Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right, Left, Right, Left, Repeat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Steady 3 miler last night. Felt a bit stiff and sore in general but nothing major. Glad of the rest day today though.

Distance: 3
    Pace: 8:25
    Avg HR : ?
    Max HR : ?

Weather: dull and humid
    General Feeling : Bit stiff

Weekly Total
    Miles : 13.02
    Runs : 3

Monthly Total
    Miles : 53.12
    Runs : 10

Group run. Real mix and match of paces anythign from 9:30 to 6:30 per mile. A good session changes in paces really made it interesting (and tough). Still a little soreness on my hip but it doesn't seem to be anythign major.

Distance: 7:75
    Pace: 8:13
    Avg HR : 169
    Max HR : 194

Weather: overcast
    General Feeling : OK

Weekly Total
    Miles : 20.77
    Runs : 4

Monthly Total
    Miles : 60.87
    Runs : 11

Didn't get out in the mornign for my lsr so got to it in the evening. Felt the hip a bit for the first couple of miles but it eased out. I think it more muscle then anything else, will keep stretching it. Calfs were pretty stiff for the first few miles as well but again they eased out grand after that.

All grand for the first 10 miles but after that the legs just seemed to want to give up, no pain as such just very heavy and stiff. Kept at tit though and managed to keep my pace reasonable.

Two hard sessions over the weekend definitely take their toll. Relative ease of a step back week comin gnow so time for some recovery.

Distance: 14.6
    Pace: 8:53
    Avg HR : 163
    Max HR : 175

Weather: overcast
    General Feeling : Bit stiff and sore

Weekly Total
    Miles : 35.37
    Runs : 5

Monthly Total
    Miles : 75.47
    Runs : 12

Didn't run at all on Tuesday my right glute was totally seized up. Took Wednesday off as well as a precaution. Lots of hot/cld treatment and stretching instead of running.

Yesterday evening went out for a very cautious and easy 3 miles with no major reaction. Took it very handy and was glad to be able to finish it pain free.

Distance: 3
    Pace: 8:54
    Avg HR : 156
    Max HR : 167

Weather: bright

Weekly Total
    Miles : 3
    Runs : 1

Monthly Total
    Miles : 78.47
    Runs : 13

Today a 7 miler at lunch time. Ran at what felt a comfortable enough pace keeping in mind that I didn't want to agrevate the muscle again. Didnt feel a thing in it so its looking good. Was surprised at overall pace at the end as wasn't really watching it during the run, felt that I was going slower.

Distance: 7
    Pace: 8:21
    Avg HR : 170
    Max HR : 182

Weather: dull but dry

Weekly Total
    Miles : 10
    Runs : 2

Monthly Total
    Miles : 85.47
    Runs : 14

Saturday morning. Group run, no problems with the hip again thankfully. Didn't feel brilliant at the start again but as usual got into it fine. Took it a little easier than recently, still careful not to overdo it.

Distance: 5.2
    Pace: 8:24
    Avg HR : 167
    Max HR : 170

Weather: dull but dry

Weekly Total
    Miles : 15.2

Monthly Total
    Miles : 90.67
    Runs : 15

Didn't get my long run in until the evening yesterday again. Felt grand though, ran with no water this time just to see how it felt as it was a stepback week. No problems really, pace was comfortable.

One missed run and one shortened run during the week from minor injury. Not as bad as it could have been given they way I felt on Tuesday.

Distance: 10
    Pace: 8:57
    Avg HR : 158
    Max HR : 168

Weather: dull humid
    General Feeling : Grand

Weekly Total
    Miles : 25.2

Monthly Total
    Miles : 100.67
    Runs : 16

Nice easy 4 miles this morning. Legs felt grand no niggles. Pace was pretty steady as well fr first 3 picked it up for the last mile

Distance: 4
    Pace: 8:31
    Avg HR : 159
    Max HR : 173

Weather: dull dry

Weekly Total
    Miles : 4

Monthly Total
    Miles : 104.67
    Runs : 17

These mid week runs are starting to get long now. 8 miles this afternoon over a new route. fairly hilly and challenging. Garmin was really acting up, stopped completely at one stage and i only noticed after about half a mile had to hit the start button again. aiced at the end that it was showing a max heart rate of 233 at one point during mile 2. I dont remember having a heart attack so I'm pretty sure that wasn't right.

