Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On the verge of giving up

• 21-01-2010 12:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭

what do we do this for lads? I am totally gutted tonight, we could not beat a poor Liverpool side and resorted to long ball tactics for the last 30 minutes. I just am sick of it, spent my hard earned money at the weekend for the same sh*t. Where do we go from here? Europa league what is the point really!!!!
    Gutted :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

KingdomYid wrote: »
    what do we do this for lads? I am totally gutted tonight, we could not beat a poor Liverpool side and resorted to long ball tactics for the last 30 minutes. I just am sick of it, spent my hard earned money at the weekend for the same sh*t. Where do we go from here? Europa league what is the point really!!!!

A 2-0 loss at Anfield isn't the end of the world. Liverpool ran the show for much of the first half and, although they have been poor of late, still have a decent team. Spurs had them under the kosh for a long time in the second, probably unlucky with one or two decisions that went Liverpool's way over the course of the game (Kyrgiakos looking to swap shirts with Crouch) but I wouldn't be too downbeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Keith186

In fairness even though Liverpool are in poor form not everyone can get a result at Anfield.

Spurs were p1ss poor compared to their best, they are bound to have a lull at some stage of the season (as every team does) and this is probably it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭yiddo

we're still 4th and have a home cup tie at the weekend! keep the faith!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

sorry lads just had high expectations for tonight, I should know how it is now after over 20 years of following Spurs. I guess we always hope for the next level but we will never get there, its how it is but i will keep supporting them because its what i do.

40 years for me so I'm used to it. ;) Roll on Saturday and next Tuesday!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭positivenote

jesus man GET A GRIP !!! im following sours nearly 30 years and we havent been a team that get point away from home agains utd, liverpool or arsnal in this period... once in a blue moon in the cup we might get a good result but this type of result comes with the territory of being a yid. Personally i think its the results against the drivel that is wolves, stoke and hull city that will see us finish outside of the top four... if we win these type of games the predictable away loses and occasional draws against the 'bigger' teams wouldnt matter as much.
    although, in saying that, keane needs to be replaced so pressure can be put on defoe and the stickman, and modric needs to get on the ball more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Please Harry ship pav out and get RVN in. We need a reaction now starting saturday v Leeds and next tuesdays home game v fulham is a must win game ...badly need Lennon back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Typical Spurs tonight but we'll get over it,win the next two games should do the trick.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

We're still in 4th, hopefully City and Villa will be distracted by the prospect of a Carling Cup Final, Liverpool haven't done anything all season to suggest that they can regularly win games, so we are still in with a great shout of holding on to 4th.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

When we were chasing the game tonight with 20/30 mins to go, and we seemed on top. Harry seemd to lose the plot tactically. Hutton on for curluka wasn't bad, but then replacing King with Bassong which he never should have started i might add?? Why are Gio & Pav not getting a run?? Robbie is finished with Spurs and Defoe wasn't at the races tonight. At least Crouch, as limited as he is will always give it his all...
    Was gutted last night also!!!

Think we will have to settle for 5th or 6th at the end of the season - which is no mean feat i mite add. City are now looking stronger than us, and the pool when they get Gerrard & Torres fit will be better than us too.
    Would like to see RVN in, Gio given a run, Taarabt brought back from loan and Keane, Pav & Bentley shipped out ASAP!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Morgans

Whatever about Spurs, that was the worst liverpool side that I can remember.

Rafa blocked the middle well once leading. Modric and Kranjcar with Corluka had no pace to get around them, so it was a question of trying to play through them. Too many bodies and not enough precise passing. Not jenas's game. Badly needed Lennon to stretch the defence. I would have brought on Rose or Gio earlier and stuck him on the touch line.

I think Bassong was put on as Liverpool went two up front for the last ten minutes. King's legs probably werent up for it at that stage. Save him for another day.

Wasting time over every free kick, throw in from the 15m onwards, that is what Liverpool are reduced to.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

How crap was Bassong when he came on? Yikes, he looked amateurish on there after King. That's a big worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

the biggest worry here is the indiscipline shown by bassong. didnt have any shorts on and then didnt give a toss after coming on by giving away a brutal penalty. thats the spurs of old. not caring and no respect for the team or the manager

bale , king, gomes and crouch were good

the rest were just shocking. niko especially, never tried to correct his mistakes, just kept fouling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Bales performance was a real plus. I still think he could be a great player for us. If only he could start a game and be on the winning side!

another thing also, how many times did a spurs player actually kick the ball off another spurs player. what was that about?

