Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over, around and through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

heffsarmy wrote: »
    Good luck Frank, doing a marathon is bad enough, but doing it with a hernia! Hope it all goes well
    Yeah thanks bud. ill be alright i reckon:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    ill be alright i reckon:)

Great. Best of luck.

1h37m06s
    1h37m05s
    3h14m11s
    No garmin i left it in the hotel:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

1h37m06s
    1h37m05s
    3h14m11s
    No garmin i left it in the hotel:-)

Well one Oisin...great run....enjoy the rest and beverages that follow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Well done on that run man!

thanks lads.
    Went through half in 1h37m06s and finishing time was 3h14m11s so second half was 1h37m05s.
    1h37m06s
    1h37m05s

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭tisnotover

nice going Oisin, well done!!

Only back from blackpool:D

Training and build up
    After my pb of 3h24m in janaury i decided that i would have a go at 3h15 on a flatter course sometime in 2010. I had decided on Edinburgh in may but my training went so well i changed to have a go in Blackpool. Training went excellent with a 21 mile long run at 7.43 average with 11 pmp miles. 3 runes of 15 miles lower than pmp and feeling good. The last week i had a few problems with my stomach and thought it would derail my plans. I arrived in blackpool with the missus on satuday morning and we had a great day over there. I had to restrict the eating because of my stomach but it was ok.

Raceday
    I got up 2 hours before the race. I had put all my gear on a chair so i would forget nothing. I once again could not eat anything in case it upset my stomach. We arrived about 45 mins before the race start. I drank 1 litre of water.
    I have 3 important thing i need for any marathon.
    1. Ipod had been eaten by my dog 3 days earlier.
    2. Fuel belt that i could not wear because it was pressing on my stomach.
    3. Most important my Garmin which without i would be fcked
    I turned to my wife and asked her for my garmin and she looked at me like i had 2 heads.
    Someone up there hates me i thought to myself. No ipod and belt were 1 thing but no garmin was a disaster.
    I decided to run the race handy and not kill myself. Things had gone so bad in preperation, what would go wrong next.
    Race start and i too off at a comfortable pace. Heard a guy tell another runner 6.55 for the first mile. Pull back a little. Heard the same 2 guys share info after 2nd mile. Spot on 14 mins. Still to fast but i felt good. I had a bog standard stopwatch on which i started to use at this point because the faith was returning and i was feeling realy good. I looked at the stopwatch at every mile marker and from what i could gather the next 3 were spot on 7.30.
    Turned back on ourselves going by the pleasure beach and watching the bewildered drunks thinking to themselves wtf is going on. Took a gel at 6 miles at the first water station and exchanged a few words with one of the half marathon runners. i realised at this stage id been in a world of my own for the last 6 miles. We continued down the golden mile back towards the tower and the next 4 miles went by fairly handy and i still had approx 30 secs in hand on my pace and i felt good. I resisted the urge to increase the pace by remembering Dublin 09 were i did this and fell apart at the end. At mile 10 we went past the start point in the oppisite direction into a mildly undulating part of coastline. We mover onto the lower walk way and proceeded back towards the start again and the fininsh for the halfers. Got talking to a chap at halfway which i passed in 1h37m06s. He was runing really erratically by speeding up and slowing down. he done this over the next couple of mile and i was curious what he was doing. He said he was aiming for 3h30m and i informed hi he was miles up on that pace and he replied he needed to bank time because he always fell apart in the last 6 miles. I joked the reason he was falling apart in the last 6 miles was because he was going off to fast. He didnt like this and shot off like a bullet. The next few mile to about 16-17 we returned back down the golden mile towards the pleasure beach and i got talking to a chap called mark. We exchanged names and goal time ect... and he had a lovely garmin. He was feeling rough but i said so was I and we took a bit of strenght from each other. We had great craic and he informed me he wanted to break his father best of 3h24m but also wanted to break 3h15m ideally. We continued on 7.20 pace untill 20 miles and we both felt good and we were passing alot of runners at this stage. We had 3 miles to run on the upper walk way then 3 miles on the lower walk way. My right quad and fingers were killing me. I had taken gels at 11, 16 and 20 miles but was obviously losing to much salt because my fingers were cramping badly.
    I knew i had 6 miles in my at this pace and we continued on. The turn at 23 miles was a welcome site and took on the last of the water.
    The last 3 miles were dead flat and dead straight but the pain in my quad was getting bad. We were maintaining 7.20ish pace but it was getting harder. 24 miles and i started picking off distance by using the life bouys as markers. I saw mark starting to drop back and i turned and told him to dig deep. I said you have as long as you want to relax later and not to give up so close to the finish line. He regainined parity with my and we passed 25 miles. We were both in a bundle at this stage but both knew we were ok to finish. We closed on 26 and i said with a smile "see you at the finish and took off. He follows me and the race is on:D
    Im about 100m from the finishi got a cramp that i run through and i beat him by 3 seconds:D

