seem like a civilised bunch of lads.

Edit; Forget what I just said! I've just switched on Sky News! eek.gif

Maybe it's part of Vincent's "Drive Out The Foreigners Again" campaign for 2016 to celebrate the centenary..
    I sometimes think he prefers to have a laugh over anything else.

He takes "devil's advocate" to a whole new level... I've seen him on consecutive nights taking completely opposing lines of questioning, with the singular purpose of pissing off / rising his interviewee....

Just wondering where is Niamh Lyons these days.. she used to be a regular on the show but he hasnt had her on in quite a while.. Did he have a row with The Star or something..???

• Registered Users Posts: 8 mademan

i like vicents show very topically and gets to point with his guests

A panel to predict what's in store for 2011.