Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Moaniness of the Long Distance Runner

• 17-01-2010 4:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭

Right, new year, new marathon training cycle, so thought I might take the plunge and start a log. It occurred to me on a run the other day that after a while most runs just blend together and I forget the great moments too quickly, so this could be a nice way of recording that, since I haven't kept a journal in about 5 years.

Some background; I started running properly just over a year ago. Having done bits of jogging over the years, it wasn't until my friends suggested we do the Connemara half that I really got into it. Once I had a specific goal to aim for it really concentrated the mind and now I find myself addicted. I did 1:43:35 in Connemara, and went on to do my first marathon in Dublin in October. After injury wrecked my training for much of the last 6 weeks, I managed to get to the start line, which was the main thing, and then managed to get in under 4 hours, in 3:58:29, despite hitting a wall of walls after about the 15-16 mile mark. The feeling of rounding Trinity and heading into the final straight realising I was going to go sub-4 was one of the best feelings I've had in the last few years. I've had a bit of a ****ty time of it, as it happens, and running has been one of the main things that has pulled me out of the mire.

Anyway, this year: my 18 week training programme for the Edinburgh marathon starts tomorrow, which is why I'm starting this now. The current plan is to follow something along the lines of Hal Higdon's Intermediate II programme (I used Intermediate I for the DCM), though I received my copy of the Pfitzinger and Douglas book yesterday, so may include elements of that too. The goal is to go under 3:45 this time. Which I think I should be well capable of, as I was way under speed in Dublin after my injuries. A friend and I have challenged each other to go under 1:40 for a half and 3:30 for the marathon by the end of the year. Which is a very big ask indeed, but a bit of fun, and maybe just within the realms of possibility. After Edinburgh I will hopefully either do New York, if accepted, or otherwise Berlin I think.

The other goal for the year is to finish the 1000 mile challenge, having got to 700 in my first full year of running. It's a bit intimidating at the moment with the start of the year, and not many runs behind me in the last month or two (thanks to being very busy before Christmas, and then that cursed snow and ice afterwards), but fingers crossed it should be a good year, if I can manage my dodgy groin...

Anyway, this is probably very long for an opening post. Got out for my first run of the year last Saturday. After a fresh fall of snow, there were no grip problems, and the Phoenix Park looked absolutely lovely. There were families and kids everywhere, sledding etc, and it was so great to get out on my feet again. I got a round of applause from one group of people in the park, and a car beeping me and then taking a picture along Chesterfield Avenue, which doesn't happen on every run. Fantastic way to start the year.
    Have done 20 miles since, including a nasty one on Tuesday evening in the rain and wind, with unexpected patches of ice remaining in the park. Did an easy 8 miles last night at 9 minute mile pace without any difficulty, so that should stand me in decent stead for the first LSR of 10 miles next weekend.

While I'm at it, I may as well get out of the way a compulsory mention of my "hilarious" running videos, which are here. Apologies.

Sin a bhfuil anyway. Keeping a log should be good for the oul motivation as well. Looking forward to it all, and can't wait for Edinburgh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Best of luck with your goals.
    Running helps get over those sh888y times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just watched your videos there. Very entertaining and great use of the xtranormal site ;)
    Good luck with your training and goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best of luck with the log and the goals. Any plans to do Connemara this year, or are you saving yourself for Edinburgh?

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭actwithoutwords

Best of luck with the log and the goals. Any plans to do Connemara this year, or are you saving yourself for Edinburgh?

Thanks. I'm doing the half in Connemara again actually, which I failed to mention up there. Doing it mainly for the craic, as lots of the same group are going again. I'm not intending to race it, as it is sandwiched between two 20 mile LSRs on my schedule. But I may get sucked in on the day...
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Just watched your videos there. Very entertaining and great use of the xtranormal site ;)

Heh. Thanks. Those bits were done manually actually. I had been making sketches like that for two years before I even heard of xtranormal. I was not pleased. Feckers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭plodder

You sound like a similar standard to me (though probably with more potential than me). Your plan to beat 3:45 for a marathon should be do-able. Good luck with the goals.

