Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stereotypes about Polish and Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

alex73 wrote: »
    Pathetic post, I could say the same for many Irish.

Gave me a laugh, obv tongue in cheek

right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

alex73 wrote: »
    Pathetic post, I could say the same for many Irish.
    That was kinda my point: if I had said "All Irish people smoke and drink-driving is their national sport" nobody would have said that it was a pathetic post!
    When we're commenting on the good and bad points of Johnny Foreigner, it's always grand to have a pop at the Irish ("oh, WE'VE enough scumbags here already", "ah, WE'RE far uglier and stupider", "oh WE'RE so lazy and arrogant"- why?

That was kinda my point: if I had said "All Irish people smoke and drink-driving is their national sport" nobody would have said that it was a pathetic post!
    When we're commenting on the good and bad points of Johnny Foreigner, it's always grand to have a pop at the Irish ("oh, WE'VE enough scumbags here already", "ah, WE'RE far uglier and stupider", "oh WE'RE so lazy and arrogant"- why?

bigotry and pride are self perpetuating unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gyps

hi everyone I am polish living here for 5 years. I enjoyed reading the whole thread, I had so much laugh and actually reading all this was very uplifting despite the negative things about Poles! I know you all dying to hear what opinion we Poles have about you. I can not speak on behalf of others, but from my own experience I can say that I ve met so many warm and welcoming persons but all of them were over 30, the younger generation is very ignorant and suspicious about us. What I can say more about Poles is that we might seem to look big - headed but we have very often very low self esteem - but this is only my opinion. I heard someone's saying - that you Irish are not used to blow your own trumphet, so for it might me a common point.
    Sorry for mistakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 bolders

A man walks into a bar, sits down, and says to the guy next to him, "Hey, you wanna hear a great Polish joke?"
    "Listen, pal," the guy replies. "I'm Poland's kick-boxing champion. My two friends here are both world-ranked judo masters, and they're Polish, too. Now, you still want to tell that joke?"
    "Nah," the man replies, "I don't feel like explaining it three times."

I'm Polish and I love this one .:D:D

bolders wrote: »
    I'm Polish and I love this one .:D:D

over 2 years for your first post!!!!!!!!!
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

M5 wrote: »

And then there people saying that the Poles have great education system eh..:rolleyes::D.

Touché good sir, i tip my cap to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Pittens wrote: »
    I like the Polish idea of hearty soup. As a kid I always hated soup. why? because it was always instant package cr*p.
    Agreed. I never understood as a kid why soup was eaten and not drunk as every time I was confronted with soup I could have seen it off with a straw.
    And I love that sour dough soup the Poles do (zurak? zurek? Zurich?)

Anyway, to weighter matters. The best only Polish Irish joke I know!

How do you know the Pole at the cockfight?
    He's the one with the duck!
    How do you know the Irishman at the cockfight?
    He bets on the duck!

How do you know the mafia are at the cockfight?
    The duck wins!

I've been busy shagging lovely Garda girls :cool:

Aoife and Louise : I miss ya.. ;)

The defense would like to call a recess :D:D

lugha wrote: »
    Agreed. I never understood as a kid why soup was eaten and not drunk as every time I was confronted with soup I could have seen it off with a straw.

Zurek

But You can call it Barszcz Bialy ... Should be easier to pronounce :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Aoife and Louise I miss ya

who says polish people dont have sense of humour eh

Bolders i presume your man if you are you are legend. ;)

Zurek

But You can call it Barszcz Bialy ... Should be easier to pronounce :D

pronounced barscht biawy

how did you think that would be easier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭andala

don't forget about the low self-esteem mentioned , the guy'd been just shy :P

I think the reason behind such a high number of Poles in higher education is that:
    1. until recently you could avoid doing the military service if you were in a full-time education,
    2. you can easily get BA if you're willing to pay tuition.

The fact that you have a degree doesn't actually say anything about your intelligence.

But, the chances are that the Polish girl in the deli you get your lunch from is a fully-trained geography teacher or that the maid you left a tip for is a fresh marketing graduate.

who says polish people dont have sense of humour eh

Bolders i presume your man if you are you are legend. ;)

Sorry mate but i can't help it... Plus the uniform thing... :rolleyes:

pronounced barscht biawy

how did you think that would be easier?