Aftermath
    Crossed the line in 3h14m11s. Splits were 1h37m06, 1h37m05s. Many hugs were exchanged at the end and i met with a few guys i had ran earlier marathons with. Mark turned to me and said he wouldnt have gone under 3h15m without me at the end. Thats what its all about:D

Mark turned to me and said he wouldnt have gone under 3h15m without me at the end. Thats what its all about:D

I like that, thats brilliant. Well done Oisin, well deserved from all of the hard work.

Picturing you having a go at the wife...."I specifically told you not to forget the watch, on the lampshade on the locker"

"I kept that Garmin..........up my ass......"

Its a pulp fiction reference :D

I like that, thats brilliant. Well done Oisin, well deserved from all of the hard work.

Picturing you having a go at the wife...."I specifically told you not to forget the watch, on the lampshade on the locker"

"I kept that Garmin..........up my ass......"

Its a pulp fiction reference :D

Yeah i asked her to bring it but i should not have left it to someone else. I couldnt believe how easy the pace was. It felt about 30 secs slower and felt so easy. If it wasnt for my right quad i would have had a go at 3.10 in the last 10 miles. Just as well not to be greedy. Im like you misty, not quite as fast:-)
    We put in the hard work but had our low points were the goal seemed so far away and times were it seemed so easy it was just a formality to run the race.
    You have to love the comraderie of marathons also:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

well done oisin! hernia, no garmin, no food and you still did it. very impressive!!

Thanks bud. Just all fell in place. Im going to enjoy my marathons for the rest of the year. Going for 3.10in berlin maybe:-)

Monday rest
    Tuesday 5 miles 8.12 average.
    Wednesday rest
    Thursday rest
    Friday 13.1 in 7.58 average. Lovely weather.
    Another 13.1 tomorrow and the taper for Limerick:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great running Oisin! Just noticed the report and the PB. Great stuff! So what's the target for Limerick?

4 hour pacer krusty. Going to really enjoy it.
    Thanks for the praise, my ego lover it. Looks like i might be racing berlin and go for 3.10. Might see you there.

13.1 in 1h56m29s.
    Wanted to feel what it was like to run at 9 min mile because im doing 4 hour pacer in Limerick. Found it hard to keep the pace in check. Felt awkward and clumsy. Managed to achive it just about. 8.54 average. Finished and felt like id just done a few miles. Legs are completely recovered from last weeks marathon. 40 next week and taper the week after.

13.1 miles. Was going to do another half at 9 min miles. Decided instead to do progression run. Started handy and got quicker. 8.33
    Felt fine all the way through and finishing. Good session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Crossed the line in 3h14m11s. Splits were 1h37m06, 1h37m05s. Many hugs were exchanged at the end and i met with a few guys i had ran earlier marathons with. Mark turned to me and said he wouldnt have gone under 3h15m without me at the end. Thats what its all about:D

Just reading your report there again Oisin...you beat my PB by 5s.
    I should have done it your way last Oct.

I did 3:14:16
    Splits - 1:29:05 and 1:45:11

Well done again on a well thought out and executed plan

Sosa wrote: »
    Just reading your report there again Oisin...you beat my PB by 5s.
    I should have done it your way last Oct.

I did 3:14:16
    Splits - 1:29:05 and 1:45:11

Well done again on a well thought out and executed plan
    Yeah thanks bud. 1.42, 1.55 for me in dublin last october:-) i think nearly everyone suffered.

7 miles down the gym. Very very hot. Average pace about 7.55 min miles.

13.1 miles at 8.54 a mile.
    Still finding it hard to run at this pace but its getting easier:-)
    Last run over 8 miles before Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Congrats Frank on your pb...you certainly like pain, are you doin Edinburgh after Limerick?

heffsarmy wrote: »
    Congrats Frank on your pb...you certainly like pain, are you doin Edinburgh after Limerick?

Thanks heff:-)
    Yeah doing edinburgh with ken. Plan at the moment is to try and get ken under 3h40m but if i feel strong with a 2 week rest before it ill go for 3.10.

7 miles handy on the treadmill.
    Thats 40.2 already for the week and puts me at 808 miles for the year:-)

Rest days friday and saturday.
    Sunday 14 miles
    7.49 average. Felt alot harder than it should have but i pushed on. Last 4 miles uphill so not to bad.

