Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Again, (again, again, again, again) it begins... [SU elections]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Fearghal Hughes has the head of a future Taoiseach on him, doesn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Boston wrote: »
    Now now Shay, we both know I don't do facebook.

I may or may not have a photo of the entity that is Boston on Facebook >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

In no particular order
    <pictures>

Good to see our postgrads hard at work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Declan Harmon

Monkwood wrote: »
    Hey Declan, can I get a response to this?

Also, do you really think it's wise to enter the race for the top job when you have never been involved with the SU before? Do you not think you will end up wasting a lot of time in the first few months just getting to grips with all the various structures within the Union? After all, you are supposed to give a presentation at class rep training on exactly what the SU does, how it does it, and who does what. While I appreciate your spirit, maybe you should run for class rep or something first? I dunno if you're up for the job otherwise...

I certainly am up for the job. I have a lot of experience in dealing with the management and governance of large organisations so I will have no difficulty getting to grips with the internal structures of the union. I am a Director of the Ballyfermot Family Resource Centre, a not for profit community centre that provides employment training and childcare facilities. That company has a budget of over €1 million. I am also the Treasurer of my local GAA club, which has a budget similar to that of the union.

I also have experience of advocacy and working effectively in committee situations - for example, I was a member of the National Forum on Europe where I sat alongside the senior politicians from all parties, union leaders, employers representatives and representatives of voluntary bodies. So, I am certainly not going to be daunted by the internal committee structure of the union or of college.

In addition, there is a lead in period between the election and the new President taking office in July where I would have an opportunity to prepare to make an immediate impact upon taking over.

I also think that sometimes it takes someone who is not ingrained in the structures of an organisation to come in in order to bring about change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭DogmaticLefty

You sound like a bit of a lefty to me. Don't think there's any demand for a lefty on the College Board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Pet wrote: »
    Fearghal Hughes has the head of a future Taoiseach on him, doesn't he?

Everything about Hughes screams Fianna Fail.
    condom-head.jpg

I don't need to do anything with this.
    Pet wrote: »
    Good to see our postgrads hard at work...

Tat tat.
    I certainly am up for the job. I have a lot of experience in dealing with the management and governance of large organisations so I will have no difficulty getting to grips with the internal structures of the union. I am a Director of the Ballyfermot Family Resource Centre, a not for profit community centre that provides employment training and childcare facilities. That company has a budget of over €1 million. I am also the Treasurer of my local GAA club, which has a budget similar to that of the union.

I also have experience of advocacy and working effectively in committee situations - for example, I was a member of the National Forum on Europe where I sat alongside the senior politicians from all parties, union leaders, employers representatives and representatives of voluntary bodies. So, I am certainly not going to be daunted by the internal committee structure of the union or of college.

In addition, there is a lead in period between the election and the new President taking office in July where I would have an opportunity to prepare to make an immediate impact upon taking over.

I also think that sometimes it takes someone who is not ingrained in the structures of an organisation to come in in order to bring about change.

The LoLs and the Rofls have been posted, there is no longer room for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Steve Higginson

Everything about Hughes screams Fianna Fail.

Fearghal's just a lad from Drogheda (D4, yeah?) who likes his SU and hackery, Harmon is actually the chair/secretary of young FF in college. But you know, you're right. Hacks waste so much on their time of pointless stuff...

Listen Hack, the biggest D4 tossers are not people from Dublin 4, but rather country people trying to live up to the image. As for Harmon, I had no idea he was a fascist. I may rework that poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Listen Hack, the biggest D4 tossers are not people from Dublin 4, but rather country people trying to live up to the image. As for Harmon, I had no idea he was a fascist. I may rework that poster.

While your overall sentiment is accurate, had to smirk at that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Oh for Christ sake. Take your self congratulatory nonsense and stick it up your arse. YOU ARE ****ING DEADLY!

condom-head.jpg

Your first picture had rumours of humour, but a true comedian knows when to call it a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭devinejay

Denerick wrote: »
    Your first picture had rumours of humour, but a true comedian knows when to call it a day.

