Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ronnie Whelan is a clown.

• 16-01-2010 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭

I was driving home and heard Ronnie Whelan harping on about how Rafa had to go and Liverpool would be better off rudderless for the rest of the season and spouting all other sorts of nonsense.

Then I come home and watching the round up from the premiership and ignoring his normal biased Liverpool comments starts saying how United were struggling today and "If I was Ferguson I'd splash out and get a (um, stares at the ceiling) larger than life character to come into the club"

What? What is this clown being paid for. I've heard better punditry from the drunk at any local bar in Athens. His managerial record is a joke. One crap english team and then off to Greece to get totalled 4-0 in a quarter final in Europe and that's it.

No analysis. No insight. Nothing. At least Dunphy is entertaining, Whelan is a smug little tool who is driving me insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

He clearly has the horn for Benitez.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I'm surprised Sky haven't signed him up. He's rubbish, but he's no Jamie Redknapp.

I remember Redknapp being quizzed by Richard Keyes on the possibility of Liverpool signing David Villa - "yeah, but with Gerrard and Torres' partnership, where would he fit in Richard?".

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I'm surprised Sky haven't signed him up. He's rubbish, but he's no Jamie Redknapp.

I remember Redknapp being quizzed by Richard Keyes on the possibility of Liverpool signing David Villa - "yeah, but with Gerrard and Torres' partnership, where would he fit in Richard?".

Yeah but he's great on those Thomas Cook ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The funniest part of the RTE pundits is how they are clueless of any players outside of England(apart from old Liam Brady and to an extent Soueness). They usually can't pronounce the players names even and make judgements on them in the one game they watch.

Hahahaha!!

Yeah but he's great on those Thomas Cook ads.

You've never seen Ronnie Whelan half naked on a sun lounger i take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

"If I was Ferguson I'd splash out and get a (um, stares at the ceiling) larger than life character to come into the club"

lol'd at that description. agree, he's probably RTE's the worst pundit in terms of insight. great footballer but always found him a bit of a strange fish.

He comes accross as being a real bitter man.

Big sour puss on him the whole time, I'd say he's great craic.

Terrible pundit.

Ush1 wrote: »
    The funniest part of the RTE pundits is how they are clueless of any players outside of England(apart from old Liam Brady and to an extent Soueness). They usually can't pronounce the players names even and make judgements on them in the one game they watch.

Ah hang on now, what about Eamonn the La Liga specialist? I mean he watches the El Classico twice a season.. the man is clearly clued in on the ins and outs of the Spanish game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I think he's a legend tbh

up there with dunphy

Oh sweet Jesus how i cringe when looking at the starting line-ups before a champions league game featuring a Spanish team, John and Bill refer to Dunphy as the "expert" on Spanish football. Dunphy sits up straight, proud as punch before unleashing a torrent of utter bull**** you'd expect from a man who watches revista once a month.

Headshot wrote: »
    I think he's a legend tbh

up there with dunphy

lol :D

Ah hang on now, what about Eamonn the La Liga specialist? I mean he watches the El Classico twice a season.. the man is clearly clued in on the ins and outs of the Spanish game.

Lol, beat me to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

I get the feeling he's only in punditry roles because his old mates feel sorry for him.

Quote from Ronnie: "I was really shocked by how comfortable Lyon were on the ball". - yes, because you win 7 consecutive leagues by hoofing the ball.

I remember he watched Ibra have 2 poor games in the CL against Liverpool, then wrote him off before a game in the Euro championships. Said he "can't play". Of course, Ibra scored a cracker for Sweden, think it was goal of the tournament, during the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Frankly, im far more disturbed by the adolescent growth of hair on matt hollands top lip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

I remember Dunphy giving out about 'that guy Cheyrou, he was useless at Liverpool', but it was Benoit Cheyrou, not Bruno. Their lack of knowledge of European football astounds me sometimes. When you consider they get PAID for their 'insight & knowledge'. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In fairness, if yr watching RTE for punditry insight & knowledge, yr kind of asking for it. ;)

I heard Dunphy on the radio the other week, saying that Giles has the best "footballing brain in the world". :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

In fairness, if yr watching RTE for punditry insight & knowledge, yr kind of asking for it. ;)

to be blunt, what alternatives are there? BBC taking political correctness to absurd new levels? Or Sky Sports 'top top player' generic tabloid hype?