I remember being a teenager listening to my am radio as we played Oldham away needing to win to guarentee survival with three or so games left to play. Deep down im quite happy to be giving out about blowing fourth spot! It could be a lot lot worse, look at newcastle!

there was too much hype about spurs going into this game. hopefully now we will go about our business quietly for a few weeks

mickman wrote: »
    the biggest worry here is the indiscipline shown by bassong. didnt have any shorts on and then didnt give a toss after coming on by giving away a brutal penalty. thats the spurs of old. not caring and no respect for the team or the manager

bale , king, gomes and crouch were good

the rest were just shocking. niko especially, never tried to correct his mistakes, just kept fouling

crouch was good? good at what? For the big guy in a little and large set up he's wins very few balls in the air!

he won more than the others and gave it away less than defoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

come on spurs and pip them scousers, although i see man city as being 'pools main contender.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭tomo75

I wouldn't be too disheartened by last night's result. Yes, we had a more postive attitude going in to this game from our recent results but like the guys said it is the games against the team in the bottom half of the table that count.

I much prefer to be getting a little giddy about playing a team who we are battling for fourth position in the league rather than a 9th v 10th position team in a meaningless game.

Spurs are still fourth - with 16 games left. This game will not decide our season. Other tiltle winners have gone to Anfield and went away went nothing (not that we are gonna win the title - for effect really;)) and Liverpool haven't built on those wins either.

So chin up, Leeds on Sat in a good old fashion cup tie with a backlash of major porportions!!!!:D

he won more than the others and gave it away less than defoe

so he wasn't any good just better han defoe? ;) the guy is 6ft 6 but he is average at best in the air. shouldn't start he should be a plan b!

yes he was better than defoe. you compare strikers to strikers. whats the point in saying crouch was better or worse than king or gomes. compare apples with apples

being better than defoe last night is nothing to write home about. a least we know what defoe can do. overall do you think crouch is beter than defoe? whats the best part of crouch's play?

defoe is good but not great. crouch and defoe and hugely different players and they play well together. crouch won lots of headers last night but defoe had ran the wrong direction. either crouch was heading them wrong or defoe was half asleep, i dont know. defoe was supposed to be ill in bed all day yesterday so that might account for it but crouch is a good player

• Registered Users Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

Was it just me or was keane not one of our better players when he came on. He was one of the very few that was working for the ball and looking for it when we had it.

Im sorry but i really dont think that we will have a shot of 4th place if crouch keeps starting. He is woeful in the air, average with the ball at his feet and recently has been very lazy.

My main problem with him, although its not his fault, is that with him on the pitch a lot of the players seem to give up trying to play football and just take the easy way out and just lump it up to him because of his height. This may work if he could actually jump instead on just leaning over! That greek pornstar had him in his pocket for the whole evening and none of the players seemed to cop on that the ball needed to be passed in their half more. So many times we played a few nice little passes to get to 30 yards out and then ran out of ideas and chipped a ball into crouch.

Apologies for the rant.

on the bright side though were still in 4th and on our way to wembley again!;)

defoe is good but not great. crouch and defoe and hugely different players and they play well together. crouch won lots of headers last night but defoe had ran the wrong direction. either crouch was heading them wrong or defoe was half asleep, i dont know. defoe was supposed to be ill in bed all day yesterday so that might account for it but crouch is a good player

crouch doesn't win lots of headers. i'd say 1 in 3 at the most.

yeah and defoe wins 1 out of 3 balls on the ground

MrKingsley wrote: »
    Was it just me or was keane not one of our better players when he came on. He was one of the very few that was working for the ball and looking for it when we had it.

Hardly saw him after he came on, spotted him in our back four at one stage! Ran around aimlessly and did nothing. Honestly cannot believe you think he was one of our better players when he came on.

yep robbie was running and racing all over the place but did nothing really, at least he tried though which is more than you can say for niko