Woo. Week 1 down, 17 to go.
    Not a bad week in the end. Have been concentrating on slowing the hell down for most of the week. Partly because of groin niggles, and partly after starting the Pfitzinger and Douglas book (which is great). I've always done my training runs too hard, long runs in particular, and I think that has a fair bit to do with constantly getting injured. It takes a bit of getting used to to keep myself reined in, but it will hopefully pay off.

I'm very eager to get into lactate threshold pace running, but my groin isn't in good enough shape to do that at the moment. The book was reassuring in that regard though, speed work can come later after the base phase.
    Have been working on strengthening the groin this week with exercises, which seems to be helping. I've lacked the discipline in the past to keep them up, but I really need to now. Could save a lot of hassle in the next few months. Considering going to a physio who specialises in groin stuff*, to see if he has any other advice. But I suspect, strengthening, stretching and warming up is probably the height of what I need to do to keep it under control

Anyway, 27 miles this week, 1 mile more than the Higdon Intermediate II plan. Experimented with running at lunchtime at work on Tuesday, ran along the quays up to the Point and back, including a detour over the new bridge. Grand, though traffic lights were a pain, and the wind was absolutely freezing. The rest of the week was in the Phoenix Park. Including 10 miles this evening, in heavy fog, with large parts down a route I haven't really been along before. Interesting. Particularly running directly alongside 50 or 60 deer in the pitch dark. (having seen Un Prophete on Friday night.) Really quite eerie.

Right, sin a bhfuil for that. Feeling quite good now. Feel like I'm properly back into it, and enjoying it. I feel a lot better than the equivalent point of the training last year I think, endurance wise, if not speed wise. The miles in between have obviously had a big effect. It's an interesting contrast between starting marathon training during a Dublin winter, compared to a New York summer. Quite distinct challenges...

* No sniggering at the back.

Bit of an odd week. Very busy and stressful time meant that I missed a couple of runs after work in the evenings. Plus a recovery run on Tuesday didn't go great, and I felt somewhat physically fragile for much of the week, which was a bit depressing.

That said I finally made it out again today, and completely by accident ran 6 miles at 8.01 min miles. I went out to take it easy, and the groin didn't feel great at the start. But after I'd warmed up, I obviously couldn't help speeding up. I knocked out 7:28 in the 5th mile, without even feeling like I was pushing myself. Despite my lack of speed training, and the general feeling that I am one sprint away from pulling a muscle, I was somewhat taken aback by today's speed, particularly the fact that it took very little out of me. Very encouraging for what I can do once I can strengthen up my muscular weaknesses. 11 is the plan tomorrow, to rescue a week otherwise well below the planned mileage. Back in Meath as well, so lovely potholey roads to enjoy in the morning...

Yuck. That wasn't one of the fun ones. Lovely crisp afternoon. But after forgetting to eat my breakfast while glued to the third set of Federer-Murray, I probably went out a bit too soon after eating. First a stitch, and then 9 miles of desperately needing to go to the toilet. The temptation to do a Paula was overwhelming, but I don't think I'm quite at that level yet. Felt absolutely ill the longer it went on, but passed my house with 2 miles left and erm, relieved myself.

Not a pleasant experience at all, and not something that's ever happened before. Despite that, and running against a stiff wind for the first half of my loop, ended with 11 miles at 8.26. Which wasn't too bad really.

Well that was a nicer Tuesday recovery run than the last couple of weeks. Both previous attempts at lunchtime running weren't entirely pleasant, for various reasons, possibly because in the rush to get in and out I don't warm up properly. But today was much better. I even got the run of the traffic lights in the city centre for once. 3 miles out to the Point and back at 8.30. Possibly too quick for a recovery run? But I was taking it as easy as I could.

Incidentally, since I already toppled over the line of 'too much information' in the last post, I actually woke up yesterday morning with muscle strains in my tummy/abdomen area. Since I wasn't doing any sit ups or anything else that requires those muscles, I can only presume that it was a result of Sunday's 'incident'. Odd. Maybe slightly worrying. But I think it's fine really. Not an anecdote I should really dwell on though.

Have had a pretty strong few days. Despite a sluggish enough start on Thursday, felt strong enough to go for a lactate threshold run, 6 miles with 3.5 of them hovering around 7.40 pace, getting faster and faster as well, which was good. Nothing like running in the wind and rain to concentrate the mind I think.
    Easy 3 last night at 8.30 min/miles, in the middle of moving house by bike. My last run in the Phoenix Park for the moment.