apart from that pretty uneventful, usual stiffness in the calfs early on but nothing else of note

Distance: 8
    Pace: 8:35 approx
    Avg HR : 162 approx
    Max HR : God knows

Weather: Dull and humid

Weekly Total
    Miles : 12

Monthly Total
    Miles : 112.67
    Runs : 18

thursday. finally got around to running a 4 mile loop that I had heard good things about. Definitely one I will be doing again. some serious hills and really felt like i had a good workout.

Pace: 8:39
    Max HR : 174

Weekly Total
    Miles : 16

Monthly Total
    Miles : 116.67
    Runs : 19

nice 8 miles this morning at a fairly good pace. Absolutely no issues with my hip now so hopefully it will stay away. going to keep the stretches going though anyway.

Distance: 8.21
    Pace: 8:15
    Avg HR : 161
    Max HR : 177

Weather: Showery

Weekly Total
    Miles : 24.21

Monthly Total
    Miles : 124.88
    Runs : 20

Sunday. Putting the LSR of until tomorrow had a busy day planned with the family. 4 easy miles instead.

Pace: 8:28
    Max HR : 172

Weekly Total
    Miles : 28.21

Monthly Total

Monday. Did yesterdays scheduled LSR today. 16.25 miles with a few hills thrown in. Kept the pace very slow. Legs felt fine most of the way except for the last 3 miles they started to complain, nothing specific just tiredness.

Distance: 16.25
    Pace: 9:10

Weekly Total
    Miles : 16.2

Monthly Total
    Miles : 20.25

Faster run last night. Out with a few lads a good bit quicker than me. Felt a bit of a struggle but kept at it. Definitely worth doing it as there is no way I would have kept the pace up on my own.

Distance: 6.1
    Pace: 7:50
    Avg HR : 172
    Max HR : 183

Weekly Total
    Miles : 22.1

Monthly Total
    Miles : 26.35

4 miles easy this morning. Felt surprisingly good given the harder session last night. Off for a massage on the old legs at lunch time.

Pace: 8:56
    Max HR : 167

Weather: Overcast

Weekly Total
    Miles : 26.1

Monthly Total
    Miles : 30.35

Streets of Galway

Firstly a very well organised race again.
    Very disappointing race from a personal point though. Was going along nice and comfortable up to the 5K mark, had my target time well in sight and was even thinking of going under it. As soon as we passed the water station onto the downhill I got a really bad stitch in my right side. Have never had a stitch running before. It just kept getting worse and eventually I had to stop to try and ease it out. Got going again slowly but had to stop again after another 3 or 4 mins. Had to drop the pace right off in order to just finish after that.

Took a coupl eof mins off last years time still but really disappointing all the same as I felt there was a very good improvement in me.

forgot the HRM as well

Half mile warm up and warm down

Distance: 5
    Warmup/down: 1
    Pace: 7:33
    Avg HR :
    Max HR :

Weather: Bright and warm
    General Feeling : Pretty Bad

Weekly Total
    Miles : 32.1

Monthly Total
    Miles : 36.35

Yesterday LSR. Took it pretty handy, legs felt absolutely fine after Saturday. Just shows that there was a lot more left in them, suppose thats a good thing.

Deliberately took things very easy though just picked the pace up slightly for the last 5 miles.

Weekly mileage is high because I did 2 LSR's this week, last weeks on Monday

Distance: 17.04
    Pace: 9:25
    Avg HR : 160

Weather: Bright and warm
    General Feeling : Ok

Weekly Total
    Miles : 49.14

Monthly Total
    Miles : 53.39
    Runs : 6

Easy run this mornign just to check that everything was still working after the weekend. All seemed fine. Picked pace up a little for last mile.

Distance: 4.2
    Pace: 8:49
    Avg HR : 162

Weather: Drizzly
    General Feeling : Ok

Weekly Total
    Miles : 4.2

Monthly Total
    Miles : 57.59
    Runs : 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Tough luck on saturday BrokenMan. Such a bummer when you know you have a pb in you! ah well... plenty more races!