Monday. Felt find after a great sleep last night so decided to do a pace run for 4 hour marathon in Limerick. Already did a couple of there but wanted to get closer to 9.10 pace.
    13.1 miles 1h58m50s. Very pleased with that. Loads of rest now.

26.5 miles in limerick marathon. official 4 hour pacer 3.59.52:D

Good job dude! Fair play to ya.

Its great crack doing something like this. I would recommend it to anybody. It was like doing a long run with some friends.

great oisin - well done. I have just committed to the 3:45 DCM pacing so will hopefully be heading around with you then.

First weve 17 weeks to longford to negotiate :)

great oisin - well done. I have just committed to the 3:45 DCM pacing so will hopefully be heading around with you then.

First weve 17 weeks to longford to negotiate :)

Yeah mate should be great crack in dublin:-)
    Longford will hurt more:-)

Ive gotten it into my head to race edinburgh. Went out on a run today to see if i could maintain the pace i need for 10 miles @ 7.18 a mile needed for a 3.10 marathon. Legs were a bit sore after Limerick so i reckon if i could do 10 miles at that pace 2 days after the marathon and with a mear 3 week taper and race atmosphere and gels ect. I reckon i could go close on a course like edinburgh.
    Average of 7.14 followed by 4 miles to get home.
    Looks like were bringing the racing boots to edinburgh:-)
    Probably end in disaster:-*

8 miles easy today.
    Average of 8.05 a mile.
    Zzzzz:-)
    1 hour of football after run.

Was meant to go out for am easy run but after 1 mile i was bored to death, Zzzzz.
    Feel good ya know. Very strong. I find if i start my sessions a little bit slower and get faster i feel stronger.

Jesus Oisin, you are flying man. Are you not tired from all of the marathons/long runs etc?

Actually, how long have you been running, if ya don't mind me asking? I notice other lads in my club that have been running years recover a lot quicker than I do.

Perhaps you and Krusty are freaks....I know he's only running a couple of years and he's belting out the marathons/miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I dunno about that! I'm on a massive 8 miles so far this week!

Ive gotten it into my head to race edinburgh.

hahahaha savage oisin...... its customary to at least wait for the pain to subside before planning the next one :) Fair play to ya - hope you get the sub 3'10

Im going to tell my wife about you so I dont look so marathon obsessed :)

Jesus Oisin, you are flying man. Are you not tired from all of the marathons/long runs etc?

Actually, how long have you been running, if ya don't mind me asking? I notice other lads in my club that have been running years recover a lot quicker than I do.

Perhaps you and Krusty are freaks....I know he's only running a couple of years and he's belting out the marathons/miles.
    Running 1 year nearly on the dot misty. I find i recover really easily. No soreness the day after limerick but it was a slow 1 ya know:p
    Theboyblunder, me and the missus have no kids yet so i find it very easy to get out. Looking like it will be 10 marathons this year, was hoping to do more but it will be tight. Would love to do a double or even a quad in the west of Ireland marathon series.

Was meant to pace my octo ken for 1.45ish but got got bored after 10k. First 10k in 48 mins. 11.2km in 47 mins. Edinburgh here we come. 1.30 was a formality today if i raced:-)

7 miles slow on a treadmill.
    Yesterday was the kildare half. 1.35 pace run for edinburgh. Sick i didnt try for 1.30. Last 6.5 miles in 6.45 average and felt ok.

Monday-rest
    Tuesday-rest
    Wednesday
    10 miles in 1.14
    7.29 average pace with 3 miles uphill at the end. Felt ok all the way through.

7 miles slow on treadmill.
    Zzzzz:-)

Set out to do 15 miles. Wanted to do a steady but comfortable pace. Pulled back if it felt to fast. Started off slower and downhill. Finished faster and last 4 miles uphill. Felt very comfortable at the end but got drenched in the rain.
    Average of 7.44 good run.

8 miles easy.
    Average 8.08.
    Felt fine but was very hot.

9 miles very easy. 8.43
    Average me 8.26. Nice run out in the sunshine:-)
    Thats me until edinburgh except for 2 or 3 five mile runs during the week.

best of luck oisin! What time are you looking for? Is it sub 3.10 or are you leaving that for longford?

Yeah 3.10 bud. Ive 4 mins to take off. Thats 8 secs a mile over i slightly easier course. Once again ill put the old body on the line. I cant ever be accused of not giving 100 precent. If in not on for 3.10 at the end ill slow right down.

13.1 miles very very easy. Enjoyed it and legs are in great nick.

5 miles slow on a treadmill wednesday. Feeling good.

Just realised my Garmin is broke. Going to be hard tomorrow. have my stopwatch with me and i know the splits but is a pain in the b******

if I remember right you didnt have it for the last one and pb'd.... how did it go?