First run from my new apartment today, which was exciting. Always great to explore new areas while running. Headed out through Ringsend and down the Sandymount Strand, which was quite nice. The strengthening I've been doing seems to be paying off, and I'm feeling more and more confident upping the pace (though my hip is starting to give me some jip). In the end, 6 miles in 47:38, after a rollicking last few miles. Hal Higdon has me down to step back to 8 tomorrow, but I think I might push on and do 12, which would fit with the P&D endurance phase a bit better (and give me a step back week in the bank for later when I need it...)

Bit of a tough one today. 12 miles out to Dun Laoghaire and back. First time recently I've really found it difficult. Was a bit stressed and went out too quickly, and the legs were pretty dead by the way back. Managed to push a few miles to below the 8.30 mark at the end. Finished up averaging 8.38, but feeling a bit beaten up now.

Passed 100 miles for the month today though which was pretty nice, so the 1000 mile challenge going well, despite the ice delay. First 30 mile week in quite a while. Lot more of those between now and Edinburgh...

Bit of a weird run this evening. Decided to explore around Poolbeg and the docks. Felt like a visit to The Wire Season 2. A bit surreal. It was quite late, so there was almost no-one around either. Was intending to run along the South Bull Wall towards the lighthouse, but after not seeing anyone for about 20 minutes, and seeing a parked SUV ahead of me along the wall, I decided it might be a good idea to turn back... Didn't feel like ending up like poor
    Frank Sabotka

I had gone the distance I intended to run anyway, so headed back. Faded badly unfortunately, and felt fairly stiff and sore for most of the run. Have felt crappy all week since Sunday. Last weekend was probably too much I think. Might ease off a bit this weekend (possibly depending on how much I have to drink tomorrow during and after the rugby). Will probably do something fairly gentle in the early afternoon anyway.

7 miles at 8:20 this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Hi actwithoutwords, just discovered your thread there. Very enjoyable read, I look forward to the next few months. Your video is excellent, laughed out loud a few times- great way to start the day:)

Bally8 wrote: »
    Hi actwithoutwords, just discovered your thread there. Very enjoyable read, I look forward to the next few months. Your video is excellent, laughed out loud a few times- great way to start the day:)

Thanks a lot. I only just noticed this. I've been reading yours as well, tis good stuff.

Been an up and down week. The day after my previous post I did a handy enough 10 miler down to Seapoint at about 8.30 pace, after a certain amount of Saturday night excess. Technically PMP at this point, though I would definitely like to maybe lower that.

Another terrible recovery run at lunchtime on Tuesday, groin and hip felt very dodgy, almost to the extent that I wasn't sure whether to stop. Took another day off because of that, but completed a half-decent 6 miles on Thursday.

Friday was my visit to an unnamed celebrity physio, who appears to be quite a character. Half an hour of abuse basically. "Jaysus, you're tight!" "Oh my goodness your muscles are tight" "Is tight your middle name, Gary?" (My name isn't Gary) as he stretched me hither and thither. "Do you know what your muscles are like? They're like this:" *gives me Chinese burn*
    He did that last one about 3 times over the course of the half hour. Also throwing in the phrase "musculo-skeletal problems of a 70 year old man", commenting on my 'lard arse', and suggesting I "might want to lose a stone" (I really don't). I think I was too taken aback by the banter to properly give it back to him. Odd odd experience. Funny though.

Anyway, the going over he gave my right leg made it feel amazing. It was just a pity he didn't touch my left. I've been trying to properly get stuck in to the stretching since, as he seems to reckon a general lack of flexibility is what's causing all the problems. A loooot of stretching though. I really hate it. No fun at all. I wasn't 100% sold on his diagnosis (he leapt to the orthotic recommendation very very quickly), but it was definitely worth it, and better than the usual bit of a rub to get me back on the road.

Anyway, felt ok on Saturday, so had a lash at a 14 miler, as I was having a joint birthday party that night, so Sunday was always going to be a write-off. Deliberately listened to a podcast instead of music for the first ten miles to keep the pace down, which worked. It was a pleasant day. Particularly nice around the Dun Laoghaire pier. Found it tough enough going though, pace started to stray too far above 9 mins/mile after a while (though I realise that should be fine for an LSR). 4 miles to go I stuck on a few tunes, and finished very strongly with 3 miles around 8 minute pace, without feeling too tired. Very happy really with 14 at 8.44 mile/min average.