Back to the longer stuff again last night. Added a few extra miles befor ea group run to bring the distance up. Struggled a bit on my own but felt great running faster with a group.

Distance: 9.22
    Pace: 8:19
    Avg HR : 163
    Max HR : 182

Weather: Dry and calm
    General Feeling : Good

Weekly Total
    Miles : 13.42

Monthly Total
    Miles : 66.81
    Runs : 8

Easy 4 miles at lunch time. Nice steady pace. Felt grand
    Distance: 9.22
    Pace: 8:52

Weather: little drizzle

Weekly Total
    Miles : 17.42

Monthly Total
    Miles : 70.81
    Runs : 9

PMP run on Saturday. 3 on my own and the rest with a group. Felt surprisingly strong and could have gone on further.
    Am a little suspect of the Max HR certainly never felt link I was going at that effort level

Distance: 9.12
    Pace: 7:59
    Avg HR : 169
    Max HR : 193

Weather: wet

Weekly Total
    Miles : 26.58

Monthly Total
    Miles : 79.97
    Runs : 10

got my long run in from th weekend last night at last. 3 times around the Ryehill loop. Surprisingly enjoyable given the severe hills and the permanent heavy drizzle. Was caught by a couple of quicker runners from the club on tht last loop and quickened the pace to stay with them.

Distance: 12
    Pace: 8:45
    Max HR : 181

Weather: wet

Weekly Total
    Miles : 38.58

Monthly Total
    Miles : 91.97
    Runs : 11

Tuesday nice easy 4 miles in the evening. Pretty uneventful.

Pace: 8:40
    Avg HR : 155
    Max HR : 169

Weather: Dull

Weekly Total

Monthly Total
    Miles : 95.97
    Runs : 12

Wednesday. Back visiting home for a few days so a hilly 6 miles this evening. Felt pretty tired after driving down earlier in the day. Still did me good to get out and stretch the legs.

Think the 195 Max HR is accurate, felt absolutely wrecked going hard up a steep hill.

Distance: 6.08
    Pace: 8:31
    Avg HR : 165
    Max HR : 195

Weather: Dull but warm
    General Feeling : tired

Weekly Total
    Miles : 10.08

Monthly Total
    Miles : 101.15
    Runs : 13

Decided to get off the road this evening and headed for the woods and ran some of the trails there. Didnt see another person the whole time and no sound but my breathing and footsteps. Must do it more often.

Pace: 8:49

Weather: nice and mostly sunny
    General Feeling : Good again

Weekly Total
    Miles : 14.08

Monthly Total
    Miles : 105.15
    Runs : 14

Saturday. Quicker paced run but just couldn't really get into it. Never felt entirely comfortable with my breathing or my pace. One of those days hopefully.

Distance: 8.96
    Pace: 8:13
    Avg HR : 170
    Max HR : 181

Weather: overcast humid
    General Feeling : bit off form

Weekly Total
    Miles : 23.04

Monthly Total
    Miles : 114.11
    Runs : 15

Longest run today. Went out nice and steady and felt pretty good really for the first 25 miles or so. Started to get a few aches around the legs after that but was still able to finish without any major problems. Took a gel at 5, 10 and 15 and they settled fine seemed to have enough energy at the end for a quicker mile.

Happy overall with it.

Distance: 19.13
    Pace: 9:09

Weather: some sun and showers

Weekly Total
    Miles : 42.17

Monthly Total
    Miles : 133.24
    Runs : 16

Start of a mini taper week leading up to Galway City Half on Sunday.
    4 easy miles just to get the legs turning over. Felt grand.

Pace: 8:54
    Max HR : 170

Weather: dry but windy

Weekly Total

Monthly Total
    Miles : 137.24
    Runs : 17

Was supposed to be having a handy run last night but wound up on a pretty quick loop around the town. Still felt pretty good after it.

Distance: 6.92
    Pace: 7:51
    Avg HR : 171
    Max HR : 184

Weather: dry sunny

Weekly Total
    Miles : 10.92

Monthly Total
    Miles : 144.16
    Runs : 18