At least you get the honesty of effort from the RTÉ boys.

You also get Dunphy jabbing a pen out wildly everytime he talks about good passing and his obligatory mention of Ruby Walsh and Tiger Woods.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,012 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Great thread, Random annonymous interneters trash football legend over his punditry.

I don't ever listen to Ronnie Whelan but I watched United today and I'd agree they need that leader in midfield.

And as a Liverpool great it must be hard to watch them struggling as they are right now. While I personally don't agree I'd definitely respect his opinion on the matter.

to be blunt, what alternatives are there? BBC taking political correctness to absurd new levels? Or Sky Sports 'top top player' generic tabloid hype?

BBC - at least they keep it short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

eagle eye wrote: »
    Great thread, Random annonymous interneters trash football legend over his punditry.

I don't ever listen to Ronnie Whelan but I watched United today and I'd agree they need that leader in midfield.

And as a Liverpool great it must be hard to watch them struggling as they are right now. While I personally don't agree I'd definitely respect his opinion on the matter.

I don't respect anything the idiot has to say. If i want to hear the opinions of Liverpool legends, i'd listen to Dalglish, Rush or Aldridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

I love this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Football Legend = Yes

Managed any great teams = No.

Just because someone was a great player doesn't mean they have a brain cell when it comes to managements, case in point Steve Staunton.

Respect his opinion? My arse. Especially when his opinions tend to come straight out of his colon instead of his brain.

And if you read the OP he didn't say they needed a midfielder he said they need some "larger than life character". He could have been talking about Santa or the Road Runner for all that meant.

also

Irony= Random annonymous interneter trashes other random interneters on random annonymous internet site for posting randomly and annonymously.

glad to see a few of you mention dunphy's embarrassing supposed la liga expertise. seriously, what a spoofer (to use a former favourite of his). this more than anything winds me up about him these days because he would and does excoriate his targets for the same kind of bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭Paleface

This.

Whelan just doen't think Rafa is the man to turn his beloved Liverpool's season around. He's not alone in thinking that I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

RGDATA! wrote: »
    glad to see a few of you mention dunphy's embarrassing supposed la liga expertise. seriously, what a spoofer (to use a former favourite of his). this more than anything winds me up about him these days because he would and does excoriate his targets for the same kind of bull****.
    this should really be going into the favourite soccer pundits section :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,012 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

monkey9 wrote: »
    I don't respect anything the idiot has to say. If i want to hear the opinions of Liverpool legends, i'd listen to Dalglish, Rush or Aldridge
    Well I'm not a Liverpool fan but if I were I'd respect the opinions of Clemence, Hansen, Lawrenson, Beglin, Nicol, the two Kennedys, Lee, Whelan, Souness, Dalglish, Keegan, Heighway, Thompson, Toshack, Hughes, Rush, Aldridge etc.

You don't have to agree with them, but those guys were all fantastic footballers and more importantly champions so I would respect their opinions.

I don't ever listen to Ronnie Whelan but..[big edit]... I'd definitely respect his opinion on the matter.

you should give him a listen so! you won't be disappointed

And if you read the OP he didn't say they needed a midfielder he said they need som "larger than life character". He could have been talking about Santa or the Road Runner for all that meant.

I'd prefer Road Runner - Santa doesn't have the legs for the EPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Look, I'm not trashing the fact that he is entitled to an opinion.

Im trashing the fact he is being paid for punditry and is a useless pundit.

Full stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

monkey9 wrote: »

Aldridge said they should keep rafa "for now". Rafa should have gone when they went out of the champions league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

When aldridge was attributed with those quotes from Nuts magazine he rang both Lee and Rafa to apologize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Football Legend = Yes

Just because someone was a great player doesn't mean they have a brain cell when it comes to managements, case in point Steve Staunton.

Respect his opinion? My arse. Especially when his opinions tend to come straight out of his colon instead of his brain.

And if you read the OP he didn't say they needed a midfielder he said they need som "larger than life character". He could have been talking about Santa or the Road Runner for all that meant.