Sunday was a washout of all washouts. I only left the flat to (unsuccessfully) procure milk that evening.

This evening though, reminded me how much I love running. Felt fairly strong, and since I haven't run fast since the beginning of last September, I've been really itching to put the boot down. Only 3 miles, but after a 7.30 first mile, I pulled out a 7.00 and a 6.56, with a short warm down. Definitely not flat out either, but it felt very nice to blow the cobwebs away a bit. Extremely reassuring that, with all the slow running I've done, the pace is still there. I may be getting over-excited, but with a bit more speed work, reckon I could get 10k pace to something around that level.

Anyway, apologies for the long post. Up and down time of it, was quite disillusioned at points last week. But delighted this evening, and feeling reenergised about the possibility of going sub 100 minutes in the half, which I was starting to have serious doubts about.

I await the inevitable injury twinges in the morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Its a good read alright - I'm subscribed. Have you tried the Ricky Gervais/Karl Pilkington podcasts? If you see somebody jogging around Dublin and laughing quietly to himself, that's probably me.

Thanks. I'm not a huge Gervais fan to be honest (apart from The Office obviously). Was listening to a thing called The Best Show on WFMU (http://www.wfmu.org/playlists/BD) on Sunday, which is currently my favourite comedy thing in the world. I often get taken by surprise by jokes and let out quite loud yelps of laughter while running. I'm sure I look like a maniac but ah well.

Disappointingly, but inevitably felt a bit fragile the last couple of days after Monday's run. Thinking about it more this evening, it was even more pleasing, because my previous best fast times over short distances had been achieved with a fair amount of flat-out sprinting, particularly towards the end, where as Monday night was a fairly steady cruising pace.

Did 7 this evening. A fairly standard aerobic run. Didn't really feel like pushing the pace too much, as I will be upping my mileage quite a bit this week, and don't want to overdo it. Bit stiff at the start, but ran fairly well within myself and was more consistent with my pace than usual, which is something I really need to work on. 7 miles at 8:13.

Another couple of runs in the next few days, and then 16 miles on Saturday, which is my birthday. I enjoy doing long runs on birthdays and Christmas etc. It makes the day more satisfying when you have actually achieved something, rather than sitting around all day opening presents and eating. Which admittedly is what I plan to do after the run...

16 miles along the highways and byways of Co. Meath yesterday, happy birthday to me.
    Great run in the end. Felt quite sluggish at the start, and conditions were fairly miserable. Running past my house after 9 miles was a bit dispiriting (albeit handy for stashing of water). But once I'd felt I'd broken the back of it, I felt great. Legs were getting fairly stiff by the end, but I wasn't puffing at all. 16 miles in 2:21:33 at 8:49/mile. A niggle in the calf was the only downside, which is still a bit sore today, but I'm sure will be grand.

Just looking at my progress overall. I'm not quite up to the weekly mileage I should be doing, despite my long runs being on track: 10, 11, 12, 10, 14, 16.
    Though after 6 weeks of the programme, I've done 156 miles. Last marathon cycle, at this point I'd done 74 (affected by illness), with a longest run of 11.5 miles. So that's quite a big jump that should stand to me. Hopefully I can keep this up. Off to England next weekend though, so it will be something of a recovery week. Will try and do a double digit run next Monday maybe when i get back.

Yuck. Another unpleasant recovery run. Started off great. Even just starting off brought a smile to my face. Ran along the Grand Canal past Lansdowne, which is looking very impressive indeed I must say. Got some nice views of the stadium from the canal path. Unfortunately it all unravelled after a mile and a half when my calf started playing up and I remembered I was meant to be protecting it. Ah.
    Rest of the run wasn't much fun, and to top it off the hip started to hurt in sympathy. 4 miles at 8.59 in the end.
    I have only three evenings this week because I'm off to Engerland, so need to make one of them count with a hard workout. Had intended it to be tomorrow. But after this evening, maybe will have to wait until Wednesday.