Oh the irony

devinejay wrote: »
    Oh the irony

You're making the assumption that I try to be funny. I'm just an angry person.

P.S- I wonder how many TCD boards hacks will thank you.

I'll reserve my right to assume TYVM.

What the hell does TYVM mean?

It means You Should Use Google More Often

This was a nice exchange.

We just left out the "En Garde" and "Touché".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭cantankerous

Mr.Harmon. You have my vote. As a well respected member of this community i will help your cause immensely.

Tell me (for when you enter some real elections) what are your views on gay marraige/adoption and islamic immigration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Hah, you spouted off fairly quickly without actually knowing anything about the candidates. It's amazing how someone can look completely different when you pick and mix facts. If you feel like you have to comment on any candidate, could you at least do it when you actually have a reason to not agree with them?

I didn't know Hughes was from Drogheda, would make sense as I think I remember him being one of Cathal Reilly's hacks back in the day.

Hah, you spouted off fairly quickly without actually knowing anything about the candidates. It's amazing how someone can look completely different when you pick and mix facts. If you feel like you have to comment on any candidate, could you at least do it when you actually have a reason to not agree with them?

I didn't know Hughes was from Drogheda, would make sense as I think I remember him being one of Cathal Reilly's hacks back in the day.

You might want to dig your foot out of that mouth. I've met Hughes several times. From memory he was one of conan's campaign hacks last year. There was nothing quick about my spouting, but I wasn't going to share spit in the showers with the candidates to get to know the "real" person behind the politics.

I'm deeply saddened that I don't meet your criteria for commenting on the candidates, it is after all serious business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

You might want to dig your foot out of that mouth. I've met Hughes several times. From memory he was one of conan's campaign hacks last year. There was nothing quick about my spouting, but I wasn't going to share spit in the showers with the candidates to get to know the "real" person behind the politics.

I'm deeply saddened that I don't meet your criteria for commenting on the candidates, it is after all serious business.

Boston, I am a big fan of your "serious" take on elections. However Hughes was most definitely not one of Conan's campaign last year and in fact managed the campaign which opposed Conan.

Either your memory is failing or you don't take this seriously enough.:P

Conan, Cathal, the otherone, it's all the same to me. He wore red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

The three of them just made an announcement in my lecture. On content, it seemed a very Jack Johnson vs John Jackson type thing, but Harmon won as an orator. That's all I can add.

Meeting someone a few times gives you the right to make up stuff about candidates? I mean totally basic stuff, like where they're from or who they've worked with in the past? I'm amazed you didn't know about Declan Harmon, I know you would certainly not let FF membership get in the way of a cheap shot.

You can colour it whatever way you like Boston, but ignorance is ignorance, serious business or not. Srsly.:pac:

It wouldn't even as bad if you were trying to troll the forum, but you're actually trying to make a point or a statement about hacks instead of just blithely stirring the pot. Hi Cantankerous!

Meeting someone a few times gives you the right to make up stuff about candidates? I mean totally basic stuff, like where they're from or who they've worked with in the past? I'm amazed you didn't know about Declan Harmon, I know you would certainly not let FF membership get in the way of a cheap shot.

You can colour it whatever way you like Boston, but ignorance is ignorance, serious business or not. Srsly.:pac:

It wouldn't even as bad if you were trying to troll the forum, but you're actually trying to make a point or a statement about hacks instead of just blithely stirring the pot. Hi Cantankerous!

Wtf,

I seem to have given you the wrong impression that I both know all these people and secondly give a ****e about them. You also seem to think I'm making a deep and meaningful statement about humanity and trinity society. I seriously think you're trolling yourself.

Let me be clear, I'm not a hack, so how the fuk would I know who Declan Harmon is*.

*actually I'm on the Fianna Fail youth committee.

Wtf,

I seem to have given you the wrong impression that I both know all these people and secondly give a ****e about them. You also seem to think I'm making a deep and meaningful statement about humanity and trinity society. I seriously think you're trolling yourself.