On the flipside, you get random idiots (im not pointing fingers, its just a general point) on here who have clearly never kicked a ball in their life, apart from the school playground, thinking they know better. Case in point, roughly 3 months ago whelan suggested aquilani would not be fit to play 90 mins until january, outcry insues. Whelan is clearly talking out of the wrong hole!!!!!.........hmmmmmm, well from where i sit, he was spot on.

Sure, he isnt great at articulating his opinion but his values for liverpool football club stem from the legend who signed him, bob paisley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I'd prefer Road Runner - Santa doesn't have the legs for the EPL.

Plus United need someone who performs on a weekly basis not a guy who has a habit of delivering only once a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

he does absolutely no research and throws wild inaccurate facts around as truth, you'd think a pundit would at least know the correct information about a team he used to play for...

back on topic - ronnie whelan would be a terrible clown i think. he seems a bit too stiff or something, like he's getting over a bad dose of whiplash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

Football Legend = Yes

And if you read the OP he didn't say they needed a midfielder he said they need some "larger than life character". He could have been talking about Santa or the Road Runner for all that meant.

also

Irony= Random annonymous interneter trashes other random interneters on random annonymous internet site for posting randomly and annonymously.

^^^^^ What he said.

Just because somebody was a fantastic footballer it doesn't mean they are intelligent, it doesn't mean they can analyse the game correctly from the outside.
    I'm sure some people might disagree with me, but I am a big fan of Craig Burley. He is well spoken, passionate about the game, he shows no bias toward any team and gets most things spot on. He wasn't a footballing legend but I think he's a fantastic pundit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

According to the guys on Off the Ball, most ex-liverpool players won't say anything negative about the team or they lose the handy numbers the club give them. Certain players don't need them, Whelan is obviously one. Fair play to him for speaking his mind instead of the usual "rafa deserves more time" rubbish. Even Johnny Giles who's mantra is "managers don't get enough time" reckons rafa should go.
    I didn't hear the interview so can't comment directly on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

he doesnt deserve any respect at all he is a sad and bitter old man with an agenda against rafa and he blatently tells lies apon lies abouth rafa and the club so anyone that takes any heed what so ever in his opinion needs their head checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Whelan's analysis does very much annoy me. He does come out with some odd things such as a beauty from the Liverpool Fiorentina match - ''there's a total lack of discipline in this Liverpool side''. I was thinking wtf?! No Ronnie, its not that they're not disciplined, its more to do with the fact they're just not very good... :rolleyes: Is it any wonder the Apres Match guys always make a total fool out of him in their sketches. And that Dublin/Scouser twang, really gets on my tits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

This point has been pretty much established for a long time now. He's a football legend, no doubt about it, a great player who I never had the pleasure of seeing live, but outside of that he really hasn't a clue what he's talking about. You'd think he's bluffing it, but he simply got to have a narrow mindedness about things. He talks so much shít, it's incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Then I come home and watching the round up from the premiership and ignoring his normal biased Liverpool comments....

I thought his assessment of Liverpool's performance against Stoke was pretty accurate, and in saying Rafa needs to go he's entitled to that opinion, and he's hardly alone in thinking it. I can't see what's this 'agenda' he's supposed to have.

He criticised Liverpool's play but then backed that up with 7 or 8 examples of Liverpool players hoofing the ball aimlessly up the pitch and the overall lack of quality. I've never been a big fan of Whelan as a pundit but he's not as bad as people here are making out. Some people like to just slag off every tv pundit.

For me the worst pundits on RTE are Kenny Cunningham (because he's just so bloody boring!) and Giles because he's completely out of touch with the game and doesn't even bother to familiarise himself with players and teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

he does absolutely no research and throws wild inaccurate facts around as truth, you'd think a pundit would at least know the correct information about a team he used to play for...
    Wow. Id be careful what u say he could be any one of us on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,988 ✭✭✭doc_17

A bit of loyalty from Ronnie wouldn't go amiss. Let's not forget that Liverpool stuck by Ronnie for a year or two more than they should have. His final few years were injury ravaged so pool could have let him go but treated him well instead