It's as easy as Baile Átha Cliath ;)

I don't think there is a rule .. When You read that it may not be easy but i don't think You would have any problems repeating that once You've heard it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Caveat

@ Lugha & Pittens - what's the soup thing?

If for you, soup = packet soup then obviously it's going to be awful! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Tempelton Peck

Ok so...
    BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    they wear horrible leather jackets with stripes on them. All have crew cuts. They wear jeans and black shoes.

Irish lads 7 days per weak wear horrible tracksuit and white shoes.

betafrog wrote: »
    the women look like men...

They look like man?Take a look around.Irish woman look like man because 90% Irish womans are fat,without make up with tracksuit from Penneys on the ass all the time.
    Polish women are much better looking than Irish women.
    80% of the women you see walking down the street are hot.

definitely
    pookie82 wrote: »
    The women have HUGE HANDS.

Huge hands? Ok :D But huge hands are better then huge,fat ass.What u think ha?
    Sex with fat woman must be disgusting:eek:

Anyway...most Irish people a really nice & very friendly for me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

If for you, soup = packet soup then obviously it's going to be awful!

Thats the point. That was the only soup available in Ireland for years. Including in Hotels. Seriously. In fact I got some soup like that in a hotel in Limerick less than 4 years ago.

Anyway I think that all soups with very few exceptions should obvious chunky bits of whatever it was made out of in it. I was responding to a polish poster on this thread who didnt like our creamy pureed soup, I agreed and pointed out that the past was even worse.

On that subject : how much of Polish food tastes was established during communism? The English still love spam and marmite - two food stuffs from the war. If either was introduced now for the first time they would obviously fail.

So was the communist system responsible for the perception of "stodgy" Polish food?

OK, so the 'fat' thing has come up again!

For the record, I know about a dozen Poles fairly well - a few of them are 'overweight' - one (a woman) very much so.

Seriously, (and this is an observation, not a criticism) Polish people, in my experience certainly, are VERY image conscious. The women in particular appear to be terrified of putting on weight.

How they look seems to be very important - make-up, labels, frequent hair style changes etc. The times I have been in Poland too, myself and my wife got the full body 'look you up and down' all the time by complete strangers - even in cities. Disconcerting and extremely rude I thought.

To me it's all very shallow, immature, vacuous - but maybe I've got it all wrong and maybe I'm misinterpreting something.

Or maybe we're all just slobs :)

(Well I'm not anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Caveat wrote: »

How they look seems to be very important - make-up, labels, frequent hair style changes etc. The times I have been in Poland too, myself and my wife got the full body 'look you up and down' all the time by complete strangers - even in cities. Disconcerting and extremely rude I thought.

Ye get the same in Italy....

So was the communist system responsible for the perception of "stodgy" Polish food?

More so just tradition, poverty & climate I would say.

Polish soup by the way whilst maybe chunky/hearty (not IME though) seems to be all very thin - like very watery broth, even though it may have 'bits' in it. There's nothing much wrong with it (apart from one or two very bad experiences) but nothing remarkable either IMO.

By the way Herya, in Ireland avoid 'cream of...' as a description and look out for 'broth' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

By the way Herya, in Ireland avoid 'cream of...' as a description and look out for 'broth' :)

I would, but 9 out of 10 times it's not on offer :)

Now don't get me wrong, I like a good fresh pureed soup myself, but since you were asking what foods the Polish consider to be prevalent in Ireland, cream soup is one of the answers.

I can tell you what a typical soup in my family looked like (recipe courtesy of my gran): prepare chicken broth, take the chicken out, chop the meat in slivers and put it in the oven until golden brown. Clear the broth and add quarters of baby potatoes, sliced carrots, chopped leek or red onion. Also add some "pearl" barley groats (OK this might be exotic) and at the end add chicken slivers. Just before serving sprinkle with chopped green parsley or dill.
    This one is too thick but this is more or less what I'm talking about:
    http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg313/anoushka_cuisine/Krupnik.jpg
    And especially with a slice of brown bread is a meal in itself.

OK I guess I know what we're having for dinner tonight :)

:D LOL -

You are describing, almost exactly, chicken broth as made by ... yes ...you guessed it: my granny!

Maybe we are simply all 'as one' after all!

Altogether: "We are the world, we are the children...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

In Romania they make a soup / broth called ciorba. There's a number of different varieties, some a bit odd but I especially like 'Ciorba da Vacuta' which is basically made from the same ingredients as a stew but the pieces are cut much smaller. The only difference is that they add a thing called 'Bors' which adds a vinegary taste to it.

