Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wearing kneesocks or over the knee socks..

• 14-01-2010 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭

Okay, I'll admit it, I would love to try this which a skirt or my shorts but my pasty Irish leggeens would look ridiculous, I know it. I have good legs, so I have been told, skinny enough but I feel my knees look silly, and that I just couldn't!!
    Has anybody tried it, (your schooldays don't count!) For example, I posted a link to one of those blogs mentioned on another thread: http://ripped-knees.blogspot.com/2009/04/breaking-my-own-rules.html

and here: 6i4agz.jpg

Comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

Okay, I'll admit it, I would love to try this which a skirt or my shorts but my pasty Irish leggeens would look ridiculous, I know it. I have good legs, so I have been told, skinny enough but I feel my knees look silly, and that I just couldn't!!
    Has anybody tried it, (your schooldays don't count!)

Yes , i wear skirts and when i wear one of my skirts i always wear knee length socks and fold them down to match the length of the skirt i am wearing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

I don't really like the look.
    I think it either looks too school girlish, too trampy, or just plain silly.
    There may be others on here who can offer more helpful advice :)
    Can't say I've noticed many wearing them to say if it suited or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Littleblondehen

I was doing that a couple of years ago and got some weird looks and bitchy comments!:rolleyes:

Anyway, that sounds rather "Oh how very trendsetter of me"! I promise I don't mean it like that.

I used to have this lovely white ra ra skirt and a cool black tshirt and I would wear my black over the knee socks with them and a pair of heels. Or I had a really nice high necked black top and I would wear it my black shorts and socks and leopard print shoes.

Sorry I'm off on a trip down memory lane! But yes I like that look if it's not too trampy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I've a grey pair that I wear over black tights and scrunch them at the knee. My legs wouldn't be able for the bare led look though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭ha-ya-said-what

Always reminds me of the days of Sister sister and Clueless on tv, and have to agree with Stripysocks85 I haven't noticed many em... apart from the school kids. Can't see it ever catching on here like the photos you have.

LOL at pic no.6 tho very new teacher without a clue look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

As a male I heartily endorse this trend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Twee. wrote: »
    I've a grey pair that I wear over black tights and scrunch them at the knee. My legs wouldn't be able for the bare led look though!

Yeah I wear them sometimes but with black tights underneath.

:D Any male views to express ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

+1000 :D

Hell yeah... a girl who dresses like this will stand out from the crowd, and in a good way. It's not slutty, just a bit different and sexy.

I remember stepping off the plane in Tokyo and sitting sipping a coffee because I had a whole morning to kill before the hotel let me in. Nothing but black kneesocks and white/cream shoes, everywhere. I was in heaven!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Who_owns_this?

I don't think under the knee socks look good on anybody - although Kate Moss could probably pull it off.
    Over the knee socks can be very cool and sexy though. But you need good legs and maybe a bit of fake tan to fill in the bits between socks and skirt!
    I hope to wear over the knee socks and a sexy skirt out before the winter is over, but so far I've never made it past the bedroom... :p...
    Which, incidentally, is a great place to try out your new look and I'll bet you get some major appreciation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Haha some funny replies here; I wear them over black tights alright but rarely..pale irish skin doesn't really work and anyways it's bloody freezing all the time!
    7,12,13 are the ones I think look best but again I'm not mad on most of the pics, I just thought I'd stick it up

No.8 ... " I robbed the lost and found in the institute and busted out... my the world has changed..... how do i get home"

No.5 ... Didn't read the directions to the studio the choreographer gave her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

I've done it a few times now (over the knee socks mind you, don't like the short ones) with bare legs as a day time look. I love the look, think it's very pretty, but unfortunately the socks don't stay up! Made the mistake of wearing them to work one day and was pulling them up every time I had to walk even the smallest distance, very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

:D Any male views to express ??

Hummina hummina?