Let me be clear, I'm not a hack, so how the fuk would I know who Declan Harmon is*.

*actually I'm on the Fianna Fail youth committee.

It doesn't matter whether you care or not, you just don't know what you're talking about in this thread it appears. Thanks for second-guessing me, all the same. You know where the report button is if you have a problem with my posts.

I don't know and I don't care to know. This thread isn't for hacks, begone. Back to the tcdsu forums with you.

Shhh! Be quiet. Most of us are busy pursuing intellectual endeavours.

podcast.jpg

If you want to set up the liberal party complete with free condoms and "pink training", please do it outside the railings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Shhh! Be quiet. Most of us are busy pursuing intellectual endeavours.

If you want to set up the liberal party complete with free condoms and "pink training", please do it outside the railings.

Trinity is the gayest* college in all the land, pink training is a must!

*I'm not making fun of it, it's just kinda true......

Fad wrote: »
    Trinity is the gayest* college in all the land, pink training is a must!

*I'm not making fun of it, it's just kinda true......

I thought the NCAD facilitated that kind of thing. If I was Provost, I'd ban the SU from holding external events using the College's name after their antics last year.

Nothing in this made sense.

NCAD? What about it, it's an arts college. Trinity has an extremely strong gay minority, as you're well aware.

Facilitate what? Pink training? It's a USI event actually. Think of it like an intervarsities competition except instead of competing people just shag.

External events using the colleges name?

Antics?

You're beginning to bore me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Steph Fleming

Hi folks,

I see the bloodlust is up so I figure I might as well jump into the bear pit and mention a bit about myself. I'm running for welfare, I am almost definitely what you term a hack (I apologise but I do think the SU can do good things), I do indeed have boobs as was pointed out in the rather cleverly adapted posters and I'm a 4th year physiotherapy student.

Just to say that I was incredibly annoyed at reading the post about a welfare officer chatting about a student's hardships outside house 6. This is a disgrace. As a physio student I've been working in hospitals for the the last two years, and when it comes to patients, confidentiality is paramount. It is something I value very highly and would never violate.

I'm not going to take up the board with a massive post (ignoring that last paragraph, it was something I just had to address) so there are people, who have no doubt annoyed you, around campus with manifestos and if you're interested have a read, or if you see me around, just stop me and chat to me if you want. Or if you like you can e-mail me at voilastephy@hotmail.com. Also I have a video here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVR4c6vYhKE), feel free to take the piss.

Cheers,
    Steph

Hi folks,

I see the bloodlust is up so I figure I might as well jump into the bear pit and mention a bit about myself. I'm running for welfare, I am almost definitely what you term a hack (I apologise but I do think the SU can do good things), I do indeed have boobs as was pointed out in the rather cleverly adapted posters and I'm a 4th year physiotherapy student.

Just to say that I was incredibly annoyed at reading the post about a welfare officer chatting about a student's hardships outside house 6. This is a disgrace. As a physio student I've been working in hospitals for the the last two years, and when it comes to patients, confidentiality is paramount. It is something I value very highly and would never violate.

I'm not going to take up the board with a massive post (ignoring that last paragraph, it was something I just had to address) so there are people, who have no doubt annoyed you, around campus with manifestos and if you're interested have a read, or if you see me around, just stop me and chat to me if you want. Or if you like you can e-mail me at voilastephy@hotmail.com. Also I have a video here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVR4c6vYhKE), feel free to take the piss.

Cheers,
    Steph

Well thank you steph.

You can insert youtube video's into your posts like so
    [youtube] JVR4c6vYhKE [/youtube]

Thanks, I was trying unsuccessfully to make a hyperlink earlier. I particularly like that youtube seems to have chosen that especially unflattering frame, should make things easier for ye all!

Hi folks,

Cheers,
    Steph

Do you advocate using SU money to fund abortions like your predecessors have done?

I am almost definitely what you term a hack

So they do exist, I was beginning to think hacks were a figment of the boards' collective imagination.

Fair play for having the balls (boobs?) to jump into the bear pit!

