Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Women Look Down Upon Those On The Dole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭idunnoutellme

She definitely didn't want a guy who's on the dole...you should never start by saying you're on the dole :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Who_owns_this?

So in Summation, your answer to the OP's question is yes and no?

Excellent

Some questions require more than a yes or no answer if one wants to get any insight.
    But, if you prefer:
    No - nothing matters as long as he's well enough endowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

He didn't tell her she was lucky to have a job at any stage, did he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Some questions require more than a yes or no answer if one wants to get any insight.
    But, if you prefer:

Now you're talking my currency :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

She probably didn't care if he was on the dole or not but if he was harping on about it ,well what did he expect .

Girls just wanna have fun :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mystery solved: you shouldn't have told her mate that he was your friend with benefits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭watsdstory22

i dont think most girls care if your on the dole... not when so many people are unemployed... mind you if it was a case of the economy booming and he's still on the dole you might think twice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

i dont think most girls care if your on the dole... not when so many people are unemployed... mind you if it was a case of the economy booming and he's still on the dole you might think twice!!

Thats the fairest answer I've seen yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Clearly she was a brazzer and realized that he couldn't afford her after he told her he's on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

OP - it depends on the woman of course. The same way it depends on the man if you reversed the roles. From the replies here I think we can see the pattern that most women think it's acceptable as long as he's not a waster.

As for your buddy, you should have slapped him upside the head..no way should you let something like that annoy you! Water off a duck's back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

OP did your mate find out what she did for a living!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

But, if you prefer:

Would a compensating factor be that I had lots of road frontage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭kpbdublin

Couldn't he say he's writing a great Irish novel or a film script or something?
    I knew this fella who never did a tap and he told people he was writing a sequel to Superman. Never had any difficulties attracting women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Depends on the woman. I work hard & value that in a man, not important to others though. Obviously ye would not have been compatible so lucky escape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

kpbdublin wrote: »
    Couldn't he say he's writing a great Irish novel or a film script or something?
    I knew this fella who never did a tap and he told people he was writing a sequel to Superman. Never had any difficulties attracting women
    ... at least until people saw how awful Superman IV turned out to be and then he was spurned and spat at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

DonJose wrote: »
    Having a big langer helps :D

I agree, having a fat friend from cork does make you look better in comparison. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

With a woman like that, she probably saved him a lot of pain down the road by walking away.Good riddance he should have shouted, he doesn't realise how lucky he actually was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 brenmurph

Xinkai wrote: »
    So heres the story went drinkin with my mate last night just to chat about the weeks adventures, and halfway through the night, he went up to the bar, & then this fine lookin woman came up & started chattin to him, so i was there 'right fair enough i'll see how this develops' and left him too it. 30 mins later he comes back over to the table lookin mad depressed! So i says to mable i says 'What happened did u get her digits?' and he says 'Na she walked off after i told her i was on the dole!'

So my question to AH (As risky as it is):

Do Women Prefer A Man With A Job Nowadays, Even Though Jobs Are Rare Nowadays? Are Women That Materialistic That Even Though We Have No Money & Everythings Overpriced?

OR

Was this woman just selfish and on the prowl for a rich lad?

yes women are that materialistic lol ah supouse there not all that bad just irish women seem to think that there sumthin special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

brenmurph wrote: »
    ah supouse there not all that bad just irish women seem to think that there sumthin special

I hope your wearing kevlar! :D

It obviously depends on the woman. Some will see it as a perfectly reasonable position for a guy to be on the dole in the midst of a recession, while others will be looking to specifically bag a successful guy.
    Even in the 21st century, there are still old fashioned views about status when it come to males and females. I would say alot more men would have no problem dating a girl on the dole than the number of women who would consider dating a guy on the dole. Deep down men are still the ones expected to be the providers, women much less so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 brenmurph

Agricola wrote: »
    I hope your wearing kevlar! :D

It obviously depends on the woman. Some will see it as a perfectly reasonable position for a guy to be on the dole in the midst of a recession, while others will be looking to specifically bag a successful guy.
    Even in the 21st century, there are still old fashioned views about status when it come to males and females. I would say alot more men would have no problem dating a girl on the dole than the number of women who would consider dating a guy on the dole. Deep down men are still the ones expected to be the providers, women much less so.

ha maybe i was a bit harsh yea id agree with what your saying there obvisously not all women are like that but i think you have give fellas a bit of slack here considering how things are its not like everyone who is on the welfare is waster that cant be bothered working
    he probley saved himself alot of time and effort by her blanking him sounds like a bit of b***h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

So heres the story went drinkin with my mate last night just to chat about the weeks adventures, and halfway through the night, he went up to the bar, & then this fine lookin woman came up & started chattin to him, so i was there 'right fair enough i'll see how this develops' and left him too it. 30 mins later he comes back over to the table lookin mad depressed! So i says to mable i says 'What happened did u get her digits?' and he says 'Na she walked off after i told her i was on the dole!'