Ya I wouldn't say from a male pov that its "slutty" or overtly sexual, definitely not in the way wet-look leggings would be. It would definitely catch my attention so I think OP should go for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I bought some lovely socks/tights for this purpose and I can't get the damn things to stay up :mad: Actually thinking of buying some of that boob tape to see if it'll work on socks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I don't wear them with skirts because they're a bastard to keep up, but they're great under my skinny jeans when its cold :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Gauge wrote: »
    I bought some lovely socks/tights for this purpose and I can't get the damn things to stay up :mad: Actually thinking of buying some of that boob tape to see if it'll work on socks!
    TitTape works well. I've heard that you an also get a sockTape from dancing suppliers that IrishDancers use for the costumes. (Aside: I'd be interested to hear if anyone has used this and how it compairs to tittape)

LadyP, ABOVE the knee please. - Just saying. ;)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

i love knee and over knee socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

OldGoat wrote: »
    TitTape works well. I've heard that you an also get a sockTape from dancing suppliers that IrishDancers use for the costumes. (Aside: I'd be interested to hear if anyone has used this and how it compairs to tittape)

LadyP, ABOVE the knee please. - Just saying. ;)

I've tried the tittap, doesn't work :(. Works for about an hour but eventually they start falling down again, over the knee socks + any sort of walking, it just doesn't seem to work . :(

Must try the dancing stuff though :)

Right, well I tried it, and went for over the knee (thank you OldGoat!) and went down a storm ;)
    Altho it was bloody freezing so I did have to wear clear tights under neath and the socks kept fecking falling down as in keeping with the experiences with the rest of ye here. Thinking of maybe investing in a pair of Falke ones; my gran bought me a pair of the knee high socks a few years ago and they are amazing! (cost 17yo yos tho!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I got a pair of cream over the knee socks which I plan on wearing with black tights, a cream and gold dress and a black boyfriend blazer. I think they're really cool but they can look awful if not done right.

janeybabe wrote: »
    I got a pair of cream over the knee socks which I plan on wearing with black tights, a cream and gold dress and a black boyfriend blazer. I think they're really cool but they can look awful if not done right.

That would be a good look. I think I'll do it again tomorrow (a posh dinner out!) but a classier dress and it's a touch of fun I think :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

OldGoat wrote: »
    I've heard that you an also get a sockTape from dancing suppliers that IrishDancers use for the costumes. (Aside: I'd be interested to hear if anyone has used this and how it compairs to tittape)

I use sock glue all of the time, all you do is stick it at the top of your socks and it stays until you take them off. You can get them in any irish dancing shop or most dancing shops. When you take your socks off just wash off the glue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I think that this can be an absolutely fantastic look if you get it right - definitely over-the-knee socks though, if you're going to do it then do it right!

And I much prefer the cool/edgy look rather than the whole Japanese schoolgirl thing. It's the kind of trend you really need to do something different with to make it your own, so that you don't just look like a mindless fashion victim.

Sadly I don't have the legs to carry them off ... so jealous of the girls who do though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭1071823928

i love this look, especially over the knee socks!! i usually wear them over tights as its so nippy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I sometimes wear them over black tights and I think it looks quite nice. They do have to be either over the knee or else pushed down lower and worn slouchy. Tight knee-highs are really unflattering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭~nop~

Anyone tried over-the-knee socks and then fishnets underneath? I've tried it at home and think it looks good with dresses but not sure if I'll be getting people thinking I look trampy/sluttish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Wantobe

I have to laugh at the guys on the thread endorsing the look cause guys like it.

I hate to break it to you, lads, but most women dress for a look, or a fashion or for what other women will think, not so much men! Besides, men are easy to please.

I like the look too, but wouldn't wear it myself ( too old and too pale)!:)

I say, if you've got it, flaunt it- and by that I mean the look, not the assets!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

where are you all getting these knee high and over the knee socks?

I love the look but have only really seen the "school" ones in dunnes ... would love something a bit different!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭espinolman

Orlee wrote: »

I get knee length socks in shops that specialise in outdoor clothes for men , i don't know but they probably sell them for women in outdoor clothes shops as well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Orlee wrote: »

I love the look but have only really seen the "school" ones in dunnes ... would love something a bit different!
    Topshop has them. Miss Selfridge probably does too, and River Island. Any of the high street stores really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭punkindrublic

i wear them. i prefer over the knee socks but my skirts are usually pretty short so you can still tell that they are socks. sometimes i scrunch them down a few inches & wear them with flat black ankle boots.

topshop have them in stock right now (i got a pair for 12 euro) also seen them in primark 2 pairs for 3 euros!

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

I wear them over tights - any colour will do! They look nice, I think!