Mucho Goodo!

:D LOL -

You are describing, almost exactly, chicken broth as made by ... yes ...you guessed it: my granny!

Maybe we are simply all 'as one' after all!

Altogether: "We are the world, we are the children...."

I know! That's why I lament the cream soup omnipresence - you had it, and you lost it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

@ Lugha & Pittens - what's the soup thing?

If for you, soup = packet soup then obviously it's going to be awful! :confused:
    I wouldn't say awful. I do sometimes get "real" soup which is worst that what the good folk at Knorr would lash up.
    But as someone else said, that was soup when I was growing up, powdered and packaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

prepare chicken broth

Thats the part that would probably not be of interest. Throw in chicken stock I read that as.

looks like a nice soup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

Why has this thread gone from talking about hot Polish women to soup?

Pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Pawelek

The times I have been in Poland too, myself and my wife got the full body 'look you up and down' all the time by complete strangers - even in cities. Disconcerting and extremely rude I thought.

You're right. We do that big time... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Pawelek

TheGod wrote: »
    Why has this thread gone from talking about hot Polish women to soup?

Pathetic.
    Winter -> cold -> not hot -> hot Polish -> hot soup -> soup

That's why :)

Edit: It has no sens, I know... sorry... :)

Thats the part that would probably not be of interest. Throw in chicken stock I read that as.

If you are right, I agree but...
    herya wrote: »
    ...prepare chicken broth, take the chicken out, chop the meat in slivers and put it in the oven until golden brown. Clear the broth...

I took that as 'out of the liquid' - as in the chicken itself was simmering in the water. Now if stock cubes or anything are involved then game over. :)

Nope real chicken. That's the thing.

Just to revive this, had plenty of Polish food over the weekend and I think I've decided once and for all that I don't like it.

My issues:

Serious amount of preserved meats around - they end up all tasting nearly the same despite there being on the face of it, 5 or 6 'different' types of ham/sausage. There is one type of ham, kind of wet honeycomb texture, which appears to be 95% water and is just awful, sorry.

In fact serious amount of preserved and/or pickled stuff generally.

The flavours of horseradish, cabbage, gherkin and salt seem to influence almost everything from veg. dishes to soup.

Polish bread - ironically, despite the apparent unpalatability of 'Irish' sliced white bread, I simply think that Polish bread, the standard stuff anyway, is too chewy and plastic tasting.

On the plus side, some of the deserts/cakes I do like. Some of the sauasage too. In particular Kaszanka (which for those who don't know it is like a cross between black pudding and haggis)

So, there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Polish = Turnip-eaters
    Irish = Potato-eaters

Polish = Really Religious
    Irish = Really Religious

Polish = Anti-Jew
    Irish = Pro-Palestinian

Is this not what we were supposed to be doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I just realised the only polish friends I have are Girls...wtf are Polish lads like...seem like brutes*Hides*
    j/k

American stereotypes of Ireland*Shudders*Atleast that episode of the simpsons when they came here got it half right :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

HEY! Us Irish girls are being badly insulted on this thread! I won't stand for it!:p Irish lads are hardly supermodels themselves!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

THEY TOOK UR JOBS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

HEY! Us Irish girls are being badly insulted on this thread! I won't stand for it!:p Irish lads are hardly supermodels themselves!:p

Sure can ye blame them, Irish girls have pretentious names like precious flower.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

This thread has gone completly off topic.
    @ZOHAN,EITHER PUT MY ORIGINAL POST BACK UP (BECAUSE YOU IGNORANTLY TOOK THEM OFF)OR CLOSE THIS THREAD....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

cruiser178 wrote: »
    @ZOHAN,EITHER PUT MY ORIGINAL POST BACK UP (BECAUSE YOU IGNORANTLY TOOK THEM OFF)OR CLOSE THIS THREAD....

Say please...

im going to keeping bring this up until im challenged on it

Ok, have fun with that. ;)

TheZohan wrote: »
    Say please...

ok zohan,please put my posts back up,because i want to put gguy in his place,like i did in the first place,when i first q him

dont be like that zohan,just put my posts back up

ok zohan,please put my posts back up,because i want to put gguy in his place,like i did in the first place,when i first q him

I can't find them...

you PM me when this happened the first time to say i was right,why not now????you even thanked thanked my original post