Was too sore to run on Tuesday, so went for a desperate 8 miler on Wednesday before I flew on Thursday. Didn't go so well. Still sore, right leg as a whole not too interested in working properly. Even when I loosened up a bit in the second half, despite an increase in perceived effort, my Garmin disagreed.
    Got stuck waiting to cross the DART lines at Merrion on both the way out and back, to compound my misery. Gave up going to a comedy evening for *this*. Slowest run since goodness knows when.

A long weekend of travelling, drinking, walking and lifting heavy things wasn't necessarily in my training schedule. But that is nonetheless what ended up there. At least it gave my calf some time to recover. Apart from the walking, which particularly going throught the airport on Thursday, was not pleasant at all.

Big week needed this week to compensate, plus a step-up was due anyway. Started off this evening with the same 8 miler to Blackrock and back, which went significantly better. Started off feeling fresh, if a little stiff. Calf alarmingly started to give way after 4 miles, but only for 3 or 4 minutes, after which it stopped complaining. After most of the run around 8.20-8.30 pace. I got a little carried away towards the end, including 7.37 for the last mile. Wasn't too tired by it, though legs a bit beat up. Slightly scared of what the morning may bring calf-wise. Fingers crossed. Have to somehow fit in 17 or 18 miles this weekend along with our flatwarming party (and the rugby).

Last Wednesday: 8 miles- 1:14:14 at 9:16/mile
    Tonight: 8 miles- 1:05:45 at 8:13/mile

Ooh that was fun this evening. Fastest I've ever gone I think. Great fun altogether. 1 mile warm up and 3 mile tempo (though to be honest this was probably higher than my tempo pace), and a bit of a jog after to warm down.

Mile 1: 8:13
    Mile 2: 6:51
    Mile 3: 6:55
    Mile 4: 6:55

So averaged 6:53 for the 3 miles, which I'm fairly pleased with. Already a significant improvement on the tempo run a few weeks ago of 3 miles at 7:11.
    Absolutely loving being able to put the boot down again. Already couldn't stop smiling on the warm up mile, and cruising at that pace was a great feeling. I probably couldn't have gone too much further keeping under 7 minute miles though.

Particularly after that run today, would love to do the 5k this weekend. Unfortunately with the housewarming the night before, I can't imagine being in any state to have an enjoyable run by 12 the next day. Ah well. Still, great buzz this evening after that.

4 mile plod this evening along the Liffey and across the Beckett bridge a couple of times. Having fallen asleep for a few hours at about 6 I was somewhat cranky when I woke up. Glad I went out though, or I would have been in bad form for the evening. Went out as a recovery run, but I often find it difficult to rein in my pace. No such problems this evening, didn't particularly feel up to running any faster. 4 miles at 9.15 pace.
    This week will see a fairly big bump in mileage, so after the intensity of yesterday, some slow miles aren't the worst. Had to turn down a game of football this evening though, as I haven't played in ages and I didn't want to end up hurting myself and ruining a couple of very important weeks training. Sacrifices...

Another good one today, though encapsulated the ups and downs of marathon training nicely. 17 miles out to Dalkey and back. Nice day for the most part, and some lovely sun along the way.

Started off woefully though. The calf was not feeling right at all, and settled into 9 minute pace disturbingly easy, and by mile 3 I felt like I had nothing in the tank. All I wanted to do was stop and go home. It was a bit weird. I had 2 jaffa cakes before I left, so maybe it was some kind of sugar crash, I don't know. I kept hammering away anyway, and once I got to 6 or 7 I was feeling comfortable again, banging out 9 or slightly sub-9 minute miles consistently.

Started to feel a bit leggy again after about 10, but after 11.5 I switched from podcast to music, and ended up knocking out the last 5 miles in 8.12 pace, to finish in 2:28:45, with a roughly 1:18:30 1:10:15 negative split.

Overall, 17 miles at 8:45 min/mile.

Very pleased. After such a terrible start, I could never have imagined being able to finish that strongly. I have been doing all my long runs relatively consistently now at in and around 8.45 pace. That may mean I'm doing them too fast, or else that my 8:30 target for the race should be lowered. I'm hoping the latter...