Hi folks,

What position in FF or FG will you hope to be in within the next 5-10 years?

Hi steph darling, if you log into youtube,

Click on your account name in the top left hand corner. Go to myvideos on the drop down menue, you will see a list of the videos you've uploaded. Click the edit button for the video which you wish to edit. Shown below.

attachment.php?attachmentid=104908&stc=1&d=1265836126

This will bring you to the info and settings page for that video. On the left hand side you will see that you can settle from a number of thumbnail images. Shown below
    attachment.php?attachmentid=104909&stc=1&d=1265836136

Good day.
    newattachment.php?do=manageattach&p=

None. Honest to betsy none. I love being a physio student, I love the work I do in the hospitals. I may end up in a government job because I'll quite likely be working in a HSE hospital as a physiotherapist but that's as close as I plan on getting.

What position in FF or FG will you hope to be in within the next 5-10 years?

I'd imagine Steph advocates positive options, neither pushing a student towards one direction nor away from another. I'm sure steph will give the student the advice which best suits their needs at the time, you can't ask for more.
    Do you advocate using SU money to fund abortions like your predecessors have done?

Given the nature of steph's undergraduate degree I feel it is cynical to believe that she is seeking this position in order to gain political office in later life. She is a final year student which means she would be turning down the graduate opportunities in an effort to help students. It seems a purely altruistic move which would be characteristic of a medical professional in training.

None. Honest to betsy none. I love being a physio student, I love the work I do in the hospitals. I may end up in a government job because I'll quite likely be working in a HSE hospital as a physiotherapist but that's as close as I plan on getting.

Is it considered discourteous to accuse a politician of lying?

I'd imagine Steph advocates positive options, neither pushing a student towards one direction nor away from another. I'm sure steph will give the student the advice which best suits there needs at the time, you can't ask for more.

Given the nature of steph's undergraduate degree I feel it is cynical to believe that she is seeking this position in order to gain political office in later life. She is a final year student which means she would be turning down the graduate opportunities in an effort to help students. It seems a purely altruistic move which would be characteristic of a medical professional in training.

How much does Steph pay you for spreading such luvvy duvvy propaganda like this? I'm sure she's a nice person -> these SU politicians are always exceedingly nice people <- but they don't run for altruistic motives. EGO is the name of the game.

Perhaps ego is a factor. But for steph, I think it's only in so far as the sense of satisfaction and achievement she feels when helping others. Look at it from a logical point of view. President, Communication, and Edu are the spring boards for political advancement. Ents makes you a music promoter over night. But what does welfare offer? Unless you're a member of some small cabal of people who will worship you as a king or magical pixie, there is no ego boost. In fact I know steph will be lampooned from many corners should she clip the wings of the existing welfare office. I just believe steph is the way forward and a way out of this quagmire of mediocrity which is the existing welfare office. Vote steph I say, vote steph and stick it to those damn Hacks. Dare to live the dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Praising a candidate? Helpful YouTube tutorials?

I think Boston's smitten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

If it was a purely altruistic move then she wouldn't be a hack. It's the hacks who ultimately stop a deserving altruistic person from getting the job.

Now, i hadn't labelled her as a hack (yet), but she said it herself :eek:!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Tarka

Even if one of Hack Candidate X's motivations for running is because they want to springboard into politics, does that really matter as long as they do a good job?
    A kind of tacked-on insinuation with the "they're only doing it for their CV" argument seems to be that they wouldn't be any good, but, you know.. if I go to the doctor because I'm sick, I don't care if he's only a doctor for the money and credzz, so long as he gets me better/gets more microwaves around campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

What the hell does TYVM mean?

Teenage Yutant Vinja ... no wait.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    They also take the spotlight/opportunity away from those with true talent.

I'll add to that: they take away from the true purpose of this university. Because of their antics, others have to work harder to cancel out the drag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Praising a candidate? Helpful YouTube tutorials?

I think Boston's smitten.
    Was thinking the same thing, cept it went more like, "..the **** happened there?"