Do Women Prefer A Man With A Job Nowadays, Even Though Jobs Are Rare Nowadays? Are Women That Materialistic That Even Though We Have No Money & Everythings Overpriced?

OR

You're friend must have auditioned for "Lier Lier" at one point in his life.......

Either that, for Ned Flanders....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I wouldn't say look down, but it would definitely make a difference if the woman was working herself. I dated a guy who was on the dole when I had just finished college and started working. It was the first time I had my own money and wanted to go out and spend it, unfortunately he just didn't have the funds to do a lot of the things I wanted to and wouldn't let me pay for him. It created a lot of tension.

Every single woman I discussed it with at the time told me to get rid of him, without exception.

chocgirl wrote: »
    I wouldn't say look down, but it would definitely make a difference if the woman was working herself. I dated a guy who was on the dole when I had just finished college and started working. It was the first time I had my own money and wanted to go out and spend it, unfortunately he just didn't have the funds to do a lot of the things I wanted to and wouldn't let me pay for him. It created a lot of tension.

Every single woman I discussed it with at the time told me to get rid of him, without exception.

Would you have really paid for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

stepbar wrote: »
    Would you have really paid for him?

Yes, this wasn't mad extravagant stuff, just concert tickets, cheap weekends away, that kind of thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Women want driven/ambitious blokes. Whether you're actually employed now is probably not an issue to her so long as you appear like you'll be a success (or have a plan to be a success) in the near future.

Your mate probably just came off as a loser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 edvedfan

I have no problem with someone on the dole in the current economic climate, it's when someone is on it because they don't couldn't be bothered working that I don't like.

bonerm wrote: »
    Women want driven/ambitious blokes. Whether you're actually employed now is probably not an issue to her so long as you appear like you'll be a success (or have a plan to be a success) in the near future.

They do, do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Women want rich men, "driven", "ambitious", "successful" are just a few of the hundred euphemisms they use.
    TBH, I think it's a reasonable enough thing for a woman to do - or a fella if the situations were reversed. Let's say she was looking for a boyfriend, and she has a good enough job, and has ideas of being able to take holidays together and go out for nice meals, etc., then why should she waste her time on a guy which whom that might not be possible.
    Because something better than overpriced food and boring hotels might be possible if she wasn't so narrowminded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

OR

I'm surprised that you even need a thread to ask this. there's always been a stigma with being on the scratcher, whether it be from a male or female. Not everyone has the same 'look down their nose" attitude about it but it still and will always be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

stepbar wrote: »
    They do, do they?

Well by all means tell us then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭smythwicks

Not unless there like 7 feet tall:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭seven-iron

current economic climate

lost all meaning. Its only an illusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I think women would care a thousand times more about a guy being on the dole than visa versa.

When I hear mates talk about their new girlfriend or a potential one, they will rarely mention what she works at or if she works at all.

Whereas when I hear girls talking it's always in the top three things they'll say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 IrelandsPatriot

That's a tough one. She seems fairly snobby to me. She was probably interested in money so she asked where did he work, and then he said he was on the dole so she walked off. Damn, she was a bit harsh wasn't she?

Well by all means tell us then.

But I'm not a woman :rolleyes: I have to laugh sometimes at the pure stupidity of these threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

994 wrote: »
    Women want rich men, "driven", "ambitious", "successful" are just a few of the hundred euphemisms they use.
    Not strictly true- people can be driven in a career that does not pay well, for example charity work, teachers, guards, nurses, most comedy/entertainment work. Someone being driven et al to me is someone who wants to acchieve something in their lives to make it worthwile, be it by helping others, or by following a career they love.

I wouldn't look for a rich guy, I'm not rich and I don't see why my OH should have to be. If I want something fancy that badly i'll save for it. I'd rather be happy then rich. Sure there are women out there who go for rich guys, we call them gold-diggers. If you like someone,their economic circumstances shouldn't matter. Its how stable you are together,and how they make you feel thats important.

Maybe the OP's mate met a gold digger, maybe he just has no real ambitions for himself beyond dinks with the lads & the easy life- and while in the short term thats fine,if anyone is still in that mindset after say 24/25 - it gets a bit, well much. A house,a family etc cannot be supported on a feckless attitude to life- if thats the case for hime then maybe the girl picked up on it. she might want to get married,start a family etc & got the feeling this would be a non runner.

I know 1 girl who's a golddigger. and thats it. nobody else cares so long as there is some plan for a secure job, a life beyond parties, some stability etc. And that plan applies to themselves to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

is just your friend is so dumb to tell the truth he has no job :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

994 wrote: »
    Women want rich men
    Well to be fair, that's not strictly tr... Nah, waste of time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Ho chi feen

I think women are happy out with a guy that doesn't try and bang her sista.

When i'm right, i'm right, eh girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I don't know what women want... I wish I could finish that sentence but I'm perplexed!