18 miles at 8:30 is still my LSR peak from last September, but that ended in a horrible injury 5 days later. I think I have a much stronger base this time, even though this is only week 8 of my training programme as opposed to that 18 miler which was at week 11. Being able to run a negative split oiver that kind of distance is also heartening. Looks like I'm finally reining in my tendency to go out hard and then just hang in there (though I have a feeling this will return when it comes to a race).

Anyway, just had a lovely dinner and about to have a muffin, in defiance of my beloved physio...

Day off on Saturday. Got a last minute ticket to the rugby too, which was nice. Didn't feel too bad, apart from the calf. After polluting myself with drink on Saturday night, I managed to drag myself out yesterday evening. Despite being in pieces all day, I felt quite full of energy once I got out the door and accidentally did the first 2 miles in 8 minute pace. Bit slower coming back, but overall felt very good. Felt great to be out after a fairly miserable day, and realised I'm in close to my best form. Just really hope I can keep it going for the rest of this training cycle.

However, while I felt grand last night, and not particularly tired afterwards. Definitely feeling a bit physically fragile today, including the calf again (which hadn't bothered me while running at all), so decided another rest day might be in order. Not the end of the world, given that I had my long run done on Friday. Just over 37 miles this week, so satisfactorily upped the mileage. Hoping to push the pace on a medium length run this week, having got my speed up on short runs nicely, and pleased with my pace on the LSRs. And might start thinking about doing some VO2 max work as well, though maybe I will leave that to next week.

My competitor in the race to a sub-100 minute half-marathon did 11 in 82 minutes at the weekend. I'm nowhere near that level yet, given my training. Definitely want to do a fast 8 miler this week to test where I am on the medium distances.

And there we go. 8 miles in 63 mins this evening at 7.52 mins/mile.

Very pleased with that. First time I've done a medium distance at pace in a long time. Wasn't quite a tempo run I don't think. 7.50-8 is probably towards the slow end of my tempo pace. The pace wasn't exactly comfortable, but it was only on the marginal edge of uncomfortable. Ran a very consistent pace, which was good, and felt fine at the end, could have done more without too much trouble. The Garmin is proving fantastic in terms of improving consistency of pace. Though trying not to get too reliant on it.

Pleased again with the progress today. The same 8 mile run out to Booterstown has gone from to 74:14 to 65:45 to 63:00 in the last 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Just reading your log. We have very similar goals though it you've got a better background. I did surprise myself by cracking the 1:40 HM (by 6 seconds!) and your training numbers over 8 miles or so look close to my numbers here you'd be well on target. The 3:30 for the marathon remains a goal (two shots - one in May and the second will be Dublin) so I'll be keeping an eye on your progress. Good luck.

Thanks a lot. That's encouraging.

A 4 mile hungover recovery run this afternoon along Sandymount Strand. Dragged a bit, and was a bit more tired by the end than I should have been. But I'll put that down to the pints yesterday evening...

4 miles at 8.49. About as slow as I could handle.

Firstly, RIP Alex Chilton. Very saddened by his death last night. The Ballad of El Goodo is one of my favourite songs and has dug me out of many holes of the years, both during runs and in general life.
    One of the best pop songs ever:

Couldn't help but stick on Big Star immediately today on my run. Ended up running the first mile much too fast as a consequence. Lovely though, I even slipped into singing along whenever I got the opportunity. Must have looked like a looper.

Anyway, today was my first ever go at a VO2 max session, and it went quite well I think. Ran out to the track in UCD and by the time I got there it was lovely and sunny, was able to take off my jacket for the first time this year, which was nice. Felt slightly stiff on the run out, but that had settled down by the time I reached the track. The aim was 5x800m intervals at 5k pace, as recommended by P&D (which worked out around 3:21 for 800m). Surprisingly hit the numbers almost on the button every time, which I was expecting to be much more difficult (particularly given the Garmin pace isn't wholly accurate going around a track).

Session looked like this overall:

Warm-up: 3 miles in 25:41 at 8:33
    Interval 1: 800m in 3:21
    Interval 2: 800m in 3:22
    Interval 3: 800m in 3:21
    Interval 4: 800m in 3:20
    Interval 5: 800m in 3:19
    Warm down: 3.08 miles in 26:58 at 8:44

The jogging breaks in between the intervals ranged from 1:30 to 2:18, getting a bit longer after the 3rd interval. Should these be more consistent?
    Good old session. Started to puff a bit in the last 2, but other than that it was fine. Still felt probably tougher on my legs than it did on my cardiovascular system, which isn't really the point of a session like this. Could feel my groin a bit by the end, but that was maybe the result of running around tight bends. I should possibly have switched and gone clockwise after a while (there was no one else there).

Anyway, another very satisfying session this week. Recovery tomorrow and then 19 miles on Saturday or Sunday. Have run 58 miles in the last week and a half, so really putting the mileage in now. This is the point that I'm desperately afraid I'm going to break. Hopefully I've built a strong enough base and have been training sensibly enough to prevent what happened last time I approached this kind of mileage.

3 miles recovery this evening when I got back from my first day of (unpaid) work. Legs aching a bit after yesterday, but definitely felt better by the end than when I started. Which is an aspect of recovery runs I rarely succeed with. Was rained on, which was a bit of a pity, but reminded me just how little rain there has been recently. It's been ages since a wet run.
    3 miles in 27:42.

The other thing I've been thinking about in the last few days is the NYC marathon this year. I'm in the ballot, but not holding out too many hopes for that. Thinking of just saying feck it and I will do it either way. Checked with Sports Travel International and Croí, and it's predictably very expensive. But I save quite a lot of money (when I'm working), and sure what's the point of saving if you don't spend some of it on things every so often. Haven't completely decided yet, particularly given my unemployment. But I would love to get back to New York as soon as possible, so it would seem to be perfect. I must write about running in New York here properly at some point.

Anyway, currently wrapping myself in cotton wool for 19 miles tomorrow to get over with before the rugby, and Liverpool-United on Sunday...

Ah, that was lovely. Tough last couple of miles, but still lovely overall. One of the best runs I've ever had.
    19 miles out to the Vico Road in Killiney and back in 2:42:52 at 8:34 min/miles.

Absolutely gorgeous day. Beautiful sun, warm enough to go with just a t-shirt, but not too warm to end up overheating. Slipped into 8:45 pace at the start very very easily and was incredibly comfortable for the first half, and if anything speeding up as I went along without any noticeable increase in effort. The area along the coast around Dalkey/Vico road is just beautiful, I can see why one might want to live there. Got some tough hills in up there as well, around the 9 mile mark, which I was pleased with as the running I've been doing has been very flat, which isn't the best preparation with the Connemara only a few weeks away.

Slipped into 8:30 and below pace after the turn, again with plenty in the tank. Enormously satisfying that all this extra mileage is paying off. Cruising through Dun Laoghaire harbour with the sun in my face listening to El Goodo was just one of those golden moments you get while running. *This* is why I do this. I wasn't going all out over the last 6 or 7 like last week given that this was the longest training run I've ever done, and with a lot of tough sessions this week, I didn't want to push my luck. However, suddenly between mile 16 and 17, I started to lose shape, and keeping 8:30 pace started to get tough. Legs filled with sand etc. Last 2 miles I really had to grit my teeth, but got through it fine, with an 8:12 and an 8:13 mile.

Very satisfying overall. Without a doubt my best week of training ever. An 8 mile tempo session at 7:50, a 9 mile VO2 max interval session with intervals of just over 6:40, and a 19 mile LSR at just over 8:30.
    43.5 miles overall this week.

The rugby has taken the wind out of my sails somewhat, but feck it. Just have to enjoy high points of training like this. Yay. Hopefully they keep coming.

4 miles recovery in 35:52. Again, that was about as slow as I could cope with. Very easy, and felt remarkably fresh after what was my longest training run ever on Saturday. The only fallout from which is some nasty inner thigh chafing. Never occured to me to vaseline up beforehand. I'll know for next week.

Anyway, this week I'm going to do a 9 mile tempo run tomorrow, and try to do it at 7:45 pace or so, if I can, which might be getting into difficult territory. I'm also doing the UCD Rás on Saturday, so not sure how do deal with my Thursday session. Was intending to do VO2 max otherwise. The race isn't exactly important, but I feel like a race, and would like to create some PBs as I've only done a half and a marathon thus far.
    Anyway, a step back to 12 miles on Sunday then I think, and I might chuck in 8 or 9 of those at 8 min pace. Before the mileage goes up to around 50 the week after with a first 20 mile LSR.